DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on January 22, 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
Claims 3-5, 7, 9-10, 12-14, and 16-19 are amended. Claim 20 is new, no new matter is present. Claims 1-20 are present for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US 2021/0174711 A1) in view of Yamakita (US 2014/0160674 A1).
Claim 1, Cho discloses a display module (foldable display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1, 2, and 5), comprising:
a display panel (display panel 110/210/310, [0036], [0098], and [0110], Figs. 1-3 and 5) including a display portion for displaying an image (display panel 110/210/310 includes a display portion for displaying an image, hereinafter, display portion 110/210/310, [0036], [0098], and [0110], Figs. 1-3 and 5), the display portion 110/210/310 including a display area and a peripheral area surrounding the display area (display portion 110/210/310 includes a display area DA and a peripheral area PA surrounding the display area DA, Fig. 4); and
a heat dissipation film (back plate 140/240/340, second support layer 150/250/350, first support layer 160/260/360, and impact absorbing layer 270/370 bonded together using adhesives 280a/290a/290b/290c and 380a/390a/390b/390c may serve as a heat dissipation film, hereinafter, heat dissipation film 340/350/360/370, [0117], Figs. 1, 2, and 5) stacked on a non-display surface of the display portion 110/210/310 (heat dissipation film 340/350/360/370 is stacked on a non-display surface of the display portion 110/210/310, [0117], Figs. 1, 2, and 5); the heat dissipation film 340/350/360/370 including a metal layer (heat dissipation film 340/350/360/370 includes second support layer 350 which is a metal layer, hereinafter, metal layer 350, [0118], Fig. 5) and a composite film layer (heat dissipation film 340/350/360/370 includes first support layer 360 and impact absorbing layer 370 which is a composite film layer, hereinafter, composite film layer 360/370, [0118], Fig. 5) that are stacked (heat dissipation film 340/350/360/370 includes metal layer 350 and a composite film layer 360/370 that are stacked, [0118], Fig. 5), and; wherein
the composite film layer 360/370 includes a first film layer structure (second portion of the impact absorbing layer 370-2 is a first film layer structure, hereinafter, first film layer structure 370-2, [0110], Fig. 5) and a filling portion (first portion of the impact absorbing layer 370-1 is a filling portion, hereinafter, filling portion 370-1, [0110], Fig. 5), and the first film layer structure 370-2 and the filling portion 370-1 are both connected to the metal layer 350 (first film layer structure 370-2 and the filling portion 370-1 are both connected to the metal layer 350, [0110], Fig. 5); and
an orthographic projection of the first film layer structure 370-2 on the display portion at least covers the display area DA (an orthographic projection of the first film layer structure 370-2 on the display portion at least covers the display area DA, [0110], Figs. 4 and 5), an orthographic projection of the filling portion 370-1 on the display portion at least covers part of the peripheral area PA (an orthographic projection of the filling portion 370-1 on the display portion at least covers part of the peripheral area PA¸ [0110], Figs. 4 and 5).
Cho does not explicitly disclose the metal layer being farther away from the display portion than the composite film layer and a thermal conductivity of the filling portion is greater than a thermal conductivity of the first film layer structure.
However, Yamakita discloses a heat dissipation film, comprising:
a metal layer (heat sink 170 is a metal layer, hereinafter, metal layer 170, [0041], Fig. 1; and
a composite film layer (thermal conduction element 150 is a composite film layer, hereinafter, composite film layer 150, [0038], Fig. 1) stacked on the metal layer 170 (composite film layer 150 is stacked on the metal layer 170, [0038], Fig. 1);
wherein the metal layer 170 being farther away from the display portion 110 than the composite film layer 150;
the composite film layer 150 includes a first film layer structure (composite film layer 150 includes first thermal conduction layer 130 which is a first film layer structure, hereinafter, first film layer structure 130, [0038], Fig. 1) and a filling portion (composite film layer 150 includes second thermal conduction layer 140 which is a filling portion, hereinafter, filling portion 140, [0038], Fig. 1), the first film layer structure 130 and the filling portion 140 are both connected to the metal layer 170 (first film layer structure 130 and the filling portion 140 are both connected to the metal layer 170, [0041], Fig. 1), and a thermal conductivity of the filling portion 140 is greater than a thermal conductivity of the first film layer structure 130 (thermal conductivity of the filling portion 140 is greater than a thermal conductivity of the first film layer structure 130, [0037], Fig. 1). The combination to utilize a material having a higher thermal conductivity than an adjacent thermal material ensures for proper facilitation of heat dissipation from the display panel (Yamakita, [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a material having a higher thermal conductivity than an adjacent thermal material to ensure proper facilitation of heat dissipation from the display panel (Yamakita, [0038]).
