Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
freezing device 30 and lifting/lowering device 50 in claim 1;
rotational driving device 41 and support member 110 and locking member 120 in claims 8 and 9, which have the corresponding structure disclosed in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Manabu (JP 2020-72249 A).
Manabu describes a substrate processing device comprising:
a placement base (56) which is provided inside a processing vessel (10) and has a substrate (W) placed thereon [abstract: a stage device and a processing device which can rotate a mounted substrate while being cooled to an extremely low temperature and have high cooling performance];
a refrigeration device (52, 54, see paragraphs [0035] and [0036] and fig. 3B) having a contact surface (upper surface of 54b) which is placed in contact with or moved away from a contacted surface (lower surface of 56c) of the placement base, and cools the placement base; and
a raising/lowering device (mechanism for raising/lowering a refrigeration and heat transfer body 54 (including a second heat transfer portion 54b), see paragraph [0036]) for raising/lowering the refrigeration device and for generating a pressing force to press the refrigeration device against the placement base. [ The processing apparatus 1 also includes an elevating mechanism 74 that elevates and lowers the entire stage device 50 with respect to the vacuum container 10. Thereby, the distance between the target 30 and the wafer W can be controlled. Specifically, by raising and lowering the stage device 50 by the raising and lowering mechanism 74, the position of the stage 56 is changed between the transfer position when the wafer W is placed on the stage 56 and the wafer W placed on the stage 56. It can be moved to and from the processing position when performing the membrane.]
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shinji (JP 2016-53202 A).
Shinji describes a substrate processing device comprising: a placement base (2, 3) which is provided inside a processing vessel (1) and has a substrate (4) placed thereon;
a refrigeration device (5) having a contact surface (upper surface of 5b) which is placed in
contact with or moved away from a contacted surface (lower surface of 2) of the placement base, and cools the placement base; and
a raising/lowering device for raising/lowering the refrigeration device and for generating a
pressing force to press the refrigeration device against the placement base (paragraph [0031]
indicates that: "either of the placement base 2 and the refrigeration mechanism 5 may be moved", in which case, when it is the refrigeration mechanism 5 which is moved, it is considered that a raising/lowering device for raising/lowering the refrigeration mechanism 5 is provided).
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Isao (JP 2013-4810 A).
Isao describes a substrate processing device comprising: a placement base (1-3) which is provided inside a processing vessel (paragraph [0002] describes usage in a step such as CVD film formation or etching, in which case it can be considered that such a step would normally be performed inside a vacuum chamber (processing vessel), and, even if there were a difference, this difference would merely involve adding a well-known and conventional feature), and has a substrate (wafer) placed thereon;
a refrigeration device (16, see paragraphs [0048] and [0049]) having a contact surface (upper surface of 16) which is placed in contact with or moved away from a contacted surface (lower surface of 3) of the placement base, and cools the placement base; and
a raising/lowering device (see paragraph [0048]) having an air cylinder for raising/lowering the refrigeration device and for generating a pressing force to press the refrigeration device against the placement base.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manabu (JP 2020-72249 A) or Shinji (JP 2016-53202 A) or Isao (JP 2013-4810 A) in view of Tatsuhisa (JP 2002-368062 A).
Manabu, Shinji and Isao do not explicitly disclose a differential pressure in the raising/lowering device.
Tatsuhisa disclose utilizing, as the raising/lowering device, a vertically upward force resulting from a differential pressure between an internal space and an external space of the processing vessel constitutes a well-known feature (in particular see paragraphs [0026] and [0036], and fig. 4 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Manabu, Shinji or Isao by adopting this well-known feature in the raising/lowering device.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manabu (JP 2020-72249 A) or Shinji (JP 2016-53202 A) in view of Isao (JP 2013-4810 A).
Manabu, Shinji do not explicitly disclose air cylinder as the raising/lowering device.
Isao discloses using an air cylinder as the raising/lowering device that constitutes a well-known feature (in particular see paragraph [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Manabu or Shinji by adopting this well-known feature as a raising/lowering device.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manabu (JP 2020-72249 A) or Shinji (JP 2016-53202 A) in view of Tatsuhisa (JP 2002-368062 A) and, in further view of Isao (JP 2013-4810 A).
Manabu, Shinji in view of Tatsuhisa do not explicitly disclose air cylinder as the raising/lowering device.
Isao discloses using an air cylinder as the raising/lowering device that constitutes a well-known feature (in particular see paragraph [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Manabu or Shinji in view of Tatsuhisa by adopting this well-known feature as a raising/lowering device.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manabu (JP 2020-72249 A) or Shinji (JP 2016-53202 A) in view of Isao (JP 2013-4810 A) or over Isao and, in further in view of Mitsuhiro (JP 2004-235291 A).
Manabu, Shinji, and Isao do not explicitly disclose a lever structure in the raising/lowering device.
Mitsuhiro discloses using a lever structure as the raising/lowering device that constitutes a well-known feature (in particular see paragraphs [0015], [0016] and [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Manabu, Shinji or Isao by adopting this well-known feature in the raising/lowering device.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manabu (JP 2020-72249 A) or Shinji (JP 2016-53202 A) and Tatsuhisa (JP 2002-368062 A) in view of Isao (JP 2013-4810 A) and, in further view of Mitsuhiro (JP 2004-235291 A).
Manabu, Shinji, Tatsuhisa and Isao do not explicitly disclose a lever structure in the raising/lowering device.
Mitsuhiro discloses using a lever structure as the raising/lowering device that constitutes a well-known feature (in particular see paragraphs [0015], [0016] and [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Manabu, Shinji, Tatsuhisa or Isao by adopting this well-known feature in the raising/lowering device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
NAKAGAWASAI (US 20200135434 A1) discloses “a stage device includes a stage configured to hold a target substrate in a vacuum chamber, a cold heat transfer body fixedly disposed below a bottom surface of the stage with a gap between the stage and the cold heat transfer body and cooled to an extremely low temperature by a chiller disposed below the cold heat transfer body, and cooling fluid supplied to the gap to transfer cold heat of the cold heat transfer body to the stage. The stage device further includes a stage support configured to rotatably support the stage and formed in a cylindrical shape to surround an upper part of the cold heat transfer body wherein the stage support has a vacuum insulation structure, and a rotation part configured to support the stage support and rotated by a driving mechanism while being sealed with magnetic fluid.”
/PARVIZ HASSANZADEH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1716