DETAILED ACTION
Priority
1. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/23/24, 09/23/25, has been entered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
3. The specification filed on 07/23/24 are objected because main elements in the specification are not described correctly. For example: Specification page 18, lines 11 discloses “a batter 80” discloses. This should be “a battery 80”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
4. The drawings filed on 07/23/24. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tam et al. (Pub. No. 2007/0263272) in view of Arsenault (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0340831), further in view of Lorna Anne Everall (CN 1726664). Hereafter “Tam”, “Arsenault”, “Lorna”. (Please see attached files for Lorna’s reference).
Regarding Claim(s) 1, Tam teaches a measurement device for measuring a local parameter using an optical fiber element incorporating an array of fiber Bragg gratings, FBGs, the measurement device (figure 2) comprising:
a semiconductor optical amplifier, SOA, (figures 2, 5, SOA 10a, 10d, 10e), comprising an optical input for receiving light pulses to be amplified and an optical output for emitting light pulses, (the following figure 2, Pulse generator 20, SOA 10a, Input I, Output O);
a pulse generator for providing the control input of the SOA with electrical current pulses to drive the SOA to emit light pulses (figures 2, 5, Pulse generator 20, SOA 10a, SOA 10d, SOA 10e); and
light transmitting means (figures 2, 5, elements 12, 14, is not different from light transmitting means) for repeatedly;
transmitting said light pulses from the optical output of the SOA to a FBG array of FBGs, (the following figure 2, light pulses from output O of the SOA 10a, FBG array GNM), and
transmitting a fraction of reflected light pulses from each FBG of the FBG array to the optical input of the SOA to form a respective optical cavity with a characteristic lasing wavelength for each FBG of the FBG array (Figure 2, the circulator 14 transmits a fraction of reflected light pulses from each FBG GNM to the optical input I of the SOA 10a. Ring cavity 16 is not different from an optical cavity);
wherein the measurement device is configured to be able to cause lasing at a respective lasing wavelength of said FBG of the FBG array (abstract, [0012]. It is inherent that the measurement device of figure 2 causes lasing at a respective lasing wavelength of said FBG of the FBG GNM array), and
wherein the measurement device further comprising comprises:
a filter element configured with a wavelength dependent transmission coefficient so that the filter element is able to filter the intensity of light transmitted from the respective optical cavity to output filtered light at a light intensity which is unique over a respective predetermined lasing wavelength range for said one of the FBGs of the FBG array ([0041], lines 18-25; Figure 5, ring cavity 16 is not different from an optical cavity, the combination of two SOA 10d, and SOA 10e for operating at different wavelength regions is not different from a filter element);
processing means for converting the electrical signal to the local parameter being measured for said one of the FBGs of the FBG array, and for providing the local parameter being measured, (the following figure 2, the measurement system MS is not different from processing means. The limitations “for converting the electrical signal to the local parameter being measured … and for providing the local parameter being measured” is intended used).
However, Tam does not teach an output light sensing element configured to detect said light intensity of said filtered light from the filter element and emit a corresponding electrical signal. Arsenault teaches an output light sensing element configured to detect said light intensity of said filtered light from the filter element and emit a corresponding electrical signal (figures 3, 5, photodetectors 42R, 42T are not different from light sensing elements, optical filter 40, processor 80; [0014], lines 1-4; [0019, 0021]; [0028]; [0029], lines 1-9. It is inherent that controller 14 with processor 80 generates an electrical signal). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Tam by having light sensing element in order to detect light beam from optical filter for the inspection system.
Arsenault also teaches a filter element configured with a wavelength dependent transmission coefficient so that the filter element is able to filter the intensity of light transmitted from the respective optical cavity to output filtered light at a light intensity which is unique over a respective predetermined lasing wavelength range (figure 3, filter 40; [0019, 0021]); processing means for converting the electrical signal to the local parameter being measured for said one of the FBGs of the FBG array, and for providing the local parameter being measured ([0002, 0017]; [0014], lines 1-4; [0019, 0021]; [0028]; [0029], lines 1-9; figure 5, controller and processor 80). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Tam by having filter element and processing means in order to determine physical parameter measured by the Bragg gratings, (Arsenault, [0003]).
Moreover, Tam does not teach a control input for receiving electrical current pulses to control the repetition rate of said SOA. Lorna teaches a control input for receiving electrical current pulses to control the repetition rate of said SOA, (page 8, lines 42-44; page 10, lines 37-41; page 11, lines 28-32; Figures 1(a), 4, 5-6, control input 22, SOA 14, SOA 52). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Tam by having a control input for receiving electrical current pulses in order to control the optical pulse generation and to the optical fiber, (Lorna, page 8, lines 42-44; page 10, lines 37-41; page 11, lines 28-32; Figures 1(a), 4, 5-6, control input 22, SOA 14, 52).
Regarding Claim(s) 2, 18, Tam, Arsenault, Lorna teach all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above except for to determine roundtrip times of light pulses emitted from the SOA and corresponding reflected light pulses received by the SOA based on the resonant frequencies of the pulse generator for the respective lasing wavelength, the information of roundtrip times is determined based on the resonant frequencies of the pulse generator for the lasing wavelength. Lorna teaches to determine roundtrip times of light pulses emitted from the SOA and corresponding reflected light pulses received by the SOA based on the resonant frequencies of the pulse generator for the respective lasing wavelength (page 7, lines 43-49; Page 8, lines 1-2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Tam and Arsenault by determining roundtrip times of light pulses in order to interrogate one or more reflective optical elements for inspection (Lorna, Abstract).
