DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The prior art documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement filed 07/29/2024 have all been considered and made of record.
Joint Inventors
Drawings
Figures 3, 4a, 4b, and 5a are objected to. Figure 3 is objected to because
the “second retainer” 200 label of fig. 3 appears indicate a general region of the cable retaining system 100 while the “first retainer” 110 label appears to indicate a small hexagonal structure within the cable retaining system so it is unclear what structures constitute the first and second retainers and where exactly the second retainer ends and the first retainer begins within the figure,
the “walls” 114 are described in the specification as being the walls of the one or more first channels 112, but the labels for elements 114 appear to be drawn to a cable, hexagonal components, or some points that appear to be separated from the first channels, and
element 330 is designated as a “view” but appears to indicate a particular region or component.
Figures 4a and 4b are objected to because
element labels 100 and 200 appear to be drawn to the same general region or structure.
Figure 5a is objected to because
the label for element 310a appears to be drawn to a face of (or passage within) the device, rather than the “base part” as defined in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claims 1 and 15, the claims recite “…one or more first channels…”, “…the channels…”, and “the first channels”. It is unclear whether or not the first retainer must be composed of more than one channel. The claims are indefinite because the limitations create confusion regarding the structure of the claimed device.
Claims 2-19 inherit the indefiniteness of claim 1 on which they depend.
With regards to claim 2, the claim recites “…openings through which a cable can extend…” in line 3. Claim 1 on which claim 2 depends recites “…configured to receive respective cables…” in line 5, then recites “…longitudinal axes of the cables…” in line 6. It is unclear if the “a cable” of claim 2 is one of the “cables” introduced in claim 1, or if it is a newly introduced cable. The claim is indefinite because the limitations create confusion regarding the structure of the claimed device.
With regards to claim 11, the claim recites “…a portion of a particular cable…” in line 3. Claim 1 on which claim 11 depends recites “…configured to receive respective cables…” in line 5, then recites “…longitudinal axes of the cables…” in line 6. It is unclear if the “a particular cable” of claim 11 is one of the “cables” introduced in claim 1, or if it is a newly introduced cable. The claim is indefinite because the limitations create confusion regarding the structure of the claimed device.
With regards to claim 12, the claim recites the limitation "…wherein the second channels are spaced apart…". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because “…the second channels…” are not introduced in claim 1 on which claim 12 depends.
With regards to claim 16, the claim recites “…openings through the gasket for respective cables to extend through…” in line 3. Claim 15 on which claim 16 depends recites “…configured to receive respective cables…” in line 8, then recites “…longitudinal axes of the cables…” in line 10. It is unclear if the “respective cables” of claim 16 are the same as the “cables” introduced in claim 15, or if they are newly introduced cables. The claim is indefinite because the limitations create confusion regarding the structure of the claimed device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Coenegracht (US 20150137461 A1).
With regards to claims 1 and 15, Coenegracht discloses a housing assembly comprising:
a housing having an aperture through a wall of the housing into an interior space of the housing (Fig1/Housing 20; Fig7/Aperture 102); and
a cable retaining system (Fig15/Cable retaining system 33e), wherein the cable retaining system comprises:
a first retainer, wherein the first retainer is configured to be arranged adjacent to a gasket for sealing the aperture into the housing interior (Fig15/First retainer [as indicated below to the left] and gasket 74), wherein the first retainer comprises one or more first channels (Fig15/First channels [as indicated below to the right]) to be aligned with respective openings through the gasket (Fig15/Openings 30e), and wherein the channels are configured to receive respective cables (Paragraph 37/ “…cable ports 30e…”) extending through respective ones of the openings in the gasket in order to maintain alignment of a longitudinal axes of the cables with the respective openings (Fig15); and
a second retainer, wherein the second retainer comprises a second retainer mechanism spaced apart from the first retainer, wherein the second retainer mechanism is configured to engage the cables to resist movement of the cables out of the first channels (Fig15/Second retainer [as indicated below to the left] and second retaining mechanism [as indicated below to the right]).
With regards to claims 2 and 16, Coenegracht discloses the cable retaining system and housing assembly of claims 1 and 15, wherein the system further comprises the gasket for sealing the aperture into the housing, wherein the gasket comprises one or more openings through each of which a cable can extend into the interior of the housing (Fig15/Gasket 74 and openings 30e).
With regards to claim 3, Coenegracht discloses the cable retaining system of claim 1, wherein walls of the first channels are configured to engage the cables to resist movement of the cables in longitudinal directions of the cables (Fig15).
With regards to claim 4, Coenegracht discloses the cable retaining system of claim 1, wherein the second retainer mechanism is configured to resist movement of the cables in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal directions of the cables (Fig15).
