DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 29 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 29 is used twice with different claim elements. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 5, 12, 13, 15, 24 -37, 29, and 30is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Solovyey et al (US 2024/0161488, hereafter Solovyey).
As per claim 1, Solovyey discloses method of video decoding, comprising:
decoding a residue block in a latent space for a block of a picture (¶ 259; The bitstream may be decoded by the hyper prior decoder to obtain reconstructed latent space residuals);
obtaining a predicted latent block for said block based on one or more neighboring latent blocks of said picture; obtaining a latent block for said block- based on said residue block and said predicted latent block (¶ 145; Therefore, the intra prediction uses reconstructed neighboring samples of a frame and ¶ 259; The reconstructed latent space residuals are combined in the latent space domain with the prediction (also in the latent space domain); and
inverse transforming said latent block for said block to reconstruct said block in a pixel domain (¶ 94 and 134).
As per claim 2, Solovyey discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining that said block is to be reconstructed in said pixel domain, wherein said block is reconstructed in said pixel domain only if said block is determined to be reconstructed (¶ 258 and 259).
As per claim 3, Solovyey discloses the method of claim 2, wherein a computer vision task is performed in order to determine that said block is to be reconstructed in said pixel domain (¶ 207; in general, the output of the decoding side does not need to be a reconstructed picture for human viewing. It may be feature data for or results of computer processing such as computer vision processing or the like.).
As per claim 5, Solovyey discloses the method of claim 1, wherein one or more convolution layers or one or more fully connected layers followed by activation functions are applied to obtain said predicted latent block (¶ 378; The output signal of the activation function may be used as an input of a next convolutional layer.).
Regarding claim 12, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 5 are applicable for claim 13.
Regarding claim 15, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 5 are applicable for claim 15.
Regarding claim 24, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 24.
Regarding claim 25, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 2 are applicable for claim 25.
Regarding claim 26, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 3 are applicable for claim 26.
Regarding claim 27, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 5 are applicable for claim 27.
Regarding claim 29, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 29.
Regarding claim 29, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 5 are applicable for claim 29.
Regarding claim 30, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 5 are applicable for claim 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 16, 18, 28, 32 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Solovyey in view of Jiang et al (US 2022/0215592, hereafter Jiang).
As per claim 10, Solovyey discloses the method of claim 1, for one neighboring latent block of said one or more neighboring latent blocks (¶ 145; Therefore, the intra prediction uses reconstructed neighboring samples of a frame).
However, Solovyey does not explicitly teach only a part of a latent block corresponding to said one neighboring latent block is used to obtain said predicted latent block for said block.
In the same field of endeavor, Jiang teaches teach only a part of a latent block corresponding to said one neighboring latent block is used to obtain said predicted latent block for said block (¶ 42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Solovyey in view of Jiang. The advantage is improved video compression.
Regarding claim 16, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 10 are applicable for claim 16.
Regarding claim 18, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 10 are applicable for claim 18.
Regarding claim 28, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 10 are applicable for claim 28.
Regarding claim 32, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 10 are applicable for claim 32.
Regarding claim 33, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 10 are applicable for claim 33.
Conclusion
/CHIKAODILI E ANYIKIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487