Regarding Claim(s) 3, Tam, Arsenault, Lorna teach all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above except for a second light sensing element. Arsenault teaches a second light sensing element, (figure 3, element 42R). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Tam by having a second light sensing element in order to determine amplitudes of transmitted and reflected portions efficiently (Arsenault, [0027]).
[AltContent: textbox (MS)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Output O)][AltContent: textbox (Input I)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Figure 2
Regarding Claim(s) 4, Tam, Arsenault, Lorna teach all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above except for the filter element is a fiber-based Fabry- Perot etalon or an apodized FBG [and/]or the optical cavity is a sigma-shaped optical cavity. Arsenault teaches Fabry- Perot etalon, ([0002, 0026, 0044]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Tam by having a fiber-based Fabry- Perot etalon in order to generate a narrow-band light signal and transmit it to optical fiber network (Arsenault, [0026]).
Regarding Claim(s) 5, Tam, Arsenault, Lorna teach all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above except for filter element being configured so that, for any one of, or for each of, the respective predetermined lasing wavelength ranges, the relationship between the light intensity of filtered light and lasing wavelength is such that the light intensity is increasing for increasing lasing wavelengths or such that the light intensity is decreasing for increasing lasing wavelengths. Arsenault teaches filter element being configured so that, for any one of, or for each of, the respective predetermined lasing wavelength ranges, the relationship between the light intensity of filtered light and lasing wavelength is such that the light intensity is increasing for increasing lasing wavelengths or such that the light intensity is decreasing for increasing lasing wavelengths, (figures 3, 5, optical filter 40; [0019, 0027]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Tam by having filter element being configured so that, for any one of, or for each of, the respective predetermined lasing wavelength ranges in order to received different narrow-band light beams into transmitted and reflected portions, (Arsenault, [0026]).
Regarding Claim(s) 6, Tam teaches a variable optical attenuator for attenuating the lasing wavelength ([0035, 0049]).
Regarding Claim(s) 7, Tam teaches at least a second optical amplifier arranged in an optical loop with the first SOA, and wherein the second optical amplifier is preferably an Erbium doped fiber amplifier, EDFA, or a second SOA (figure 5, [0016, 0032, 0041, 0043]).
Regarding Claim(s) 8, Tam teaches the light transmitting means are further repeatedly transmitting a fraction of reflected light pulses from each FBG of the FBG array to the optical input of the second optical amplifier and for repeatedly transmitting light pulses from the optical output of the second amplifier to the optical input of the first SOA, (the following figure 5, first and second SOA 10d, 10e, light transmitting means AA, FBG array GNM).
[AltContent: textbox (AA)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Figure 5
Regarding Claim(s) 9, Tam teaches optical amplifier is configured for increasing the optical gain at the lasing wavelength ([0017]).
Regarding Claim(s) 10, 11, Tam teaches the light transmitting means comprises optical fiber and one or more of a fiber coupler [and/]or one or more of a fiber circulator, (the above figures 2, 5, fiber AA, circulator 14, coupler 12).
Regarding Claim(s) 12, Tam teaches selection means for calibrating the measurement device to measure a selected local parameter (figures 1-5, circulator 14 is not different from a selection means for calibrating the measurement device to measure a selected local parameter).
Regarding Claim(s) 13, Tam teaches sample-and-hold circuitry down-stream of said light sensing element (figures 1-5, wavelength measurement system is not different from sample-and-hold circuitry down-stream).
Regarding Claim(s) 14, 15, Tam, Arsenault, Lorna teach all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above except for displaying means for displaying a measured local parameter, and a battery. Arsenault teaches displaying means, ([0036]), a battery ([0030]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Tam by having displaying means, and a battery in order to output information in a form understandable to users or machines, and to provide power to components (Arsenault, [0030, 0036]).
Regarding Claim(s) 16, Tam, Arsenault, Lorna teach all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above except for a housing adapted in shape and size to enable hand-held use. Arsenault teaches a housing, (figure 5, the cover of element 12 is not different a housing. The limitation adapted in shape and size to enable hand-held use is just an intended used). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Tam by having a housing in order to make a cover for the device.
Regarding Claim(s) 17, Tam, Arsenault, Lorna teach all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above.
Further, Tam teaches a method of measuring a local parameter of an optical fiber element incorporating an array of fiber Bragg gratings, FBGs, wherein each FBG of the FBG array is located at a predetermined sensing location, the method comprising:
a step of providing a measurement device according to claim 1, (figure 2);
a step of optically connecting said optical fiber element to the light transmitting means of the measurement device (the above figures 2, 5, fiber AA);
a step of providing electrical current pulses to the control input of said SOA (figures 2, 5, SOA 10a, 10d, 10e, pulse generator 20);
However, Tam does not teach measuring the local parameter using said measurement device; receiving the local parameter being measured from said measurement device; and displaying the measured local parameter on a displaying means. Arsenault teaches measuring the local parameter using said measurement device; receiving the local parameter being measured from said measurement device ([0001-0003, 0013-0014, 0025, 0028-0029, 0041-0042, 0059-0062]), and displaying the measured local parameter on a displaying means ([0036]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Tam by measuring the local parameter, receiving the local parameter, having displaying means, in order to measure and output information to users or machines, (Arsenault, [0030, 0036]).
Fax/Telephone Information
February 19, 2026
/Tri T Ton/
Primary Examiner Art Unit 2877