DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao et al. (CN 111555803 B) in view of Maruyama et al. (JP 5948368 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Yao discloses an optical fiber testing apparatus comprising: a measurement device which inputs an optical signal from one end of a non-coupled multicore fiber to one core of the non-coupled multicore fiber, and measures a first light intensity of backscattered light output from the one core at the one end, and inputs an optical signal from the one end of the non-coupled multi-core fiber to one of two cores including the one core of the non-coupled multicore fiber, and measures a second light intensity of the backscattered light output from the other of the two cores at the one end (Fig. 3-5; Pg. 6, lines 1-6; Pg. 13, lines 7-16); and
a calculator (503) which calculates, from the first light intensity and the second light intensity, inter-core crosstalk between the two cores when bidirectional transmission is performed between the two cores of the non-coupled multi-core fiber in which transmission directions of light are different (Fig. 3-5; Abstract; see equation for crosstalk in paragraph [0029] of the original document; Pg. 2, lines 6-31; Pg. 13, lines 24-27, 37-38 and 47-49).
Yao does not explicitly disclose that the optical signal is an optical pulse; and
a calculator which calculates, from the first light intensity and the second light intensity, inter-core crosstalk distance dependency between the two cores when bidirectional transmission is performed between the two cores of the non-coupled multi-core fiber in which transmission directions of light are different.
However, Maruyama, in the same field of endeavor of optical time domain reflectometry, discloses an optical pulse (Pg. 2, lines 8-12); and
a calculator which calculates, from a first light intensity and a second light intensity, inter-core crosstalk distance dependency between two cores when bidirectional transmission is performed between the two cores of a non-coupled multi-core fiber (see Fig. 1) in which transmission directions of light are different (Pg. 1, line 46 – Pg. 2, line 21; Pg. 2, lines 43-50; Pg. 4, lines 15-20 – “It is possible to measure the distribution of
Χ
T
(
λ
,
z
)
as a function of z by ODTR”; Pg. 5, lines 26-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yao’s measurement system with a means for measuring the distribution of crosstalk along the fiber, increasing functionality of the measurement system by providing a way to evaluate characteristics of a multi-core fiber which would lead to optical losses and lower the overall accuracy in data transmission.
Regarding claim 2, Yao in view of Maruyama discloses the optical fiber testing apparatus according to claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the calculator
calculates a light intensity of the optical pulse having passed through the one core of the non-coupled multicore fiber as a signal light intensity from the first light intensity, defines a product of a Rayleigh scattering coefficient, a backscattered light capture rate, and an integrated value obtained by integrating the second light intensity by a distance in the longitudinal direction of the non-coupled multicore fiber as leakage light intensity, and defines a ratio of the signal light intensity to the leakage light intensity as the inter-core crosstalk distance dependency (Maruyama: Pg. 1, line 46 – Pg. 2, line 21; Pg. 2, lines 43-50; Pg. 4, lines 15-20 – “It is possible to measure the distribution of
Χ
T
(
λ
,
z
)
as a function of z by ODTR”; Pg. 3, lines 10-34 – see Equation 4 of the original document which defines the crosstalk
Χ
T
(
z
)
as a ratio of
P
1
z
and
P
2
(
z
)
defined in Equation 3).
Regarding claim 3, Yao in view of Maruyama discloses the optical fiber testing apparatus according to claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the calculator
calculates crosstalk between the two cores of the non-coupled multicore fiber when performing unidirectional transmission in which the transmission direction of light is the same between the two cores from the first light intensity and the second light intensity (Yao: Fig. 3-5; Pg. 7, lines 9-12 – which implies that the calculation applies to unidirectional transmission; Abstract; see equation for crosstalk in paragraph [0029] of the original document; Pg. 2, lines 6-31; Pg. 13, lines 7-16, 24-27, 37-38 and 47-49), calculates a power coupling coefficient from the crosstalk, calculates a loss coefficient from the light intensity of the optical pulse incident from the one end of the non-coupled multicore fiber to the one core and the first light intensity, and calculates the inter-core crosstalk distance dependency by substituting the Rayleigh scattering coefficient, the backscattered light capture rate, and the loss coefficient into a power coupling equation of Math. C1:
[Math. C1]
X
T
b
≅
α
s
α
B
h
[
sinh
α
L
α
-
L
e
x
p
(
-
α
L
)
]
(C1)
where
α
is the loss coefficient,
α
s
is the Rayleigh scattering coefficient,
B
is the backscattered light capture rate,
h
is the power coupling coefficient, and
L
is the fiber length of the non-coupled multicore fiber (Maruyama: Pg. 1, line 46 – Pg. 2, line 21; Pg. 2, lines 43-50; Pg. 4, lines 15-20 – “It is possible to measure the distribution of
Χ
T
(
λ
,
z
)
as a function of z by ODTR”; Pg. 3, lines 10-34 – see Equation 4 of the original document which defines the crosstalk
Χ
T
(
z
)
as a ratio of
P
1
z
and
P
2
(
z
)
defined in Equation 3).
