DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/30/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dirscherl (US 2020/0152822) in view of Chien (US 2015/0060911), and further in view of Illek (US 2015/0108511).
Regarding claim 29, Dirscherl discloses, in at least figures 1-4, 10, and related text, an optoelectronic package comprising:
a carrier substrate (3, [138]) comprising at least two through vias (4a/5a, [139]);
at least one optoelectronic component (2, [137]) arranged on the carrier substrate (3, [138]), wherein the at least one optoelectronic component (2, [137]) is configured to generate light in an ultraviolet range, and wherein the at least one optoelectronic component (2, [137]) has at least two connection regions (4/5, [137]), each of which is electrically coupled to one of the two electrically conductive vias (4a/5a, [139]); and
a package material (7, [142]) surrounding the at least one optoelectronic component (2, [137]), wherein the package material (7, [142]) is based on a fluoropolymer and covers side surfaces of the at least one optoelectronic component (2, [137]) at least in regions.
Dirscherl does not explicitly disclose at least two through vias filled with an electrically conductive material; a top surface of the at least one optoelectronic component opposite the connection regions remains free of the package material.
Chien teaches, in at least figure 1G and related text, the device comprising at least two through vias (102a/102b, [29]) filled with an electrically conductive material ([29]), for the purpose of providing optoelectronic semiconductor device packaged by a flip chip bonding process has a package structure with a smaller size thereby leading to the minimization of the optoelectronic semiconductor device ([45]).
Illek teaches, in at least figure 13 and related text, the device comprising a top surface of the at least one optoelectronic component (104, [112]) opposite the connection regions remains free of the package material (102, [114]), for the purpose of producing an optoelectronic module which is particularly cost-effective ([4]).
Dirscherl, Chien, and Illek are analogous art because they all are directed to semiconductor device package and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Dirscherl with the specified features of Chien and Illek because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure disclosed in Dirscherl to have the at least two through vias filled with an electrically conductive material, as taught by Chien and the top surface of the at least one optoelectronic component opposite the connection regions remains free of the package material, as taught by Illek, for the purpose of providing optoelectronic semiconductor device packaged by a flip chip bonding process has a package structure with a smaller size thereby leading to the minimization of the optoelectronic semiconductor device ([45], Chien) and producing an optoelectronic module which is particularly cost-effective ([4], Illek).
Regarding claim 30, Dirscherl in view of Chien and Illek discloses the optoelectronic package according to claim 29 as described above.
Illek further teaches, in at least figure 13 and related text, the top surface of the at least one optoelectronic component (104, [112]) is substantially flush with the package material (102, [114]), for the purpose of producing an optoelectronic module which is particularly cost-effective ([4]).
Regarding claim 31, Dirscherl in view of Chien and Illek discloses the optoelectronic package according to claim 29 as described above.
Dirscherl further discloses, in at least figures 1-4, 10, and related text, a transparent lens material (11, [148]) arranged on the top surface of the at least one optoelectronic component (2, [137]).
Regarding claim 32, Dirscherl in view of Chien and Illek discloses the optoelectronic package according to claim 29 as described above.
Illek further teaches, in at least figure 13 and related text, the package material (102, [114]) comprises a composite laminate layer (120], [121]), for the purpose of producing an optoelectronic module which is particularly cost-effective ([4]).
Claim(s) 36 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dirscherl (US 2020/0152822) in view of Chien (US 2015/0060911), Illek (US 2015/0108511), and further in view of Adriani (US 2008/0041434).
Regarding claim 36, Dirscherl in view of Chien and Illek discloses the optoelectronic package according to claim 29 as described above.
Dirscherl in view of Chien and Illek does not explicitly disclose the carrier substrate comprises an UV light transparent insulating layer being at least partially transparent to UV light and a UV light reflecting layer.
Adriani teaches, in at least figure 2 and related text, the device comprising the carrier substrate (20, [33]) comprises an UV light transparent insulating layer (22/26, [33]) being at least partially transparent to UV light and a UV light reflecting layer (24, [33]), for the purpose of providing protective qualities to the underside of the module ([33]).
Dirscherl, Chien, Illek, and Adriani are analogous art because they all are directed to semiconductor device package and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Dirscherl in view of Chien and Illek with the specified features of Illek because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure disclosed in Dirscherl in view of Chien and Illek to have the carrier substrate comprising an UV light transparent insulating layer being at least partially transparent to UV light and a UV light reflecting layer, as taught by Adriani, for the purpose of providing protective qualities to the underside of the module ([33], Adriani).
Regarding claim 39, Dirscherl in view of Chien, Illek, and Adriani discloses the optoelectronic package according to claim 36 as described above.
Adriani further teaches, in at least figure 2 and related text, the UV light reflecting layer (24, [33]) comprises an electrically conductive material, for the purpose of providing protective qualities to the underside of the module ([33]).
Claim(s) 40 and 43-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dirscherl (US 2020/0152822) in view of Chien (US 2015/0060911), Illek (US 2015/0108511), and further in view of Pun (US 2019/0385936).
Regarding claim 40, Dirscherl in view of Chien and Illek discloses the optoelectronic package according to claim 29 as described above.
Dirscherl in view of Chien and Illek does not explicitly disclose the carrier substrate comprises a multilayer stack having at least a first composite film, a first structured copper laminate layer and a first insulating layer arranged between the first composite film and the first structured copper laminate layer.
