DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the amendments filed on 23 February 2026. Claims 1 and 6 are amended. Claims 2, 8-9, 11-12, 15, 19-20 are cancelled. Claims 1, 3-7, 10, 13-14 and 16-18 are presently pending and examined.
Response to Arguments
Prior Art Rejection
35 USC 112(f)
Applicant has not amended the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them from being interpreted under 35USC 112(f) nor presented a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). This will be taken as an agreement by the applicant and the claim limitation(s) will be interpreted under 35USC 112(f).
35 USC 102 Rejection
Applicant’s amendments and accompanying arguments, see remarks, filed 23 February 2026, with respect to rejection of Claims 1, 4-7, 17 and 18 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 102 rejection of Claims 1, 4-7, 17 and 18 has been withdrawn.
Examiner disagrees with the Applicants arguments the Kamei, Kim and Minami fail to disclose or teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Applicant is using the dimensions of the plate member to calculate the position of the center of gravity of the plate and the position of the marking to provide align the frame of reference of the plate with that of the crane.
Kamei discloses an image acquisition mechanism configured to acquire an image of the plate member such that the image includes a feature portion of the plate member, the feature portion being a marking provided at a predetermined position on the plate member (see at least [0018] The trolley 13 of the crane 1 is provided with a camera 24 (image acquisition unit) included in the image processing device 6, [0027] The identification information 50 is not particularly limited as long as the information can be visually read. For example, the identification information 50 may be a QR code (registered trademark) as shown in FIG. 8 (a), may be a barcode as shown in FIG. 8 (b), and may be a bar code as shown in FIG. 8 (c). It may be a list of letters, numbers and symbols as shown in, and [0033] The work W reference position is a predetermined position).
Thus, Kamei provides for the alignment of the frame of reference for the plate and the crane.
Kim overcomes the deficiency of Kamei with respect to amended Claim1 and teaches the control mechanism calculates a gravitational center position of the plate member as the position of the plate member from a dimension of the plate member and a position of the marking (see at least Claim 4, [0008] a control unit for calculating the center of gravity and grip position of all of the slabs, to be moved each time, based on information about a position and configuration of each of the slabs from the photographing unit and the information about the dimensions and/or weight of each of the slabs from the main system, [0024] a gravity center measurement system 500 for extracting an image of the loaded state of the slabs S based on data acquired by the photographing unit 100, and calculating the center of gravity of the slabs S, [0045] Meanwhile, when the position of the center of gravity of each slab, shown in FIG. 7, is calculated, the distance from any one point (a reference point) is obtained, [0045] Ci=ai+Li/2 and [0046] where ‘ai’ is the distance from the reference point to one end of each slab and Li is the length of each slab).
Thus, Kim teaches calculating the center of gravity of a plate using distance obtained from a reference point which is the “identification information” disclosed by Kamei.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant argument.
Upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection under 35 USC 103 is made in view of Joo Man Kim et. al. US20110036154A1 (“Kim”).
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities. Claim 14 currently recites "The crane according to claim 11, wherein the image acquisition mechanism is attached to the drive mechanism." This appears to be a typographical or error in claim drafting. Claim 11 has been cancelled in the amended claims submitted on 02/23/2026. Appropriate correction, if any, is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamei in view of Joo Man Kim et. al. US20110036154A1 (“Kim”).
As per Claim 1,
Kamei discloses,
A crane for performing handling and transportation of a plate member, the crane comprising:
a holding mechanism configured to lift and hold the plate member (see at least [0017] A unit 14 is provided. The hanging portion 14 is a device that holds the individual piece WP that is the object to be conveyed. In the present embodiment, the hanging portion 14 has a lifting magnet 20)
a drive mechanism configured to move the holding mechanism at least horizontally (see at least [0017] The trolley 13 traverses along the girder 11 to move the suspension portion 14 and the individual piece WP in the traverse direction, [0019] the crane control device 4 of the machine upper control system 2 moves the traveling unit 12 and / or the trolley 13 position, and [0033] the crane control unit 33 of the work management device 8 gives an operation instruction to the crane control device 4 so as to move the trolley 13 to a position where the work W reference position on the carriage 101a can be photographed by the camera 24. Transmit (step S10)).
