DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-17 and 26 are pending. Claims 4, 12, 18-25 and 27-35 have been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 05/04/2026 have been fully considered.
The rejections of claims 1-8 under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Regarding the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rácz et al. (US20200322909A1) in view of Lee (US20080159337A1). Applicant argues on page 10 that the cited portions of Lee fail to disclose "wherein the determining the delay time associated with the received data packet comprises acquiring a set of configured parameters associated with the primary network node and determining the delay time based on the set of configured parameters associated with the primary network node" as recited in amended independent Claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments are persuasive. Claim 1 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rácz in view of Lee under new grounds of rejection in which Lee discloses " wherein the determining the delay time associated with the received data packet comprises acquiring a set of configured parameters associated with the primary network node [receiving node B] and determining the delay time based on the set of configured parameters [size for the REORDER buffer] associated with the primary network node” by showing in para [0013] when a large arrival delay occurs to an intermediate packet among the packets N to (N+M) sequentially transmitted in serial order, the receiving node B, in order to reorder the packets on the receiving side, stores those packets numbered after the delayed packet in a REORDER buffer until the delayed packet arrives. When the delayed packet has arrived, the stored packets are fed in order to an application. Accordingly, it is necessary to determine a size for the REORDER buffer of the receiving node B such that a maximum delay can be absorbed (e.g., determining the delay time based on the size for the REORDER buffer of the receiving node B.)
As to any argument not specifically addressed, they are the same as those discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9-10, 12-14, 17 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rácz et al. (US20200322909A1) in view of Lee (US20080159337A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rácz discloses a method for transmitting a data packet intended for an industrial controller (Fig 2 and para [0052] show a wireless access network (WAN) 206 that is connected to said two or more robot devices 202, 204 and the controller 222; para [0054] shows industrial protocol adds a time stamp to it data frames; the packet inspection module may be adapted to extract the time stamp from the received uplink data frames),
the industrial controller [controller 222] being configured for executing an industrial application to control one or more industrial devices [robot devices 202, 204] in an industrial environment (para [0004, 0025] shows industrial robot deployments and a controller are typically connected for automation application in industry),
the method being performed by a primary network node [tunneling unit 208] in a wireless communication network (para [0046] shows wireless naturally introduces some fix delay in packet transmission; Fig 2 and para [0053] show uplink frames from the robot devices 202, 204 reach after having passed the WAN 206, a packet inspection module 210, comprised in the tunneling unit 208), the method comprising:
receiving a data packet from at least one industrial device (Fig 2 and para [0053] show uplink frames from the robot devices 202, 204 reach after having passed the WAN 206, a packet inspection module 210, comprised in the tunneling unit 208; para [0054] shows the packet inspection module may be adapted to extract the time stamp from the received uplink data frames; para [0055] shows alternatively, the packet inspection module may be adapted to insert a time stamp into received uplink transport frames.)
Rácz discloses this time stamp may reflect the time at which the received frame was generated in the respective robot device (para [0054]) but fails to show:
determining a delay time associated with the received data packet, the delay time being indicative of a delay of the received data packet occurred during transmission of the received data packet to the primary network node; forming a data packet intended for the industrial controller; and transmitting the data packet intended for an industrial controller, to one or more secondary network nodes in the wireless communication network, wherein the forming of the data packet intended for the industrial controller comprises forming the data packet from the received data packet and the determined delay time,
wherein the determining the delay time associated with the received data packet comprises acquiring a set of configured parameters associated with the primary network node and determining the delay time based on the set of configured parameters associated with the primary network node.
However, Lee discloses (para [0033] shows a wireless multi-hop system; Fig 8 and para [0076] shows the transit nodes B and C between the transmitting node A and the receiving node D):
determining a delay time associated with the received data packet, the delay time being indicative of a delay of the received data packet occurred during transmission of the received data packet to the primary network node; forming a data packet intended for the industrial controller; and transmitting the data packet intended for an industrial controller, to one or more secondary network nodes in the wireless communication network, wherein the forming of the data packet intended for the industrial controller comprises forming the data packet from the received data packet and the determined delay time ([Abstract] shows a node (i) calculates a cumulative delay CUM_DLY(i) of a received packet cumulated up to the current hop, by using an arrival delay of the packet and a cumulative delay CUM_DLY(i−1) cumulated up to the previous hop; para [0035] shows the node (i) (e.g., node B) receives a packet from the node (i-1) (e.g., node A); the node B replaces the arrival delay, which is a delay accumulated up to the node B itself, and transmits the packet in question to the node (i+1) (e.g., node C); para [0067] shows node (i) (e.g., node B) writes the arrival delay in the header of the packet),
wherein the determining the delay time associated with the received data packet comprises acquiring a set of configured parameters associated with the primary network node [receiving node B] and determining the delay time based on the set of configured parameters [size for the REORDER buffer] associated with the primary network node (para [0013] shows when a large arrival delay occurs to an intermediate packet among the packets N to (N+M) sequentially transmitted in serial order, the receiving node B, in order to reorder the packets on the receiving side, stores those packets numbered after the delayed packet in a REORDER buffer until the delayed packet arrives. When the delayed packet has arrived, the stored packets are fed in order to an application. Accordingly, it is necessary to determine a size for the REORDER buffer of the receiving node B such that a maximum delay can be absorbed (e.g., determining the delay time based on the size for the REORDER buffer of the receiving node B).)
