DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that FI '014 reference discloses a movable sidewall in a concrete former, and provides no logical reason for one skilled in the art to somehow incorporate an adjustable sidewall in the system of GB '083 depicted above, which already incorporates infused structure (the foam panels 24) alongside of plates 18. It would make no sense to attempt to include an adjustable sidewall along the plates 18 -- to do so would require elimination of the foam panels 24.
Examiner maintains that though FI’014 discloses concrete casting; the detachable sidewalls-4 can be used as in GB’083. FI’014 discloses sidewalls are secured using quick-release clamps, which should be used with any mold assembly. GB’083 discloses mould-20 with sidewalls that can be modified with FI’014 which is in the related field of endeavor fixing a detachable sidewall unit (4) comprising a mold surface (Figure 1, abstract). GB’083 sidewalls of the mold modified by FI’014 could provide significant boost in allowing independent components to be separated, replaced, or adjusted without scrapping or modifying the entire mold body. This integrated design directly improves maintenance efficiency, production flexibility, and removing the sidewall first can drastically reduce the force required to eject the part/pultruded plates from the mold in GB083.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7- 8, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB 2520083 hereinafter GB’083 provided with translation and FI 20185014, translation attached, herewith, FI’014.
Regarding Claim 1 GB’083 discloses method for manufacturing a spar cap for a wind turbine blade, the spar cap comprising a stack of pultruded plates (Figure 1a-1b, page-1), the method comprising: laying the stack of pultruded plates between a first and a second sidewall on a mold (Figure 1b, plates/strips-18, mold-20, page-2); infusing the stack of pultruded plates with resin (page-2); and unmolding the infused stack of pultruded plates from the mold by removing the infused stack of pultruded plates from between the first and second sidewalls of the mold by removing the infused stack of pultruded plates from between the first and second sidewalls of the mold (page-4, cured structure taken out from the mould and integrated to a blade shell mould).
GB’083 didn’t disclose that wherein at least one of the sidewalls is adjusted along the transverse direction relative to the stack of pultruded plates after the laying. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, FI’014 discloses that one of the sidewalls is adjusted along the transverse direction (Figure 1, mold surface-2, detachable means-3c, sidewall-3, page 2, line 22-32).
It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine GB’083 teaching with that of FI’014 teaching of adjustable sidewall for the purpose of allowing complex parts without damage whole unmolding.
Regarding Claim 2 GB’083 discloses, wherein laying the stack of pultruded plates comprises laying the stack of pultruded plates substantially adjacent to the first sidewall, the first sidewall being fixed in the mold (Figure 1b, plates/strips-18, mold-20, page-2), and FI’014 discloses the method further comprises subsequently adjusting the second sidewall in the transverse direction to contact the stack of pultruded plates (Figure 1, mold surface-2, detachable means-3c, sidewall-3, page 2, line 22-32).
Regarding Claim 4, GB’083 discloses wherein the sidewalls are substantially parallel to each other (Figure 1b-1c).
Regarding Claim 7, FI’014 discloses the sidewalls is attached through a fastener, the fastener arranged in a hole of the sidewall and a receptacle in the mold (Figure 1, mold surface-2, detachable means-3c, sidewall-3,).
Regarding Claim 8, FI’014 discloses , wherein the hole is an elongated hole the receptacle is an elongated receptacle (Figure 1, mold surface-2, detachable means-3c; the detachable means could be bolts- with elongated hole as shown in Figure 1) .
Regarding Claim 15, GB’083 discloses infused pultrusion stack obtained formed, and defining a longitudinal direction and a transverse direction, the infused pultrusion stack (Figure 1b) comprising carbon fiber defining two lateral surfaces that limit the infused pultrusion stack in the transverse direction (Figure 1b, page-7), wherein the two lateral surfaces extend along the longitudinal direction and substantially parallel to each other (Figure 1b-c).
Claim(s) 3,5 -6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB 2520083 hereinafter GB’083 provided with translation and FI 20185014 , translation attached, herewith, FI’014 as applied in Claim 1 further in view of CN 209552359 U hereinafter CN’359 .
Regarding Claim 3 , GB’083 discloses wherein the sidewalls of mold 20 are parallel but did not disclose define a draft angle smaller than 1 degree. In the related field of endeavor CN’359 discloses sidewall is rotatably connected with a rotating shaft (Figure 2, rotating shaft-7, page-9 , last para ). However, CN’359 did not specifically disclose a certain draft angle but the rotating shaft would be able to rotate the sidewall at a desired angle.
"A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
"The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine GB’083 teaching with that of CN’359 teaching of rotating sidewall for the purpose of evenly infuse resin with the plates as during the infusion of resin.
Regarding Claim 5 , GB’083 discloses wherein the sidewalls of mold 20 are parallel, but didn’t disclose that the sidewalls are further adjusted by rotating a sidewall surface. In the related field of endeavor CN’359 discloses sidewall is rotatably connected with a rotating shaft (Figure 2, rotating shaft-7, page-9, last para). CN’359 did not specifically disclose said sidewall surface being configured to contact the stack of pultruded plates. However, the rotating shaft would be able to rotate the sidewall at a desired angle to contact the stack of pultruded plates during rotation.
"A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
"The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine GB’083 teaching with that of CN’359 teaching of rotating sidewall for the purpose of evenly infuse resin with the plates as during the infusion of resin.
Regarding Claim 6, GB’083 discloses wherein the sidewalls of mold 20 are parallel, but did not disclose that the sidewalls is adjusted by sliding said sidewall along a guide in the mold. In the related field of endeavor CN’359 discloses sidewalls is slidably adjusted (Figure 1, sliding-3 of the sidewall, page-9 , last para ).
It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine GB’083 teaching with that of FI’014 teaching of slidably sidewall for the purpose of allowing complex parts without damage whole unmolding.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEBJANI ROY/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741