DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 9/18/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the holding member of claim 21 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "in particular" (see lines 2-3 and line 4) renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 2-23 depend on claim 1 and are rejected for inheriting the same problem.
Regarding claim 8, the phrase "in particular" (see line 2) renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 24, the phrase "in particular" (see lines 3-4 and line 4) renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 24 recites “A method …” in the preamble, but the body of the claim does clearly recite any method steps; therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined. See MPEP 2173.05(q).
Claims 25 and 26 depend on claim 24 and are rejected for inheriting the same problems.
Claims 25 and 26 recite “The method …” in the preamble, but the bodies of the claims do clearly recite any method steps; therefore, the metes and bounds of the claims cannot be determined. See MPEP 2173.05(q).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7-9, 24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 6,360,621 issued to Eldred et al. (“Eldred”).
As for claims 1 and 24, Eldred discloses a test chamber system comprising a test chamber (10), the test chamber having a test space (28, 144) for receiving a test objec
Regarding claim 24, the examiner notes that Eldred discloses all the claimed structure (see the rejection above) and that the claim does not recite any method steps that distinguish the claim over Eldred.
As for claim 3, Eldred discloses that the conditioning unit (60, 62, 142) forms a further test chamber (142), in particular a climate chamber, which has a further test space (142) for receiving test material, the further test space (142) being configured to be sealed from an environment and being temperature-insulated (see Fig. 1).
As for claim 4, Eldred discloses that
As for claim 7, Eldred discloses that the temperature control device has a heating device (60) comprising a heater (60) and a further heat exchanger (64).
As for claim 8, Eldred discloses that the conditioning unit is a heating device (60), in particular a convection heating device or a hot-air gun.
As for claim 9, Eldred discloses that the conditioning unit has a control device (78-82) for controlling and/or regulating a temperature.
Regarding claim 26, the examiner notes that Eldred discloses all the claimed structure (see the rejection above) and that the claim does not recite any method steps that distinguish the claim over Eldred. Furthermore, the wherein clause of the claim appears to describe the intended result of the method and does not distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art; see MPEP 2111.04 (I).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 9,032,820 issued to Dallinger et al. (“Dallinger”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0093926 by Haack et al. (“Haack”) and U.S. Patent 11,953,557 issued to Kervinen et al. (“Kervinen”).
As for claims 1 and 24, Dallinger discloses a test chamber system (Fig. 1) comprising a test chamber (12), the test chamber (12) having a test space for receiving a test objectest space serving to subject the test object to a test, in particular an abuse test, as a result of which a preferably explosive increase in pressure is triggered in the test space, the pressure relief device being configured to relieve the increased pressure in the test space (col. 3, lines 47-54).
Dallinger does not disclose a conditioning unit as recited.
However, Haack discloses a test chamber system (10) comprising a conditioning unit (16) for conditioning air, the conditioning unit being connected to the test chamber in such a manner that the conditioning unit is able to air-condition the test chamber (Abstract). Kervinen discloses that a similar test chamber system (Abstract) comprising a conditioning unit for conditioning air is useful for testing a battery in different environmental conditions (col. 3, lines 43-59 and col. 3, line 66 - col. 4,line 9 and col. 4, lines 24-34).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the test chamber system of Dallinger to include the conditioning unit as disclosed by Haack in order to test a battery in different environmental conditions as suggested by Kervinen (col. 3, lines 43-59 and col. 3, line 66 - col. 4,line 9 and col. 4, lines 24-34).
Regarding claim 24, the examiner notes that Dallinger as modified by Haack and Kervinen discloses all the claimed structure (see the rejection above) and that the claim does not recite any method steps that distinguish the claim over Dallinger as modified by Haack and Kervinen.
As for claim 2, Dallinger as modified by Haack and Kervinen discloses that the test chamber system comprises at least one conduit which connect the conditioning unit
As for claim 4, Dallinger as modified by Haack and Kervinen discloses that the conditioning unit has a temperature control device (Haack: see the figure).