The tunneling unit 208] in Rácz (para [0053]) is mapped to the receiving node B in Lee (para [0013]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Rácz with the teaching of Lee in order to target a wireless multi-hop system (Lee; para [0033]).
Regarding claim 9, Rácz discloses a method for transmitting a data packet to an industrial controller (Fig 2 and para [0052] show a wireless access network (WAN) 206 that is connected to said two or more robot devices 202, 204 and the controller 222; para [0054] shows the packet inspection module may be adapted to industrial protocols; para [0054] shows industrial protocol adds a time stamp to it data frames; the packet inspection module may be adapted to extract the time stamp from the received uplink data frames),
the industrial controller [controller 222] being configured for executing an industrial application control one or more industrial devices [robot devices 202, 204] in an industrial environment (para [0004, 0025] shows industrial robot deployments and a controller are typically connected via proprietary industrial protocols for automation application in industry).
Rácz fails to teach the method being performed by a secondary network node among a plurality of secondary network nodes, between a primary network node and the industrial controller, in a wireless communication network, the method comprising:
receiving, from the primary network node, a data packet comprising a delay time relating to a delay occurred during the transmission of the data packet to the primary network node;
determining, a new delay time associated with the received data packet, the new delay time being indicative of delay occurred during the transmission of the data packet to the secondary network node;
forming, a data packet intended for the industrial controller; and
transmitting the data packet to the industrial controller in the wireless communication network,
wherein the forming of the data packet intended for the industrial controller comprises forming the data packet from the received data packet and the determined new delay time.
However, Lee discloses (para [0033] shows a wireless multi-hop system; Fig 8 and para [0076] shows the transit nodes B and C between the transmitting node A and the receiving node D):
determining a delay time associated with the received data packet, the delay time being indicative of a delay of the received data packet occurred during transmission of the received data packet to the primary network node; forming a data packet intended for the industrial controller; and transmitting the data packet intended for an industrial controller, to one or more secondary network nodes in the wireless communication network, wherein the forming of the data packet intended for the industrial controller comprises forming the data packet from the received data packet and the determined delay time ([Abstract] shows a node (i) calculates a cumulative delay CUM_DLY(i) of a received packet cumulated up to the current hop, by using an arrival delay of the packet and a cumulative delay CUM_DLY(i−1) cumulated up to the previous hop; para [0035] shows the node (i) (e.g., node B) receives a packet from the node (i-1) (e.g., node A); the node B replaces the arrival delay, which is a delay accumulated up to the node B itself, and transmits the packet in question to the node (i+1) (e.g., node C); para [0067] shows node (i) (e.g., node B) writes the arrival delay in the header of the packet),
wherein the determining the delay time associated with the received data packet comprises acquiring a set of configured parameters associated with the primary network node [receiving node B] and determining the delay time based on the set of configured parameters [size for the REORDER buffer] associated with the primary network node (para [0013] shows when a large arrival delay occurs to an intermediate packet among the packets N to (N+M) sequentially transmitted in serial order, the receiving node B, in order to reorder the packets on the receiving side, stores those packets numbered after the delayed packet in a REORDER buffer until the delayed packet arrives. When the delayed packet has arrived, the stored packets are fed in order to an application. Accordingly, it is necessary to determine a size for the REORDER buffer of the receiving node B such that a maximum delay can be absorbed.)
The tunneling unit 208] in Rácz (para [0053]) is mapped to the receiving node B in Lee (para [0013]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Rácz with the teaching of Lee in order to target a wireless multi-hop system (Lee; para [0033]).
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Rácz-Lee as applied to claim 1 discloses the step of forming the data packet intended for the industrial controller comprising comprises: identifying a header extension of the received data packet; and appending the delay time to the header extension of the received data packet (Lee; [Abstract] shows a node (i) calculates a cumulative delay CUM_DLY(i) of a received packet cumulated up to the current hop. The node (i) writes the cumulative delay CUM DLY (i) in a header of the packet and transmits the packet to the next node.)
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Rácz-Lee as applied to claims 1 and 9 discloses the step of determining the delay time associated with the received data packet comprises: acquiring a set of configured parameters associated with the primary network node; and determining the delay time based on the set of configured parameters associated with the primary network node (Lee; [Abstract] shows a node calculates a cumulative delay CUM_DLY(i) of a received packet; para [0050] shows the node is provided with a plurality of transmission profile; para [0051] shows the transmission profile is composed of parameters. Therefore, by selecting a transmission profile composed of transmission parameters, the arrival delay of a packet can be probabilistically controlled. For example, a plurality of transmission parameters (transmission power, transmission frequency, etc.) are set as a transmission profile, and with such settings, it is possible to set a transmission profile A1 associated with an arrival delay D1 and to set a transmission profile A2 associated with an arrival delay D2.)
