Detailed Action
This is a Non-final Office action in response to communications received on 7/29/2024. Claims 1-22 are pending and are examined.
Drawings
The drawings, filed 7/29/2024, are acknowledged.
Preliminary Amendments
The preliminary amendments, filed 7/29/2024 are acknowledged.
Provisional Priority
The provisional priority date of 2/3/2022 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6 and 17 recite the limitation "…wherein the receiving comprises…". There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the receiving” in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Metzger (WO 2018170462 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Metzger teaches the limitations of claim 1 substantially as follows:
A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by an electronic processor, configures the electronic processor to perform a method of communicating between a first satellite payload in an electronic distributed ledger network and a second satellite payload in the electronic distributed ledger network, by performing actions comprising: (Metzger; Abstract: a satellite platform includes a plurality of satellites, wherein a first satellite of the platform is configured to identify a request for a ledger entry for a blockchain maintained by the satellite platform and, in response to the request, distribute the ledger entry to one or more other satellites of the satellite platform, wherein the one or more other satellites comprise full nodes for the blockchain (i.e., communicating between a first satellite payload in an electronic distributed ledger network and a second satellite payload in the electronic distributed ledger network))
providing, by the first satellite payload and to the distributed ledger network, a request for a service; (Metzger; [0003]: wherein a first satellite of the platform is configured to identify a request for a ledger entry for a blockchain maintained by the satellite platform and, in response to the request, distribute the ledger entry to one or more other satellites of the satellite platform, wherein the one or more other satellites comprise full nodes for the blockchain)
obtaining, by the first satellite payload, a service response from the second satellite payload and an indication of compliance with a policy concerning the service; (Metzger; [0003]: wherein a first satellite of the platform is configured to identify a request for a ledger entry for a blockchain maintained by the satellite platform and, in response to the request, distribute the ledger entry to one or more other satellites of the satellite platform, wherein the one or more other satellites comprise full nodes for the blockchain. Once distributed, the one or more other satellites each determine whether the ledger entry is verified and, when the ledger entry is verified, enters the ledger entry in a ledger for the satellite (i.e., a service response from the second satellite payload and an indication of compliance with a policy concerning the service))
determining, by the first satellite payload, and based on the indication of compliance, whether the service response conforms to the policy concerning the service; and (Metzger; [0003]: wherein a first satellite of the platform is configured to identify a request for a ledger entry for a blockchain maintained by the satellite platform and, in response to the request, distribute the ledger entry to one or more other satellites of the satellite platform, wherein the one or more other satellites comprise full nodes for the blockchain. Once distributed, the one or more other satellites each determine whether the ledger entry is verified and, when the ledger entry is verified, enters the ledger entry in a ledger for the satellite (i.e., whether the service response conforms to the policy concerning the service))
acting on the service response, by the first satellite payload, based on the determining. (Metzger; [0003]: Once distributed, the one or more other satellites each determine whether the ledger entry is verified and, when the ledger entry is verified, enters the ledger entry in a ledger for the satellite (i.e., acting on the service response))
Regarding claim 12, Metzger teaches the limitations of claim 12 substantially as follows:
A method of communicating between a first satellite payload in an electronic distributed ledger network and a second satellite payload in the electronic distributed ledger network, the method comprising: (Metzger; Abstract: a satellite platform includes a plurality of satellites, wherein a first satellite of the platform is configured to identify a request for a ledger entry for a blockchain maintained by the satellite platform and, in response to the request, distribute the ledger entry to one or more other satellites of the satellite platform, wherein the one or more other satellites comprise full nodes for the blockchain (i.e., communicating between a first satellite payload in an electronic distributed ledger network and a second satellite payload in the electronic distributed ledger network))
providing, by the first satellite payload and to the distributed ledger network, a request for a service; (Metzger; [0003]: wherein a first satellite of the platform is configured to identify a request for a ledger entry for a blockchain maintained by the satellite platform and, in response to the request, distribute the ledger entry to one or more other satellites of the satellite platform, wherein the one or more other satellites comprise full nodes for the blockchain)