Claim 2, Yamakita/Cho discloses the display module (Yamakita, display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2; Cho, foldable display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1, 2, and 5) according to claim 1.
Yamakita/Cho discloses wherein the first film layer structure (Yamakita, first film layer structure 130, [0038], Fig. 1; Cho, first film layer structure 370-2, [0110], Fig. 5) includes a bonding layer and a foam layer that are stacked (Yamakita, first film layer structure 130 includes a flexible portion which is a bonding layer, hereinafter, bonding layer 131, [0038], Fig. 1; Cho, first film layer structure 370-2 includes an adhesive 390c which is a bonding layer, hereinafter, bonding layer 390c and a foam layer 370-2 that are stacked, [0110], Fig. 5), and the foam layer is closer to the metal layer than the bonding layer (Yamakita, first film layer structure 130 is closer to the metal layer 170 than the bonding layer 131, [0038], Fig. 1; Cho, first film layer structure 370-2 includes an adhesive 390c which is a bonding layer, hereinafter, bonding layer 390c and a foam layer 370-2 that are stacked, [0110], Fig. 5); and
a material of the filling portion includes at least one of thermally conductive silicone or graphite (Yamakita, filling portion 140 may be formed of graphite, [0037], Fig. 1; Cho, filling portion 370-1 is formed of silicone, [0110], Fig. 5).
Claim 3, Yamakita/Cho discloses the display module (Yamakita, display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2; Cho, foldable display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1, 2, and 5) according to claim 2.
Yamakita/Cho discloses wherein the filling portion includes a thermally conductive silicone layer and a graphite layer (Yamakita, filling portion 140 may be formed of graphite, [0037], Fig. 1; Cho, filling portion 370-1 is formed of silicone, [0110], Fig. 5);
the thermally conductive silicone layer and the graphite layer are stacked in a direction perpendicular to the display portion (Yamakita, filling portion 140 may be formed of graphite and are stacked in a direction perpendicular to the display portion, [0037], Fig. 1; Cho, filling portion 370-1 is formed of silicone and are stacked in a direction perpendicular to the display portion, [0110], Fig. 5), or the thermally conductive silicone layer and the graphite layer are arranged side by side on a plane parallel to the display portion and are connected to each other (Yamakita, filling portion 140 may be formed of graphite and are arranged side by side on a plane parallel to the display portion and are connected to each other, [0037], Fig. 1; Cho, filling portion 370-1 is formed of silicone and are arranged side by side on a plane parallel to the display portion and are connected to each other, [0110], Fig. 5).
Claim 4, Yamakita/Cho discloses the display module (Yamakita, display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2; Cho, foldable display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1, 2, and 5) according to claim 1.
Yamakita/Cho discloses wherein a surface of the filling portion away from the metal layer has a serrated and/or wavy morphology (Yamakita, a surface of the filling portion 140 away from the metal layer 170 has a serrated and/or wavy morphology, [0037], Fig. 1; Cho, a surface of the filling portion 370-1 away from the metal layer has a serrated and/or wavy morphology, [0110], Fig. 5).
Claim 5, Yamakita/Cho discloses the display module (Yamakita, display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2; Cho, foldable display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1, 2, and 5) according to claim 1.
