DETAILED ACTION
In response to remarks filed on 5 August 2026
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-10 and 12-15 are pending;
Claims 1 and 12 are currently amended;
Claims 3-10 and 13-15 were previously presented;
Claims 2 and 11 are cancelled;
Claims 1, 3-10 and 12-15 are rejected herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 5 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are moot since new grounds of rejection are presented herein in view of the new limitations presented by applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-10 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to Claim 1, the claim recites “particularly”. The use of the term is improper as it is unclear if the limitation following particularly is optional. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 15, the claim recites “at least one roof support unit” but there is no “at least one roof support unit” in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
The dependent claims are also rejected for depending on a rejected independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-10, 12, 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Winkler (U.K. Patent Publication No. GB1517763A).
As to Claim 1, Winkler discloses a roof support unit for a mining machine, particularly for a longwall mining system, comprising a support canopy (63) which is supported on a base (61) via at least one damper unit (653) and at least one actuator (652) configured to move the support canopy (63) relative to the base (61),
Wherein the damper unit (653) is interposed between the support canopy and the actuator or between the base (61) and the actuator (652);
Wherein the damper unit (653) has a first end portion (End of 653 facing 652) and a second end portion (End of 653 facing 651) opposite the first end portion, and wherein the damper unit (653) has a compression element (653 is a spring which is a compression element) between the first end portion and the second end portion;
Wherein the first end portion of the damper unit (653) is directly connected to the actuator (652) and the second end portion of the damper unit has a pivot connection (651) with either the support canopy or the base (61);
Wherein the damper unit (653) and the actuator (652) are connected in line (Figure 6) between the support canopy (63) and the base (61); and
Wherein the pivot connection (651) is in line (Figure 6) with the compression element (653) and the actuator (652).
As to Claim 3, Winkler discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Winkler also discloses wherein the actuator (652) is configured to raise or lower the support canopy (63) relative to the base (61).
As to Claim 4, Winkler discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Winkler also discloses wherein the actuator is at least one of a linear actuator (652) and hydraulic actuator.
As to Claim 5, Winkler discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Winkler also discloses wherein the damper unit (653) is configured to transmit a support force between the support canopy (63) and the base (61) for maintaining or changing a position of the support canopy relative to the base during operation.
As to Claim 6, Winkler discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Winkler also discloses wherein the support canopy (63) is structurally connected to the base (61) via the damper unit (653).
As to Claim 7, Winkler discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Winkler also discloses wherein the damper unit (653) is configured to allow movement of the actuator (652) relative to the support canopy (63) or the base (61).
As to Claim 8, Winkler discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Winkler also discloses wherein the damper unit (653) is configured to dampen movement of the actuator (652) relative to the support canopy (63) or the base (61).
As to Claim 9, Winkler discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Winkler also discloses wherein the damper unit (653) is configured to dampen movement of the actuator (652) relative to the support canopy (63) or the base (61) in a retracting or extending movement direction of the actuator (653).
As to Claim 10, Winkler discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Winkler also discloses wherein the damper unit (653) is mounted to an end section of the actuator (652).
As to Claim 12, Winkler discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Winkler also discloses wherein the compression element (653) js configured to convert motion energy of the actuator into potential energy or heat.
As to Claim 13, Winkler discloses the invention of Claim 12 (Refer to Claim 12 discussion). Winkler also discloses wherein the compression element comprises or is a solid compression element (653. A spring is made of a solid spiral element).
As to Claim 15, Winkler discloses a longwall mining system comprising at least one roof support unit (Figure 6) according to claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-10, 12, 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (China Patent Publication No. CN208816159U) in view of Winkler (U.K. Patent Publication No. GB1517763A).
As to Claim 1, Zhang discloses a roof support unit (Figure 1) for a mining machine, particularly for a longwall mining system, comprising a support canopy (4) which is supported on a base (8) via at least one damper unit (10) and at least one actuator (11) configured to move the support canopy (4) relative to the base (8);
Wherein the damper unit (10) is interposed between the support canopy and the actuator or between the base (8) and the actuator (11);
Wherein the damper unit (10) has a first end portion (1003) and a second end portion (1012) opposite the first end portion and wherein the damper unit has a compression element (1008, 1009) between the first end portion (1003) and the second end portion (1012);
Wherein the first end portion (1003) of the damper unit (10) is directly connected to the actuator (11) and the second end portion (1012) of the damper unit has a connection with either the support canopy or the base (8);
Wherein the damper unit (10) and the actuator are connected in line between the support canopy (4) and the base (8).
However, Zhang is silent about the second end portion of the damper unit having a pivot connection with either the support canopy or the base; and wherein the pivot connection is in line with the compression element and the actuator. Winkler discloses a second end portion of a damper unit (653) has a pivot connection (651) with either a support canopy or a base (61); and wherein the pivot connection (651) is in line (Figure 6) with the compression element (653) and the actuator (652). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the second end portion of the damper unit have a pivot connection with either the support canopy or the base; and wherein the pivot connection is in line with the compression element and the actuator. The motivation would have been to adjust the height of the roof support depending on roof height requirements.
As to Claim 3, Zhang as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Zhang as modified also teaches wherein the actuator (11) is configured to raise or lower the support canopy (4) relative to the base (8).
As to Claim 4, Zhang as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Zhang as modified also teaches wherein the actuator (11) is at least one of a linear actuator and hydraulic actuator.
As to Claim 5, Zhang as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Zhang as modified also teaches wherein the damper unit (10) is configured to transmit a support force between the support canopy (4) and the base (8) for maintaining or changing a position of the support canopy (4) relative to the base (8) during operation.
As to Claim 6, Zhang as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Zhang as modified also teaches wherein the support canopy (4) is structurally connected to the base (8) via the damper unit (10).
As to Claim 7, Zhang as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Zhang as modified also teaches wherein the damper unit (10) is configured to allow movement of the actuator (11) relative to the support canopy (4) or the base (8).
As to Claim 8, Zhang as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Zhang as modified also teaches wherein the damper unit (10) is configured to dampen movement of the actuator (11) relative to the support canopy (4) or the base (8).
As to Claim 9, Zhang as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Zhang as modified also teaches wherein the damper unit (10) is configured to dampen movement of the actuator (11) relative to the support canopy (4) or the base (8) in a retracting or extending movement direction of the actuator (11).
As to Claim 10, Zhang as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Zhang as modified also teaches wherein the damper unit (10) is mounted to an end section of the actuator (11).
As to Claim 12, Zhang as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Zhang as modified also teaches wherein the damper unit (10) comprises a compression element (1008, 1009) configured to convert motion energy of the actuator (11) into potential energy or heat.
As to Claim 13, Zhang as modified teaches the invention of Claim 12 (Refer to Claim 12 discussion). Zhang as modified also teaches wherein the compression element (1008, 1009) comprises or is a solid compression element (Springs are made of a solid material).
As to Claim 15, Zhang discloses the longwall mining system comprising at least one roof support unit (Figure 1) according to Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion).
Claim 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (China Patent Publication No. CN208816159U) in view of Winkler (U.K. Patent Publication No. GB1517763A); and further in view of Lu et al (China Patent Publication No. 111365048).
As to Claim 14, Zhang as modified teaches the invention of Claim 12 (Refer to Claim 12 discussion). However, Zhang as modified is silent about wherein the compression element comprises or is a compression fluid. Lu discloses an actuator (1) with a damper unit (5) at the end thereof, the damper unit comprising a compression element that comprises a compression fluid (5g). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the compression element comprise a compression fluid since the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded the same result of dampening impacts.
Conclusion
/EDWIN J TOLEDO-DURAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678