DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s argument that Wong fails to teach the absence of a non-threaded gap is not persuasive since US 4240652 A to Wong discloses this as discussed below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Wong (US 4240652 A).
With respect to claim 1, Wong discloses a drilling component (40) configured to interconnect a first section (12) and a second section (24) of a drill string, the drilling component comprising: a first end portion (right end of fig. 4) configured to be arranged to face the first section (shown in fig. 5) wherein the first end portion includes a first interconnecting portion (threaded portion at right side of fig. 4, thread abbreviated for ease of illustration) configured to engage a corresponding interconnecting portion (16) of the first section of the drill string (fig. 5); a hollow interior configured to extend along a length direction of the drill string and to form a part of a passage through the drill string (shown in figs. 4, 5); and a wall defining the hollow interior (shown in figs. 4, 5), wherein a part of the passage is formed by a first region (shown in fig. 1 below) having a first cross-section and a second region (shown in fig. 1 below) having a second cross-section wherein the first region is arranged at the first end portion and extends at least partially along the first interconnecting portion wherein the second region extends between the first region and a second end portion (near 42, fig. 4) of the drilling component wherein the wall in the first region has a cylindrical profile wherein the wall in the first region is parallel to the wall in the second region wherein the area of a first cross-section of the wall is smaller than the area of a second cross-section of the wall and wherein the first cross-section is arranged between the second cross-section and the first end portion (shown in figs. 4, 5, fig. 1 below), and wherein the first cross section and the second cross section are directly interconnected (via a tapered portion in the same way as in the instant invention) and disposed within the first interconnecting portion (shown in figs. 4, 5, fig. 1 below). The first interconnecting portion being continuous between the first and second cross sections such that there is no non-threaded gap therebetween (shown in figs. 4, 5, fig. 1 below, fig. 4 having a gap in the threads for ease of illustration, fig. 5 showing the full thread).
Fig. 1
With respect to claim 2, Wong further discloses wherein the first interconnecting portion includes an externally threaded section (shown in figs. 4, 5) configured to engage the corresponding interconnecting portion (16) of the first section of the drill string.
With respect to claim 3, Wong further discloses a second interconnecting portion (42) configured to engage a corresponding interconnecting portion (26) of a second section of the drill string.
With respect to claim 4, Wong further discloses wherein the second interconnecting portion comprises includes an internally threaded section (42) configured to engage the corresponding interconnecting portion (26) of the second section of the drill string.
With respect to claim 5, Wong further discloses a second interconnecting portion (42) configured to be connected to a rock-drill piston interface (capable of this by way of being threaded).
With respect to claim 6, Wong further discloses a shank (between 30 and 42 in fig. 4) positioned adjacent to the first interconnecting portion wherein the first interconnecting portion is arranged between the shank and the first end portion (shown in fig. 4)
With respect to claim 7, Wong further discloses a radially outward protruding shoulder (shoulder, fig. 1 above) configured to transfer a force to the first section of the drill string along the length direction of said drill string (it is capable of this by way of extending radially outwardly).
With respect to claim 8, Wong further discloses wherein the first end portion comprises includes an end surface (rightmost end of fig. 4) configured to transfer a force to the first section of the drill string along the length direction of said the drill string (capable of this since the end of any metallic member is capable of this).
With respect to claim 9, Wong further discloses wherein a cross-sectional area of the first region is larger than a cross-sectional area of the second region (the ID cross sectional area first region is larger than second region, see fig. 1 above, figs. 4, 5).
With respect to claim 10, Wong further discloses wherein the second region of the part of the passage comprises a cylindrical bore (shown in figs. 4, 5, unless stated otherwise all interior passages of drill strings are assumed to be circular in cross section and sidewalls in figs. 1 and 2 are straight except for areas of diameter change).
With respect to claim 11, Wong further discloses wherein the first region of the part of the passage comprises includes a cross-sectional shape conforming to a circle, an oval or a polygon (unless stated otherwise all interior passages of drill strings are assumed to be circular in cross section).
With respect to claim 12, Wong further discloses a percussion drill string (all drill strings encounter axial vibrations and could be considered percussion drill strings in this regard, furthermore, this language appears in the preamble and is not deemed limiting, also recited in col. 1 ll. 29-31) comprising at least one drilling component as claimed in claim 1.
Conclusion
/KIPP C WALLACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674 01/30/2026