Yamakita/Cho discloses wherein an edge of the first film layer structure (Yamakita, first film layer structure 130, [0038], Fig. 1; Cho, first film layer structure 370-2, [0110], Fig. 5) has a notch, and the filling portion (Yamakita, filling portion 140, [0037], Fig. 1; Cho, filling portion 370-1, [0110], Fig. 5) is disposed in the notch and connected to a side face of the first film layer structure at the notch (Yamakita, filling portion 140 is disposed in the notch and connected to a side face of the first film layer structure 130 at the notch, [0037], Fig. 1; Cho, filling portion 370-1 is disposed in the notch and connected to a side face of the first film layer structure 370-2 at the notch, [0110], Fig. 5).
Claim 6, Yamakita/Cho discloses the display module (Yamakita, display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2; Cho, foldable display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1, 2, and 5) according to claim 5.
Yamakita/Cho discloses wherein a side face of the first film structure outside the notch and a side face of the filling portion away from the display area are smoothly transitioned (Yamakita, side face of the first film structure 130 outside the notch and a side face of the filling portion 140 away from the display area are smoothly transitioned, [0037], Fig. 1; Cho, side face of the first film structure 370-2 outside the notch and a side face of the filling portion 370-1 away from the display area are smoothly transitioned, [0110], Fig. 5).
Claim 7, Yamakita/Cho discloses the display module (Yamakita, display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2; Cho, foldable display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1, 2, and 5) according to claim 1.
Yamakita/Cho discloses wherein the composite film layer (Yamakita, composite film layer 150, [0038], Fig. 1; Cho, composite film layer 360/370, [0118], Fig. 5) has a rectangular structure (Yamakita, composite film layer 150 has a rectangular structure, [0038], Fig. 1; Cho, composite film layer 360/370 has a rectangular structure, [0118], Fig. 5), and the filling portion (Yamakita, filling portion 140, [0037], Fig. 1; Cho, filling portion 370-1, [0110], Fig. 5) is at least disposed at a corner of the composite film layer (Yamakita, filling portion 140 is at least disposed at a corner of the composite film layer 150, [0037], Fig. 1; Cho, filling portion 370-1 is at least disposed at a corner of the composite film layer 360/370, [0110], Fig. 5).
Claim 8, Yamakita/Cho discloses the display module (Yamakita, display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2; Cho, foldable display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1, 2, and 5) according to claim 7.
Yamakita/Cho discloses wherein the display panel further includes a bending portion and a bonding portion that are disposed on at least one side of the display portion (Yamakita, display panel 100, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2; Cho, display module 100 further includes a bending portion FA and a bonding portion NFA that are disposed on at least one side of the display portion 110/210/310, [0036], Figs. 1, 2, and 5), and the display portion, the bending portion and the bonding portion are sequentially connected (Yamakita, display panel 100, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2; Cho, display portion 110/210/310, the bending portion FA and the bonding portion NFA are sequentially connected, [0036], Figs. 1, 2, and 5); and
the filling portion is disposed at two corners at both ends of a side edge of the composite film layer corresponding to the bending portion and the bonding portion (Yamakita, filling portion 140 is disposed at two corners at both ends of a side edge of the composite film layer 150, [0037], Fig. 1; Cho, filling portion 370-1 is disposed at two corners at both ends of a side edge of the composite film layer 360/370 corresponding to the bending portion FA and the bonding portion NFA, [0110], Fig. 5).
Claim 9, Yamakita/Cho discloses the display module (Yamakita, display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2; Cho, foldable display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1, 2, and 5) according to claim 7.
Yamakita/Cho discloses wherein the orthographic projection of the filling portion on the display portion is substantially in an arc shape (Yamakita, orthographic projection of the filling portion 140 on the display portion is substantially in an arc shape, [0037], Fig. 1; Cho, orthographic projection of the filling portion 370-1 on the display portion 110/210/310 may substantially be in an arc shape (i.e. during use, while the device is in a bent configuration), [0110], Fig. 5).
Claim 10, Yamakita/Cho discloses the display module (Yamakita, display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2; Cho, foldable display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1, 2, and 5) according to claim 1.
