DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 and 27 received on 7/31/2024 have been examined, of which claims 1 and 27 are independent.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 and 27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 and 27 of co-pending Application No. 18/834646 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are anticipated by the reference claims with exception of limitations of receiving in the present claims correspond to limitations for transmitting in the reference claims, and vice versa. Accordingly, the present claims are considered obvious variants of the reference claims to a person having ordinary skill in the art.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 19 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (US 2023004073) in view of Ramireddy et al. (US 20210099210)
Regarding claim 1, Song teaches a method of precoding matrix indicator, PMI, generation for channel state information, CSI, compression in a first radio transceiver device, RTD (fig 2, 5-6 illustrating flowchart for CSI acquisition and CSI compression in terminal 120; indication of codebook for compressing the CSI, step 640, fig 6), the method comprising:
receiving, from a second RTD, a reference signal (fig 5, para 75: in fig. 5, at block 510, the terminal device 120 receives, from the network device 110, CSI-RSs associated with first number of ports at the network device 110);
estimating CSI based on the received reference signal (para 77: at block 520, the terminal device 120 determines CSI based on the CSI-RSs);
generating a PMI to perform CSI compression (para 89: at block 630, compress the CSI based on channel propagation characteristics at the terminal device 120, based on the estimated channel, the terminal device 120 may figure out the significant components and aligns them with the pre-defined codebook such as DFT codebook, this scheme ensures that the terminal device 120 selects the compression matrix from the codebook to maximize the effective array gain during the reception, which is dynamic and depends on CSI), based on orthogonal matching pursuit, OMP, processing of the estimated CSI (para 46: the terminal device 120 may compress the CSI to remove the unnecessary redundancy by using, e.g., principal component analysis (PCA) or orthogonal matching pursuit (OMP)); and
generating a compressed CSI (para 78: at block 530, the terminal device 120 compresses the CSI based on capability of the terminal device 120) based on the generated PMI for transmission to the second RTD (para 91: at block 540, the terminal device 120 transmits the compressed CSI to the network device 110).
Song teaches the CSI compression using the OMP, and CSI compression using the compression matrix from the codebook and transmission of the indication of the codebook. The reference does not teach the compression matrix to be precoding matrix. Ramireddy is directed to CSI feedback reporting.
Ramireddy teaches wherein the PMI indicates a precoding matrix, selected from among a codebook of precoding matrices (para 9: the estimated channel at the UE is reported to the gNB implicitly where the CSI transmitted by the UE over the feedback channel includes the rank index (RI), the precoding matrix index (PMI) and the channel quality index (CQ) (and the CRI from Rel. 13) allowing, at the gNB, deciding the precoding matrix, the PMI and the RI are used to determine the precoding matrix from a predefined set of matrices Ω called ‘codebook’, the codebook, e.g., in accordance with LTE, may be a look-up table with matrices in each entry of the table, and the PMI and RI from the UE decide from which row and column of the table the precoder matrix to be used is obtained), based on orthogonal matching pursuit, OMP, processing of the estimated CSI (para 236: compressed channel matrix; fig 9-10; para 265: the optimization problem may be solved by standard algorithms such as orthogonal matching pursuit, as a result, the indices of the vectors in the transformation matrices selected from the codebooks and the transformed channel coefficients associated with each domain are known; here, the reference teaches CSI compression reported by PMI and CSI compression channel matrix is optimized by OMP processing). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine CSI compression and reporting as taught by Song with CSI reporting using PMI and optimization by OMP as taught by Ramireddy for the benefit of providing low feedback overhead approaches for explicit CSI reporting as taught by Ramireddy in para 201.
