DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species A in the reply filed on 8/17/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the species share a common special technical feature in the amended invention of claim1. This is not found persuasive because claim 1 is anticipated, as is shown in the rejection below. Since Claim 1 is anticipated, its technical features and combinations thereof cannot be considered special technical features.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 12-13 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 and 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 has been amended to recite, “wherein the three laser beams from the first illumination portion and the two laser beams from the second illumination portion are disposed such that radiation pressures acting on the atoms due to the laser beams are balanced with each other in the trap space.” There is no discussion in the original disclosure of “laser beams are balanced with each other in trap space.” As such, this limitation is new matter, and the claims are rejected for failing the written description requirement.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 5 recites, “one laser beam of the at least three laser beams which propagate on the same plane is used also as a slowing laser beam of Zeeman slower which decelerates an atomic beam with a laser beam and a magnetic field.” This language describes the use of laser beam, i.e., a step. However, the claim is directed to an apparatus. As such, the claim recites an apparatus and a method of its use in the same claim. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). MPEP 2173.05(p) (II); and See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303 (Fed. Cir. 2011). This limitation makes the claim indefinite because the step claim language makes it unclear whether infringement occurs when one creates the system that allows for the step, i.e. provides a laser that can be used as a Zeeman slower, or whether infringement occurs when the step actually occurs. For the purposes of examination, the claim will be treated as though it positively recites the elements and relationships described in instant PgPub paras 92-94.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Di Stefano, A., et al. "Five-beam magneto-optical trap and optical molasses." Applied Physics B 69.4 (1999): 263-268 [hereinafter Di Stefano].
Regarding Claim 1:
Di Stefano teaches a magneto-optical trap apparatus which traps atoms with a magnetic field formed in a trap space in which atoms are trapped, and a plurality of laser beams supplied to the trap space (Section 1 Experimental setup, first paragraph), the magneto-optical trap apparatus comprising:
a first illumination portion that illuminates three laser beams which propagate on a same plane to the trap space (Fig. 1 - three planar (σ+)); and
a second illumination portion that illuminates two laser beams which intersect the plane to the trap space (Fig. 1 - (σ+ and σ- oriented opposing each other));
wherein the three laser beams from the first illumination portion and the two laser beams from the second illumination portion are disposed such that radiation pressures acting on the atoms due to the laser beams are balanced with each other in the trap space (Section 1 Experimental setup, first paragraph).
Regarding Claim 2:
Di Stefano teaches the magneto-optical trap apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the first illumination portion illuminates the three laser beams which propagate on the same plane to the trap space with angles between the laser beams being equal to each other. Fig. 1, Section 1 Experimental setup, first paragraph.
Regarding Claim 6:
Di Stefano teaches the magneto-optical trap apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the second illumination portion illuminates the two laser beams which intersect the plane to the trap space from directions opposite each other. As shown in Fig. 1.
Regarding Claim 8:
Di Stefano teaches the magneto-optical trap apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the plane is a plane which passes through a point of symmetry of a magnetic field formed in the trap space for trapping atoms. Fig. 1, Section 1 Experimental setup, first paragraph.
Regarding Claim 9:
Di Stefano teaches a physics package comprising:
the magneto-optical trap apparatus according to claim 1. Abstract.
Regarding Claim 10:
Di Stefano teaches an optical lattice clock, comprising:
the physics package according to claim 9. Fig. 1 is the MOT of such a clock.
Regarding Claim 11:
Di Stefano teaches an atomic clock, comprising:
the physics package according to claim 9. Fig. 1 is the MOT of such a clock.
Regarding Claim 14:
Di Stefano teaches a physics package system comprising:
the physics package according to claim 9 (Fig. 1); and
a control apparatus that controls an operation of the physics package (as described in Fig. 1b, Section 1 Experimental setup, second-third paragraph; Section 1 Delayed shadow-image technique, third paragraph.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Stefano in view of US 2010/0033255 A1 [Strabley].
Regarding Claim 3:
Di Stefano teaches the magneto-optical trap apparatus according to claim 1, but fails to teach that the first illumination portion generates the three laser beams which propagate on the same plane from one laser beam through reflections.
Strabley teaches a magneto-optical trap (para 23) wherein a first illumination portion generates three laser beams which propagate on the same plane from one laser beam through reflections. Paras 12, 23-24, Fig. 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to use the mirror techniques of Strabley to form the three laser beam arrangement of Di Stefano. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since it would reduce the number of lasers, the size, and the power consumption needed to operate the MOT. Strabley para 25.
Regarding Claim 4:
The above modified invention teaches the magneto-optical trap apparatus according to claim 3, wherein
the first illumination portion comprises a plurality of mirrors (Strabley Paras 12, 23-24, Fig. 1), and
the plurality of mirrors are placed in such a manner that the three laser beams which propagate on the same plane are illuminated to the trap space with angles between the laser beams being equal to each other (Di Stefano Fig. 1 shows such an arrangement of lasers, Strabley, at Paras 12, 23-24, describes arranging mirrors to create the trap).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to use the mirror techniques of Strabley to form the three-laser beam arrangement of Di Stefano Fig. 1. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since it would reduce the number of lasers, the size, and the power consumption needed to operate the MOT. Strabley para 25.
Regarding Claim 7:
Di Stefano teaches the magneto-optical trap apparatus according to claim 6, but fails to specify that the second illumination portion reflects one laser beam of the two laser beams which intersect the plane, to generate the other laser beam of the two laser beams.
Strabley teaches a magneto-optical trap (para 23) wherein the second illumination portion reflects one laser beam of the two laser beams which intersect the plane, to generate the other laser beam of the two laser beams. Paras 12, 23-24, Fig. 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to use the mirror techniques of Strabley to form the laser beam arrangement of Di Stefano. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since it would reduce the number of lasers, the size, and the power consumption needed to operate the MOT. Strabley para 25.
Conclusion
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881