an image acquisition mechanism configured to acquire an image of the plate member such that the image includes a feature portion of the plate member (see at least [0018] The trolley 13 of the crane 1 is provided with a camera 24 (image acquisition unit) included in the image processing device 6. The camera 24 is a device provided on the crane 1 and acquires an image below the crane 1. For example, the camera 24 is provided on the trolley 13. The camera 24 can also take a picture of the state below the hanging portion 14 without being blocked by the hanging portion 14. Therefore, the camera 24 can acquire images of the individual pieces WP and the work W arranged below the hanging portion 14. The image processing device 6 may include a plurality of cameras 24. When the image processing device 6 includes a plurality of cameras 24, the image of the entire work W can be easily acquired by combining the images of the respective cameras 24. Further, each camera 24 may be provided on both sides of the trolley 13 in the transverse direction, for example, with the hanging portion 14 interposed therebetween. By arranging each camera 24 in this way and taking pictures at the same time, it is possible to recognize the individual WPs on both sides of the hanging portion 14
the feature portion being a marking provided at a predetermined position on the plate member; (see at least [0027] The identification information 50 is not particularly limited as long as the information can be visually read. For example, the identification information 50 may be a QR code (registered trademark) as shown in FIG. 8 (a), may be a barcode as shown in FIG. 8 (b), and may be a bar code as shown in FIG. 8 (c). It may be a list of letters, numbers and symbols as shown in, and [0033] The work W reference position is a predetermined position).
a control mechanism configured to detect the feature portion from the image (see at least [0020] The image processing device 6 detects the reference position of the carriage 101a, detects the reference position of the work W, and measures the position and orientation of the work W by comparing both reference positions (details will be described later). Further, the image processing device 6 acquires an image in which the identification information given to the work W is captured and transmits the image to the work management device 8, [0027] The identification information 50 is not particularly limited as long as the information can be visually read. For example, the identification information 50 may be a QR code (registered trademark) as shown in FIG. 8 (a), may be a barcode as shown in FIG. 8 (b), and may be a bar code as shown in FIG. 8 (c). It may be a list of letters, numbers and symbols as shown in, and [0033] The work W reference position is a predetermined position, for example, a corner portion of the work W. As a result, the crane control device 4 controls the crane 1 so that the camera 24 comes to a position where the corner portion of the work W can be photographed).
adjust a horizontal position of the holding mechanism based on the position of the plate member (see at least [0025] The identification unit 31 acquires the identification information 50 given to all the work W and the information on which work W the identification information 50 corresponds to, [0029] The crane control unit 33 calculates command information for controlling various operations of the crane 1 and transmits the command information to the crane control device 4. Further, the crane control unit 33 controls the excitation patterns of the plurality of magnet units 21 of the lifting magnet 20, [0033] As shown in FIG. 3, the crane control unit 33 of the work management device 8 gives an operation instruction to the crane control device 4 so as to move the trolley 13 to a position where the work W reference position on the carriage 101a can be photographed by the camera 24. Transmit (step S10). The work W reference position is a predetermined position, for example, a corner portion of the work W, and [0037] crane control unit 33 of the work management device 8 aligns the lifting magnet 20 and the individual WP based on the position information acquired in step S20).
Kamei does not disclose,
calculate a gravitational center position of the plate member as a position of the plate member from a dimension of the plate member and a position of the marking
Kim teaches,
the control mechanism calculates a gravitational center position of the plate member as the position of the plate member from a dimension of the plate member and a position of the marking (see at least [0008] a gravity center measurement system, including a photographing unit for photographing the loaded slabs to be moved, a driving unit for moving the photographing unit up and down, a control unit for calculating the center of gravity and grip position of all of the slabs, to be moved each time, based on information about a position and configuration of each of the slabs from the photographing unit and the information about the dimensions and/or weight of each of the slabs from the main system, [0024] a gravity center measurement system 500 for extracting an image of the loaded state of the slabs S based on data acquired by the photographing unit 100, and calculating the center of gravity of the slabs S, [0045] Meanwhile, when the position of the center of gravity of each slab, shown in FIG. 7, is calculated, the distance from any one point (a reference point) is obtained, [0045] Ci=ai+Li/2 and [0046] where ‘ai’ is the distance from the reference point to one end of each slab and Li is the length of each slab, and [0045] Here, one end of the slab S, which belongs to the slabs S and is located at the bottom, is set as a reference point.