Yamakita/Cho discloses wherein the display portion includes a plurality of pixel units disposed in the display area (Yamakita, display panel 100 includes a plurality of light-emitting elements 103, which are pixel units, hereinafter, pixel units 103 disposed in the display area, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2; Cho, display portion 110/210/310 includes a plurality of pixel units disposed in the display area, [0036], Figs. 1, 2, and 5), and a gate driver circuit and a connecting line that are disposed in the peripheral area (Yamakita, display panel 100, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2; Cho, display portion 110/210/310 includes a thin film transistor 102 within each pixel unit 103, and functions as part of the gate driver circuit 102 and a connecting line that are disposed in the peripheral area, [0036], Figs. 1, 2, and 5);
the connecting line is located between the gate driver circuit and the display area (Yamakita, display panel 100, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2; Cho, connecting line 102a is located between the gate driver circuit 102 and the display area, [0059], Figs. 1, 2, and 5), and is used to connect the gate driver circuit and the plurality of pixel units (Yamakita, display panel 100, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2; Cho, connecting line 102a is located between the gate driver circuit 102 and the display area and is used to connect the gate driver circuit 102 and the plurality of pixel units 103, [0059], Figs. 1, 2, and 5); and
the orthographic projection of the filling portion on the display portion covers at least part of the gate driver circuit (Yamakita, filling portion 140, [0037], Fig. 1; Cho, orthographic projection of the filling portion 370-1 on the display portion covers at least part of the gate driver circuit 102, [0110], Fig. 5).
Claim 11, Yamakita/Cho discloses the display module (Yamakita, display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2; Cho, foldable display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1, 2, and 5) according to claim 10.
Yamakita/Cho discloses wherein the orthographic projection of the filling portion on the display portion covers at least part of the connecting line (Yamakita, orthographic projection of the filling portion 140, [0037], Fig. 1; Cho, orthographic projection of the filling portion 370-1 on the display portion covers at least part of the connecting line 102a, [0110], Fig. 5), or has no overlap with the connecting line (Yamakita, orthographic projection of the filling portion 140 has no overlap with the connecting line, [0037], Fig. 1; Cho, orthographic projection of the filling portion 370-1 on the display portion has no overlap with the connecting line 102a, [0110], Fig. 5).
Claim 13, Yamakita/Cho discloses the display module (Yamakita, display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2; Cho, foldable display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1, 2, and 5) according to claim 1.
Yamakita/Cho discloses wherein the orthographic projection of the filling portion on the display portion and the display area have a gap therebetween (Yamakita, orthographic projection of the filling portion 140 on the display portion and the display area have a gap therebetween, [0037], Fig. 1; Cho, orthographic projection of the filling portion 370-1 on the display portion and the display area have a gap therebetween, [0110], Figs. 4 and 5).
Claim 14, Yamakita/Cho discloses the display module (Yamakita, display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2; Cho, foldable display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1, 2, and 5) according to claim 1.
Yamakita/Cho discloses wherein a distance between an edge of the orthographic projection of the filling portion on the display portion away from the display area and an edge of the display portion is in a range of 0 mm to 0.35 mm, inclusive (Yamakita, a distance between an edge of the orthographic projection of the filling portion 140 on the display portion away from the display area and an edge of the display portion is in a range of 0 mm to 0.35 mm, inclusive (i.e. 0 mm in Fig. 1), [0037], Fig. 1; Cho, a distance between an edge of the orthographic projection of the filling portion 370-1 on the display portion away from the display area and an edge of the display portion is in a range of 0 mm to 0.35 mm, inclusive, [0110], Fig. 5).