obtaining, by the first satellite payload, a service response from the second satellite payload and an indication of compliance with a policy concerning the service; (Metzger; [0003]: wherein a first satellite of the platform is configured to identify a request for a ledger entry for a blockchain maintained by the satellite platform and, in response to the request, distribute the ledger entry to one or more other satellites of the satellite platform, wherein the one or more other satellites comprise full nodes for the blockchain. Once distributed, the one or more other satellites each determine whether the ledger entry is verified and, when the ledger entry is verified, enters the ledger entry in a ledger for the satellite (i.e., a service response from the second satellite payload and an indication of compliance with a policy concerning the service))
determining, by the first satellite payload, and based on the indication of compliance, whether the service response conforms to the policy concerning the service; and (Metzger; [0003]: wherein a first satellite of the platform is configured to identify a request for a ledger entry for a blockchain maintained by the satellite platform and, in response to the request, distribute the ledger entry to one or more other satellites of the satellite platform, wherein the one or more other satellites comprise full nodes for the blockchain. Once distributed, the one or more other satellites each determine whether the ledger entry is verified and, when the ledger entry is verified, enters the ledger entry in a ledger for the satellite (i.e., whether the service response conforms to the policy concerning the service))
acting on the service response, by the first satellite payload, based on the determining. (Metzger; [0003]: Once distributed, the one or more other satellites each determine whether the ledger entry is verified and, when the ledger entry is verified, enters the ledger entry in a ledger for the satellite (i.e., acting on the service response))
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Metzger teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 12.
Metzger teaches the limitations of claims 2 and 13 as follows:
wherein the determining comprises determining that the service response conforms to the policy concerning the service, and wherein the acting on the service comprises processing the service response by the first satellite payload. (Metzger; [0062]: the blockchain may apply a public key for the ledger entry to determine whether the entry is verified (i.e., determining that the service response conforms to the policy concerning the service). If verified, satellite may add the entry to ledger, however, if the entry is not verified, the ledger entry will not be added to the ledger (i.e., acting on the service comprises processing the service response by the first satellite payload))
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Metzger teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 12.
Metzger teaches the limitations of claims 3 and 14 as follows:
wherein the determining comprises determining that the service response does not conform to the policy concerning the service, and (Metzger; [0062]: the blockchain may apply a public key for the ledger entry to determine whether the entry is verified. If verified, satellite may add the entry to ledger, however, if the entry is not verified, the ledger entry will not be added to the ledger (i.e., the service response does not conform to the policy concerning the service))
wherein the acting on the service comprises sending, by the first satellite payload and to at least one node in the electronic distributed ledger network, a request to validate non-conformance of the service response to the policy concerning the service. (Metzger; [0061]: Once the ledger entry is identified, the satellite will distribute (802) the ledger entry to other satellites in the platform that provide a node for the blockchain (e.g. other satellites that provide a process for the application in the platform). Once received, each of the satellites that provide the nodes for the blockchain, may verify (803) the ledger entry (i.e., sending, by the first satellite payload and to at least one node in the electronic distributed ledger network, a request to validate non-conformance of the service response to the policy concerning the service) and store the entry in a local ledger for the satellite when verified store the entry in a local ledger for the node)
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Metzger teaches the limitations of claims 3 and 14.
Metzger teaches the limitations of claims 4 and 15 as follows:
wherein the actions further comprise: receiving, by the first satellite payload and from at least one node in the electronic distributed ledger network, a consensus indication of non-conformance of the service response to the policy concerning the service, and refusing entry of the service response to the first satellite payload. (Metzger; [0063]: the nodes may be required to form a majority before the block will be added (i.e., a consensus indication of non-conformance of the service response to the policy concerning the service))
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Metzger teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 12.
Metzger teaches the limitations of claims 5 and 16 as follows:
wherein the electronic distributed ledger network comprises one of a blockchain network or a directed acyclic graph network. (Metzger; Abstract: a satellite platform includes a plurality of satellites, wherein a first satellite of the platform is configured to identify a request for a ledger entry for a blockchain maintained by the satellite platform and, in response to the request, distribute the ledger entry to one or more other satellites of the satellite platform, wherein the one or more other satellites comprise full nodes for the blockchain (i.e., distributed ledger network comprises one of a blockchain network))
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Metzger teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 12.
