DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14, 16, 18-20, 22, and 31 are pending.
Claims 16, 20, 22, and 31 are withdrawn as being drawn to non-elected groups or species. It is noted that Applicant did not elect the presence of additional components or indicate additional elements in order to make the composition a kit.
Claims 1-14, 18, and 19 are currently under consideration to the extent that they read upon Applicant’s elected species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14, 18, and 19 (all claims currently under consideration) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sen Gupta et al (US 2019/0054151) and Hendricus Van Pinxteren et al (WO 2014/135689).
Sen Gupta teaches a biocompatible flexible 2-5 micron nanoparticle comprising a plurality of exposed von Willebrand factor-binding peptides and collagen-binding peptides on the outer surface (see entire document, for instance, claims 1, 2, and 4). The invention is able to adhere to a vascular surface (see entire document, for instance, [0121]). The invention undergoes significantly enhanced adhesion and retention on the vWF/collagen surface compared to liposomes surface modified with VBP alone and CBP alone under increased shear stress (See entire document, for instance, [0023]). The composition is designed to allow for enzyme triggered drug release (see entire document, for instance, [0266]). The enzyme is taught as being a phospholipase-triggered release of the payload (see entire document, for instance, [0256]). The nanoparticles are taught as being liposomes which include phospholipids and cholesterol (see entire document, for instance, claim 3, [0079] and [0080]). The phospholipid is taught as being DSPE-PEG-CBP or DSPE-PEG-VBP (see entire document, for instance, [0179] and [0030]). The DSPE-PEG-peptide content is taught as being 2.5, 5, or 10% mol % of the total lipid (see entire document, for instance, [0222]). Sen Gupta further teaches that the site targeted peptides are spatially or topographically arranged on the flexible nanoparticle surface such that the site targeted peptides do not spatially mask each other, wherein the flexible nanoparticle shape, size and elastic modulus facilitates margination to a vascular wall (see entire document, for instance, claim 2). The VBPs and CBPs have SEQ ID NOs that are the same as the instantly claimed SEQ ID NOs (see entire document, for instance, page 41, sequence 1 and 2). It is noted that the intended use of a composition does not change the product claim unless said intended use clearly articulates a structural effect on the claim.
Sen Gupta, while teaching the composition as instantly claimed, and teaching the benefits of thrombin, does not expressly indicate that the payload is thrombin as required in claim 1.
Hendricus Van Pinxteren teaches a thrombin containing particulate hemostatic composition, wherein the thrombin is the active agent (see entire document, for instance Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to utilize the thrombin of Hendricus Van Pinxteren as the active ingredient of Sen Gupta. One would have been motivated to do so since Sen Gupta teaches nanoparticles designed to deliver a payload of an active agent, wherein Hendricus Van Pinxteren teaches thrombin as a useful active agent for medical particle compositions. There would be a reasonable expectation of success since Sen Gupta is teaching that active agents can be loaded in the nanoparticles, and already teaches that thrombin is compatible with the composition as a whole.
Conclusion
/TREVOR LOVE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611