Claim 15, Cho discloses a heat dissipation film (foldable display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100 and includes back plate 140/240/340, second support layer 150/250/350, first support layer 160/260/360, and impact absorbing layer 270/370 bonded together using adhesives 280a/290a/290b/290c and 380a/390a/390b/390c may serve as a heat dissipation film, hereinafter, heat dissipation film 340/350/360/370, [0117], Figs. 1, 2, and 5), comprising:
a metal layer (heat dissipation film 340/350/360/370 includes second support layer 350 which is a metal layer, hereinafter, metal layer 350, [0118], Fig. 5); and
a composite film layer (heat dissipation film 340/350/360/370 includes first support layer 360 and impact absorbing layer 370 which is a composite film layer, hereinafter, composite film layer 360/370, [0118], Fig. 5) stacked on the metal layer 350 (heat dissipation film 340/350/360/370 includes a composite film layer 360/370 stacked on the metal layer 350, [0118], Fig. 5); wherein
the composite film layer 360/370 includes a first film layer structure (second portion of the impact absorbing layer 370-2 is a first film layer structure, hereinafter, first film layer structure 370-2, [0110], Fig. 5) and a filling portion (first portion of the impact absorbing layer 370-1 is a filling portion, hereinafter, filling portion 370-1), the first film layer structure 370-2 and the filling portion 370-1 are both connected to the metal layer 350 (first film layer structure 370-2 and the filling portion 370-1 are both connected to the metal layer 350, [0110], Fig. 5).
Cho does not explicitly disclose a thermal conductivity of the filling portion is greater than a thermal conductivity of the first film layer structure.
However, Yamakita discloses a heat dissipation film, comprising:
a metal layer (heat sink 170 is a metal layer, hereinafter, metal layer 170, [0041], Fig. 1; and
a composite film layer (thermal conduction element 150 is a composite film layer, hereinafter, composite film layer 150, [0038], Fig. 1) stacked on the metal layer 170 (composite film layer 150 is stacked on the metal layer 170, [0038], Fig. 1); wherein
the composite film layer 150 includes a first film layer structure (composite film layer 150 includes first thermal conduction layer 130 which is a first film layer structure, hereinafter, first film layer structure 130, [0038], Fig. 1) and a filling portion (composite film layer 150 incudes second thermal conduction layer 140 which is a filling portion, hereinafter, filling portion 140, [0038], Fig. 1), the first film layer structure 130 and the filling portion 140 are both connected to the metal layer 170 (first film layer structure 130 and the filling portion 140 are both connected to the metal layer 170, [0041], Fig. 1), and a thermal conductivity of the filling portion 140 is greater than a thermal conductivity of the first film layer structure 130 (thermal conductivity of the filling portion 140 is greater than a thermal conductivity of the first film layer structure 130, [0037], Fig. 1). The combination to utilize a material having a higher thermal conductivity than an adjacent thermal material ensures for proper facilitation of heat dissipation from the display panel (Yamakita, [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a material having a higher thermal conductivity than an adjacent thermal material to ensure proper facilitation of heat dissipation from the display panel (Yamakita, [0038]).
Claim 16, Yamakita/Cho discloses the heat dissipation film (Yamakita, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2; Cho, foldable display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1, 2, and 5) according to claim 15.
Yamakita/Cho discloses wherein the first film layer structure (Yamakita, first film layer structure 130, [0038], Fig. 1; Cho, first film layer structure 370-2, [0110], Fig. 5) includes a bonding layer and a foam layer that are stacked (Yamakita, first film layer structure 130 includes a flexible portion which is a bonding layer, hereinafter, bonding layer 131, [0038], Fig. 1; Cho, first film layer structure 370-2 includes an adhesive 390c which is a bonding layer, hereinafter, bonding layer 390c and a foam layer 370-2 that are stacked, [0110], Fig. 5), and the foam layer is closer to the metal layer than the bonding layer (Yamakita, first film layer structure 130 is closer to the metal layer 170 than the bonding layer 131, [0038], Fig. 1; Cho, first film layer structure 370-2 includes an adhesive 390c which is a bonding layer, hereinafter, bonding layer 390c and a foam layer 370-2 that are stacked, [0110], Fig. 5); and
a material of the filling portion includes at least one of thermally conductive silicone or graphite (Yamakita, filling portion 140 may be formed of graphite, [0037], Fig. 1; Cho, filling portion 370-1 is formed of silicone, [0110], Fig. 5).