Thus, Kamei discloses a crane system to automatically convey a piece, including a plate, in a workplace and Kim teaches a method to calculate the center of gravity of slabs.
As a result, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to provide the invention disclosed by Kamei with the method of measuring the center of gravity of slabs using image scanner and calculating the grip position of the slab taught by Kim, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide an advantage of preventing dropping of the slabs attributable to the unbalanced weight of the slabs (0010).
As per Claim 4,
Kamei discloses,
The crane according to claim 1, further comprising:
a traveling rail provided on a ceiling of a building where the plate member is stored, wherein
the drive mechanism to which the holding mechanism is attached is moved along the traveling rail such that the holding mechanism is moved horizontally (see at least [0017] The trolley 13 traverses along the girder 11 to move the suspension portion 14 and the individual piece WP in the traverse direction. The traveling portion 12 travels together with the girder 11 and the trolley 13 along a rail (not shown) to move the suspension portion 14 and the individual piece WP in the traveling direction).
As per Claim 5,
Kamei discloses,
The crane according to claim 4, wherein the image acquisition mechanism is attached to the drive mechanism (see at least [0018] The camera 24 is a device provided on the crane 1 and acquires an image below the crane 1. For example, the camera 24 is provided on the trolley 13).
As per Claim 6,
Kamei discloses,
A transportation method for performing handling and transportation of a plate member, the transportation method comprising: (see at least [0032] FIG. 3 shows the processing contents from the time when the new work W reaches the transport position of the crane 1 until all the individual pieces in the work W are transported).
acquiring an image of the plate member such that the image includes a feature portion of the plate member (see at least [0018] The trolley 13 of the crane 1 is provided with a camera 24 (image acquisition unit) included in the image processing device 6. The camera 24 is a device provided on the crane 1 and acquires an image below the crane 1. For example, the camera 24 is provided on the trolley 13. The camera 24 can also take a picture of the state below the hanging portion 14 without being blocked by the hanging portion 14. Therefore, the camera 24 can acquire images of the individual pieces WP and the work W arranged below the hanging portion 14. The image processing device 6 may include a plurality of cameras 24. When the image processing device 6 includes a plurality of cameras 24, the image of the entire work W can be easily acquired by combining the images of the respective cameras 24. Further, each camera 24 may be provided on both sides of the trolley 13 in the transverse direction, for example, with the hanging portion 14 interposed therebetween. By arranging each camera 24 in this way and taking pictures at the same time, it is possible to recognize the individual WPs on both sides of the hanging portion 14).
the feature portion being a marking provided at a predetermined position on the plate member; (see at least [0027] The identification information 50 is not particularly limited as long as the information can be visually read. For example, the identification information 50 may be a QR code (registered trademark) as shown in FIG. 8 (a), may be a barcode as shown in FIG. 8 (b), and may be a bar code as shown in FIG. 8 (c). It may be a list of letters, numbers and symbols as shown in, and [0033] The work W reference position is a predetermined position).
detect the feature portion from the image (see at least [0020] The image processing device 6 detects the reference position of the carriage 101a, detects the reference position of the work W, and measures the position and orientation of the work W by comparing both reference positions (details will be described later). Further, the image processing device 6 acquires an image in which the identification information given to the work W is captured and transmits the image to the work management device 8, [0027] The identification information 50 is not particularly limited as long as the information can be visually read. For example, the identification information 50 may be a QR code (registered trademark) as shown in FIG. 8 (a), may be a barcode as shown in FIG. 8 (b), and may be a bar code as shown in FIG. 8 (c). It may be a list of letters, numbers and symbols as shown in, and [0033] The work W reference position is a predetermined position, for example, a corner portion of the work W. As a result, the crane control device 4 controls the crane 1 so that the camera 24 comes to a position where the corner portion of the work W can be photographed).