Regarding claim 27, Song teaches a radio transceiver device, RTD (terminal device 120, fig 1, 2, 10; para 118: the device 1000 may be provided to implement the terminal device 120), configured to generate a precoding matrix indicator, PMI, for channel state information, CSI, compression (fig 2, 5-6 illustrating flowchart for CSI acquisition and CSI compression in terminal 120; indication of codebook for compressing the CSI, step 640, fig 6), the RTD comprising processing circuitry and a memory containing instructions executable by the processing circuitry (fig 10; para 122: the processor 1010 may perform any suitable actions and processing by loading the program 1030 into the RAM 1022), whereby the RTD (terminal device 120, fig 1, 2, 10) is operable to:
receive, from another RTD, a reference signal (fig 5, para 75: in fig. 5, at block 510, the terminal device 120 receives, from the network device 110, CSI-RSs associated with first number of ports at the network device 110);
estimate CSI based on the received reference signal (para 77: at block 520, the terminal device 120 determines CSI based on the CSI-RSs);
generate a PMI to perform CSI compression (para 89: at block 630, compress the CSI based on channel propagation characteristics at the terminal device 120, based on the estimated channel, the terminal device 120 may figure out the significant components and aligns them with the pre-defined codebook such as DFT codebook, this scheme ensures that the terminal device 120 selects the compression matrix from the codebook to maximize the effective array gain during the reception, which is dynamic and depends on CSI), based on orthogonal matching pursuit, OMP, processing of the estimated CSI (para 46: the terminal device 120 may compress the CSI to remove the unnecessary redundancy by using, e.g., principal component analysis (PCA) or orthogonal matching pursuit (OMP)); and
generate a compressed CSI (para 78: at block 530, the terminal device 120 compresses the CSI based on capability of the terminal device 120) based on the generated PMI for transmission to the other RTD (para 91: at block 540, the terminal device 120 transmits the compressed CSI to the network device 110).
Song teaches the CSI compression using the OMP, and CSI compression using the compression matrix from the codebook and transmission of the indication of the codebook. The reference does not teach the compression matrix to be precoding matrix. Ramireddy is directed to CSI feedback reporting.
Ramireddy teaches wherein the PMI indicates a precoding matrix, selected from among a codebook of precoding matrices (para 9: the estimated channel at the UE is reported to the gNB implicitly where the CSI transmitted by the UE over the feedback channel includes the rank index (RI), the precoding matrix index (PMI) and the channel quality index (CQ) (and the CRI from Rel. 13) allowing, at the gNB, deciding the precoding matrix, the PMI and the RI are used to determine the precoding matrix from a predefined set of matrices Ω called ‘codebook’, the codebook, e.g., in accordance with LTE, may be a look-up table with matrices in each entry of the table, and the PMI and RI from the UE decide from which row and column of the table the precoder matrix to be used is obtained), based on orthogonal matching pursuit, OMP, processing of the estimated CSI (para 236: compressed channel matrix; fig 9-10; para 265: the optimization problem may be solved by standard algorithms such as orthogonal matching pursuit, as a result, the indices of the vectors in the transformation matrices selected from the codebooks and the transformed channel coefficients associated with each domain are known; here, the reference teaches CSI compression reported by PMI and CSI compression channel matrix is optimized by OMP processing). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine CSI compression and reporting as taught by Song with CSI reporting using PMI and optimization by OMP as taught by Ramireddy for the benefit of providing low feedback overhead approaches for explicit CSI reporting as taught by Ramireddy in para 201.
Regarding claim 19, Song fails to teach, but Ramireddy teaches determining PMI coefficients of the generated PMI upon completion of the OMP processing (para 265: the optimization problem may be solved by standard algorithms such as orthogonal matching pursuit, as a result, the indices of the vectors in the transformation matrices selected from the codebooks and the transformed channel coefficients associated with each domain are known; here, the transformed channel coefficients are considered for PMI coefficients). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine CSI compression and reporting as taught by Song with CSI reporting using PMI and optimization by OMP as taught by Ramireddy for the benefit of providing low feedback overhead approaches for explicit CSI reporting as taught by Ramireddy in para 201.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-18 would be allowable if rewritten or amended or made to overcome the non-statutory double patenting rejections as set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
/RINA C PANCHOLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 6/24/2026