Claim 17, Yamakita/Cho discloses the heat dissipation film (Yamakita, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2; Cho, foldable display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1, 2, and 5) according to claim 15.
Yamakita/Cho discloses wherein an edge of the first film layer structure (Yamakita, first film layer structure 130, [0038], Fig. 1; Cho, first film layer structure 370-2, [0110], Fig. 5) has a notch, and the filling portion (Yamakita, filling portion 140, [0037], Fig. 1; Cho, filling portion 370-1, [0110], Fig. 5) is disposed in the notch and connected to a side face of the first film layer structure at the notch (Yamakita, filling portion 140 is disposed in the notch and connected to a side face of the first film layer structure 130 at the notch, [0037], Fig. 1; Cho, filling portion 370-1 is disposed in the notch and connected to a side face of the first film layer structure 370-2 at the notch, [0110], Fig. 5).
Claim 18, Yamakita/Cho discloses the heat dissipation film (Yamakita, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2; Cho, foldable display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1, 2, and 5) according to claim 15.
Yamakita/Cho discloses wherein the composite film layer (Yamakita, composite film layer 150, [0038], Fig. 1; Cho, composite film layer 360/370, [0118], Fig. 5) has a rectangular structure (Yamakita, composite film layer 150 has a rectangular structure, [0038], Fig. 1; Cho, composite film layer 360/370 has a rectangular structure, [0118], Fig. 5), and the filling portion (Yamakita, filling portion 140, [0037], Fig. 1; Cho, filling portion 370-1, [0110], Fig. 5) is at least disposed at a corner of the composite film layer (Yamakita, filling portion 140 is at least disposed at a corner of the composite film layer 150, [0037], Fig. 1; Cho, filling portion 370-1 is at least disposed at a corner of the composite film layer 360/370, [0110], Fig. 5), and an orthographic projection of the filling portion on the metal layer is substantially in an arc shape (Yamakita, orthographic projection of the filling portion 140 on the display portion is substantially in an arc shape, [0037], Fig. 1; Cho, orthographic projection of the filling portion 370-1 on the display portion 110/210/310 may substantially be in an arc shape (i.e. during use, while the device is in a bent configuration), [0110], Fig. 5).
Claim 19, Yamakita/Cho discloses a display apparatus (Yamakita, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2; Cho, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1, 2, and 5), comprising:
the display module (Yamakita, display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2; Cho, foldable display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1, 2, and 5) according to claim 1.
Yamakita/Cho discloses wherein the display panel in the display module includes the display portion, a bending portion and a bonding portion that are connected in sequence (Yamakita, display panel 100, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2; Cho, display portion 110/210/310, the bending portion FA and the bonding portion NFA are sequentially connected, [0036], Figs. 1, 2, and 5);
the bonding portion is disposed on a side of the non-display surface of the display portion by bending action of the bending portion (Yamakita, display panel 100, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2; Cho, bending portion FA is disposed on a side of the non-display surface of the display portion 110/210/310 by bending action of the bending portion FA, [0036], Figs. 1, 2, and 5); and the heat dissipation film in the display module is disposed between the display portion and the bonding portion (Yamakita, heat dissipation film 130/140/170 in the display module 100 is disposed between the display portion and the bonding portion, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2; Cho, heat dissipation film 340/350/360/370 in the display module 100 is disposed between the display portion 110/210/310 and the bonding portion NFA, [0036], Figs. 1, 2, and 5); and
a back film (Yamakita, first film layer structure 130 includes a flexible portion which is a back film, hereinafter, back film 131, [0038], Fig. 1; Cho, first film layer structure 370-2 includes an adhesive 380a which is a back film, hereinafter, back film 380a, [0110], Fig. 5) including a first portion and a second portion (Yamakita, back film 131 includes a first portion and a second portion, [0038], Fig. 1; Cho, back film 380a includes a first portion and a second portion, [0110], Fig. 5);
wherein the first portion of the back film is disposed on the non-display surface of the display portion, and is closer to the display portion than the heat dissipation film (Yamakita, back film 131 includes a first portion, wherein the first portion of the back film 131 is disposed on the non-display surface of the display portion, and is closer to the display portion than the heat dissipation film, [0038], Fig. 1; Cho, back film 380a includes a first portion wherein the first portion of the back film is disposed on the non-display surface of the display portion 110/210/310, and is closer to the display portion 110/210/310 than the heat dissipation film 340/350/360/370, [0110], Fig. 5); and
the second portion of the back film is disposed on a side of the bonding portion proximate to the display portion, and is closer to the display portion than the bonding portion (Yamakita, back film 131 includes a second portion, wherein the second portion of the back film 131 is disposed on a side of the bonding portion proximate to the display portion, and is closer to the display portion than the bonding portion, [0038], Fig. 1; Cho, back film 380a includes a second portion wherein the second portion of the back film 380a is disposed on a side of the bonding portion NFA proximate to the display portion 110/210/310, and is closer to the display portion 110/210/310 than the bonding portion FA, [0110], Fig. 5).
