CTNF 18/833,430 CTNF 90394 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA 2. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. A) Claims 1-4, 6-7, 12, 14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YU (US 2017/0164225 A1) in view of "reply LS on PRS processing samples", 3GPP TSG-RAN WG4 Meeting #100-e, R4-2115366, RAN WG4, August 16-27, 2021, pp. 1-2, hereinafter 3GPP. As per claim 1, YU teaches a first device (Fig.4, UE 102) comprising: at least one processor (Fig.4 and Fig.5, processor 406a) ; and at least one memory (Fig.4 and Fig.5, memory 406b) including computer program code; the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the first device at least to: determine channel metrics between the first device and a second device (¶0072 and ¶0120, determine channel metrics to SINR to rank and/or classify OTDOA neighbor cells (i.e. second device)); determine a number of positioning reference signal (PRS) samples based on the channel metrics (¶0074 and ¶0077, determine each PRS occasion/sample based on channel quality metrics); and perform the positioning reference signal measurement based on the number of positioning reference signal samples (¶0074 and ¶0080, perform measurements for each PRS occasion based on each PRS occasion). However, YU does not explicitly teach determine a target accuracy for a positioning reference signal measurement. In the same field of endeavor, 3GPP teaches determine a target accuracy for a positioning reference signal measurement (second page, reduction of PRS processing samples with the positioning accuracy requirements). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated 3GPP into invention of YU in order for reducing the number of samples in PRS measurement period requirement for the purpose of latency reduction for positioning approaches. As per claim 2 as applied to claim 1 above, YU further teaches receive, from the second device, mapping information indicating a relation among numbers of positioning reference signal samples, channel metrics and accuracies for the PRS measurement (¶0036-37 and ¶0090, each positioning measurement cell (i.e. second device) may transmit a PRS pattern according to a specific PRS RE mapping for the PRS pattern is dependent upon a particular PRS bandwidth parameter and quality metric that indicates the quality of each RSTD measurement, which may be based on obtained SINR measurements, e.g. via a direct or indirect SINR-to-RSTD quality metric mapping and accurate report for the measurement). As per claim 3 as applied to claim 2 above, YU does not explicitly teach determining the number of positioning reference signal samples based on the channel metrics, the target accuracy and the mapping information. In the same field of endeavor, 3GPP teaches determining the number of positioning reference signal samples based on the channel metrics, the target accuracy and the mapping information (second page, RAN4 section, determining the number of DL PRS processing samples is feasible under assumption of keeping positioning accuracy requirements and different side conditions (e.g. SINR, PRS configuration, channel models, etc. (i.e. mapping information)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated 3GPP into invention of YU in order for reducing the number of samples in PRS measurement period requirement for the purpose of latency reduction for positioning approaches. As per claim 4 as applied to claim 1 above, YU further teaches determine the target accuracy for the PRS measurement based on a quality of service (QoS) requirement between the first device and the second device (¶0046-47, determining highly accurate for the measurement based on channel quality (i.e. QoS) between different cells). As per claim 6 as applied to claim 1 above, YU further teaches wherein the channel metrics indicate at least one of : a line of sight (LoS) status, a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR), a reference signal received power (RSRP), or a reference signal received quality (RSRQ) (¶0120, channel metrics indicate SINR, RSRP, or RSRQ). As per claim 7 as applied to claim 1 above, YU further teaches determining the channel metrics based on a previous measurement of positioning reference signal (¶0119-120, determining channel metrics based on the prior measurement of PRS). As per claim 12 as applied to claim 1 above, YU further teaches prioritize the PRS measurement -within a measurement gap based on the channel metrics (¶0121 and ¶0123, measurement priority rankings to the plurality of cells based on the plurality of channel quality metrics of the plurality of target cells between a measurement). As per claim 14 as applied to claim 1 above, YU further teaches wherein the PRS measurement comprises at least one of: a positioning reference signal-reference signal received power (PRS-RSRP) measurement, a PRS-reference signal received path power (PRS-RSRPP) measurement, a PRS reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurement, a user equipment (UE) receiving-transmitting time difference measurement, an angle of arrival measurement, an angle of departure measurement, or a carrier phase measurement (¶0139, PRS measurement including a PRS reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurement). As per claim 16 as applied to claim 1 above, YU further teaches transmit to the second device a report indicating of a result of the PRS