DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 8-9, 21, 24, 27-28, and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu et al. US (2021/0160706).
Regarding Claim 1, Wu discloses a computer-implemented method performed by a wireless device (WD) in a wireless communication system (see Fig. 2 i.e., wireless device 115-A & Para’s [0011-0012]), the method comprising: obtaining one or more beam timing variability parameters indicative of a change in receivesee Para’s [0034-0035] i.e., For example, based on previous measurements, the UE may determine an order of one or more candidate beams for performing the beam sweep procedure…the UE may consider previous beam measurements that are measured within a particular time period from the current time (i.e., the time from when the previous measurement was performed based on a received reference signal to the current time when a new beam measurement is performed according to a newly received reference signal may represent the “beam timing variability parameter” which is indicative of a change in receive timing for a reference signal), such that more recent beam measurements are used for determining the order of beam sweep, [0087] i.e., UE 115-b performs a beam sweep procedure using respective UE beams (e.g., receive beams 215a to 215-d) to take signal measurements of the reference signal transmissions 310-a1 through 310-aN transmitted by the base station 105-d, [0088] i.e., In particular, based on previous beam measurements, UE 115-b may dynamically determine an order of the one or more candidate beams for performing the beam sweep procedure, [0089] i.e., UE 115-b may determine the order of the one or more candidate beams based on previous beam measurements that are measured within a particular time period from a current time, [0091] i.e., if the previous measurement is less than or more than 0.5 ms old, & [0095] i.e., For example, UE 115-b may select candidate beams that have previous measurements less than 1.5 second old (i.e., time of previous measurements from the current time in which a new beam measurement is performed may represent a “beam timing variability parameter”) and RSRP>-100dBm & [0120-0121])
if the beam timing variability parameter is above a threshold, using an RX beam sweeping configuration in accordance with a first receiver activity pattern; (see Para’s [0034] i.e., the UE may consider previous beam measurements that are measured within a particular time period (i.e., over the particular time period is “above a threshold”) from the current time, such that more recent beam measurements are used for determining the order of beam sweep, [0089] i.e., Previous beam measurements that are older (i.e., above the threshold) may be weighted less or not be considered for the order of measurement, [0091] i.e., if the previous measurement is more than 0.5 ms old (i.e., “above a threshold”) & [0094-0095] i.e., Blind Sweep Scenario (i.e., “RX beam sweeping configuration”)…When previous measurements are not available or previous measurements are too old (i.e., “above the threshold”), UE-115b may perform a blind sweep in which the candidate beams are measured in a random order or in a round robin manner (i.e., “first receiver activity pattern”))
and if the beam timing variability parameter is below the threshold, using an RX beam sweeping configuration in accordance with a second receiver activity pattern, (see Figures 2-3 & Para’s [0034] i.e., For example, based on previous measurements, the UE may determine an order of one or more candidate beams for performing the beam sweep procedure (i.e., “RX beam sweeping configuration”)…the UE may consider previous beam measurements that are measured within a particular time period (i.e., within the particular time period is “below the threshold”) from the current time, such that more recent beam measurements are used for determining the order of beam sweep (i.e., “RX beam sweeping configuration”), [0035-0036] i.e., the UE may determine the order of the beam sweep based on previous beam measurements that are above a particular value of RSRP. For example, beams that were previously measured at above a particular RSRP value may be measured first in the order of beam sweep (i.e., “second receiver activity pattern”), [0081] i.e., For example, previous beam measurements that are above a certain quality threshold may be measured first…UE 115-a may determine an early exit condition based on the previous beam measurements. UE 115-a may exit the beam sweep procedure early, before all candidate beams are measured, [0088-0089], [0091] i.e., if the previous measurement is less than 0.5 ms old (i.e., “below the threshold”) & [0095] i.e., For example, UE 115-b may select candidate beams that have previous measurements less than 1.5 second old (i.e., “below the threshold”) and RSRP>-100 dBm)
