DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Note
The features of claim 24 referring to “a control signal to automatically change an operational mode of the battery if the determined internal temperature exceeds the prescribed threshold” would be sufficient in overcoming the rejection under 35 USC 101 below if it were amended into the independent claim and also not listed as an ‘option’ feature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 and 18-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without “significantly more.” Claims 1-10 and 18-27 are directed to determining a heat generation rate, a temperature change of the battery and an internal temperature of the battery, which is considered an abstract idea. Further, the claim(s) as a whole, when examined on a limitation-by-limitation basis and in ordered combination do not include an inventive concept.
Step 1 – Statutory Categories
As indicated in the preamble of the claims, the examiner finds the claims are directed to a process, machine, or article of manufacture.
Step 2A – Prong One - Abstract Idea Analysis
Exemplary claim 1 (and similarly claims 25 and 26) recites the following abstract concepts, in italics below, which are found to include an “abstract idea”:
A computer-implemented method for determining an internal temperature of a battery, the method comprising:
obtaining an initial temperature condition of the battery indicative of battery temperature at an initial time;
receiving current data indicative of electrical current in the battery at a given time after the initial time, and receiving ambient temperature data indicative of ambient temperature associated with the battery at the given time;
determining a heat generation rate in the battery based on an internal resistance of the battery and on the received current data;
determining a temperature change of the battery at the given time from the initial time, the temperature change being determined based on the obtained initial temperature condition and the determined heat generation rate; and,
determining the internal temperature of the battery based on the determined temperature change and the received ambient temperature data.
The claim features in italics above as drafted, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, are mental processes performed by generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “a battery” and “obtaining an initial temperature condition of the battery indicative of battery temperature at an initial time; receiving current data indicative of electrical current in the battery at a given time after the initial time, and receiving ambient temperature data indicative of ambient temperature associated with the battery at the given time” (none of these features actually recite the hardware/additional elements used to obtain or receive such data, but it is assumed that hardware is need in order to obtain/receive this specific information) nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “obtaining” and “receiving” language, “determining a heat generation rate in the battery based on an internal resistance of the battery and on the received current data; determining a temperature change of the battery at the given time from the initial time, the temperature change being determined based on the obtained initial temperature condition and the determined heat generation rate; and, determining the internal temperature of the battery based on the determined temperature change and the received ambient temperature data” in the context of this claim encompasses mental processes. If the claim limitations, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps which could be performed in the human mind including an observation, evaluation, judgement of opinion but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “mental process” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A – Prong Two - Abstract Idea Analysis
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims only recite a few additional elements – “a battery”, “obtaining an initial temperature condition of the battery indicative of battery temperature at an initial time; receiving current data indicative of electrical current in the battery at a given time after the initial time, and receiving ambient temperature data indicative of ambient temperature associated with the battery at the given time” (again, none of these features actually recite the hardware/additional elements used to obtain or receive such data, but it is assumed that hardware is need in order to obtain/receive this specific information), a UPS system (claim 23) and one or more processors (claims 25 and 26) and a device (claim 27). The additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing generic computer functions) such that it amounts no more than mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g), i.e. the sensors used to obtain the temperature of the battery, electric current and ambient temperature are generically functioning as they were designed). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B - Significantly More Analysis
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to
significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of “obtaining an initial temperature condition of the battery indicative of battery temperature at an initial time; receiving current data indicative of electrical current in the battery at a given time after the initial time, and receiving ambient temperature data indicative of ambient temperature associated with the battery at the given time”, a UPS system, one or more processors and device amount to no more than mere insignificant extra-solution activity. Mere insignificant extra-solution activity cannot provide an inventive concept. For these reasons, there is no inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 18 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chinese Patent Publication No. CN 105206888 A to Song et al. (“Song”).