Claim 20, Yamakita/Cho discloses the heat dissipation film (Yamakita, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2; Cho, foldable display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1, 2, and 5) according to claim 15.
Yamakita/Cho discloses wherein a surface of the filling portion away from the metal layer has a serrated and/or wavy morphology (Yamakita, a surface of the filling portion 140 away from the metal layer 170 has a serrated and/or wavy morphology, [0037], Fig. 1; Cho, a surface of the filling portion 370-1 away from the metal layer has a serrated and/or wavy morphology, [0110], Fig. 5).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Yamakita, and further in view of Lu (US 2022/0310693 A1).
Claim 12, Yamakita/Cho discloses the display module (Yamakita, display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2; Cho, foldable display device 100 is a display module, hereinafter, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1, 2, and 5) according to claim 10.
Yamakita/Cho does not explicitly disclose wherein the display portion further includes an electrostatic protection circuit disposed in the peripheral area; and the orthographic projection of the filling portion on the display portion at least covers part of the electrostatic protection circuit.
However, Lu discloses wherein the display portion further includes an electrostatic protection circuit disposed in the peripheral area (Lu, display portion further includes an electrostatic protection circuit 400 disposed in the peripheral area, [0103], Figs. 15 and 24; Yamakita, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2; Cho, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1, 2, and 5); and
the orthographic projection of the filling portion on the display portion at least covers part of the electrostatic protection circuit (Lu, orthographic projection of the filling portion 1400 on the display portion at least covers part of the electrostatic protection circuit 400, [0103], Figs. 15 and 24; Yamakita, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2; Cho, display module 100, [0036], Figs. 1, 2, and 5). The combination to utilize an electrostatic protection circuit in combination with a flexible display device would enable an improvement in the production rate and reduction of the manufacturing cost (Lu, [0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize an electrostatic protection circuit in combination with a flexible display device to enable an improvement in the production rate and reduction of the manufacturing cost (Lu, [0066]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gao (US 2021/0051822 A1) discloses a display module (Figs. 1 and 2), comprising:
a display panel 40 including a display portion 40 for displaying an image, the display portion including a display area and a peripheral area surrounding the display area; and a heat dissipation film 3/5 stacked on a non-display surface of the display portion; the heat dissipation film 3/5 including a metal layer 5 and a composite film layer 3 that are stacked, and the metal layer 5 being farther away from the display portion than the composite film layer 3.
Wu (US 2017/0238446 A1) discloses a heat dissipation film 4/5, comprising:
a metal layer 4; and a composite film layer 5 stacked on the metal layer 4.
However, Wu does not explicitly disclose wherein the composite film layer includes a first film layer structure and a filling portion, the first film layer structure and the filling portion are both connected to the metal layer, and a thermal conductivity of the filling portion is greater than a thermal conductivity of the first film layer structure.
/CHEVY J BOEGEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812