wherein the RX beam sweeping configuration in accordance with the second receiver activity pattern comprises sweeping a subset of all of the available RX beams of a beam measurement period, (see Figures 2-3 & Para’s [0034-0036], [0081] i.e., UE 115-a may determine a particular order in which different beams are measured based on the previous beam measurements. For example, previous beam measurements that are above a certain quality threshold may be measured first. In another example, the UE 115-a may determine an early exit condition based on the previous beam measurements. The UE 115-a may exit the beam sweep procedure early, before all candidate beams are measured…For example, UE 115-a may end the beam sweep procedure early, if an adequate number of suitable beams are found, without measuring all candidate beams (i.e., subset of all of the available RX beams), [0087-0089], & [0095])
Regarding Claims 4 and 27, Wu discloses the method and wireless device according to claims 1 and 24, wherein the RX beam sweeping configuration in accordance with the first receiver activity pattern comprises a legacy beam sweeping and measurement pattern for RS detection and measurements, (see Para’s [0006] i.e., conventional beam sweep procedure which measures all of the beams, [0032] i.e., conventional implementation in which the UE may scan through the entire set of beams, [0087], [0094] i.e., blind sweep scenario may be a legacy beam sweeping procedure since all of the candidate beams are measured in a random order or in a round robin manner (i.e., “first receiver activity pattern”) & [0103] i.e., conventional scan in which all of the beams are scanned in a particular order (e.g., beam ID 0 , beam ID 1))
and wherein the RX beam sweeping configuration in accordance with the second receiver activity pattern comprises a more relaxed beam sweeping and measurement pattern for RS detection and measurements as compared to the first receiver activity pattern, (see Para’s [0034-0036] i.e., the UE may determine, based on previous beam measurements, an early exit condition, which when satisfied, allows the UE to exit the beam sweep procedure early e.g., before all of the candidate beams are measured (i.e., “more relaxed beam sweeping”), [0081], & [0087-0089] i.e., when previous beam measurements are available, UE 115-b may determine an order of one or more candidate beams based on the quality of previous measurements such as RSRP to increase the probability and reduce the timing of finding qualified beams is a more relaxed beam sweeping procedure since less beams (i.e., “subset”) are measured, & [0095])
Regarding Claims 5 and 28, Wu discloses the method and wireless device according to any one of the preceding claims and claim 24, wherein the RX beam sweeping configuration in accordance with the first receiver activity pattern comprises sweeping all of the available RX beams of a beam measurement period, (see Para’s [0006] i.e., conventional beam sweep procedure which measures all of the beams, [0032] i.e., conventional implementation in which the UE may scan through the entire set of beams, [0087], [0094] i.e., blind sweep scenario (i.e., conventional beam sweep procedure) sweeps all of the candidate beams which are measured in a random order or in a round robin manner (i.e., “first receiver activity pattern”) & [0103] i.e., conventional scan)
Regarding Claims 8 and 31, Wu discloses the method and wireless device according to claims 1 and 24, wherein the number of RX beams in the subset is dependent on a difference between the beam timing variability parameter and the threshold (see Para’s [0034] i.e., the UE may consider previous beam measurements that measured within a particular time period from the current time, [0035-0036] i.e., the UE may determine the order of the beam sweep based on previous beam measurements that are above a particular value of RSRP. For example, beams that were previously measured at above a particular RSRP may be measured first in the order of beam sweep (i.e., “number of RX beams in the subset”), [0081], & [0095] i.e., For example, UE 115-b may select candidate beams that have previous measurements less than 1.5 seconds old (i.e., “difference between the beam timing variability parameter and the threshold”) and have RSRP>-100 dBM)
Regarding Claims 9 and 32, Wu discloses the method and wireless device according to claims 1 and 24, wherein the RX beams comprised in the subset is dynamically determined based on a measured signal level metric of the reference signals measured in the RX beams of a previous beam measurement period, (see Para’s [0034-0036] i.e., the UE may determine the order of the beam sweep based on previous beam measurements that are above a particular value of RSRP (i.e., “measured signal level metric”). For example, beams that were previously measured at above a particular RSRP may be measured first in the order of beam sweep, [0081], & [0095] i.e., For example, UE 115-b may select candidate beams that have previous measurements less than 1.5 seconds old and have RSRP>-100 dBM).