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Rácz-Lee as applied to claims 4 and 12 discloses the set of configured parameters comprises one or more of a queuing delay, a number of Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ} retransmissions, a number of Radio Link Control {RLC} retransmissions, and an estimated delay per HARQ retransmission (Rácz; para [0046] shows the retransmission on radio is typically handled by hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) protocol. Lee; para [0046] shows in the case where the retransmission process is synchronous HARQ, the number of HARQ transmissions detected by the node (i) is supposed to be the arrival delay DLY(i)).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Rácz-Lee as applied to claims 4 and 12 discloses: obtaining information about change in the set of configured parameters associated with the primary network node; and determining the delay time based on the information about the change in the set of configured parameters (Lee; [Abstract] shows a node calculates a cumulative delay CUM_DLY(i) of a received packet; para [0050] shows the node is provided with a plurality of transmission profile; para [0051] shows the transmission profile is composed of parameters. Therefore, by selecting a transmission profile composed of transmission parameters, the arrival delay of a packet can be probabilistically controlled. For example, a plurality of transmission parameters (transmission power, transmission frequency, etc.) are set as a transmission profile, and with such settings, it is possible to set a transmission profile A1 associated with an arrival delay D1 and to set a transmission profile A2 associated with an arrival delay D2.)
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is directed to an apparatus. Claim 17 requires limitations that are similar to those recited in the method claim 1 to carry out the method steps. And since Rácz-Lee discloses the method including limitations required to carry out the method steps, therefore claim 17 would have also been obvious in view of Rácz-Lee combined.
Furthermore, Rácz-Lee combined discloses an apparatus comprising controlling circuitry (Rácz; para [0016]).
Regarding claim 26, claim 26 is directed to an apparatus. Claim 26 requires limitations that are similar to those recited in the method claim 9 to carry out the method steps. And since Rácz-Lee discloses the method including limitations required to carry out the method steps, therefore claim 26 would have also been obvious in view of Rácz-Lee combined.
Furthermore, Rácz discloses an apparatus comprising controlling circuitry (Rácz; para [0016]).
Claims 3. 8, 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rácz in view Lee, further in view of Cella (US20220108262A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Rácz-Lee as applied to claims 2 and 10 discloses the header extension (Lee; [Abstract] shows a node (i) calculates a cumulative delay CUM_DLY(i) of a received packet cumulated up to the current hop. The node (i) writes the cumulative delay CUM DLY (i) in a header of the packet and transmits the packet to the next node.)
Rácz-Lee as combined fails to teach one or more of an Internet Protocol (IP), header extension, Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP), header extension and Constrained Application Protocol (CoAP) header extension.
However, Cella discloses one or more of an Internet Protocol (IP), header extension, Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP), header extension and Constrained Application Protocol (CoAP) header extension (para [0429] shows computing environments of enterprises that control heavy industrial environments; para [5350] shows the platform 35610 can use one or more protocols 35608 selected from the group consisting of REST/HTTP, CoAP.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Rácz with the teaching of Cella in order to select one or more protocols 35608 from the group consisting of REST/HTTP, CoAP (Cella; para [5350]).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Rácz-Lee as applied to claims 1 and 9 fails to show:
determining that the new delay time exceeds a pre-determined delay threshold; and
when it is determined that the new delay time has exceeded the pre-determined delay threshold, transmitting a message to the industrial controller, the message comprising an indication that the new delay time has exceeded the pre-determined delay threshold.
However, Cella discloses (para [0429] shows computing environments of enterprises that control heavy industrial environment):
determining that the delay time exceeds a pre-determined delay threshold (para [2803] shows delay is used as an indicator to exit slow start, e.g. when a smoothed estimate of RTT exceeds a configured threshold); and
when it is determined that the delay time has exceeded the pre-determined delay threshold, transmitting a message to the industrial controller, the message comprising an indication that the delay time has exceeded the pre-determined delay threshold (para [1257] shows the instrument 5002 may produce a notification, alarm, message, or the like.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Rácz with the teaching of Cella in order to produce a notification, alarm, message, or the like when RTT (e.g., delay) exceeds a configured threshold (Cella; para [1257, 2803]).
Claims 7 and 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rácz in view of Lee, further in view of Bugenhagen et al. (US20210306206A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Rácz-Lee as applied to claim 14 fails to teach the information about the change in the set of configured parameters comprises one or more of: detection of an handover event from the secondary network node, to another secondary network node; and detection of an increase in a number of industrial devices connected to the secondary network node.
However, Bugenhagen discloses the information about the change in the set of configured parameters comprises one or more of: detection of an handover event from the secondary network node, to another secondary network node; and detection of an increase in a number of industrial devices connected to the secondary network node (para [0092] shows industrial control; para [0090] shows signaling can also be used to coordinate controller hand-offs from controller to controller; para [0091] shows the applications can also leverage the fast message agent to ensure fast fail-over from node 723 to node 724 (or vice versa) in the event one of those nodes fails.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Rácz-Lee with the teaching of Bugenhagen in order to coordinate controller hand-offs from controller to controller and to ensure fast fail-over from node 723 to node 724 (or vice versa) in the event one of those nodes fails (Bugenhagen; para [0090, 0091]).
Conclusion
/TAN DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445