DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/29/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the third display portion" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if applicant intended for claim 9 to depend form independent claim 2 or independent claim 8, therefore creating a lack of clarity. For examination purposes it is assumed that claim 9 depends from claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gollier (20210286178) hereafter Gollier.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Gollier discloses (in figures 4-7) an electronic device (400) comprising: a first display device (402); a second display device (404); a first half mirror (406); and an eyepiece lens (408), wherein the first display device (402) comprises a plurality of first pixels, wherein each of the plurality of first pixels comprises a light-emitting element exhibiting a first color (fig. 4-7, par. [0069]-[0076]), wherein the second display device (404) comprises a plurality of second pixels, wherein each of the plurality of second pixels comprises a light-emitting element exhibiting a second color and a light-emitting element exhibiting a third color (fig. 4-7, par. [0069]-[0082]), wherein the first color is one of green and blue, the second color is red, and the third color is the other of green and blue (par. [0069]-[0082]), wherein the first display device (402) is configured to display a first image, wherein the second display device (404) (404) is configured to display a second image, wherein the first display device (402) is provided at such a position that the first image is reflected by the first half mirror (406) and enters the eyepiece lens (408), wherein the second display (404) device is provided at such a position that the second image passes through the first half mirror and enters the eyepiece lens, wherein the first image is presented through the eyepiece lens, and wherein the second image is presented, through the eyepiece lens, to be superimposed on the first image (fig. 4-7, par. [0069]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 3, Gollier discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein a pixel density of the plurality of first pixels in the first display device is equal to a pixel density of the plurality of second pixels in the second display device (par. [0076]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 4, Gollier discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein a pixel density of the plurality of first pixels in the first display device is higher than or equal to 1000 ppi and lower than or equal to 20000 ppi (par. [0076]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 5, Gollier discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the first display device comprises a plurality of first subpixels arranged in a matrix, wherein the second display device comprises a plurality of second subpixels arranged in a matrix and a plurality of third subpixels arranged in a matrix, wherein each of the plurality of first pixels comprises any one of the plurality of first subpixels, wherein each of the plurality of second pixels comprises any one of the plurality of second subpixels and any one of the plurality of third subpixels, wherein each of the plurality of first subpixels comprises the light-emitting element exhibiting the first color, wherein each of the plurality of second subpixels comprises the light-emitting element exhibiting the second color, wherein each of the plurality of third subpixels comprises the light-emitting element exhibiting the third color, wherein a pixel density of the first subpixels in the first display device is higher than a pixel density of the second subpixels in the second display device, and wherein in the second display device, the second subpixels and the third subpixels are alternately arranged in a horizontal direction and a vertical direction in a plan view (see figs 4-7, par. [0069]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 6, Gollier discloses the electronic device according to claim 2, wherein the first display device comprises a plurality of first subpixels arranged in a matrix, wherein the second display device comprises a plurality of second subpixels arranged in a matrix and a plurality of third subpixels arranged in a matrix, wherein each of the plurality of first pixels comprises any one of the plurality of first subpixels, wherein each of the plurality of second pixels comprises any one of the plurality of second subpixels and any one of the plurality of third subpixels, wherein each of the plurality of first subpixels comprises the light-emitting element exhibiting the first color, wherein each of the plurality of second subpixels comprises the light-emitting element exhibiting the second color, wherein each of the plurality of third subpixels comprises the light-emitting element exhibiting the third color, wherein a pixel density of the first subpixels in the first display device is higher than a pixel density of the second subpixels in the second display device, and wherein in the second display device, the second subpixels and the third subpixels are alternately arranged in a horizontal direction and a vertical direction in a plan view (see figs 4-7, par. [0069]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 7, Gollier discloses the electronic device according to claim 5, wherein the first image and the second image superimposed on each other are presented as a third image through the eyepiece lens, and wherein in the third image, each of the plurality of first subpixels comprises a first region overlapping with one of the plurality of second subpixels, a second region overlapping with one of the plurality of third subpixels, and a third region overlapping neither the one of the plurality of second subpixels nor the one of the plurality of third subpixels (see figs 4-7, par. [0069]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 11, Gollier discloses the electronic device according to claim 2, wherein a pixel density of the plurality of first pixels in the first display device is equal to a pixel density of the plurality of second pixels in the second display device (par. [0069]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 12, Gollier discloses the electronic device according to claim 2, wherein a pixel density of the plurality of first pixels in the first display device is higher than or equal to 1000 ppi and lower than or equal to 20000 ppi (par. [0069]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 13, Gollier discloses the electronic device according to claim 6, wherein the first image and the second image superimposed on each other are presented as a third image through the eyepiece lens, and wherein in the third image, each of the plurality of first subpixels comprises a first region overlapping with one of the plurality of second subpixels, a second region overlapping with one of the plurality of third subpixels, and a third region overlapping neither the one of the plurality of second subpixels nor the one of the plurality of third subpixels (fig 5-7, par. [0076]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 14, Gollier discloses the electronic device according to claim 9, wherein the pixel density of the plurality of first pixels in the first display portion is higher than or equal to 1000 ppi and lower than or equal to 20000 ppi, and wherein the pixel density of the plurality of third pixels in the third display portion is higher than or equal to 50 ppi and lower than 1000 ppi (par. [0076]-[0082]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Regarding independent claim 8 (and its dependents), the prior art does not disclose the claimed electronic device specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “wherein the third display portion is configured to display a third image, wherein the first display device is provided at such a position that the first image is reflected by the first half mirror and enters the eyepiece lens, wherein the second display device is provided at such a position that the second image and the third image pass through the first half mirror and enter the eyepiece lens, wherein the first image is presented through the eyepiece lens, wherein the second image is presented, through the eyepiece lens, to be superimposed on the first image, wherein the third image is presented through the eyepiece lens, and wherein the third image presented through the eyepiece lens is presented in a region surrounding the first image presented through the eyepiece lens and the second image presented through the eyepiece lens.”
Conclusion
Xu (11721717) is being cited herein to show a reference that discloses some similar features to that of the claimed invention.
/JAMES C. JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872