Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6, line 2, “the amine curing agent” should read “the epoxy resin curing agent”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 is indefinite because the claim depends on a cancelled claim, making the scope of the claim unclear. For purposes of examination, Claim 10 is considered to be dependent on Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ono et al. (JP 2002/090993 A).
Regarding Claims 1-4, 7, and 10, Ono discloses a photosensitive resin composition comprising an epoxy based resin and at least one organic acid salt of dicyandiamide (paras 0010, 0012). The at least one organic acid salt of dicyandiamide each have a formula:
where X is hydrogen and Y includes (paras 0010 and 0017-0020):
or
or
The organic acid salt of dicyandiamide having Y that is
corresponds to the claimed “epoxy resin curing agent comprising amine groups comprising dicyandiamide”, and the other organic acid salts of dicyandiamide correspond to the claimed “dicyandiamide salt comprising an anion selected from sulfonate or phosphonate”.
While Ono does not disclose the onset temperature, since Ono discloses the resin composition as claimed, including epoxy resin, epoxy resin curing agent, and dicyandiamide salt as claimed, it would necessarily have onset temperature as claimed.
Regarding Claim 6, Ono discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to claim 1 above. The at least one organic acid salts of dicyandiamide and epoxy resin are added to the composition separately (i.e. first and second part) (para 0034).
Regarding Claims 8, Ono discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to claim 1 above. While Ono does not disclose the peak temperature, since Ono discloses the resin composition as claimed, including epoxy resin, epoxy resin curing agent, and dicyandiamide salt as claimed, it would necessarily have peak temperature as claimed.
Regarding Claim 11, Ono discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to claim 1 above. Ono further discloses the use of the epoxy resin improves adhesion (para 0027) (i.e. the composition can function as an adhesive).
Regarding Claim 12, Ono discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to claim 1 above. While Ono does not disclose the overlap shear of the composition, since Ono discloses the resin composition as claimed, including epoxy resin, epoxy resin curing agent, and dicyandiamide salt as claimed, it would necessarily have overlap shear as claimed.
Claims 1-4, 6-8, and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Agag et al. (US 2020/0230854 A1).
Regarding Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, and 10-11, Agag discloses an adhesive composition comprising aqueous emulsion of epoxy resin (para 0034) (i.e. first part), and an epoxy curative (i.e. second part) such as a mixture of dicyandiamide and phosphonium salts thereof (para 0036).
While Agag does not disclose the onset temperature, since Agag discloses the resin composition as claimed, including epoxy resin, dicyandiamide, and phosphonium salt of dicyandiamide as claimed, it would necessarily have onset temperature as claimed.
Regarding Claim 3, Agag discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to claim 1 above. Agag further discloses the mixture of epoxy curatives may further include an amine salt of p-toluenesulfonic acid (para 0036).
Since the composition includes an aqueous solution, the phosphonium salt of dicyandiamide and the amine salt of p-toluenesulfonic acid would dissolve into their respective ions, including sulfonate anion as claimed.
Regarding Claims 8, Agag discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to claim 1 above. While Agag does not disclose the peak temperature, since Agag discloses the resin composition as claimed, including epoxy resin, dicyandiamide, and phosphonium salt of dicyandiamide as claimed, it would necessarily have peak temperature as claimed.
Regarding Claim 12, Agag discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to claim 1 above. While Agag does not disclose the overlap shear of the composition, since Agag discloses the resin composition as claimed, including epoxy resin, dicyandiamide, and phosphonium salt of dicyandiamide as claimed, it would necessarily have overlap shear as claimed.
Regarding Claims 13-14, Agag discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to claim 1 above. Agag further discloses the adhesive is used to bond a rigid substrate to a plastic/elastomer (para 0061).
Response to Arguments
In light of applicant’s amendments filed 03/24/2026, the 35 USC 102 rejections of record over each of Ono, Agag, and Kim are withdrawn. New grounds of rejection over Ono and over Agag are set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BETHANY M MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1787
/CALLIE E SHOSHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1787