DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7-12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2019/235055 A1 in which US 2021/0171754 A1 to Horihata et al. is used below as a US English equivalent. (hereinafter Horihata) and in further view of WO 2008/111353 A1 to Kono et al. (hereinafter Kono).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 7-12, Horihata teaches a fiber used to make fibers for artificial hair comprising a bundle of fibers (See abstract, para 80-85), wherein the fibers contain 70 mass of vinyl chloride polymer, 30 mass of a styrene-acrylonitrile polymer (68% styrene/32% acrylonitrile), and 0.5-1.5 mass of a vinyl chloride acrylic grafted copolymer (See Example 2-3, para 62-64 and Table 1), which meets the claimed component (A), (B) and (C). The acryl content of the vinyl chloride acrylic grafted copolymer is 70 mass% of the copolymer (para 73), which meets claims 9-12.
Horihata does not explicitly teach the coefficient of variation of fineness of the single fibers.
However, Kono teaches a method of forming a fiber bundle having a coefficient of variation of 10-40% (See abstract), wherein the fiber bundle is used for artificial hair (para 6), and are obtained from vinyl chloride-based fibers (para 17-19), which is in the same field of artificial hair of the Applicant’s invention. Kono further teaches the coefficient of variation gives the fiber bundles a balance of firmness and natural feel of natural hair. (para 7, 12, 31-32).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to use the coefficient of variation of fineness of Kono for the fiber bundle of Horihata because Kono teaches the same field of artificial hair of the Applicant’s invention and Kono further teaches the coefficient of variation gives the fiber bundles a balance of firmness and natural feel of natural hair. (para 7, 12, 31-32).
Claim(s) 3-6, 13-16, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horihata in further view of Kono as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP 2001-115332 A to Konoo Yutaka et al. (hereinafter Konoo Yutaka).
Regarding claims 3-6, 13-16, as cited above and incorporated herein, Horihata and Kono teaches claim 1.
Horihata does not explicitly teach wherein the (meth)acrylic copolymer contains methyl methacrylate and/or butyl acrylate.
However, Konoo Yutaka teaches a polyvinyl chloride-based fiber containing 100 parts of polyvinyl choride-based resin and 0.2-5 parts of a (meth)acrylic acid alkyl ester-based process property-improving agent (See abstract) used in the field of artificial hair, (para 45), which is in the same field of artificial hair of the Applicant’s invention. Konoo Yutaka further teaches the (meth)acrylic acid alkyl ester-based agent is a copolymer of methyl methacrylate (MMA) and butyl acrylate (BA) with a MMA88/BA12 mass ratio and MW of 1,000,000 (See Table 1, para 40), which meets the claimed (meth)acrylic polymer (B) of claims 1, 3-6, 9-16. Konoo Yutaka also teaches the (meth)acrylic acid alkyl ester-based improver agent stably promotes gelation, improves tensile strength and stability, (para 19), and improves processibility. (para 24).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to further include the amount of (meth)acrylic acid alkyl ester-based process property-improving agent of Konoo Yutaka in the fibers of Horihata because Konoo Yutaka teaches the same field of artificial hair of the Applicant’s invention and Konoo Yutaka also teaches the (meth)acrylic acid alkyl ester-based improver agent stably promotes gelation, improves tensile strength and stability, (para 19), and improves processibility. (para 24).
Conclusion
/HA S NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766