Pun teaches, in at least figure 7Q and related text, the device comprising the carrier substrate comprises a multilayer stack having at least a first composite film (74, [67]), a first structured copper laminate layer (20 in 71, [58]) and a first insulating layer (71, [66]) arranged between the first composite film (74, [67]) and the first structured copper laminate layer (20 in 71, [58]), for the purpose of providing a plurality of fine traces on a flexible substrate for a chip on flex (COF) package ([7]).
Dirscherl, Chien, Illek, and Pun are analogous art because they all are directed to semiconductor device package and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Dirscherl in view of Chien and Illek with the specified features of Pun because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure disclosed in Dirscherl in view of Chien and Illek to have the carrier substrate comprising a multilayer stack having at least a first composite film, a first structured copper laminate layer and a first insulating layer arranged between the first composite film and the first structured copper laminate layer, as taught by Pun, for the purpose of providing a plurality of fine traces on a flexible substrate for a chip on flex (COF) package ([7], Pun).
Regarding claim 43, Dirscherl in view of Chien, Illek, and Pun discloses the optoelectronic package according to claim 40 as described above.
Pun further teaches, in at least figure 7Q and related text, the multilayer stack further comprises a second insulating layer (70, [66]) and a second composite film (10, [54]) arranged between the two insulating layers (70/71, [66]), for the purpose of providing a plurality of fine traces on a flexible substrate for a chip on flex (COF) package ([7]).
Regarding claim 44, Dirscherl in view of Chien and Illek discloses the optoelectronic package according to claim 29 as described above.
Dirscherl in view of Chien and Illek does not explicitly disclose the carrier substrate comprises a multilayer stack having at least a first structured copper laminate layer, a second structured copper laminate layer and a first insulating layer arranged between the first structured copper laminate layer and the second structured copper laminate layer.
Pun teaches, in at least figure 7Q and related text, the device comprising the carrier substrate comprises the carrier substrate comprises a multilayer stack having at least a first structured copper laminate layer (91, [72]), a second structured copper laminate layer (90, [72]) and a first insulating layer (71, [66]) arranged between the first structured copper laminate layer (91, [72]) and the second structured copper laminate layer (90, [72]), for the purpose of providing a plurality of fine traces on a flexible substrate for a chip on flex (COF) package ([7]).
Dirscherl, Chien, Illek, and Pun are analogous art because they all are directed to semiconductor device package and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Dirscherl in view of Chien and Illek with the specified features of Pun because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure disclosed in Dirscherl in view of Chien and Illek to have the carrier substrate comprising a multilayer stack having at least a first structured copper laminate layer, a second structured copper laminate layer and a first insulating layer arranged between the first structured copper laminate layer and the second structured copper laminate layer, as taught by Pun, for the purpose of providing a plurality of fine traces on a flexible substrate for a chip on flex (COF) package ([7], Pun).
Regarding claim 45, Dirscherl in view of Chien, Illek, and Pun discloses the optoelectronic package according to claim 44 as described above.
Pun further teaches, in at least figure 7Q and related text, the first insulating layer (71, [66]) comprises at least one of the following materials: PTFE, FR4, a fluoropolymer ([66]), or a mixture of PTFE and SiO2 particles, for the purpose of providing a plurality of fine traces on a flexible substrate for a chip on flex (COF) package ([7]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 33-34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the prior art of record neither anticipates nor render obvious the limitations of the base claims 29, 32, and 33 that recite "the package material comprises at least one first composite film and a first insulating layer based on the fluoropolymer" in combination with other elements of the base claims 29, 32, and 33.
Claim 35 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the prior art of record neither anticipates nor render obvious the limitations of the base claims 29 and 35 that recite "the package material is sintered on basis of the fluoropolymer" in combination with other elements of the base claims 29 and 35.
Claim 37 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the prior art of record neither anticipates nor render obvious the limitations of the base claims 29, 36, and 37 that recite "the UV light transparent insulating layer is in contact with the package material" in combination with other elements of the base claims 29, 36, and 37.
Claim 38 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the prior art of record neither anticipates nor render obvious the limitations of the base claims 29, 36, and 38 that recite "a reinforcing layer between the UV light transparent insulating layer and the UV light reflecting layer" in combination with other elements of the base claims 29, 36, and 38.
Claims 41-42 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the prior art of record neither anticipates nor render obvious the limitations of the base claims 29, 40, and 41 that recite "the first composite film is formed by a thermoplastic composite film and is in contact with the package material" in combination with other elements of the base claims 29, 40, and 41.
Claims 46-50 are allowed because the prior art of record neither anticipates nor render obvious the limitations of the base claims 46 that recite "the at least one optoelectronic component is configured to generate light in an ultraviolet range and comprises at least two connection regions facing in a direction of the first temporary carrier; inserting the first temporary carrier into a mold tool; surrounding the at least one optoelectronic component arranged on the first temporary carrier with a package material based on a fluoropolymer such that at least some side surfaces of the optoelectronic component are covered by the package material and a top surface of the at least one optoelectronic component opposite the connection regions remains free of the package material; removing the first temporary carrier" in combination with other elements of the base claims 46.
Claims 51-56 are allowed because the prior art of record neither anticipates nor render obvious the limitations of the base claims 51 that recite "surrounding the at least one optoelectronic component arranged on the carrier substrate with a structured package material layer based on a fluoropolymer such that the structured package material layer surrounds the at least one optoelectronic component arranged on the carrier substrate in a lateral direction, wherein the structured package material layer comprises a structured composite laminate layer with at least a first composite film and a first insulating layer based on the fluoropolymer" in combination with other elements of the base claims 51.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/TONG-HO KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811