measurement (¶0154, transmit to a base station report of the plurality of reference signal measurements). As per claim 17 as applied to claim 1 above, YU further teaches wherein the first device comprises a terminal device and the second device comprises a network device (Fig.1, UE 102 (i.e. first device) and base stations 104, 106, 108, and 110 (i.e. second device)). As per claim 18, YU teaches a method comprising: determining, at a first device, channel metrics between the first device and a second device (¶0072 and ¶0120, determine at UE 102 (i.e. first device) channel metrics to SINR to rank and/or classify OTDOA neighbor cells (i.e. second device)); determining, at the first device, a number of positioning reference signal (PRS) samples based on the channel metrics (¶0074 and ¶0077, determine each PRS occasion/sample based on channel quality metrics); and performing the positioning reference signal measurement based on the number of positioning reference signal samples (¶0074 and ¶0080, perform measurements for each PRS occasion based on each PRS occasion). However, YU does not explicitly teach determining a target accuracy for a positioning reference signal measurement. In the same field of endeavor, 3GPP teaches determining a target accuracy for a positioning reference signal measurement (second page, reduction of PRS processing samples with the positioning accuracy requirements). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated 3GPP into invention of YU in order for reducing the number of samples in PRS measurement period requirement for the purpose of latency reduction for positioning approaches. As per claim 19 as applied to claim 18 above, YU further teaches receiving, from the second device, mapping information indicating a relation among numbers of positioning reference signal samples, channel metrics and accuracies for the PRS measurement (¶0036-37 and ¶0090, each positioning measurement cell (i.e. second device) may transmit a PRS pattern according to a specific PRS RE mapping for the PRS pattern is dependent upon a particular PRS bandwidth parameter and quality metric that indicates the quality of each RSTD measurement, which may be based on obtained SINR measurements, e.g. via a direct or indirect SINR-to-RSTD quality metric mapping and accurate report for the measurement). As per claim 20 as applied to claim 19 above, YU does not explicitly teach determining the number of positioning reference signal samples based on the channel metrics, the target accuracy and the mapping information. In the same field of endeavor, 3GPP teaches determining the number of positioning reference signal samples based on the channel metrics, the target accuracy and the mapping information (second page, RAN4 section, determining the number of DL PRS processing samples is feasible under assumption of keeping positioning accuracy requirements and different side conditions (e.g. SINR, PRS configuration, channel models, etc. (i.e. mapping information)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated 3GPP into invention of YU in order for reducing the number of samples in PRS measurement period requirement for the purpose of latency reduction for positioning approaches. B) Claims 5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YU (US 2017/0164225 A1) in view of 3GPP and further in view of LIU (WO 2020/163983 A1). As per claim 5 as applied to claim 1 above, YU in view of 3GPP does not explicitly teach receive an indication of the target accuracy for the PRS measurement from a core network device. In the same field of endeavor, LIU teaches receive an indication of the target accuracy for the PRS measurement from a core network device (¶0046 and ¶0077, receiving indication of the desired accuracy for the positioning measurement from the location server (i.e. core network device)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated LIU into invention of YU and 3GPP in order for providing the high accuracy positioning and also low measurement complexity for preserving battery lifetime. As per claim 8 as applied to claim 1 above, YU in view of 3GPP does not explicitly teach dynamically update the number of positioning reference signal samples based on the PRS measurement. In the same field of endeavor, LIU teaches dynamically update the number of positioning reference signal samples based on the PRS measurement (¶0041 and ¶0079, updating the measurement list such as number of PRS report based on PRS measurement). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated LIU into invention of YU and 3GPP in order for providing the high accuracy positioning and also low measurement complexity for preserving battery lifetime. As per claim 9 as applied to claim 1 above, YU in view of 3GPP does not explicitly teach receive from the second device performance information; and update the number of positioning reference signal samples based on the performance information. In the same field of endeavor, LIU teaches receive from the second device performance information (¶0041-42, receiving from target UE positioning performance data); and update the number of positioning reference signal samples based on the performance information (¶0041-42, update the measurement list based on the positioning measurement based on positioning performance data). