DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
The movable joint and deflection sensor to sense deflection of the elongate member relative to the probe body of claim 13;
The internal battery and wireless communication portion of claim 14.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 13, the specification fails to disclose any structural details of the movable joint, and the specification fails to disclose any details of the deflection sensor. The lack of details of these elements leads one to conclude that at the time the application was filed, Applicant did not have possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 14, the specification fails to disclose any structural or operational details of the internal battery or wireless communication portion of the ultrasound inspection probe. The lack of details of these elements leads one to conclude that at the time the application was filed, Applicant did not have possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13, the lack of written description of the claimed invention makes the scope of the claim indefinite, as it cannot be determined precisely what structure and functionality comprises the claimed invention.
Further regarding claim 14, the lack of written description of the claimed invention makes the scope of the claim indefinite, as it cannot be determined precisely what structure and functionality comprises the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Soloway, US 3,921,422 (hereinafter Soloway).
Regarding claim 1, Soloway teaches an ultrasound inspection probe for a machine tool, comprising:
a probe body (pulser 16, receiver 26, Fig. 1),
an elongate member extending from the probe body, the elongate member comprising a datum surface for contacting an object to be inspected (elongate member 46, datum 65, Fig. 2),
an ultrasound transducer (36, Fig. 2),
an ultrasound coupling assembly for acoustically coupling the ultrasound transducer to the object to be inspected, the ultrasound coupling assembly comprising a carrier shell (62, Fig. 2) containing an ultrasound coupling element (64, Fig. 2), the ultrasound coupling element comprising a transducer-contacting face coupled to the ultrasound transducer and an object-contacting face for acoustically coupling to the object to be inspected (contacting face 24, Figs. 2 and 3), and
a bearing mechanism (40, Fig. 2) for movably attaching the ultrasound transducer and the ultrasound coupling assembly to the elongate member, the bearing mechanism allowing the ultrasound transducer and the ultrasound coupling assembly to move between an extended position in which the object-contacting face of the ultrasound coupling element extends beyond the datum surface of the elongate member (see configuration of coupling element 64 with object-contacting face 24 extending beyond datum 65. Fig. 3) and a measurement position in which the object-contacting face of the ultrasound coupling element is substantially flush with the datum surface of the elongate member (24 flush with 65 and object 22, Fig. 2),
wherein the bearing mechanism is configured to guide the ultrasound transducer along a linear axis of the elongate member such that the ultrasound transducer maintains a substantially invariant orientation relative to the surface normal of the datum surface (36 moves axially inside inner housing 40 under pressure from contact between couplant member 64 and workpiece 22, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Soloway teaches the invention of claim 1, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above. Soloway also teaches wherein the linear axis is substantially parallel to the surface normal of the datum surface (linear axis of 46 is perpendicular to datum 65, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Soloway teaches the invention of claim 1, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above. Soloway also teaches wherein the ultrasound transducer emits ultrasound along at least a first acoustic axis, the first acoustic axis being configured to be substantially parallel to the linear axis (transducer 36 produces energy that penetrates into the surface of 22 at a perpendicular angle, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Soloway teaches the invention of claim 1, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above. Soloway also teaches comprising a biassing mechanism for urging the ultrasound coupling assembly towards the extended position (52, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Soloway teaches the invention of claim 4, as set forth in the rejection of claim 4 above. Soloway also teaches wherein the biasing mechanism applies the bias to the ultrasound coupling assembly via the ultrasound transducer (52 pushes back against 36 in response to a force on the face 38 of 36, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Soloway teaches the invention of claim 1, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above. Soloway also teaches wherein the bearing mechanism comprises a first bearing portion for guiding motion of the ultrasound transducer relative to the elongate member, the first bearing portion being provided by a moulded outer surface of the ultrasound transducer that is in sliding contact with a surface of the elongate member (outer surface of 40, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Soloway teaches the invention of claim 6, as set forth in the rejection of claim 6 above. Soloway also teaches wherein the bearing mechanism comprises a second bearing portion for guiding motion of the ultrasound coupling assembly relative to the elongate member (second bearing portion 61, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Soloway teaches the invention of claim 1, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above. Soloway also teaches wherein the elongate member comprises an elongate tubular member, the ultrasound transducer and the ultrasound coupling assembly being movably mounted within the elongate tubular member (tubular member 46, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Soloway teaches the invention of claim 8, as set forth in the rejection of claim 8 above. Soloway also teaches wherein the elongate tubular member has a substantially circular cross-section (“the unit 10 includes a generally cylindrical outer shell or housing 46,” col. 4, lines 3-4).
