DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by XIA et al. (XIA) (CN 11535712 A).
In regards to claims 1-20, XIA (Figs. 1-5 and associated text) discloses the Applicant’s claimed invention. Examiner notes that this is the publication to the Applicant’s foreign priority documents and can probably be excluded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAI et al. (HAI) (CN 112861763 A) in view of GUO et al (GUO) (CN 11584752 A).
In regards to claim 1, HAI (paragraphs 66-122, Figs. 1-19 and associated text) discloses a display panel (Fig. 2), comprising: a substrate (item 101); a pixel circuit layer (item 118), a planarization layer (item 119, 111 or 119 plus 111, 111 is black resin), a black pixel definition layer (item 110, paragraph 109), an encapsulation layer (item 121), and a black matrix layer (item 105) that are disposed on a side (top surface of item 101) of the substrate (item 101) and sequentially laminated along a direction away from the substrate (item 101), wherein a plurality of first openings (openings where each item 102 reside) are defined in the black pixel definition layer (item 110), and a plurality of second openings (openings where each item 104 reside) are defined in the black matrix layer (item 105), wherein the plurality of first openings (openings where each item 102 reside) and the plurality of second openings (openings where each item 104 reside) are spaced apart along a direction parallel to a bearing face of the substrate (item 101), and the plurality of first openings (openings where each item 102 reside) are in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of second openings (openings where each item 104 reside); light-emitting elements (item 102) in the plurality of first openings (openings where each item 102 reside); and filter layers (item 104) in the plurality of second openings (openings where each item 104 reside), wherein a color of each of the filter layers (item 104) in the plurality of second openings (openings where each item 104 reside) is the same as a color of each of the light- emitting elements (item 102) in the plurality of first openings (openings where each item 102 reside, paragraph 81).
HAI does not specifically disclose a transmittance of the planarization layer (item 119, 111 or 119 plus 111, 111 is black resin) is not greater than a transmittance of the black pixel definition layer (item 110).
GUO (paragraphs 2-67, Figs. 1-4 and associated text) discloses forming the pixel defining layer 106 from a black material, lower optical density values (inversely proportional to light transmission properties), low anti-reflection efficiency (strong light transmission of the black pixel defining layer causes light to be transmitted through and reflected at the anode, reducing contrast), between the pixel circuitry layer and the black pixel defining layer, a black anti-reflection layer (item 103) is further provided, which has a higher optical density value and thus a higher resistance to light transmission than the black pixel defining layer, thereby enhancing the anti-reflection effect and enhancing the contrast ratio. Thus, the light transmission of the anti-reflection layer (item 103) is not greater than the light transmission of the black pixel definition layer (item 106). As can be seen, the technical features of the distinction of this claim have been disclosed by GUO, the role of this distinction in GUO is the same as in the present application.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of GUO for the purpose of further improving the anti-reflection properties.
In regards to claim 2, HAI (paragraphs 66-122, Figs. 1-19 and associated text) discloses wherein the planarization layer (items 119, 111 or 119 plus 111) is a black planarization layer (item 111 is a black resin).
In regards to claim 3, HAI (paragraphs 66-122, Figs. 1-19 and associated text) discloses wherein a material of the black planarization layer (items 119, 111 or 119 plus 111, item 111 is a black resin) is the same as a material of the black pixel definition layer (item 110, black resin).
In regards to claim 5, HAI as modified by GUO (paragraphs 2-67, Figs. 1-4 and associated text) discloses wherein an optical density of the planarization layer (item 103) is greater than or equal to an optical density threshold, wherein the optical density threshold is greater than an optical density of the black pixel definition layer (item 106). Examiner notes that the man setting of the optical density threshold must be reached (i.e. greater than or equal to) in order to ensure the light blocking properties of the antireflective layer is readily conceivable by one of ordinary skill in the art without inventive step.
In regards to claim 10, HAI (paragraphs 66-122, Figs. 1-19 and associated text) as modified by GUO (paragraphs 2-67, Figs. 1-4 and associated text) discloses wherein the planarization layer (items 119, 111 or 119 plus 111, HAI, item 103, GUO) comprises a plurality of planarization film layers (items 119 plus 111, HAI, item 103) sequentially laminated along the direction away from the based substrate (item 101), wherein a transmittance of at least one of the plurality of planarization film layers (items 119 plus 111, HAI, item 103) is not greater than the transmittance of the black pixel definition layer (item 110, HAI, item 106, GUO).
