DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant has elected group I, claims 1, 3-10 and 12 directed to group management server without traverse. And claims 13-14, 16-18, 21-22 and 24-26 are withdrawn. Currently, claims 1, 3-10 and 12 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP TS23.434 V17.4.0, 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Service Enabler Architecture Layer for Verticals (SEAL); Functional architecture and information flows; (Release 17) (hereafter 3GPP)(see IDS).
Regarding claim 1, 3GPP discloses a method performed by a group management server, comprising:
receiving a location-based group creation request from a group management client or a vertical application layer (VAL) server (see, 10.3.7, location-based group creation, shows the group management server received location based group creation request from the group management client or VAL server),
wherein the location-based group creation request comprises location information and at least one VAL service identity (ID) (see, 10.3.6. 4 group configurations, contain the group configuration data common to all VAL services and group configuration data specific to each VAL service, see, note, VAL service data, and 10.3.7. location based group creation);
obtaining information of at least one VAL user and/or at least one VAL user equipment (UE) corresponding to the location information (see, 10.3.7, location-based group creation, the location criteria for determining the identities of the users of UEs);
obtaining VAL service data of the at least one VAL user and/or the at least one VAL UE (see, 10.3.6. 4 group configurations, contain the group configuration data common to all VAL services and group configuration data specific to each VAL service, see, note, VAL service data, and 10.3.7. location based group creation);
creating a location-based group matching the location-based group creation request based on the VAL service data of the at least one VAL user and/or at least one VAL UE (see, 10.3.7-1 , location-based group creation, see, step 5. Group management server, create and store the location-based group).
Regarding claim 3, 3GPP further discloses the method, wherein obtaining information of the at least one VAL user and/or the at least one VAL UE corresponding to the location information comprises: sending a first request for obtaining the at least one VAL user and/or the at least one VAL UE corresponding to the location information to a location management server (see, Fig. 10.3.7-1 discloses obtain UEs list per location request); and receiving a first response comprising the information of the at least one VAL user and/or the at least one VAL UE corresponding to the location information from the location management server (see, Fig. 10.3.7-1 discloses the compose list of the UEs for a location, at location management server and send obtain UEs list per location response to the group management server).
Regarding claim 4, 3GPP further discloses the method, wherein the first response further comprises VAL service data of one or more of the at least one VAL user and/or the at least one VAL UE (see, 10.3.6. 4 group configurations, contain the group configuration data common to all VAL services and group configuration data specific to each VAL service, see, note, VAL service data, and 10.3.7. location based group creation).
Regarding claim 5, 3GPP further discloses the method wherein obtaining VAL service data of the at least one VAL user and/or the at least one VAL UE comprises at least one of: obtaining VAL service data of one or more of the at least one VAL user and/or the at least one VAL UE from a location management server; or obtaining VAL service data of one or more of the at least one VAL user and/or the at least one VAL UE from a configuration management server (see, Fig. 10.3.7-1 location based group creation discloses step 5 the create and store location based group).
Regarding claim 12, 3GPP further discloses the method wherein VAL service data of a VAL user or a VAL UE comprises at least one of: one or more VAL service IDs of one or more VAL services supported by the VAL user or the VAL UE, a VAL user ID, a VAL UE ID, or VAL service specific information (see, page 92, 1. The VAL server determines group information and the identity list to which the group announcement shall be sent. The decision can be based on the list of authorized UEs and other criteria (e.g. user consent, service, or vehicle driving profile). 2. The VAL server configures VAL group for Uu communication defined by VAL Group ID for one or more VAL services with list of VAL Service ID with the group management server.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pateromichalakis et al. (US 2025/0150783) discloses mapping applications and location service profiles.
Tangudu et al. (US 2023/0388748) discloses method and apparatus for monitoring location and problematic event of user equipment.
Zhao et al. (US 2022/0329996) discloses location reporting for service enabler architectures layer (SEAL).
Pattan et al. (US 2021/0007178) discloses system and method for dynamic group data protection.
/DHAVAL V PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631