As for claim 5, Dallinger as modified by Haack and Kervinen discloses that the temperature control device is configured to establish a temperature in a temperature range of -70 °C to +180 °C (Haack: Abstract).
As for claim 6, Dallinger as modified by Haack and Kervinen discloses that the temperature control device has a cooling device comprising a cooling circuit with a refrigerant, a heat exchanger, a compressor, a condenser, and an expansion member (Haack: paragraph [0008]).
As for claim 7, Dallinger as modified by Haack and Kervinen discloses that the temperature control device has a heating device comprising a heater and a further heat exchanger (Haack: paragraph [0023]).
As for claim 8, Dallinger as modified by Haack and Kervinen discloses that the conditioning unit is a heating device (Haack: paragraph [0023]), in particular a convection heating device or a hot-air gun.
As for claim 9, Dallinger as modified by Haack and Kervinen discloses that the conditioning unit has a control device for controlling and/or regulating a temperature (Haack: Abstract).
Regarding claim 26, the examiner notes that Dallinger as modified by Haack and Kervinen discloses all the claimed structure (see the rejection above) and that the claim does not recite any method steps that distinguish the claim over Dallinger as modified by Haack and Kervinen. Furthermore, the wherein clause of the claim appears to describe the intended result of the method and does not distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art; see MPEP 2111.04 (I).
Claims 10-13, 16 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 9,032,820 issued to Dallinger et al. (“Dallinger”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0093926 by Haack et al. (“Haack”) and U.S. Patent 11,953,557 issued to Kervinen et al. (“Kervinen”) as applied to claim 1, further in view of U.S. Patent 9,438,015 issued to Arcos et al. (“Arcos”).
As for claims 10 and 25, Dallinger as modified by Haack and Kervinen discloses the test chamber system according to claim 1 and the method of claim 24 (see the rejection of claims 1 and 24 above).
Dallinger as modified by Haack and Kervinen does not disclose that the pressure relief device has at least one pressure relief flap as recited. Instead, Dallinger discloses a pressure relief device (Dallinger:16) that is a rupture disk (Dallinger: 17) that vents gases, although Dallinger also discloses that a pressure relief device of a different design could be used instead (Dallinger: col. 3, lines 10-15).
However, Arcos discloses a pressure relief device (13) that has at least one pressure relief flap (29) sealing a test space (inside 11) from an environment when the pressure relief device is closed and leaving the test space open when the pressure relief device is open (see Fig. 5). Arcos discloses that the pressure relief flap vents gases (col. 1, lines 22-25).
Because Arcos and Dallinger both disclose pressure relief devices that vent gases, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to substitute the pressure relief device of Arcos for the pressure relief device of Dallinger to achieve the predictable result of providing a device that vents gases.
Regarding claim 25, the examiner notes that Dallinger as modified by Haack, Kervinen and Arcos discloses all the claimed structure (see the rejection above) and that the claim does not recite any method steps that distinguish the claim over Dallinger as modified by Haack, Kervinen and Arcos.
As for claim 11, Dallinger as modified by Haack, Kervinen and Arcos discloses that the pressure relief device (Arcos: 29) has a support frame (Arcos: 30, 37) on which the pressure relief flap rests in the closed state.
As for claim 12, Dallinger as modified by Haack, Kervinen and Arcos discloses the test chamber system according to claim 10 (see the rejection of claim 10 above).
Dallinger as presently modified by Haack, Kervinen and Arcos does not disclose that the pressure relief device has a heater for heating the pressure relief flap and/or the support frame.
However, Kervinen discloses a heater for heating a pressure relief flap and/or a support frame (Kervinen: col. 5, lines 15-38).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the pressure relief device of Dallinger, Haack, Kervinen and Arcos to include the heater as disclosed by Kervinen in order to prevent damage when the pressure relief flap opens and the test chamber is very cold (Kervinen: col. 5, lines 24-30).