In regards to claim 11, HAI (paragraphs 66-122, Figs. 1-19 and associated text) discloses wherein the at least one of the plurality of planarization film layers (items 119, 111 or 119 plus 111) comprises a planarization film layer (items 119, 111 or 119 plus 111), close to the black pixel definition layer (item 110), in the plurality of planarization film layers (items 119, 111 or 119 plus 111).
In regards to claim 12, HAI (paragraphs 66-122, Figs. 1-19 and associated text) discloses wherein a thickness of the planarization layer (items 119, 111 or 119 plus 111) is greater than a thickness of the black pixel definition layer (item 110), and a thickness direction is perpendicular to the bearing face of the substrate (item 101).
In regards to claim 13, HAI (paragraphs 66-122, Figs. 1-19 and associated text) discloses wherein the filter layers (item 104) comprise color filters (R-CF, G-CF, B-CF).
Claim(s) 4, 7-9 and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAI et al. (HAI) (CN 112861763 A) in view of GUO et al (GUO) (CN 11584752 A) as applied to claims 1-3 and 5 above, and further in view of CHOI et al. (CHOI) (CN 113113549 A1).
In regards to claims 4 and 18, HAI as modified by GUO does not specifically disclose wherein the material of the black planarization layer and the material of the black pixel definition layer both comprises a carbon black additive.
CHOI (paragraphs 40-204, Figs. 1-15H and associated text) discloses wherein the material of the black planarization layer (item 113) and the material of the black pixel definition layer (item 180) both comprises a carbon black additive (carbon black).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of CHOI for the purpose of having a negative photosensitive material.
In regards to claim 7, CHOI (paragraphs 40-204, Figs. 1-15H and associated text) discloses wherein a material of the planarization layer (item 113) comprises at least one of an organic material or an inorganic material (paragraph 113), wherein the organic material is doped with a light-absorbing pigment (paragraphs 192-193).
In regards to claim 8, CHOI (paragraphs 40-204, Figs. 1-15H and associated text) discloses wherein the inorganic material comprises molybdenum oxide or aluminum oxide (paragraph 13, alumina).
In regards to claim 9, CHOI (paragraphs 40-204, Figs. 1-15H and associated text) discloses wherein the organic material comprises polyimide or acrylic (paragraph 116, polyimide). Examiner notes acrylic is also a conventional choice of planarizing layer forming material in the art.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of CHOI, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
In regards to claim 14, HAI (paragraphs 66-122, Figs. 1-19 and associated text) as modified by GUO (paragraphs 2-67, Figs. 1-4 and associated text) and In regards to claim 9, CHOI (paragraphs 40-204, Figs. 1-15H and associated text) discloses wherein the pixel circuit layer (layer with TFT, Fig. 10, CHOI) comprises an active layer (item 134, CHOI), a gate metal layer (item 136, CHOI), and a source and drain metal layer (items 137, 138, CHOI) that are sequentially laminated along the direction away from the based substrate (item 100, CHOI); and the display panel further comprises: a first insulative layer (item 103, CHOI) between the active layer (item 134, CHOI) and the gate metal layer (item 136, CHOI); a second insulative layer (item 105, CHOI) between the gate metal layer (item 136, CHOI) and the source and drain metal layer (items 137, 138, CHOI); a buffer layer (item 101, CHOI) between the substrate (item 100, CHOI) and the pixel circuit layer (layer with TFT, Fig. 10, CHOI); and an overcoat layer (item 107, HAI) on a side, away from the substrate (item 101, HAI, item 100), of the black matrix layer (item 105, HAI).
In regards to claim 15, HAI (paragraphs 66-122, Figs. 1-19 and associated text) a display device (Fig. 2), comprising: a display panel (Fig. 2), wherein the display panel (Fig. 2), comprising: a substrate (item 101); a pixel circuit layer (item 118), a planarization layer (item 119, 111 or 119 plus 111, 111 is black resin), a black pixel definition layer (item 110, paragraph 109), an encapsulation layer (item 121), and a black matrix layer (item 105) that are disposed on a side (top surface of item 101) of the substrate (item 101) and sequentially laminated along a direction away from the substrate (item 101), wherein a plurality of first openings (openings where each item 102 reside) are defined in the black pixel definition layer (item 110), and a plurality of second openings (openings where each item 104 reside) are defined in the black matrix layer (item 105), wherein the plurality of first openings (openings where each item 102 reside) and the plurality of second openings (openings where each item 104 reside) are spaced apart along a direction parallel to a bearing face of the substrate (item 101), and the plurality of first openings (openings where each item 102 reside) are in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of second openings (openings where each item 104 reside); light-emitting elements (item 102) in the plurality of first openings (openings where each item 102 reside); and filter layers (item 104) in the plurality of second openings (openings where each item 104 reside), wherein a color of each of the filter layers (item 104) in the plurality of second openings (openings where each item 104 reside) is the same as a color of each of the light- emitting elements (item 102) in the plurality of first openings (openings where each item 102 reside, paragraph 81),
HAI does not specifically disclose a transmittance of the planarization layer (item 119, 111 or 119 plus 111, 111 is black resin) is not greater than a transmittance of the black pixel definition layer (item 110).