Regarding Claim 21, Wu discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the reference signal is one or more of: a Primary Synchronization Signal, a Secondary Synchronization Signal, a Channel State Information Reference Signal, a Demodulation Reference Signal, a Discovery Reference Signal, a signal in Synchronization signal and Physical Broadcast Channel block (see Para’s [0006] i.e., synchronization signal block burst (SSBS) & [0079] i.e., synchronization signal block (SSB)); Cell-Specific Reference Signals, and Positioning Reference Signals
Regarding Claim 24, Wu discloses a wireless device (see Figures 2-3 i.e., UE 115 & Fig. 7 i.e., device 705 may be a UE) for communicating with a network node in a wireless communication system, the wireless device comprising processing circuitry (see Fig. 7 i.e., processor 740 & Para’s [0104-0107], [0131], & [0133]) configured to: obtain one or more beam timing variability parameters indicative of a change in receivesee Para’s [0034-0035] i.e., For example, based on previous measurements, the UE may determine an order of one or more candidate beams for performing the beam sweep procedure…the UE may consider previous beam measurements that are measured within a particular time period from the current time (i.e., the time from when the previous measurement was performed based on a received reference signal to the current time when a new beam measurement is performed according to a newly received reference signal may represent the “beam timing variability parameter” which is indicative of a change in receive timing for a reference signal), such that more recent beam measurements are used for determining the order of beam sweep, [0087] i.e., UE 115-b performs a beam sweep procedure using respective UE beams (e.g., receive beams 215a to 215-d) to take signal measurements of the reference signal transmissions 310-a1 through 310-aN transmitted by the base station 105-d, [0088] i.e., In particular, based on previous beam measurements, UE 115-b may dynamically determine an order of the one or more candidate beams for performing the beam sweep procedure, [0089] i.e., UE 115-b may determine the order of the one or more candidate beams based on previous beam measurements that are measured within a particular time period from a current time, [0091] i.e., if the previous measurement is less than or more than 0.5 ms old, & [0095] i.e., For example, UE 115-b may select candidate beams that have previous measurements less than 1.5 second old (i.e., time of previous measurements from the current time in which a new beam measurement is performed may represent a “beam timing variability parameter”) and RSRP>-100dBm & [0120-0121])
if the beam timing variability parameter is above a threshold, using an RX beam sweeping configuration in accordance with a first receiver activity pattern; (see Para’s [0034] i.e., the UE may consider previous beam measurements that are measured within a particular time period (i.e., over the particular time period is “above a threshold”) from the current time, such that more recent beam measurements are used for determining the order of beam sweep, [0089] i.e., Previous beam measurements that are older (i.e., above the threshold) may be weighted less or not be considered for the order of measurement, [0091] i.e., if the previous measurement is more than 0.5 ms old (i.e., “above a threshold”) & [0094-0095] i.e., Blind Sweep Scenario (i.e., “RX beam sweeping configuration”)…When previous measurements are not available or previous measurements are too old (i.e., “above the threshold”), UE-115b may perform a blind sweep in which the candidate beams are measured in a random order or in a round robin manner (i.e., “first receiver activity pattern”))
and if the beam timing variability parameter is below the threshold, using an RX beam sweeping configuration in accordance with a second receiver activity pattern, (see Figures 2-3 & Para’s [0034] i.e., For example, based on previous measurements, the UE may determine an order of one or more candidate beams for performing the beam sweep procedure (i.e., “RX beam sweeping configuration”)…the UE may consider previous beam measurements that are measured within a particular time period (i.e., within the particular time period is “below the threshold”) from the current time, such that more recent beam measurements are used for determining the order of beam sweep (i.e., “RX beam sweeping configuration”), [0035-0036] i.e., the UE may determine the order of the beam sweep based on previous beam measurements that are above a particular value of RSRP. For example, beams that were previously measured at above a particular RSRP value may be measured first in the order of beam sweep (i.e., “second receiver activity pattern”), [0081] i.e., For example, previous beam measurements that are above a certain quality threshold may be measured first…UE 115-a may determine an early exit condition based on the previous beam measurements. UE 115-a may exit the beam sweep procedure early, before all candidate beams are measured, [0088-0089], [0091] i.e., if the previous measurement is less than 0.5 ms old (i.e., “below the threshold”) & [0095] i.e., For example, UE 115-b may select candidate beams that have previous measurements less than 1.5 second old (i.e., “below the threshold”) and RSRP>-100 dBm)
wherein the RX beam sweeping configuration in accordance with the second receiver activity pattern comprises sweeping a subset of all of the available RX beams of a beam measurement period, (see Figures 2-3 & Para’s [0034-0036], [0081] i.e., UE 115-a may determine a particular order in which different beams are measured based on the previous beam measurements. For example, previous beam measurements that are above a certain quality threshold may be measured first. In another example, the UE 115-a may determine an early exit condition based on the previous beam measurements. The UE 115-a may exit the beam sweep procedure early, before all candidate beams are measured…For example, UE 115-a may end the beam sweep procedure early, if an adequate number of suitable beams are found, without measuring all candidate beams (i.e., subset of all of the available RX beams), [0087-0089], & [0095])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. US (2021/0160706) in view of Josan et al. US (2019/0394662).