Regarding claim 4, Yao discloses an optical fiber testing method comprising: inputting an optical signal from one end of a non-coupled multicore fiber to one core of the non-coupled multicore fiber, and measuring a first light intensity of backscattered light output from the one core at the one end; inputting the optical signal from the one end of the non-coupled multi-core fiber to one of two cores including the one core, and measuring a second light intensity of the backscattered light output from the other of the two cores at the one end (Fig. 3-5; Pg. 6, lines 1-6; Pg. 13, lines 7-16); and calculating, from the first light intensity and the second light intensity, inter-core crosstalk between the two cores when bidirectional transmission is performed between the two cores of the non-coupled multi-core fiber in which transmission directions of light are different (Fig. 3-5; Abstract; see equation for crosstalk in paragraph [0029] of the original document; Pg. 2, lines 6-31; Pg. 13, lines 24-27, 37-38 and 47-49).
Yao does not explicitly disclose that the optical signal is an optical pulse; and
calculating, from the first light intensity and the second light intensity, inter-core crosstalk distance dependency between the two cores when bidirectional transmission is performed between the two cores of the non-coupled multi-core fiber in which transmission directions of light are different.
However, Maruyama, in the same field of endeavor of optical time domain reflectometry, discloses an optical pulse (Pg. 2, lines 8-12); and
calculating, from a first light intensity and a second light intensity, inter-core crosstalk distance dependency between two cores when bidirectional transmission is performed between the two cores of a non-coupled multi-core fiber (see Fig. 1) in which transmission directions of light are different (Pg. 1, line 46 – Pg. 2, line 21; Pg. 2, lines 43-50; Pg. 4, lines 15-20 – “It is possible to measure the distribution of
Χ
T
(
λ
,
z
)
as a function of z by ODTR”; Pg. 5, lines 26-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yao’s measurement system with a means for measuring the distribution of crosstalk along the fiber, increasing functionality of the measurement system by providing a way to evaluate characteristics of a multi-core fiber which would lead to optical losses and lower the overall accuracy in data transmission.
Regarding claim 5, Yao in view of Maruyama discloses the optical fiber testing method according to claim 4, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein, in the calculation of the inter-core crosstalk distance dependency, the light intensity of the optical pulse having passed through the one core of the non-coupled multicore fiber is calculated as a signal light intensity from the first light intensity, a product of a Rayleigh scattering coefficient, a backscattered light capture rate, and an integral value of the second light intensity integrated in a distance direction of a longitudinal direction of the non-coupled multi-core fiber is defined as leakage light intensity, and a ratio of the signal light intensity to the leakage light intensity is defined as the inter-core crosstalk distance dependency (Maruyama: Pg. 1, line 46 – Pg. 2, line 21; Pg. 2, lines 43-50; Pg. 4, lines 15-20 – “It is possible to measure the distribution of
Χ
T
(
λ
,
z
)
as a function of z by ODTR”; Pg. 3, lines 10-34 – see Equation 4 of the original document which defines the crosstalk
Χ
T
(
z
)
as a ratio of
P
1
z
and
P
2
(
z
)
defines in Equation 3).
Regarding claim 6, Yao in view of Maruyama discloses the optical fiber testing method according to claim 4, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein, in the calculation of the inter-core crosstalk distance dependency, crosstalk between the two cores of the non-coupled multicore fiber when performing unidirectional transmission (Yao: Fig. 3-5; Pg. 7, lines 9-12 – which implies that the calculation applies to unidirectional transmission; Abstract; see equation for crosstalk in paragraph [0029] of the original document; Pg. 2, lines 6-31; Pg. 13, lines 7-16, 24-27, 37-38 and 47-49) in which the transmission direction of light is the same between the two cores is calculated from the first light intensity and the second light intensity, a power coupling coefficient is calculated from the crosstalk,
a loss coefficient is calculated from a light intensity of the optical pulse incident from the one end of the non-coupled multicore fiber to the one core and the first light intensity, and the inter-core crosstalk distance dependency is calculated by substituting the Rayleigh scattering coefficient, the backscattered light capture rate, and the loss coefficient into a power coupling equation of Math. C1:
[Math. C1]
X
T
b
≅
α
s
α
B
h
[
sinh
α
L
α
-
L
e
x
p
(
-
α
L
)
]
(C1)
where
α
is the loss coefficient,
α
s
is the Rayleigh scattering coefficient,
B
is the backscattered light capture rate,
h
is the power coupling coefficient, and
L
is the fiber length of the non-coupled multicore fiber (Maruyama: Pg. 1, line 46 – Pg. 2, line 21; Pg. 2, lines 43-50; Pg. 4, lines 15-20 – “It is possible to measure the distribution of
Χ
T
(
λ
,
z
)
as a function of z by ODTR”; Pg. 3, lines 10-34 – see Equation 4 of the original document which defines the crosstalk
Χ
T
(
z
)
as a ratio of
P
1
z
and
P
2
(
z
)
defined in Equation 3).
Conclusion
/MAHER YAZBACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877