With regards to claim 5, Coenegracht discloses the cable retaining system of claim 1, wherein the second retainer comprises a bracket couplable to the housing (Fig15/Bracket [as indicated below]).
With regards to claims 6 and 17, Coenegracht discloses the cable retaining system and housing assembly of claims 1 and 15, wherein the second retainer comprises one or more retaining arms configured to engage the cables to resist movement of the cables out of the first channels (Fig15/Retaining arms 79).
With regards to claim 7, Coenegracht discloses the cable retaining system of claim 1, wherein the second retainer comprises one or more second channels aligned with respective ones of the first channels, wherein the second retainer is configured to receive the cables extending though the first channels within respective ones of the second channels (Fig15/Second channels [as indicated below]).
With regards to claim 8, Coenegracht discloses the cable retaining system of claim 7, wherein walls of the second channels are configured to engage the cables to resist movement of the cables in longitudinal directions of the cables (Fig15).
With regards to claim 9, Coenegracht discloses the cable retaining system of claim 7, wherein the cables are insertable into the second channels in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axes of the cables, and wherein the one or more retaining arms are arranged to resist movement of the cables in the direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axes of the cables out of the second channels (Fig15/Direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axes [as indicated below]).
With regards to claim 10, Coenegracht discloses the cable retaining system of claim 7, wherein the second channels comprise a channel bottom and an open side opposite the channel bottom, wherein the retaining arms are provided at the open sides of the second channels and are arranged to project over the open sides of the second channels in order to restrict movement of the cables out of the open sides (Fig15/Channel bottom [as indicated below]).
With regards to claim 11, Coenegracht discloses the cable retaining system of claim 10, wherein the retaining arms project over the open sides of the second channels at an angle relative to walls of the second channels, so that a portion of a particular cable arranged at the angle relative to the walls of the second channels is insertable between pairs of the retaining arms on either side of a particular second channel in order to be inserted into the particular second channel (Fig15/[Angle associated with conical form of elements 79]).
With regards to claim 12, Coenegracht discloses the cable retaining system of claim 1, wherein the second channels are spaced apart from the first retainer along the longitudinal axes of the cables (Fig15).
With regards to claims 13 and 18, Coenegracht discloses the cable retaining system and housing assembly of claims 1 and 15, wherein the cables are optical fibre cables (Paragraph 48/ “…fiber optic cables…”).
With regards to claims 14 and 19, Coenegracht the cable retaining system and housing assembly of claims 1 and 15, wherein the housing is an enclosure, cabinet or mast for a telecommunications network (Fig1).
With regards to claim 20, Coenegracht discloses a method of retrofitting a retaining system for a housing assembly, wherein the method comprises:
providing a housing assembly, the housing assembly comprising:
a housing having an aperture into an interior of the housing through which one or more cables extend (Fig1/Housing 20); and
a first retainer, wherein the first retainer is configured to be arranged adjacent to a gasket for sealing the aperture into the housing interior(Fig15/First retainer [as indicated below to the left] and gasket 74), wherein the first retainer comprises one or more first channels (Fig15/First channels [as indicated below to the right]) to be aligned with respective openings through the gasket (Fig15/Openings 30e), and wherein the first channels are configured to receive respective cables (Paragraph 37/ “…cable ports 30e…”) extending through respective ones of the openings in the gasket in order to maintain alignment of longitudinal axes of the cables with the respective openings; and
coupling a second retainer to the housing assembly on an opposite side of the first retainer from the aperture, wherein the second retainer comprises a second retainer mechanism spaced apart from the first retainer, wherein the second retainer mechanism is configured to engage the cables to resist movement of the cables out of the first channels (Fig15/Second retainer [as indicated below to the left] and second retaining mechanism [as indicated below to the right]).
With regards to claim 21, Coenegracht discloses the method of claim 20, wherein the second retainer comprises one or more retaining arms configured to engage the cables to resist movement of the cables out of the first channels, wherein the method further comprises: arranging the cables such that the cables engage the retaining arms (Fig15/Retaining arms 79).
With regards to claim 22, Coenegracht discloses the method of claim 20, wherein the second retainer comprises one or more second channels alignable with respective ones of the first channels, wherein the second retainer is configured to receive the cables extending though the first channels within respective ones of the second channels (Fig15).
With regards to claim 23, Coenegracht discloses the method of claim 22, wherein the method further comprises: arranging the cables such that the cables are received within the ones of the second channels of the second retainer which are aligned with the first channels of the first retainer within which the cables are received (Fig15/Paragraph 48).
Conclusion
This prior art, made of record, but not relied upon, is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure since the following references have similar structure and/or use similar structure and/or similar optical elements to what is disclosed and/or claimed in the instant application:
Takeuchi (US 20230125728 A1) [Fig2A]
/MARC E MANHEIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874