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated LIU into invention of YU and 3GPP in order for providing the high accuracy positioning and also low measurement complexity for preserving battery lifetime. As per claim 10 as applied to claim 1 above, YU in view of 3GPP does not explicitly teach in accordance with a determination that the target accuracy is satisfied, stop receiving or processing subsequent positioning reference signals. In the same field of endeavor, LIU teaches in accordance with a determination that the target accuracy is satisfied, stop receiving or processing subsequent positioning reference signals (¶0078, If there is available combination of measured available cells which satisfies the positioning requirement, the UE 130 stops the positioning measurement from other available cells). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated LIU into invention of YU and 3GPP in order for providing the high accuracy positioning and also low measurement complexity for preserving battery lifetime. C) Claims 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YU (US 2017/0164225 A1) in view of 3GPP and further in view of SI (US 2022/0050163 A1). As per claim 11 as applied to claim 1 above, YU in view of 3GPP does not explicitly teach in accordance with a determination that the number of positioning reference signal samples is reached, exit a measurement gap for the PRS measurement. In the same field of endeavor, SI teaches in accordance with a determination that the number of positioning reference signal samples is reached, exit a measurement gap for the PRS measurement (¶0259 and ¶0263, determining PRS resource is satisfied/reached then stop/exit performing measurement by using the measurement gap). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated SI into invention of YU and 3GPP in order to provides a method for configuring a measurement gap, applied to a terminal by sending signaling, where the signaling is used to assist a network device in configuring a measurement gap for measuring a PRS. As per claim 15 as applied to claim 1 above, YU teaches determine a receiving beam (¶0053, determine a receiving of antenna array (i.e. beam), please note that a beam refers to a focused, directional signal pattern created by an antenna array). However, YU in view of 3GPP does not explicitly teach in accordance with a determination that the number of positioning reference signal samples is reached, stop the PRS measurement on the receiving beam. In the same field of endeavor, SI teaches in accordance with a determination that the number of positioning reference signal samples is reached, stop the PRS measurement on the receiving beam (¶0259 and ¶0263, determining PRS resource is satisfied/reached then stop/exit performing measurement). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated SI into invention of YU and 3GPP in order to provides a method for configuring a measurement gap, applied to a terminal by sending signaling, where the signaling is used to assist a network device in configuring a measurement gap for measuring a PRS. D) Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YU (US 2017/0164225 A1) in view of 3GPP and further in view of MANOLAKOS (US 2021/0360570 A1). As per claim 13 as applied to claim 1 above, YU in view of 3GPP does not explicitly teach determining the number of positioning reference signal samples based on a received quasi co-located signal. In the same field of endeavor, MANOLAKOS teaches determining the number of positioning reference signal samples based on a received quasi co-located signal (¶0082, PRS resource may be defined by one or more of the resource lists that determine the DL PRS resources that are contained within one DL PRS resource set, the number of symbols of the DL PRS resource within a slot, any quasi-colocation information of the DL PRS resource with other reference signals). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated MANOLAKOS into invention of YU and 3GPP in order to provide the UE with positioning assistance data containing information that will aid in detecting and measuring positioning reference signals from one or more base stations. Conclusion 3. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FARIDEH MADANI whose telephone number is (571)272-1249. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Friday; 9 AM to 5 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JINSONG HU can be reached at 5712723965. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent- center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /FARIDEH MADANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2643 /JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/833,430 Page 2 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/833,430 Page 3 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/833,430 Page 4 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/833,430 Page 5 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/833,430 Page 6 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/833,430 Page 7 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/833,430 Page 8 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/833,430 Page 9 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/833,430 Page 10 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/833,430 Page 11 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/833,430 Page 12 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/833,430 Page 13 Art Unit: 2643