adjusting a horizontal position of a holding mechanism based on the position of the plate member (see at least [0025] The identification unit 31 acquires the identification information 50 given to all the work W and the information on which work W the identification information 50 corresponds to, [0029] The crane control unit 33 calculates command information for controlling various operations of the crane 1 and transmits the command information to the crane control device 4. Further, the crane control unit 33 controls the excitation patterns of the plurality of magnet units 21 of the lifting magnet 20, [0033] As shown in FIG. 3, the crane control unit 33 of the work management device 8 gives an operation instruction to the crane control device 4 so as to move the trolley 13 to a position where the work W reference position on the carriage 101a can be photographed by the camera 24. Transmit (step S10). The work W reference position is a predetermined position, for example, a corner portion of the work W, and [0037] crane control unit 33 of the work management device 8 aligns the lifting magnet 20 and the individual WP based on the position information acquired in step S20)
the holding mechanism being configured to lift and hold the plate member (see at least [0017] A unit 14 is provided. The hanging portion 14 is a device that holds the individual piece WP that is the object to be conveyed. In the present embodiment, the hanging portion 14 has a lifting magnet 20)
lifting and transporting the plate member after the horizontal position of the holding mechanism is adjusted. (see at least [0017] The lifting magnet 20 holds the individual pieces WP by exciting a plurality of magnet portions 21 and attracting the individual pieces WP made of metal. The trolley 13 traverses along the girder 11 to move the suspension portion 14 and the individual piece WP in the traverse direction. The traveling portion 12 travels together with the girder 11 and the trolley 13 along a rail (not shown) to move the suspension portion 14 and the individual piece WP in the traveling direction, [0037] work management device 8 aligns the lifting magnet 20 and the individual WP based on the position information acquired in step S20, and individually uses the excitation pattern set in step S40. An operation command is given to the crane control device 40 so as to attract one WP and convey it to the conveyor (step S50)).
Kamei does not disclose,
calculating a gravitational center position of the plate member as a position of the plate member from a dimension of the plate member and a position of the marking
Kim teaches,
calculating a gravitational center position of the plate member as the position of the plate member from a dimension of the plate member and a position of the marking (see at least [0008] a gravity center measurement system, including a photographing unit for photographing the loaded slabs to be moved, a driving unit for moving the photographing unit up and down, a control unit for calculating the center of gravity and grip position of all of the slabs, to be moved each time, based on information about a position and configuration of each of the slabs from the photographing unit and the information about the dimensions and/or weight of each of the slabs from the main system, [0024] a gravity center measurement system 500 for extracting an image of the loaded state of the slabs S based on data acquired by the photographing unit 100, and calculating the center of gravity of the slabs S, [0045] Meanwhile, when the position of the center of gravity of each slab, shown in FIG. 7, is calculated, the distance from any one point (a reference point) is obtained, [0045] Ci=ai+Li/2 and [0046] where ‘ai’ is the distance from the reference point to one end of each slab and Li is the length of each slab, and [0045] Here, one end of the slab S, which belongs to the slabs S and is located at the bottom, is set as a reference point.
Thus, Kamei discloses a crane system to automatically convey a piece, including a plate, in a workplace and Kim teaches a method to calculate the center of gravity of slabs.
As a result, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to provide the invention disclosed by Kamei with the method of measuring the center of gravity of slabs using image scanner and calculating the grip position of the slab taught by Kim, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide an advantage of preventing dropping of the slabs attributable to the unbalanced weight of the slabs (0010).
As per Claim 7,
Kamei discloses,
A plate member manufacturing method for performing handling and transportation of the plate member by use of the crane according claim 1 in a manufacturing step of manufacturing the plate member (see at least [0013] The processing system 200 is a system in which a steel plate is cut into individual pieces by laser cutting, and the cut individual pieces are individually conveyed. The individual pieces conveyed in this way are used, for example, as structural members of a ship. In the present specification, the member before cutting is referred to as a steel plate SP, the member which has been cut to have a desired size and shape is referred to as an individual piece WP, and the steel plate SP has a cut of a plurality of individual pieces WP. The state (that is, the state before taking out the individual piece WP) is referred to as a work W).
As per Claim 17,
Kamei discloses,
A plate member manufacturing method for performing handling and transportation of the plate member by use of the crane according to claim 4 in a manufacturing step of manufacturing the plate member (see at least [0014] The crane system 100 is a system for transporting a predetermined individual piece WP from a work W including a plurality of pieces WP that have been cut in advance. The crane system 100 selectively holds individual pieces WP from the work W, on the carriage 101a in a predetermined order from the work W, and transports the individual pieces WP to the transport system 102).