As per claim 1, the claimed subject matter that is met by Song includes:
a computer-implemented method for determining an internal temperature of a battery, the method comprising (Song: ¶¶ 0001 and 0011 “method for monitoring the internal temperature of a lithium-ion battery”):
obtaining an initial temperature condition of the battery indicative of battery temperature at an initial time (Song: ¶ 0012 “the surface temperature change curve of the lithium-ion battery was measured during the charge and discharge process”);
receiving current data indicative of electrical current in the battery at a given time after the initial time, and receiving ambient temperature data indicative of ambient temperature associated with the battery at the given time (Song: ¶ 0013 “the internal resistance and open-circuit voltage temperature coefficient of the lithium-ion battery were tested, and an electrothermal coupling model based on the variable heat generation rate was established”, 0018 “environmental conditions refer to ambient temperature, different charge/discharge rates, and heat dissipation coefficients; the environmental factors refer to charge/discharge current, battery surface temperature, and depth of discharge (DOD)” and 0030 “lithium-ion battery internal temperature monitoring method proposed in this invention estimates the internal temperature by analyzing the relationship between the internal temperature of the lithium-ion battery and the depth of discharge, charge and discharge current and battery surface temperature, and establishing an internal temperature model. The calculation results of this model are very close to the simulation results of the electrothermal coupling model. The calculation method is simple and easy to implement, and can meet the requirements for real-time monitoring of the internal temperature of lithium-ion batteries”);
determining a heat generation rate in the battery based on an internal resistance of the battery and on the received current data (Song: ¶ 0014 “established electrothermal coupling model of lithium-ion battery, a threedimensional simulation of the battery heat generation process under different environmental conditions was performed, and the temperature change simulation curves were obtained”, 0031 and 0049-0051 “heat generation rate per unit volume, q, can be expressed as: q=▽η·i=ri <sup> 2 </sup> (3)… formula, ▽η is the overpotential per unit volume; r is the resistivity per unit volume; and i is the current density at a certain point in the battery cell”);
determining a temperature change of the battery at the given time from the initial time, the temperature change being determined based on the obtained initial temperature condition and the determined heat generation rate (Song: ¶ 0015 “Then, by comparing and analyzing the surface temperature change curve obtained in step 2) and the simulation curve obtained in step 3), the electrothermal coupling model is optimized”); and,
determining the internal temperature of the battery based on the determined temperature change and the received ambient temperature data (Song: ¶¶ 0016-0018 “Then analyze the influence of different environmental factors on the internal temperature of lithium-ion batteries, construct an internal temperature model for the battery, and verify it” and ¶¶ 0065-0068).
As per claim 2, the claimed subject matter that is met by Song includes:
the method comprising obtaining an electro-thermal model describing the temperature change of the battery as a function of time in dependence on heat generation rate in the battery, wherein determining the temperature change of the battery at the given time comprises evaluating the electro-thermal model at the given time based on the obtained initial temperature condition and the determined heat generation rate (Song: ¶ 0044 “During the charge and discharge experiment, the internal resistance and open-circuit voltage temperature coefficient of the lithium-ion battery are tested, the influence of irreversible and reversible heat on the internal temperature of the battery is analyzed, and an electrothermal coupling model based on the variable heat generation rate is established”).
As per claim 3, the claimed subject matter that is met by Song includes:
wherein the electro-thermal model describes the temperature of the battery as a function of distance from a core of the battery (Song: ¶¶ 0056-0057 “temperature field distribution on the internal plane of the battery during the battery discharge process simulation. A straight line is drawn through the center of the battery in this plane, parallel to the Y-axis. The temperature distribution of the battery on this straight line is shown in Figure 6”).
As per claim 4, the claimed subject matter that is met by Song includes:
wherein determining the internal temperature of the battery comprises evaluating the electro-thermal model at a given distance from the core less than a distance to a surface of the battery; optionally, wherein the temperature at the core of the battery is determined as the internal temperature of the battery (Song: ¶¶ 0056-0057 “temperature values in different directions of the battery vary depending on the location, with the highest temperature in the center of the battery”).
As per claim 5, the claimed subject matter that is met by Song includes:
the method comprising determining a surface temperature of the battery at the given time, wherein determining the surface temperature comprises evaluating the electro-thermal model at a distance equal to a distance from the core to the surface of the battery to determine the temperature change of the surface of the battery at the given time from the initial time, and determining the surface temperature of the battery based on the determined temperature change of the surface and the received ambient temperature data (Song: ¶ 0055 “Using the established electrothermal coupling model of lithium-ion batteries, a threedimensional simulation of the battery heat generation process under different ambient temperatures, different charge/discharge rates, and heat dissipation coefficients is performed to obtain the temperature field of individual battery cells and acquire the temperature change simulation curves. Because the experimental methods in steps 1) and 2) can generally only obtain the temperature field distribution on the battery surface, and there is a large temperature difference between the battery interior and the battery surface, the battery surface temperature cannot truly reflect the temperature situation inside the battery. However, simulation analysis can more accurately obtain the temperature field inside the battery”).
As per claim 6, the claimed subject matter that is met by Song includes:
wherein the electro-thermal model includes a plurality of parameters describing electrical, thermal and geometric properties of the battery (Song: ¶¶ 0055-0057 and Figs. 5 and 6).
