DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figure 1 uses reference number 26 to point to two separate parts. It is unclear if both instances of reference number 26 are pointing to a fluid line or if there is a typographical error. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it comprises multiple paragraphs. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Caillot et al., FR 2920729 (see English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Caillot et al. disclose a wiper arm device comprising at least one wiper arm adapter (40) for coupling to at least one wiper blade (30) and to at least one fluid supply unit (60, 60’) in order to supply the at least one wiper blade with wiper fluid (Abstract and English translation relating to the “liquid supply”), which unit comprises at least one fluid line (supply via cannula 64 to second channel 42b, Figure 4b), wherein characterized in that the fluid supply unit comprises a coupling unit (64), which is configured as a headpiece for the at least one fluid line (Figure 4b) and which comprises at least two coupling elements (63’ in Figure 4a and 65 in Figure 5a) which are configured for a mechanical connection to the at least one wiper blade (Figure 4b, see also English translation paragraph relating to Figs. 4a, 4b), and wherein exactly one coupling element (65) of the at least two coupling elements (63’ and 65) is configured for a fluidic connection to the at least one wiper blade (Figure 4b, as 63’ is described as a cap). Regarding claims 2-3, the at least two coupling elements (63’ and 65) are configured for a mechanical plug-in connection to the at least one wiper blade or also as plug-in extensions (Figure 4b and English translation relating to Figure 4b). Regarding claim 8, Caillot et al. disclose a wiper system comprising at least one wiper blade (30, Figures 1a-1b).
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Depondt, CN 112389374 (see English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Depondt discloses a wiper arm device comprising at least one wiper arm adapter (18) for coupling to at least one wiper blade (32) and to at least one fluid supply unit (26) in order to supply the at least one wiper blade with wiper fluid (see English translation relating to the “fluid delivery line 26”), which unit comprises at least one fluid line (26), wherein characterized in that the fluid supply unit comprises a coupling unit (50), which is configured as a headpiece for the at least one fluid line (Figure 2) and which comprises at least two coupling elements (42, 66) which are configured for a mechanical connection to the at least one wiper blade (Figures 1-3, 42 and 66 mechanically connect to 28 and 64), and wherein exactly one coupling element (66) of the at least two coupling elements is configured for a fluidic connection to the at least one wiper blade (42 provides an electrical connection, 66 provides a fluidic connection; see English translation). Regarding claims 2-3, the at least two coupling elements (42 and 66) are configured for a mechanical plug-in connection to the at least one wiper blade or also as plug-in extensions (Figures 2-3, 42 and 66 mechanically connect to 28 and 64). Regarding claims 5-6, the coupling unit (50) comprises at least one supply coupling element (coupling end of 26, see Figure 2) for a connection to the at least one fluid line (26), which supply coupling element is fluidically connected to a coupling element (connected fluidically to 66, Figure 2 and English translation) and is further arranged at a distance from the at least two coupling elements (Figure 2). Regarding claim 7, the coupling unit (50) comprises at least one bridge element (unlabeled bridge of 50 that spans the coupling unit in Figure 2), which connects the at least two coupling elements and which is arranged at least partially between the at least two coupling elements (Figure 2). Regarding claim 8, Depondt discloses a wiper system comprising at least one wiper blade (Figure 1 shows the system, blade 32). Regarding claim 9, the at least one wiper blade comprises at least two fluid channel units (46, 46’, Figure 1) which are fluidically separated from each other and of which exactly one is fluidically connected to the coupling unit (via 64, 64’, 64”; see Figure 1 and English translation description of interface elements 64, 64’, 64”). Regarding claim 10, the at least one wiper arm adapter (18) comprises at least one pin element (62) for a pivotable connection to the wiper blade (see English translation, interface 62 allows for mechanical coupling, capable of pivoting), wherein the at least one wiper blade comprises at least two fluid channel units (46, 46’, Figure 1) which are fluidically separated from each other, the free end of one of which is fluidically connected to the coupling unit via the fluid channel unit (via 64, 64’, 64”; see Figure 1 and English translation description of interface elements 64, 64’, 64”), which is arranged facing the at least one pin element (Figures 1-3). Regarding claim 11, there is a coupling unit of a wiper arm device according to claim 1 (18).
Claim(s) 1-8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barret, US 9,862,357.
Regarding claim 1, Barret discloses a wiper arm device comprising at least one wiper arm adapter (26) for coupling to at least one wiper blade (12) and to at least one fluid supply unit (via 66a) in order to supply the at least one wiper blade with wiper fluid (column 1 lines 53-61), which unit comprises at least one fluid line (fluid line connecting tubes 66 and 68, Figure 4, column 5 lines 5-9), wherein characterized in that the fluid supply unit comprises a coupling unit (at 66a), which is configured as a headpiece for the at least one fluid line (Figure 4; internal passage described column 5 lines 5-9) and which comprises at least two coupling elements (62, 68) which are configured for a mechanical connection to the at least one wiper blade (see Figures, 62 and 68 mechanically connect via 24), and wherein exactly one coupling element (68) of the at least two coupling elements is configured for a fluidic connection to the at least one wiper blade (68 provides a fluidic connection; see column 4 line 61 to column 5 line 9). Regarding claims 2-3, the at least two coupling elements (62, 68) are configured for a mechanical plug-in connection to the at least one wiper blade or also as plug-in extensions (Figure 4). Regarding claim 4, the coupling unit comprises at least one supply coupling element (coupling end at 66a) for a connection to the at least one fluid line (column 4 lines 64-67), which supply coupling element has a connection direction (Figure 4) that is oriented at least substantially perpendicular to connection directions of the at least two coupling elements (Figure 4, 62 and 68 are perpendicular to 66a). Regarding claims 5-6, the coupling unit comprises at least one supply coupling element (coupling end of 66a, column 4 lines 64-67) for a connection to the at least one fluid line (column 5 lines 5-9), which supply coupling element is fluidically connected to a coupling element (connected fluidically, Figure 4 and column 4 line 54 to column 5 line 9) and is further arranged at a distance from the at least two coupling elements (Figure 4). Regarding claim 7, the coupling unit comprises at least one bridge element (unlabeled bridge of that spans the coupling unit in Figure 4), which connects the at least two coupling elements and which is arranged at least partially between the at least two coupling elements (Figure 4). Regarding claim 8, Barret discloses a wiper system comprising at least one wiper blade (Figure 1 shows the system, blade 12). Regarding claim 11, there is a coupling unit of a wiper arm device according to claim 1 (24).
Conclusion
/LAURA C GUIDOTTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723
lcg