DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Restriction
Applicant’s election of Group I, Species 3 (Figure 5), and claims 16-24 in the reply filed on September 11, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Further, as set forth in the Restriction Requirement on July 22, 2026, claim 18 is directed to a further embodiment as disclosed in [0061] and [0062], claim 19 is directed to a further embodiment as disclosed in [0055], and claim 24 is directed to a further embodiment as disclosed in [0058] and [0059].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-17 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. As to claim 16, the limitations “light emitting elements”, “a light emitting element”, “adjacent light emitting elements”, and “at least some of the structures” are recited multiple times without proper antecedent basis. It is not clear whether they refer the same or different light emitting elements and structures. Thus, the limitations render the claims indefinite and clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0118777 A1 to Seo et al. (“Seo”).
As to claim 16, Seo discloses a method for producing an array of light emitting elements, the method comprising: providing a growth substrate (31, 32); applying a mask (33) having a plurality of apertures (H) to the growth substrate (31, 32); growing structures (35a) into the apertures (H); and processing at least some of the structures (35a) into light emitting elements (35), wherein adjacent apertures (H) are arranged at a first distance (between 33a) to each other, wherein adjacent light emitting elements (35) are arranged at a second distance (at e2) to each other, wherein the second distance (at e2) is greater than the first distance (between 33a), wherein at least some of the structures (35a) are reduced in area (e2) and the reduced structures (35a) are processed into light emitting elements (35), and wherein the structures (35a) are reduced in area by material removal (See Fig. 3, Fig. 7, ¶ 0085, ¶ 0087, ¶ 0091, ¶ 0097, ¶ 0123, ¶ 0124, ¶ 0127, ¶ 0129). As to claim 17, Seo further discloses only some of the structures (35a) are processed into light emitting elements (35) (See Fig. 7). As to claim 21, Seo further discloses wherein at least one (at e2) of the structures (35a), which is not processed into a light emitting element (35), is arranged between two adjacent light emitting elements (35) (See Fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0118777 A1 to Seo et al. (“Seo”) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0130887 A1 to Yu et al. (“Yu”). The teaching of Seo has been discussed above. As to claim 22, although Seo discloses the light emitting elements (35) (See Fig. 7), Seo does not further disclose wherein at least one of the structures, which is not processed into a light emitting element, is processed into a light detecting element. However, Yu does disclose a light detecting element (¶ 0109 detector) is formed with the light emitting elements (570) (See Fig. 5, ¶ 0109). In view of teaching of Yu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Seo to have wherein at least one of the structures, which is not processed into a light emitting element, is processed into a light detecting element because a fully integrated solution to include a complete set of components with light source, analog signal processing, light detection, CMOS control circuit, SOS circuit all-in-one sapphire platform to achieve high-performance low-cost mixed-signal optical links is obtained (See ¶ 0109). As to claim 23, although Seo discloses the light emitting elements (35) (See Fig. 7), Seo does not further disclose wherein at least one of the structures, which is not processed into a light emitting element, is processed into a non-optical electronic element.
However, Yu does disclose a non-optical electronic element (530, 540, 550, 560) is formed with the light emitting elements (570) (See Fig. 5, ¶ 0109). In view of teaching of Yu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Seo to have wherein at least one of the structures, which is not processed into a light emitting element, is processed into a non-optical electronic element because a fully integrated solution to include a complete set of components with light source, analog signal processing, light detection, CMOS control circuit, SOS circuit all-in-one sapphire platform to achieve high-performance low-cost mixed-signal optical links is obtained (See ¶ 0109).
Conclusion
/DAVID CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815