Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 3-30-2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an illumination optical system, a scanning device, a plurality of detection optical systems, a signal processing device, in claim 1, 10, & 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuhlmann et al (US PAT 7,130,036) (Kuhlmann) in view of Shitbata et al (PGPub 2009/0059216) (Honda)
Regarding Claims 1, 10, & 11, Kuhlmann discloses a defect inspection apparatus (Fig. 3) that inspects a sample with a structure repeatedly formed across a surface, comprising:
a sample stand (Column 6, lines 20-21) supporting the sample (28);
an illumination optical system (31 & 33) that irradiates the sample placed on the sample stand with an illumination light ray (Column 6, lines 13-15);
a scanning device that rotationally drives the sample stand to change a relative position of the sample and the illumination optical system (Column 6, lines 20-27);
a plurality of detection optical systems (34 & 44) that collect light rays from the surface of the sample (Column 6, lines 29-48);
a plurality of sensors (40, 42, 46, 50) that convert the light rays collected by the corresponding detection optical systems into electrical signals and output detection signals (Column 6, lines 49-52);
a signal processing device (52) that processes the detection signals of the plurality of sensors to detect a defect in the sample (Column 6, lines 52-54);
a first filter (Fourier Filter) that removes or reduces the detection signals of the structure (Column 16, lines 18-21); and
a second filter (Azimuthal filtering) that removes or reduces diffracted light rays generated by the structure or detection signals of the diffracted light rays according to a θ coordinate of a circular coordinate system of the sample or at a set period (Column 16, lines 21-24 & Column 12, lines 5-12). The orientation of the circular coordinate system is not defined thus the azimuthal angle change can also be the θ coordinate as claimed;
Kuhlmann fails to explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of detection optical systems are arranged along a hemispherical surface centered on an illumination spot of the illumination light ray on the sample, and each of the plurality of detection optical systems includes an objective lens configured to collect the light rays from the surface of the sample;
However, Shibata discloses a defect inspection apparatus (Fig. 8), comprising:
wherein the plurality of detection optical systems (10, 20, & 30) are arranged along a hemispherical surface centered on an illumination spot of the illumination light ray on the sample (See fig. 8), and each of the plurality of detection optical systems includes an objective lens (100) configured to collect the light rays from the surface of the sample (Paragraphs 65 & 66);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kuhlmann with wherein the plurality of detection optical systems are arranged along a hemispherical surface centered on an illumination spot of the illumination light ray on the sample, and each of the plurality of detection optical systems includes an objective lens configured to collect the light rays from the surface of the sample because this is a functionally equivalent optical configuration that would offer such advantages as a less complex optical arrangement that would be less prone to errors such as misalignment.
The method of Claim 10 and system of claim 11 are also met by the rejection.
Regarding Claim 2, Kuhlmann as modified by Shibata discloses the aforementioned. Further, Kuhlmann discloses wherein the sample is a patterned wafer (Column 16, lines 24-26).
Regarding Claim 3, Kuhlmann as modified by Shibata discloses the aforementioned. Further, Kuhlmann discloses wherein the second filter is program processing by the signal processing device that removes or reduces each detection signal of the plurality of sensors according to the θ coordinate or at the set period to remove or reduce the detection signals of the diffracted light rays (Column 12, lines 13-18).
Regarding Claim 6, Kuhlmann as modified by Shibata discloses the aforementioned. Further, Kuhlmann discloses wherein the second filter is a static shielding structure that partially blocks detection optical paths of at least some of the plurality of detection optical systems so that the number of detection optical systems to which the diffracted light rays generated by the structure are simultaneously incident is reduced (Column 11, lines 34-54).
Regarding Claim 7, Kuhlmann as modified by Shibata discloses the aforementioned. Further, Kuhlmann discloses wherein the first filter is program processing executed by the signal processing device that removes or reduces detection signals at coordinates where the structure is located based on pattern mask data corresponding to a position of the structure on the surface of the sample (Column 16, lines 27-32 & 36-42). The periodic patterned features are the result of the pattern mask thus the removal by the Fourier filter of those features is based on the pattern mask data.
Regarding Claim 8, Kuhlmann as modified by Shibata discloses the aforementioned. Further, Kuhlmann discloses wherein the pattern mask data is based on design data of the sample. The pattern mask is how the design of the pattern on the sample is projected thus the pattern mask data is based on the design data of the sample.
Regarding Claim 9, Kuhlmann as modified by Shibata discloses the aforementioned. Further, Kuhlmann discloses wherein the pattern mask data is based on data obtained by scanning the sample or a sample of the same type or equivalent as the sample (Columns 15 & 16, lines 54-67 & 1-5).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuhlmann in view of Shibata and further in view of Almogy et al (PGPub 2004/0016896) (Almogy).
Regarding Claim 5, Kuhlmann as modified by Shibata discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second filter is a mechanical filter placed in each Fourier space of the plurality of detection optical systems, and is configured to rotate in synchronization with the sample stand and block the diffracted light rays generated by the structure;
However, Almogy teaches a filter which is a mechanical filter placed in each Fourier space of the plurality of detection optical systems, and is configured to rotate in synchronization with the sample stand and block the diffracted light rays generated by the structure (Paragraph 124);
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was filed to modify Kuhlmann as modified by Shibata with wherein the second filter is a mechanical filter placed in each Fourier space of the plurality of detection optical systems, and is configured to rotate in synchronization with the sample stand and block the diffracted light rays generated by the structure because this is functionally equivalent to the second filter Kuhlman and would be used based upon availability and cost.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 & 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to Claim 4 the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious wherein the second filter is program processing executed by the signal processing device that removes or reduces the detection signals of the diffracted light rays by changing gains of the plurality of sensors according to the θ coordinate or at the set period, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim.
As to Claim 12 the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious wherein the second filter is program processing executed by the signal processing device that removes or reduces the detection signals of the diffracted light rays by changing gains of the plurality of sensors according to the θ coordinate or at the set period, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHON COOK/Examiner, Art Unit 2877 June 9, 2026
/Kara E. Geisel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877