Regarding Claims 2 and 25, Wu discloses the method and wireless device according to claims 1 and 24, wherein obtaining the one or more beam timing variability parameter comprises: determining a reference timing of the reference signal to be received by the WD; (see Para [0034] i.e., the UE may consider previous beam measurements that are measured within a particular time period from the current time (i.e., the determined time when the previous measurement was performed based on a received reference signal may be the “reference timing”), [0088-0089] i.e., previous beam measurements include previous reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements according to previously received reference signals, [0091] i.e., if the previous measurement is less or more than 0.5 millisecond (i.e., the determined time when the previous measurement was performed may be the “reference timing”) & [0095] i.e., For example, UE 115-b may select candidate beams that have previous measurements less than 1.5 second old and RSRP>-100dBm)
determining a beam timing of the reference signal received by the WD; (see Para [0034] i.e., the UE may consider previous beam measurements that are measured within a particular time period from the current time (i.e., the determined current time in which a new beam measurement is performed may be the “beam timing of the reference signal received by the WD), [0089] i.e., current time, & [0095] i.e., For example, UE 115-b may select candidate beams that have previous measurements less than 1.5 second old and RSRP>-100dBm)
and wherein the beam timing variability parameter comprises a beam timing differencesee Para’s [0034-0035] i.e., the UE may consider previous beam measurements that are measured within a particular time period from the current time (i.e., the time from when the previous measurement was performed based on a received reference signal to the current time when a new beam measurement is performed may represent the “beam timing difference”), [0089], [0091], & [0095] i.e., For example, UE 115-b may select candidate beams that have previous measurements less than 1.5 second old)
Wu does not disclose the claim feature of obtaining a set of RX adaptation parameters indicative of a threshold. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Josan et al. US (2019/0394662).
Josan discloses obtaining a set of RX adaptation parameters indicative of a threshold (In light of the applicants specification (US 2015/0168839) in Para [0039] i.e., a set of RX adaptation parameters may be understood as one or more parameters) (Josan, see Fig. 2B & Para [0048-0049] i.e., At block 250, the UE may determine whether the length of time since the UE previously performed the beam sweep exceeds the period of time threshold (i.e., “set of RX adaptation parameters”). The period of time threshold (i.e., “set of RX adaptation parameters”) may be a period of time after which a previous measurement is considered stale. The period of time threshold may be configured by the network device (i.e., UE obtaining the set of RX adaptation parameters))
(Josan suggests the UE obtains the period of time threshold (i.e., “set of RX adaptation parameters”) configured by the network in order to determine if the time since the previous beam sweep is less than the period of time threshold in order to determine to perform a beam sweep configuration that measures the last reported beam associated with a strongest signal quality and disable measurement reporting which results in saving signaling overhead and reduced UE power consumption as compared to measuring all UE RX beams, (see Fig. 2B & Para’s [0005] & [0048-0050])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the obtaining of the one or more beam timing variability parameters which is compared to the threshold as disclosed in Wu to include obtaining a set of RX adaptation parameters indicative of the threshold as disclosed in the teachings of Josan, because the motivation lies in Josan that the UE obtains the period of time threshold (i.e., “set of RX adaptation parameters”) configured by the network in order to determine if the time since the previous beam sweep is less than the period of time threshold in order to determine to perform a beam sweep configuration that measures the last reported beam associated with a strongest signal quality and disable measurement reporting which results in saving signaling overhead and reduced UE power consumption as compared to measuring all UE RX beams.
Regarding Claims 3 and 26, the combination of Wu in view of Josan discloses the method and wireless device according to claims 2 and 25, wherein the reference timing is determined based on an arrival timing of one or more previous reference signals at the wireless device (Wu, see Para’s [0034] i.e., the UE may consider previous beam measurements that are measured within a particular time period from the current time, [0081], [0086-0087] i.e., UE 115-b may use respective UE beams (e.g., receive beams 215a to 215d) to take signal measurements of the reference signal transmissions 310-a1 through 310- transmitted by base station 105-d at the associate time periods using the respective transmit beams 220-a to 220-d. In one example, UE 115-b may cycle through UE receive beams to measure a reference signal in first reference signal transmission 310-a1 transmitted by the base station 105-d at the first time period, & [0088] i.e., previous reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements are measured based on an arrival time of the received reference signal),
and the beam timing is determined based on an arrival timing of a current reference signal at the wireless device, (Wu, see Para’s [0034] i.e., the UE may consider previous beam measurements that are measured within a particular time period from the current time (i.e., the determined current time in which a new beam measurement is performed may be the “beam timing of the reference signal received by the WD), [0081] i.e., UE may determine a particular order in which different beams are measured based on the previous beam measurements…previous beam measurements that are above a certain quality threshold may be measured first, [0086-0087] i.e., in the beam sweep procedure, the UE may use respective UE receive beams to take signal measurements of the reference signal transmissions from the base station at the associated time periods (i.e., measurement is based on arrival timing of reference signal), [0088-0089], & [0095] i.e., measured candidate beams of the current beam sweep procedure are associated with an arrival timing of a current reference signal)
Conclusion
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461