Metzger teaches the limitations of claims 6 and 17 as follows:
wherein the receiving comprises retrieving the indication of compliance with the policy concerning the service from the electronic distributed ledger network. (Metzger; [0003]: wherein a first satellite of the platform is configured to identify a request for a ledger entry for a blockchain maintained by the satellite platform and, in response to the request, distribute the ledger entry to one or more other satellites of the satellite platform, wherein the one or more other satellites comprise full nodes for the blockchain. Once distributed, the one or more other satellites each determine whether the ledger entry is verified and, when the ledger entry is verified, enters the ledger entry in a ledger for the satellite (i.e., indication of compliance with the policy concerning the service from the electronic distributed ledger network))
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Metzger teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 12.
Metzger teaches the limitations of claims 7 and 18 as follows:
wherein the first satellite payload and the second satellite payload are hosted payloads present on a same satellite, and (Metzger; [0046]: one or more processes (i.e., the first satellite payload and the second satellite payload are hosted payloads) executing on each of satellites 510-513 (i.e., present on a same satellite) are configured to manage a blockchain corresponding to blocks)
wherein the sending is performed over an electronic bus. (Metzger; [0049]: This distribution may occur via a direct link between satellite 510 and satellite 512 or may occur using satellites 511 and 513 or another satellite (not illustrated) (i.e., the sending is performed over an electronic bus))
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Metzger teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 12.
Metzger teaches the limitations of claims 8 and 19 as follows:
wherein the first satellite payload is present on a first satellite and the second satellite payload is present on a second satellite different from the first satellite, and (Metzger; [0046]: one or more processes (i.e., the first satellite payload and the second satellite payload are hosted payloads) executing on each of satellites 510-513 (i.e., present on a first and a second satellite) are configured to manage a blockchain corresponding to blocks)
wherein the sending is performed over a wireless communication channel. (Metzger; [0020]: Satellites 110-113 and satellites 120-123 communicate via wireless communication links 130-132)
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Metzger teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 12.
Metzger teaches the limitations of claims 9 and 20 as follows:
wherein the service comprises at least one of: computation time, data storage, or sensor data acquisition. (Metzger; [0003]: Once distributed, the one or more other satellites each determine whether the ledger entry is verified and, when the ledger entry is verified, enters the ledger entry in a ledger for the satellite (i.e., data storage))
Regarding claims 10 and 21, Metzger teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 12.
Metzger teaches the limitations of claims 10 and 21 as follows:
wherein the actions further comprise: obtaining, by the first satellite payload and from the electronic distributed ledger network, an indication of past compliance by the second satellite payload. (Metzger; [0003]: Once distributed, the one or more other satellites each determine whether the ledger entry is verified and, when the ledger entry is verified, enters the ledger entry in a ledger for the satellite (i.e., indication of past compliance))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metzger (WO 2018170462 A1), as applied to independent claims, in view of Favarolo (US 10742313 B1).
Regarding claims 11 and 22, Metzger teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 12.
Metzger does not teach the limitations of claims 11 and 22 as follows:
wherein the actions further comprise: advertising in a data and services marketplace, by the first satellite payload, a service that it is capable of providing and that is available for request.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Favarolo discloses the limitations of claims 11 and 22 as follows:
wherein the actions further comprise: advertising in a data and services marketplace, by the first satellite payload, a service that it is capable of providing and that is available for request.(Favarolo; Col. 11, Lines 29-33: The distributed resource/service manager matches the request of resources or services by a node with supply from other nodes (i.e., advertising in a data and services marketplace, by the first satellite payload, a service that it is capable of providing and that is available for request))
Favarolo is combinable with Metzger because all are from the same field of endeavor of blockchain coordination in satellite systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified system of Metzger to incorporate managing and matching of services to resources in a blockchain network as in Favarolo in order to optimize allocation and usage of resources, goods, and services.
Prior Art Considered But Not Relied Upon
Richarte (US 20230231699 A1) which teaches implementing cryptographic and security-in-depth techniques on-board spacecrafts or satellites.
Balaraman (US 20190164157 A1) which teaches a system which allows registered transaction account holders and merchants to interact and complete transactions according to workflows enforced by smart contracts.
Conclusion
/BLAKE I NARRAMORE/Examiner, Art Unit 2438