GUO (paragraphs 2-67, Figs. 1-4 and associated text) discloses forming the pixel defining layer 106 from a black material, lower optical density values (inversely proportional to light transmission properties), low anti-reflection efficiency (strong light transmission of the black pixel defining layer causes light to be transmitted through and reflected at the anode, reducing contrast), between the pixel circuitry layer and the black pixel defining layer, a black anti-reflection layer (item 103) is further provided, which has a higher optical density value and thus a higher resistance to light transmission than the black pixel defining layer, thereby enhancing the anti-reflection effect and enhancing the contrast ratio. Thus, the light transmission of the anti-reflection layer (item 103) is not greater than the light transmission of the black pixel definition layer (item 106). As can be seen, the technical features of the distinction of this claim have been disclosed by GUO, the role of this distinction in GUO is the same as in the present application.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of GUO for the purpose of further improving the anti-reflection properties.
HAI as modified by GUO does not specifically disclose a drive circuit and a display panel…the drive circuit is electrically connected to the display panel and is configured to drive the display panel to emit light.
CHOI (paragraphs 40-204, Figs. 1-15H and associated text) discloses a drive circuit (items 110, 115, or 150, T1, Figs. 5, 6) and a display panel (item 1, Fig. 5) …the drive circuit (items 110, 115, 150 or T1,) is electrically connected to the display panel (item 1) and is configured to drive the display panel (item 1) to emit light.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of CHOI for the purpose of controlling/driving the pixels and brightness.
In regards to claim 16, HAI (paragraphs 66-122, Figs. 1-19 and associated text) discloses wherein the planarization layer (items 119, 111 or 119 plus 111) is a black planarization layer (item 111 is a black resin).
In regards to claim 17, HAI (paragraphs 66-122, Figs. 1-19 and associated text) discloses wherein a material of the black planarization layer (items 119, 111 or 119 plus 111, item 111 is a black resin) is the same as a material of the black pixel definition layer (item 110, black resin).
In regards to claim 19, HAI as modified by GUO (paragraphs 2-67, Figs. 1-4 and associated text) discloses wherein an optical density of the planarization layer (item 103) is greater than or equal to an optical density threshold, wherein the optical density threshold is greater than an optical density of the black pixel definition layer (item 106). Examiner notes that the man setting of the optical density threshold must be reached (i.e. greater than or equal to) in order to ensure the light blocking properties of the antireflective layer is readily conceivable by one of ordinary skill in the art without inventive step.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAI et al. (HAI) (CN 112861763 A) in view of GUO et al (GUO) (CN 11584752 A) as applied to claims 1-3, 5 and 10-13 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (Huang) (CN 110707132 A).
In regard to claim 6, HAI as modified by GUO does not specifically disclose wherein the optical density threshold is 3.
Huang (paragraphs 39-78, Figs. 1-8 and associated text) discloses when the
light-shielding layer optical density is greater than 3, its light-shielding effect meets the requirements. An optical density threshold of 3 was reached for light blocking performance. Therefore Huang discloses wherein the optical density threshold is 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Huang for the purpose of controlling the light shielding portion and improving the light shielding effect.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAI et al. (HAI) (CN 112861763 A) in view of GUO et al (GUO) (CN 11584752 A) as applied to claims in view of CHOI et al. (CHOI) (CN 113113549 A1) as applied to claims 4, 7-9 and 14-19 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (Huang) (CN 110707132 A).
In regard to claim 20, HAI as modified by GUO and CHOI does not specifically disclose wherein the optical density threshold is 3.
Huang (paragraphs 39-78, Figs. 1-8 and associated text) discloses when the
light-shielding layer optical density is greater than 3, its light-shielding effect meets the requirements. An optical density threshold of 3 was reached for light blocking performance. Therefore Huang discloses wherein the optical density threshold is 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Huang for the purpose of controlling the light shielding portion and improving the light shielding effect.
Conclusion
TELLY D. GREEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/TELLY D GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898 July 24, 2026