As per claim 18, the claimed subject matter that is met by Song includes:
the method comprising determining the internal resistance of the battery, wherein the internal resistance is determined based on a voltage across the battery under a no discharge condition of the battery, a voltage across the battery under discharge, and the current in the battery during discharge (Song: ¶ 0025 “the battery internal resistance is tested using the hybrid pulse power characteristic test method (HPPC), which is simple and quick. This method uses a set of discharge and charge pulses to calculate the battery's discharge and charge internal resistance under different DODs”, 0044 “During the charge and discharge experiment, the internal resistance and open-circuit voltage temperature coefficient of the lithium-ion battery are tested” and 0053).
As per claim 22, the claimed subject matter that is met by Song includes:
wherein the battery is a lithium ion battery (Song: ¶ 0001 “method for monitoring the internal temperature of a lithium-ion battery”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-10 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Chinese Patent Publication No. CN 113484770 A to Mo et al. (“Mo”).
As per claim 7, the claimed subject matter that is met by Song includes:
wherein values of the plurality of parameters are obtained via …the electro-thermal model to determine the internal temperature of the battery, wherein the values of the plurality of parameters are obtained using data for the battery (Song: ¶¶ 0061 “calculation results of this model are very close to the simulation results of the electrothermal coupling model” and 0069 “this embodiment establishes an electrothermal coupling model based on a variable heat generation rate and verifies the effectiveness of the model in experiments. Based on this, a polynomial function estimation method for the internal temperature of a battery is presented. By comparing the results with those calculated by the simulation model, this method can better meet the needs of monitoring the internal temperature of a battery”).
Song fails to specifically teach a training stage for training the model and historical data. The Examiner provides Mo to teach and disclose this claimed feature.
The claimed subject matter that is met by Mo includes:
wherein values of the plurality of parameters are obtained via a training stage for training the electro-thermal model to determine the internal temperature of the battery, wherein the values of the plurality of parameters are obtained using historical data for the battery (Mo: ¶¶ 0118 “by obtaining the historical test records of the battery, the offline test data corresponding to each test item can be directly determined from the historical test records.” and 0130 “Train the initial linear neural network model to learn the linear relationship between the core temperature and the weight values, the measured values, and the deviation values, thus obtaining the linear neural network model”)
Song teaches a system and method for measuring internal temperature of a battery. Mo teaches a comparable system and method for measuring internal temperature of a battery that was improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Mo offers the embodiment of a training stage for training the model and historical data. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the adaptation of the training and historical data as disclosed by Mo to the system and method for measuring internal temperature of a battery as taught by Song for the predicted result of improved systems and methods for measuring internal temperature of a battery. No additional findings are seen to be necessary.
As per claim 8, the claimed subject matter that is met by Song and Mo includes:
the method comprising performing the training stage, wherein training stage comprises: initialising the plurality of parameters with initial values; evaluating the electro-thermal model with the initial parameter values and with the historical data to obtain an estimated surface temperature of the battery over a given time period; comparing the estimated surface temperature with a measured surface temperature of the battery over the given time period obtained from the historical data; and, updating the initial values of the plurality of parameters based on a difference between the estimated and measured surface temperatures to obtain current values of the parameters (Song: ¶¶ 0061 and 0069 and Mo: ¶¶ 0159 “if the temperature difference between the first core temperature and the core temperature sample is greater than a preset deviation value, it is determined that the first core temperature and the core temperature sample do not match, which indicates that the initial weight value is still inaccurate. Furthermore, the initial weight values need to be adjusted. The adjustment method mainly includes recursively adjusting the initial weight values to finally obtain the target weight values that meet the requirements” and 0217).
The motivation for combining the teachings of Song and Mo are discussed in the rejection of claim 7, and are incorporated herein.
As per claim 9, the claimed subject matter that is met by Song and Mo includes:
wherein the training stage comprises repeating steps of: evaluating the electro-thermal model with the current parameter values and with the historical data to obtain the estimated surface temperature over the given time period; comparing the estimated surface temperature with the measured surface temperature over the given time period; and, updating the current values of the plurality of parameters based on the difference between the estimated and measured surface temperatures over the given time period, until a stop condition is satisfied (Song: ¶¶ 0061 and 0069 and Mo: ¶¶ 0159 and 0217).
The motivation for combining the teachings of Song and Mo are discussed in the rejection of claim 7, and are incorporated herein.
