DETAILED ACTION
Examiner finds no 35 USC 101 rejections in the current claim language.
Double Patenting Considerations:
U.S. Pat. Appl. No. 18/848,843 (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2025/0211628):
The claim language of related patent ‘843 (same assignee (Qualcomm) and two common inventors) does not disclose the “provide, using the at least one data channel, a first data channel application to the first user equipment and a second data channel application to the second user equipment” (and other detailed steps), as seen in the independent claims 1 and 16 of the present Application; and does not disclose the “receive, from a first user equipment, an initial session description protocol offer comprising session description protocol information corresponding to a multimedia call session between the first user equipment and a second user equipment” (and other detailed steps), as seen in the independent claims 9 and 24 of the present Application
Therefore, there are no double patenting rejections in the current Application with regard to ‘843.
U.S. Pat. Appl. No. 18/873,434 (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2025/0365324):
The claim language of related patent ‘434 (same assignee (Qualcomm) and two common inventors) does not disclose the “provide, using the at least one data channel, a first data channel application to the first user equipment and a second data channel application to the second user equipment” (and other detailed steps), as seen in the independent claims 1 and 16 of the present Application; and does not disclose the “receive, from a first user equipment, an initial session description protocol offer comprising session description protocol information corresponding to a multimedia call session between the first user equipment and a second user equipment” (and other detailed steps), as seen in the independent claims 9 and 24 of the present Application
Therefore, there are no double patenting rejections in the current Application with regard to ‘434.
U.S. Pat. Appl. No. 18/819,619 (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2025/0080491):
The claim language of related patent ‘619 (same assignee (Qualcomm) and one common inventor) does not disclose the “provide, using the at least one data channel, a first data channel application to the first user equipment and a second data channel application to the second user equipment” (and other detailed steps), as seen in the independent claims 1 and 16 of the present Application; and does not disclose the “receive, from a first user equipment, an initial session description protocol offer comprising session description protocol information corresponding to a multimedia call session between the first user equipment and a second user equipment” (and other detailed steps), as seen in the independent claims 9 and 24 of the present Application
Therefore, there are no double patenting rejections in the current Application with regard to ‘619.
U.S. Pat. Appl. No. 18/947,981 (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2025/0168700):
The claim language of related patent ‘981 (same assignee (Qualcomm) and one common inventor) does not disclose the “provide, using the at least one data channel, a first data channel application to the first user equipment and a second data channel application to the second user equipment” (and other detailed steps), as seen in the independent claims 1 and 16 of the present Application; and does not disclose the “receive, from a first user equipment, an initial session description protocol offer comprising session description protocol information corresponding to a multimedia call session between the first user equipment and a second user equipment” (and other detailed steps), as seen in the independent claims 9 and 24 of the present Application
Therefore, there are no double patenting rejections in the current Application with regard to ‘981.
U.S. Pat. Appl. No. 19/100,859 (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2026/0046321):
The claim language of related patent ‘859 (same assignee (Qualcomm) and two common inventors) does not disclose the “provide, using the at least one data channel, a first data channel application to the first user equipment and a second data channel application to the second user equipment” (and other detailed steps), as seen in the independent claims 1 and 16 of the present Application; and does not disclose the “receive, from a first user equipment, an initial session description protocol offer comprising session description protocol information corresponding to a multimedia call session between the first user equipment and a second user equipment” (and other detailed steps), as seen in the independent claims 9 and 24 of the present Application
Therefore, there are no double patenting rejections in the current Application with regard to ‘859.
U.S. Pat. Appl. No. 19/340,373 (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2026/0089629):
The claim language of related patent ‘373 (same assignee (Qualcomm) and one common inventor) does not disclose the “provide, using the at least one data channel, a first data channel application to the first user equipment and a second data channel application to the second user equipment” (and other detailed steps), as seen in the independent claims 1 and 16 of the present Application; and does not disclose the “receive, from a first user equipment, an initial session description protocol offer comprising session description protocol information corresponding to a multimedia call session between the first user equipment and a second user equipment” (and other detailed steps), as seen in the independent claims 9 and 24 of the present Application
Therefore, there are no double patenting rejections in the current Application with regard to ‘373.
Claim Objections
Claims 14, 15, 29, and 30 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the data channel application data traffic" in lines 2 – 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Examiner recommends the language “data channel application data traffic”;
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the data channel application data traffic" in lines 2 – 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Examiner recommends the language “data channel application data traffic”;
Claim 29 recites the limitation "the data channel application data traffic" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Examiner recommends the language “data channel application data traffic”;
Claim 30 recites the limitation "the data channel application data traffic" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Examiner recommends the language “data channel application data traffic”.
Examiner recommends a thorough review of the claim language in order to correct other possible antecedent basis concerns.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 5, 7 – 12, 16 – 20, and 22 – 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wei et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2024/0292363) (Information Transmission Method and Apparatus).