As for claim 13, Dallinger as modified by Haack, Kervinen and Arcos discloses that the pressure relief flap (Arcos: 29) has a triangular cross section (Arcos: see Fig. 4).
As for claim 16, Dallinger as modified by Haack, Kervinen and Arcos discloses that the pressure relief device (Arcos: 29, 30, 37) has a frame (Arcos: 30, 37).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 9,032,820 issued to Dallinger et al. (“Dallinger”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0093926 by Haack et al. (“Haack”), U.S. Patent 11,953,557 issued to Kervinen et al. (“Kervinen”) U.S. Patent 9,438,015 issued to Arcos et al. (“Arcos”) as applied to claim 10, further in view of U.S. Patent 9,612,181 issued to Mann et al. (“Mann”).
As for claim 14, Dallinger as modified by Haack, Kervinen and Arcos discloses the test chamber system according to claim 10 (see the rejection of claim 10 above).
Dallinger as modified by Haack, Kervinen and Arcos does not disclose that the pressure relief flap is made of a fiber-composite material.
However, Mann discloses that exterior portions of a test chamber system is made of a fiber-composite material (col. 5, lines 39-53).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the pressure relief flap of Dallinger, Haack, Kervinen and Arcos to be made of a fiber-composite material as disclosed by Mann in order to increase the ballistic strength of the pressure relief flap (Mann: col. 5, lines 39-53).
As for claim 15, Dallinger as modified by Haack, Kervinen and Arcos discloses the test chamber system according to claim 10 (see the rejection of claim 10 above).
Dallinger as modified by Haack, Kervinen and Arcos does not disclose that the pressure relief flap is made of a steel-spring-strip material.
However, Mann discloses that exterior portions of a test chamber system is made of a steel-spring-strip material (col. 5, lines 39-53).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the pressure relief flap of Dallinger, Haack, Kervinen and Arcos to be made of a steel-spring-strip material as disclosed by Mann in order to increase the ballistic strength of the pressure relief flap (Mann: col. 5, lines 39-53).
Claims 10-12, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 9,032,820 issued to Dallinger et al. (“Dallinger”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0093926 by Haack et al. (“Haack”) and U.S. Patent 11,953,557 issued to Kervinen et al. (“Kervinen”) as applied to claim 1, further in view of JP 2021-83255 by Ueki (“Ueki”).
As for claim 10, Dallinger as modified by Haack and Kervinen discloses the test chamber system according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Dallinger as modified by Haack and Kervinen does not disclose that the pressure relief device has at least one pressure relief flap as recited. Instead, Dallinger discloses a pressure relief device (Dallinger:16) that is a rupture disk (Dallinger: 17) that vents gases, although Dallinger also discloses that a pressure relief device of a different design could be used instead (Dallinger: col. 3, lines 10-15).
However, Ueki discloses a pressure relief device (Figs. 9-12) that has at least one pressure relief flap (4) sealing a test space (inside 1) from an environment when the pressure relief device is closed (Fig. 9) and leaving the test space open when the pressure relief device is open (Fig. 11). Ueki discloses that the pressure relief flap vents gases (Abstract).
Because Ueki and Dallinger both disclose pressure relief devices that vent gases, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to substitute the pressure relief device of Ueki for the pressure relief device of Dallinger to achieve the predictable result of providing a device that vents gases.
As for claim 11, Dallinger as modified by Haack, Kervinen and Ueki discloses that the pressure relief device (Ueki: Fig. 9) has a support frame (Ueki: 5) on which the pressure relief flap (Ueki: 4) rests in the closed state.
As for claim 12, Dallinger as modified by Haack, Kervinen and Ueki discloses the test chamber system according to claim 10 (see the rejection of claim 10 above).
Dallinger as presently modified by Haack, Kervinen and Ueki does not disclose that the pressure relief device has a heater for heating the pressure relief flap and/or the support frame.