As per claim 10, the claimed subject matter that is met by Song and Mo includes:
wherein the stop condition includes at least one of: the evaluating, comparing and updating steps have been repeated a prescribed threshold number of times; and, a difference between a sum of squared errors between the estimated and measured surface temperatures over the given time period is less than a prescribed threshold difference value (Mo: ¶ 0068 “Figure 7 shows the mean square error between the measured and calculated values of the core temperature inside the battery pack under different ambient temperature starting conditions provided in the embodiments of this application”).
The motivation for combining the teachings of Song and Mo are discussed in the rejection of claim 7, and are incorporated herein.
As per claim 25, the claimed subject matter that is met by Song and Mo includes:
A non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium storing instructions thereon that when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform a method according to claim 1 (Mo: ¶¶ 0056-0058 “a computer program product containing instructions that, when run on a computer, cause the computer to perform the steps in the above-described method”).
The motivation for combining the teachings of Song and Mo are discussed in the rejection of claims 7 and 26, and are incorporated herein.
As per claim 26, the claimed subject matter that is met by Song includes:
A system configured to (Song: ¶¶ 0001 and 0011 “method for monitoring the internal temperature of a lithium-ion battery”):
obtain an initial temperature condition of the battery indicative of battery temperature at an initial time (Song: ¶ 0012 “the surface temperature change curve of the lithium-ion battery was measured during the charge and discharge process”);
receive current data indicative of electrical current in the battery at a given time after the initial time, and receive ambient temperature data indicative of ambient temperature associated with the battery at the given time (Song: ¶ 0013 “the internal resistance and open-circuit voltage temperature coefficient of the lithium-ion battery were tested, and an electrothermal coupling model based on the variable heat generation rate was established”, 0018 “environmental conditions refer to ambient temperature, different charge/discharge rates, and heat dissipation coefficients; the environmental factors refer to charge/discharge current, battery surface temperature, and depth of discharge (DOD)” and 0030 “lithium-ion battery internal temperature monitoring method proposed in this invention estimates the internal temperature by analyzing the relationship between the internal temperature of the lithium-ion battery and the depth of discharge, charge and discharge current and battery surface temperature, and establishing an internal temperature model. The calculation results of this model are very close to the simulation results of the electrothermal coupling model. The calculation method is simple and easy to implement, and can meet the requirements for real-time monitoring of the internal temperature of lithium-ion batteries”);
determine a heat generation rate in the battery based on an internal resistance of the battery and on the received current data (Song: ¶ 0014 “established electrothermal coupling model of lithium-ion battery, a threedimensional simulation of the battery heat generation process under different environmental conditions was performed, and the temperature change simulation curves were obtained”, 0031 and 0049-0051 “heat generation rate per unit volume, q, can be expressed as: q=▽η·i=ri <sup> 2 </sup> (3)… formula, ▽η is the overpotential per unit volume; r is the resistivity per unit volume; and i is the current density at a certain point in the battery cell”);
determine a temperature change of the battery at the given time from the initial time, the temperature change being determined based on the obtained initial temperature condition and the determined heat generation rate (Song: ¶ 0015 “Then, by comparing and analyzing the surface temperature change curve obtained in step 2) and the simulation curve obtained in step 3), the electrothermal coupling model is optimized”); and,
determine the internal temperature of the battery based on the determined temperature change and the received ambient temperature data (Song: ¶¶ 0016-0018 “Then analyze the influence of different environmental factors on the internal temperature of lithium-ion batteries, construct an internal temperature model for the battery, and verify it” and ¶¶ 0065-0068).
Song fails to specifically teach a system for determining an internal temperature of a battery, the system comprising one or more processors. The Examiner provides Mo to teach and disclose this claimed feature.
The claimed subject matter that is met by Mo includes:
a system for determining an internal temperature of a battery, the system comprising one or more processors (Mo: ¶¶ 0056-0058 “a computer program product containing instructions that, when run on a computer, cause the computer to perform the steps in the above-described method”)
Song teaches a system and method for measuring internal temperature of a battery. Mo teaches a comparable system and method for measuring internal temperature of a battery that was improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Mo offers the embodiment of one or more processors. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the adaptation of the processors as disclosed by Mo to the system and method for measuring internal temperature of a battery as taught by Song for the predicted result of improved systems and methods for measuring internal temperature of a battery. No additional findings are seen to be necessary.
As per claim 27, the claimed subject matter that is met by Song and Mo includes:
wherein the system is implemented in at least one of: a device comprising the battery; an edge processing device; a battery management system for monitoring operation of the battery (Mo: ¶ 0057 “another aspect of the embodiments of this application, an electronic device is also provided, including a processor, a communication interface, a memory”).