1. An apparatus for wireless communication at a network node (Fig. 1B; paragraph 64), comprising:
a memory (paragraph 31 “memory, configured to store the programs, instructions, …”); and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory (paragraph 31 “The memory is coupled to the at least one processor, and when the at least one processor executes the instructions or the data stored in the memory”), configured to:
receive a data channel resource request comprising session description protocol information corresponding to a multimedia call session between a first user equipment and a second user equipment, the data channel resource request indicating media description information associated with the multimedia call session (Fig. 1F; paragraph 78 “In FIG. 1F, a SIP registration request process is described by using UE A as an example. Actually, all UEs that need to perform communication over the IMS need to perform SIP registration on the IMS, that is, UE B also has a corresponding SIP registration process”; paragraphs 79, 80);
allocate, based at least in part on the session description protocol information, data channel resources corresponding to at least one data channel and associated with the first user equipment and the second user equipment (Fig. 1F; paragraph 78 “In FIG. 1F, a SIP registration request process is described by using UE A as an example. Actually, all UEs that need to perform communication over the IMS need to perform SIP registration on the IMS, that is, UE B also has a corresponding SIP registration process”; paragraphs 79, 80); and
provide, using the at least one data channel, a first data channel application to the first user equipment (Fig. 1E, item 4; paragraph 72 “The data channel server sends the specific data channel application to UE A through the pilot data channel.”) and a second data channel application to the second user equipment (Fig. 1E, item 5; paragraph 73 “Optionally/In parallel/Separately, the data channel server sends the specific data channel application to UE B through the pilot data channel.”).
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the data channel resources comprise at least one bearer (Fig. 1D; paragraph 67).
3. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one bearer comprises at least one of a datagram transport layer security protocol bearer or a stream control transmission protocol bearer (Fig. 1D; paragraph 67 “For the IS data channel, a protocol stack used in web real-time communication (WebRTC) may be used. That is, datagram transport layer security (DTLS) is superimposed on a stream control transmission protocol (SCTP), and interactive connectivity establishment (ICE) and a user datagram protocol (UDP) are then superimposed to serve as a bearer protocol”).
4. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive at least one of the first data channel application or the second data channel application (Fig. 5; paragraph 147; Fig. 1E; paragraphs 72, 73); and
store the at least one of the first data channel application or the second data channel application in a data channel application repository (Fig. 1E “Data channel application repository”; paragraphs 70, 71; paragraph 88 “In this way, the UE may sense whether the IMS supports the data channel only after the SDP negotiation is completed (whether the IMS supports the data channel refers to whether the IS supports a data channel server and a data channel application repository).”).
5. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to retrieve at least one of the first data channel application or the second data channel application from a data channel application repository (Fig. 1E; paragraphs 72, 73).
7. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to route data channel application traffic, associated with at least one of the first data channel application or the second data channel application, between at least one of the first user equipment or the second user equipment and at least one application server instance (Fig. 1B; Fig. 1E; paragraph 68 – 73).
8. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate one or more reports that indicate at least one parameter value, wherein the at least one parameter value corresponds to at least one of usage traffic associated with at least one of:
the first data channel application or the second data channel application, or
an occurrence of an event associated with the data channel application (Fig. 1F; paragraph 56 “The P-CSCF is responsible for serving as an agent of all SIP signaling and completing call routing control; provides quality of service (QoS) resource reservation; supports SIP signaling compression to improve bandwidth usage efficiency of an air interface; provides network address translation (NAT) control to support NAT penetration of an enterprise network; and maintains a security association with a UE to protect privacy and integrity of signaling between the P-CSCF and the UE”).
9. An apparatus for wireless communication at a network node (Fig. 1B; paragraph 64), comprising:
a memory (paragraph 31 “memory, configured to store the programs, instructions, …”); and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory (paragraph 31 “The memory is coupled to the at least one processor, and when the at least one processor executes the instructions or the data stored in the memory”), configured to:
receive, from a first user equipment (Fig. 1F “UE A”), an initial session description protocol offer comprising session description protocol (SDP) information corresponding to a multimedia call session between the first user equipment and a second user equipment (Fig. 1F; Fig. 1B; paragraph 79 “The UE A initiates an DSP negotiation request, declaring that UE A intends to establish a data channel with the IMS”; paragraph 65), the initial session description protocol offer indicating media description information associated with the multimedia call session (Fig. 1F; Fig. 1B; paragraph 79; paragraph 102; paragraph 103); and
transmit a data channel resource request that indicates the media description information (Fig. 1F; Fig. 1B; paragraph 102; paragraph 103 “the first parameter … indicating a media type”).
10. The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to identify a data channel server instance based at least in part on performing a data channel server discovery process (paragraph 88 “In addition, in the SIP registration process of the UE, currently, only the UE indicate to the IS whether the UE supports the data channel, but the IS does not indicate to the UE whether the IMS supports the data channel. In this way, the UE may sense whether the IMS supports the data channel only after the SDP negotiation is completed (whether the IMS supports the data channel refers to whether the IS supports a data channel server and a data channel application repository) …”).
11. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors, to perform the data channel server discovery process, are configured to receive an indication of the data channel server instance from a network repository function (Fig. 1E; paragraphs 68, 69).
12. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the network repository function comprises a network function profile associated with an internet protocol multimedia subsystem (IMS) (Fig. 1E; paragraphs 68, 69).
Regarding claims 16 – 20, and 22 – 27, the rejection of claims 1 – 5 and 7 – 12 under 35 USC 102 (see above) applies fully.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 13 – 15, 21, and 28 – 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
For future email communications (including interview agendas), Applicant should file the appropriate PTO form (PTO/SB/439) or file an air interview request.
/KENNETH R COULTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445
/KRC/