DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-12 are pending. Claims 9-11 are withdrawn. Claims 1-8 and 12 are presented for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claim 1-8 and 12 in the reply filed on 12/9/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/9/2025.
Double Patenting
1. Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3 and 5-9 of copending Application No. 18/042791 in view of Kojima et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2009/0044720). Claims 1, 3 and 5-9 of Application No. 18/042791 teach a composition that includes all the elements as claimed in claims 1-8 but fails to teach the composition having a pH in the range as claimed. However, Kojima teaches a similar composition comprising palladium ions, chloride ion, ethylenediamine and a reducing agent (Plating Solution 1, 0051) and teaches that the composition can have a pH in a range of 3-10. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claims 1, 3 and 5-9 of Application No. 18/042791 to have the composition have a pH of 7.5-9.5. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Kojima makes clear that this range is suitable for palladium plating solutions including similar elements.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1-8 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2009/0044720) in view of Bruning et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2016/0053379).
I. Regarding claims 1, 3, 6, 8 and 12, Kojima teaches a composition for depositing palladium (0051) comprising: palladium ions (Plating Solution 1, 0051); chloride ions (Plating Solution 1, 0051); ethylenediamine (Plating Solution 1, 0051); sodium formate as a reducing agent (Plating Solution 1, 0051); and 20 mM disodium ethylene diaminetetraacetate, which has the formula
(Plating Solution 1, 0051); and the composition not including boron hydride (Plating Solution 1, 0051). Kojima teaches the ratio of palladium ions to ethylenediamine being 1:2 (0031 and Plating Solution 1, 0051) and that the pH of the composition can be 3-10 (0046, and note that overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness). Kojima fails to teach the inclusion of EDDS, which has the formula
where the acids may be in ionic form, and the pH being 7.5 to 9.5.
First, Kojima fails to explicitly teach the range of 7.5-9.5. However, Kojima does teach a range for pH from 3-10 (see above) which overlaps the claimed range and makes obvious the claimed range. Note that overlapping ranges have been held as prima facie evidence of obviousness.
Second, EDDS, as shown above, has an extremely similar structure to Kojima’s disodium ethylene diaminetetraacetate. Furthermore, Bruning teaches the inclusion of EDDS as a preferred complexing agent (0039) in a metal plating solution (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kojima’s composition by substituting EDDS for Kojima’s disodium ethylene diaminetetraacetate. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Bruning teaches that EDDS is a preferred complexing agent based on its high biodegradability and increased metal deposition rates (0045).
II. Regarding claims 2, 4 and 5, Kojima in view of Bruning teach all the limitations of claim 1 (see above), but fail to explicitly teach the concentration of palladium, ethylenediamine, and chloride ions. However, the amount of these elements are result-effective variables as adjusting the concentrations of these compounds will alter the deposition rate and plating film thickness (see Kojima at 0033, 0037 and 0045 which discloses that adjusting the concentrations of these variables alters properties of the resultant palladium composition). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose the instantly claimed ranges through process optimization, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
III. Regarding claim 7, Kojima in view of Bruning teach all the limitations of claim 1 (see above), but fail to show an example where the reducing agent is present in 200 mM-1000 mM. However, Kojima in view of Bruning does teach a range for the reducing agent being 5 mM-300 mM (Kojima at 0045) which overlaps with the claimed range. Furthermore, overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. Therefore, Kojima in view of Bruning make obvious claim 7.
Conclusion
Claims 1-12 are pending.
Claims 9-11 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-8 and 12 are rejected.
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
January 7, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717