Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang (20220113826)
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches a display panel, comprising:
a base substrate (fig. 4 and 5: 26), comprising a first display area (this will be the area, 12, at the top left of 10, as seen in fig. 4) and a second display area (this will be the area, 12, at the lower left of 10, as seen in fig. 4) located on least one side of the first display area;
a circuit structure layer (fig. 4 and 5: 28) located on the base substrate, and comprising a plurality of first pixel circuits (this will be 22, at the top left of 10, as seen in fig. 4) and a plurality of second pixel circuits (this will be 22, at the lower left of 10, as seen in fig. 4) which are located in the second display area, and a plurality of connecting lines (fig. 4: 14a,14b,14c,15a,15b,15c) extending from the second display area to the first display area (the touch electrodes can be seen forming a matrix across 10); and
a light emitting structure layer (fig. 5: 32) located on a side of the circuit structure layer away from the base substrate, and comprising a plurality of first light emitting elements (fig. 4 and 5: 24) located in the first display area and a plurality of second light emitting elements located in the second display area (this can be seen in fig. 4);
wherein at least one first pixel circuit among the plurality of first pixel circuits is electrically connected with at least one first light emitting element among the plurality of first light emitting elements by means of at least one of the plurality of connecting lines, and is configured to drive the at least one first light emitting element to emit light (as seen in fig. 4 and 5, touch electrodes, 14a,14b,14c,15a,15b,15c, are connected to the to the pixel circuity and light emitting element ,22 and 24, and forms part of the pixels signal path by being linked to the pixels signal lines, 20, via S/D; the touch electrode sends capacitive signals through the signal line, and to the pixel circuitry, which then sends the total signal to the light emitting elements);
and at least one second pixel circuit among the plurality of second pixel circuits is electrically connected with at least one second light emitting element among the plurality of second light emitting elements, and is configured to drive the at least one second light emitting element to emit light (as previously mentioned, touch electrodes, 14a,14b,14c,15a,15b,15c, are connected to the to the pixel circuity and light emitting element ,22 and 24, and forms part of the pixels signal path by being linked to the pixels signal lines, 20, via S/D; the touch electrode sends capacitive signals through the signal line, and to the pixel circuitry, which then sends the total signal to the light emitting elements); and
an orthographic projection of the plurality of connecting lines on the base substrate is not overlapped with an orthographic projection of anodes of the plurality of second light emitting elements on the base substrate (this configuration can be seen in fig. 4 and 5, as well as taught in par. 40, touch electrodes, 14a,14b,14c,15a,15b,15c, surround but don’t intersect 22 and 24, instead aligning with banks 30).
Regarding claim 3, Huang teaches a display panel according to claim 1, wherein the orthographic projection of the plurality of connecting lines on the base substrate is a mesh pattern (please see fig. 4 which shows a mesh pattern).
Regarding claim 4, Huang teaches a display panel according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of connecting lines are made of a transparent conductive material (par. 62).
Regarding claim 5, Huang teaches a display panel according to claim 1, wherein in the second display area, the plurality of first pixel circuits are located on a side of the plurality of second pixel circuits away from the first display area (see fig. 4 and 5 which show this config).
Regarding claim 6, Huang teaches a display panel according to claim 5, wherein the second display area is located on at least one side of the first display area along a first direction, and the plurality of first pixel circuits are located on a side of the plurality of second pixel circuits away from the first display area along the first direction (see fig. 4 and 5 which show this config).
Regarding claim 7, Huang teaches a display panel according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of first pixel circuits are distributed at intervals among the plurality of second pixel circuits (see fig. 4 and 5 which show this config).
Regarding claim 8, Huang teaches a display panel according to claim 1, wherein an orthographic projection of an anode of the at least one second light emitting element on the base substrate is overlapped with an orthographic projection of a second pixel circuit connected thereto on the base substrate (see fig. 4 and 5 which show anode directly over the TFT).
Regarding claim 15, Huang teaches a display apparatus, comprising the display panel according to claim 1 (please see fig. 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 19, Huang teaches a display panel according to claim 3, wherein the plurality of connecting lines are made of a transparent conductive material (par. 62).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang (10217802)
Regarding claim 1, Hwang teaches a display panel, comprising:
a base substrate (fig. 2B: 110), comprising a first display area (please see SP3 in the left column of fig. 2A) and a second display area (please see SP1 and SP2 in the right column of fig. 2A) located on least one side of the first display area;
a circuit structure layer (fig. 2B: 160) located on the base substrate, and comprising a plurality of first pixel circuits (160 is in each SP3) and a plurality of second pixel circuits (160 is in each SP! And SP2) which are located in the second display area, and a plurality of connecting lines (fig. 2A: VDD1 and VDD2) extending from the second display area to the first display area (please see fig. 2A); and
a light emitting structure layer (fig. 2B: 170) located on a side of the circuit structure layer away from the base substrate, and comprising a plurality of first light emitting elements (170 is in each SP3) located in the first display area and a plurality of second light emitting elements located in the second display area (170 in each SP1 and SP2);
wherein at least one first pixel circuit among the plurality of first pixel circuits is electrically connected with at least one first light emitting element among the plurality of first light emitting elements by means of at least one of the plurality of connecting lines, and is configured to drive the at least one first light emitting element to emit light (this is the direct function of VDD1 and VDD2);
and at least one second pixel circuit among the plurality of second pixel circuits is electrically connected with at least one second light emitting element among the plurality of second light emitting elements, and is configured to drive the at least one second light emitting element to emit light (this is the direct function of VDD1 and VDD2); and
an orthographic projection of the plurality of connecting lines on the base substrate is not overlapped with an orthographic projection of anodes of the plurality of second light emitting elements on the base substrate (this can be seen in fig. 2A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 17, 18 and 20 are objected to based on its dependency on claim 2.
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10 and 12 are objected to based on its dependency on claim 9.
Claim 11 is objected to based on its dependency on claim 10.
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818