Regarding claim 10, Soloway teaches the invention of claim 1, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above. Soloway also teaches wherein the carrier shell comprises a substantially rigid material that at least partially constrains the ultrasound coupling element (rigid shell 46, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Soloway teaches the invention of claim 1, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above. Soloway also teaches wherein the carrier shell is substantially tubular and has a circular cross-section, the ultrasound coupling element being radially constrained by the tubular carrier shell (“the unit 10 includes a generally cylindrical outer shell or housing 46,” col. 4, lines 3-4).
Regarding claim 12, Soloway teaches the invention of claim 1, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above. Soloway also teaches wherein the ultrasound coupling element comprises a dry elastic ultrasound coupling material that can acoustically couple to an object without requiring use of a couplant liquid or gel (couplant 64, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, Soloway teaches an ultrasound inspection probe for a machine tool, comprising:
a probe body (pulser 16, receiver 26, Fig. 1),
an elongate member extending from the probe body, the elongate member comprising a datum surface for contacting an object to be inspected (elongate member 46, datum 65, Fig. 2),
an ultrasound transducer (36, Fig. 2), and
an ultrasound coupling element (64, Fig. 2) having a transducer-contacting face (unlabeled face of 64 contacting electrode 42 in contact with face 38 of transducer 36, Fig. 1) coupled to the ultrasound transducer and an object-contacting face for acoustically coupling to the object to be inspected (24, Figs. 2 and 3), the ultrasound coupling element comprising an elastically deformable material (“Thus, the hydrophilic polymer may be a deformable solid material so that it conforms to either the surface of the workpiece or to the surface of the transducer of the search unit or both so as to conform to any surface irregularities thereon,” col. 6, lines 23-27),
wherein the ultrasound inspection probe comprises a bearing mechanism for movably attaching the ultrasound transducer to the elongate member (40, Fig. 2), the bearing mechanism being configured to guide the ultrasound transducer back and forth along a linear axis of the elongate member such that the ultrasound transducer maintains a substantially invariant orientation relative to the surface normal of the datum surface (see configuration of coupling element 64 with object-contacting face 24 extending beyond datum 65. Fig. 3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 4596143 A discloses a method and apparatus of detecting fractures along the wall of a formation, such as a well formed by test-drilling, provides for the transmission of ultrasonic signals in a direction essentially perpendicular to the wall from a position spaced from the wall by a predetermined distance and the reception of the ultrasonic signals which may be reflected by the wall. The space of predetermined thickness between the transducer which generates the ultrasonic signals and the wall is filled with an intermediate material which does not form a distinct interface with the wall of the type which would be able to produce an appreciable parasitic reflection of the transmitted signals. With this arrangement, if the transducer receives a reflected ultrasonic signal during a time window which begins, following the time of transmission, after a time has elapsed which is essentially equal to the out-and-back travel time of the ultrasonic signals through the space of predetermined thickness, then it will be determined that the wall has no fractures at that point. If no signal is received during the time window, the presence of fractures or small cavities is detected.
US 3821834 A discloses an ultrasonic nondestructive testing system and a search unit for use in such a system are disclosed herein. A method of manufacturing such a search unit is also disclosed. The search unit 10 includes a transducer crystal 36 for transmitting and receiving ultrasonic energy and a backing structure 60 behind the transducer crystal for dampening the crystal 36 against ringing and for attenuating any spurious ultrasonic energy radiated from the backside of the transducer crystal.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LEO T HINZE/
Patent Examiner
AU 2853
22 June 2026
/STEPHEN D MEIER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853