As per Claim 18,
Kamei discloses,
A plate member manufacturing method for performing handling and transportation of the plate member by use of the crane according to claim 5 in a manufacturing step of manufacturing the plate member (see at least [0014] The crane system 100 is a system for transporting a predetermined individual piece WP from a work W including a plurality of pieces WP that have been cut in advance. The crane system 100 selectively holds individual pieces WP from the work W, on the carriage 101a in a predetermined order from the work W, and transports the individual pieces WP to the transport system 102).
Claims 3, 10, 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamei in view of Kim as applied to Claim 1 above and further in view of Yoshimasa Minami US20220063965A1 (“Minami”).
As per Claim 3,
Kamei does not disclose,
crane according to claim 1, further comprising:
a self-position detecting mechanism configured to detect a horizontal central position of the holding mechanism, wherein the control mechanism gives a drive command to the drive mechanism such that a distance between a gravitational center position of the plate member and the central position of the holding mechanism is equal to or less than a threshold
Minami teaches,
crane according to claim 1, further comprising:
a self-position detecting mechanism configured to detect a horizontal central position of the holding mechanism, wherein the control mechanism gives a drive command to the drive mechanism such that a distance between a gravitational center position of the plate member and the central position of the holding mechanism is equal to or less than a threshold (see at least [0021] crane can calculate the gravity center of the load and the lifting position can be set based on the information on the gravity center, and thus, the hook can be automatically positioned at the set lifting position, [0064] Target position calculation section 35 a is a part of control apparatus 35, and calculates target position Pd as the movement target of sub hook 11 a by performing image processing of images s1 and s2. In addition, hook position calculation section 35 b is a part of control apparatus 35, and calculates hook position P as the current position information of sub hook 11 a from the image processing result of the image captured by boom camera 9 b. In addition, orientation signal generation section 35 c calculates actuator orientation signal Ad as a command signal to crane 1, [0092] orientation signal generation section 35 c calculates relative distance Dp of current hook position P and the set target position Pd. Here, orientation signal generation section 35 c calculates relative distance Dp from the image processing result of the image captured by boom camera 9 b and hook camera 31, [0096] crane 1 including control apparatus 35 having the above-mentioned configuration, hook position P is brought closer to target position Pd by outputting calculated actuator orientation signal Ad to each valve by control apparatus 35and [0096] It is to be noted that control apparatus 35 determines that hook position P and target position Pd are matched when the distance between hook position P and target position Pd becomes equal to or smaller than a predetermined threshold value).
Thus, Kamei discloses a crane system to automatically convey a piece, including a plate, in a workplace and Minami teaches a method to calculate the center of gravity of slabs using image processing and moving of the holding mechanism close to the center of gravity of the load.
As a result, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to provide the invention disclosed by Kamei with the control method of moving lifting hook to the lifting position of the slab taught by Minami, with a reasonable expectation of success, reduce alignment errors (0097).
As per Claim 10,
Kamei discloses,
crane according to claim 3, further comprising:
a traveling rail provided on a ceiling of a building where the plate member is stored, wherein the drive mechanism to which the holding mechanism is attached is moved along the traveling rail such that the holding mechanism is moved horizontally (see at least [0017] The trolley 13 traverses along the girder 11 to move the suspension portion 14 and the individual piece WP in the traverse direction. The traveling portion 12 travels together with the girder 11 and the trolley 13 along a rail (not shown) to move the suspension portion 14 and the individual piece WP in the traveling direction).
As per Claim 13,
Kamei discloses,
The crane according to claim 10,
wherein the image acquisition mechanism is attached to the drive mechanism (see at least [0018] The camera 24 is a device provided on the crane 1 and acquires an image below the crane 1. For example, the camera 24 is provided on the trolley 13).
As per Claim 16
Kamei discloses,
A plate member manufacturing method for performing handling and transportation of the plate member by use of the crane according to claim 3 in a manufacturing step of manufacturing the plate member (see at least [0014] The crane system 100 is a system for transporting a predetermined individual piece WP from a work W including a plurality of pieces WP that have been cut in advance. The crane system 100 selectively holds individual pieces WP from the work W, on the carriage 101a in a predetermined order from the work W, and transports the individual pieces WP to the transport system 102).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3668 /Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668