However, Kervinen discloses a heater for heating a pressure relief flap and/or a support frame (Kervinen: col. 5, lines 15-38).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the pressure relief device of Dallinger, Haack, Kervinen and Ueki to include the heater as disclosed by Kervinen in order to prevent damage when the pressure relief flap opens and the test chamber is very cold (Kervinen: col. 5, lines 24-30).
As for claim 16, Dallinger as modified by Haack, Kervinen and Ueki discloses that the pressure relief device (Ueki: 29, 30, 37) has a frame (Ueki: 5).
As for claim 17, Dallinger as modified by Haack, Kervinen and Ueki discloses that the pressure relief flap (Ueki: 4) is attached to the frame (Ueki: 5) by means of at least one hinge (Ueki: 17, 18), which has an oblong hole (Ueki: 18).
Claims 10-12, 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 9,032,820 issued to Dallinger et al. (“Dallinger”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0093926 by Haack et al. (“Haack”) and U.S. Patent 11,953,557 issued to Kervinen et al. (“Kervinen”) as applied to claim 1, further in view of U.S. Patent 5,361,549 issued to Betts (“Betts”).
As for claim 10, Dallinger as modified by Haack and Kervinen discloses the test chamber system according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Dallinger as modified by Haack and Kervinen does not disclose that the pressure relief device has at least one pressure relief flap as recited. Instead, Dallinger discloses a pressure relief device (Dallinger:16) that is a rupture disk (Dallinger: 17) that vents gases, although Dallinger also discloses that a pressure relief device of a different design could be used instead (Dallinger: col. 3, lines 10-15).
However, Betts discloses a pressure relief device (Fig. 5) that has at least one pressure relief flap (26’/ B’) sealing a test space (inside 22) from an environment when the pressure relief device is closed (Figs. 1 and 3) and leaving the test space open when the pressure relief device is open (Fig. 5). Betts discloses that the pressure relief flap vents gases (col. 1, lines 17-24).
Because Betts and Dallinger both disclose pressure relief devices that vent gases, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to substitute the pressure relief device of Betts for the pressure relief device of Dallinger to achieve the predictable result of providing a device that vents gases.
As for claim 11, Dallinger as modified by Haack, Kervinen and Betts discloses that the pressure relief device (Betts: Fig. 9) has a support frame (Betts: 36’) on which the pressure relief flap (Betts: 26’) rests in the closed state.
As for claim 12, Dallinger as modified by Haack, Kervinen and Betts discloses the test chamber system according to claim 10 (see the rejection of claim 10 above).
Dallinger as presently modified by Haack, Kervinen and Betts does not disclose that the pressure relief device has a heater for heating the pressure relief flap and/or the support frame.
However, Kervinen discloses a heater for heating a pressure relief flap and/or a support frame (Kervinen: col. 5, lines 15-38).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the pressure relief device of Dallinger, Haack, Kervinen and Betts to include the heater as disclosed by Kervinen in order to prevent damage when the pressure relief flap opens and the test chamber is very cold (Kervinen: col. 5, lines 24-30).
As for claim 16, Dallinger as modified by Haack, Kervinen and Betts discloses that the pressure relief device (Betts: Fig. 5) has a frame (Betts: 36’).
As for claim 18, Dallinger as modified by Haack, Kervinen and Betts discloses that the pressure relief device (Betts: Fig. 5) has a damper (168).
As for claim 19, Dallinger as modified by Haack, Kervinen and Betts discloses that the damper (Betts: 168) has a baffle plate (Betts: 170) for stopping the pressure relief flap (Betts: 26’) in the open state and a damper element (Betts: 183) for damping the baffle plate (Betts: 170).
As for claim 20, Dallinger as modified by Haack, Kervinen and Betts discloses that the damper element (Betts: 183) is an oil pressure damper, a gas pressure damper or a spring damper (Betts: 183).
Claims 10-12, 16, 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 9,032,820 issued to Dallinger et al. (“Dallinger”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0093926 by Haack et al. (“Haack”) and U.S. Patent 11,953,557 issued to Kervinen et al. (“Kervinen”) as applied to claim 1, further in view of U.S. Patent 11,936,168 issued to Rose-Poetzsch et al. (“Rose-Poetzsch”).