The motivation for combining the teachings of Song and Mo are discussed in the rejection of claim 26, and are incorporated herein.
Claims 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0027828 A1 to Noda et al. (“Noda”).
As per claim 19, Song fails to specifically teach wherein the initial temperature condition is obtained as an average temperature of the battery at the end of a previous time period in which the internal temperature of the battery was determined. The Examiner provides Noda to teach and disclose this claimed feature.
The claimed subject matter that is met by Noda includes:
wherein the initial temperature condition is obtained as an average temperature of the battery at the end of a previous time period in which the internal temperature of the battery was determined (Noda: ¶ 0141)
Song teaches a system and method for measuring internal temperature of a battery. Noda teaches a comparable system and method for measuring internal temperature of a battery that was improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Noda offers the embodiment of wherein the initial temperature condition is obtained as an average temperature of the battery at the end of a previous time period in which the internal temperature of the battery was determined. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the adaptation of the average temperature calculations as disclosed by Noda to the temperature calculations as taught by Song for the predicted result of improved systems and methods for measuring internal temperature of a battery. No additional findings are seen to be necessary.
As per claim 20, the claimed subject matter that is met by Song and Noda includes:
wherein the previous time period corresponds to a time period that the battery operated in a certain operational mode (Noda: ¶¶ 0130, 0141 and 0146).
The motivation for combining the teachings of Song and Noda are discussed in the rejection of claim 19, and are incorporated herein.
As per claim 21, the claimed subject matter that is met by Song and Noda includes:
wherein the initial time corresponds to a time at which the battery changes to operating in one operational mode from another operational mode (Noda: ¶¶ 0130 and 0146).
The motivation for combining the teachings of Song and Noda are discussed in the rejection of claim 19, and are incorporated herein.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Official Notice (“Official Notice”).
As per claim 23, Song fails to specifically teach wherein the battery is part of an Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS) system. The Examiner takes Official Notice that it is old and well known in the art for a battery to be part of an Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS) system. Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the system and method for measuring internal temperature of a battery as taught by Song the teachings of Official Notice, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Chinese Patent Publication No. CN 112550074 A to Luo (“Luo”).
As per claim 24, Song fails to specifically teach comprising providing an output in dependence on the determined internal temperature; optionally, wherein the output comprises a warning if the determined internal temperature exceeds a prescribed threshold; further optionally, wherein the output comprises a control signal to automatically change an operational mode of the battery if the determined internal temperature exceeds the prescribed threshold. The Examiner provides Luo to teach and disclose this claimed feature.
The claimed subject matter that is met by Luo includes:
comprising providing an output in dependence on the determined internal temperature; optionally, wherein the output comprises a warning if the determined internal temperature exceeds a prescribed threshold; further optionally, wherein the output comprises a control signal to automatically change an operational mode of the battery if the determined internal temperature exceeds the prescribed threshold (Luo: ¶ 0004 “a method and monitoring system for early warning of internal temperature of electric vehicle batteries. Based on the performance of battery discharge characteristics during each trip, the battery parameters during the operation of the electric vehicle are monitored, and an alarm is triggered in a timely manner when an abnormality is detected, so as to achieve the purpose of early warning of internal temperature of the battery and improve the safety of electric vehicles”)
Song teaches a system and method for measuring internal temperature of a battery. Luo teaches a comparable system and method for measuring internal temperature of a battery that was improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Luo offers the embodiment of comprising providing an output in dependence on the determined internal temperature; optionally, wherein the output comprises a warning if the determined internal temperature exceeds a prescribed threshold; further optionally, wherein the output comprises a control signal to automatically change an operational mode of the battery if the determined internal temperature exceeds the prescribed threshold. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the adaptation of the warning output as disclosed by Luo to the system and method for measuring internal temperature of a battery as taught by Song for the predicted result of improved systems and methods for measuring internal temperature of a battery. No additional findings are seen to be necessary.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0344734 A1 to Tanovic et al. (“Tanovic ”) teaches and discloses “a system for estimating an internal temperature of a battery including a first circuit for receiving a system input signal comprising a measurement of at least one observable quantity associated with the battery and outputting an average battery temperature signal based on the system input signal; and an estimator for receiving the system input signal and the average battery temperature signal and estimating an internal temperature of the battery based on the received signals, wherein the estimator comprises a lumped thermal model of the battery comprising a plurality of parameters” (Tanovic: Abstract).
/A. Hunter Wilder/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627