DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 07/09/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zettler [DE102020111293] in view of Iechika [JP2017017251] in view of Topmiller [US 6434516].
Claim 1: Zettler teaches an in-situ determination of temperature of a wafer [title], where the method determines the temperature of the wafer during a coating process by means of emissivity correct pyrometry (depositing layer on substrate) [abstract], during the deposition determine value pairs of emissivity value from thermal radiation at a first wavelength and reflectance value measured a second wavelength [abstract; pg 3], where the second wavelength can be different from the first wavelength [pg 4]; calculating temperature values from the pair values where the emissivity values lie on first curve that oscillate with a first angular frequency over time and reflectance values lie on a second curve that oscillates with a second angular frequency over time where the quotient of the first angular frequency and second angular frequency are different from 1 [pg 5-6]. However, Zettler does not appear to teach a numerical time transformation at which the emissivity or reflectance are calculated at different times to form transformed values from the emissivity and reflectance values wherein the temperature values are calculated using the transformed values. Iechika is provided.
Iechika teaches a vapor phase growth device and temperature detection method [title], wherein the method includes depositing the layer on the substrate [abstract], during the deposition, measurements of thermal radiation and reflectance value are measured [abstract], and calculating the temperature of the substrate from the values of radiation and reflectance based upon transforming the emissivity and reflectance values over a period of time [Fig. 5, pg 5, 7-8]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to transform the measured emissivity and reflectance values over time since Iechika teaches this is already a known technique to produce a more accurate result [pg 2].
However, the prior art does not appear to teach using a first gradient value of the emissivity values and a second gradient from the reflectance values. Topmiller is provided.
Topmiller teaches converting absolute measurements signal to incremental signal from sensor data [col 1, ln 5-16], and the method comprises determining the difference between the absolute measurement and a synthesized measurement and generating a first incremental signal and a second incremental signal based upon differences, where the first and second incremental signals are out of phase [col 3, ln 30-41]. Topmiller further teaches a synthesizer that determines the rate of change from the absolute measurement and the rate of change could be determined by subtracting a previous measurement of the sensor from the current measurement of the sensor and dividing the difference by the time period between the two measurement [col 4, ln 45-55]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to synthesize gradient data from measured data, such as the emissivity values and reflectance values since Topmiller teaches this ensures accurate representation of the sensor measurement [col 1, ln 15].
Claim 2: Zettler teaches emission and reflectance oscillations are measured at slightly different wavelengths (first angular frequency and second angular frequency) [pg 2-3].
Claim 3: Iechika teaches during deposition, transforming measurement values of emissivity and reflectance based over a unit of time [pg 5]. Although Iechika does not explicitly teach the exact equation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to derive the equation from the teachings and equation of Iechika.
Claim 4: Topmiller teaches that gradients are calculated by subtracting a previous measurement of the sensor from the current measurement of the sensor and dividing the difference by the time period between the two measurement [col 4, ln 45-55]. Although Iechika does not explicitly teach the exact equation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to derive the equation from the teachings of Topmiller.
Claim 5: Iechika teaches the temperature calculated by adjusting the parameter of the reflectance function [pg 5].
Claim 6: Although the prior art does not explicitly teach the first angular frequency is greater than the second angular frequency, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select from a finite number of options of value relationship between the angular frequencies, for example, either greater than, less than, or equal.
Claim 7: Iechika teaches the temperature values is monitored in a looping manner [pg 7].
Claim 8: Zettler teaches determining the periods of the time dependent Fabry-Perot oscillations and compares reflection and pyrometry oscillation periods [pg 4-6].
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zettler in view of Iechika and Topmiller as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Breiland [Reflectance-Correcting Pyrometry in Thin Film Deposition Applications].
Teaching of the prior art is aforementioned, but does not appear to teach the limitation of adjusting and testable transformation factor in claim 9.
Claim 9: Breiland teaches reflectance correcting pyrometry in thin film deposition [title], where temperature over-compensation artifacts are removed from reflectance or thermal measurements [abstract]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize this technique to enhance precise temperature measurements [abstract].
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-9 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. US 18030734. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim in the instant application fully encompass the subject matter of the claims of copending application or alternatively the claims of copending application anticipates the claim in the instant application.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/MANDY C LOUIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718