As for claim 10, Dallinger as modified by Haack and Kervinen discloses the test chamber system according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Dallinger as modified by Haack and Kervinen does not disclose that the pressure relief device has at least one pressure relief flap as recited. Instead, Dallinger discloses a pressure relief device (Dallinger:16) that is a rupture disk (Dallinger: 17) that vents gases, although Dallinger also discloses that a pressure relief device of a different design could be used instead (Dallinger: col. 3, lines 10-15).
However, Rose-Poetzsch discloses a pressure relief device (Fig. 2) that has at least one pressure relief flap (14) sealing a test space (inside 2) from an environment when the pressure relief device is closed (Figs. 1 and 2) and leaving the test space open when the pressure relief device is open (Fig. 3). Rose-Poetzsch discloses that the pressure relief flap vents gases (col. 4, lines 6-10).
Because Rose-Poetzsch and Dallinger both disclose pressure relief devices that vent gases, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to substitute the pressure relief device of Rose-Poetzsch for the pressure relief device of Dallinger to achieve the predictable result of providing a device that vents gases.
As for claim 11, Dallinger as modified by Haack, Kervinen and Rose-Poetzsch discloses that the pressure relief device (Rose-Poetzsch: Fig. 3) has a support frame (Rose-Poetzsch: 2) on which the pressure relief flap (Rose-Poetzsch: 14) rests in the closed state.
As for claim 12, Dallinger as modified by Haack, Kervinen and Rose-Poetzsch discloses the test chamber system according to claim 10 (see the rejection of claim 10 above).
Dallinger as presently modified by Haack, Kervinen and Rose-Poetzsch does not disclose that the pressure relief device has a heater for heating the pressure relief flap and/or the support frame.
However, Kervinen discloses a heater for heating a pressure relief flap and/or a support frame (Kervinen: col. 5, lines 15-38).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the pressure relief device of Dallinger, Haack, Kervinen and Rose-Poetzsch to include the heater as disclosed by Kervinen in order to prevent damage when the pressure relief flap opens and the test chamber is very cold (Kervinen: col. 5, lines 24-30).
As for claim 16, Dallinger as modified by Haack, Kervinen and Rose-Poetzsch discloses that the pressure relief device (Rose-Poetzsch: Fig. 3) has a frame (Rose-Poetzsch: 2).
As for claim 18, Dallinger as modified by Haack, Kervinen and Rose-Poetzsch discloses that the pressure relief device (Rose-Poetzsch: Fig. 3) has a damper (Rose-Poetzsch: 16).
As for claim 21, Dallinger as modified by Haack, Kervinen and Rose-Poetzsch discloses that the pressure relief device (Rose-Poetzsch: Fig. 3) has a holding member (Rose-Poetzsch: 16) for holding the pressure relief flap (Rose-Poetzsch: 14) in the open state.
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 9,032,820 issued to Dallinger et al. (“Dallinger”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0093926 by Haack et al. (“Haack”) and U.S. Patent 11,953,557 issued to Kervinen et al. (“Kervinen”) as applied to claim 1, further in view of KR 2022-0149241 by Kim (“Kim”).
As for claim 22, Dallinger as modified by Haack and Kervinen discloses the test chamber system according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Dallinger as modified by Haack and Kervinen does not disclose that the test chamber has a penetration device for penetrating the test object.
However, Kim discloses a test chamber (10) that has a penetration device (15) for penetrating a test object (1).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the test chamber of Dallinger, Haack and Kervinen to include the penetration device in order to verify the penetration safety of the test object (Kim: see “Background Art”).
As for claim 23, Dallinger as modified by Haack, Kervinen and Kim discloses that.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent 11,460,504 issued to Zhang (“Zhang”) is cited for all that it discloses including a test chamber system for a battery that includes a pressure relief device and a conditioning unit.
/JUSTIN N OLAMIT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853