DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed July 16, 2026, have been fully considered.
Applicant has argued that the objections to the drawings and specification have been overcome by amendment. Examiner agrees, and has withdrawn the objections.
Applicant has argued that the amendments to the claims overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112. Examiner agrees, and has withdrawn the rejections.
Regarding the prior art, applicant has argued that the claim amendments overcome the rejection based on Ushiyama et al. (US 8,247,921). Examiner agrees, and has withdrawn all rejections based on Ushiyama. However, the amended claims stand rejected based on newly discovered prior art.
Drawings
The drawings were received on July 16, 2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukumoto et al. (US 6,386,620, hereinafter Fukumoto).
With regard to claim 1, Fukumoto discloses a flexible electrical connection (10, see Fig. 1) for a vehicle glazing movable in translation relative to a bodywork element of said vehicle (note that this refers to the intended use of the electrical connection), said flexible electrical connection having, along its length, an upstream connector (20) attachable to an inner element fixed to said bodywork element (the connector 20 is “attachable” to a bodywork element, and such a bodywork element is not positively recited in the claim) and a downstream connector (19) attachable to a glass pane of said glazing (the glass pane is not positively recited), the flexible electrical connection comprising a flexible ribbon cable (10a) comprising at least one conductive wire (11a-c) and/or at least one conductive strip, said flexible ribbon cable having a cable length (Fig. 5), a cable width perpendicular to said cable length (Fig. 5), and a thickness smaller than said cable width (Figs. 4 and 5), wherein said flexible ribbon cable has a curved lateral shape (Fig. 4) where said flexible ribbon cable is connected to said upstream connector (Fig. 11 shows a sectional view through the connector 20, and also shows the curvature of the cable at that point) and a curved lateral shape where said flexible ribbon cable is connected to said downstream connector (see annotated Fig. below. Also, note the breadth of the phrase “where said flexible ribbon cable is connected”—the word “where” is interpreted to encompass the portion of the cable close to the connector 20. Furthermore, the claim does not recite any particular specific structural relationship between surfaces of the connectors and surfaces of the cable), each of said curved lateral shapes being a shape whose curvature is in a lateral direction of said flexible ribbon cable, that is, along said cable width, perpendicular to said cable length (see Fig. 4).
With regard to claim 2, Fukumoto teaches that said upstream connector (20) and said downstream connector (19) each comprise a receiving surface (see annotated Figs. below, related to connectors 19 and 20) which is in contact with said flexible ribbon cable and which is curved laterally, along said cable width, so as to impart said curved lateral shape to said flexible ribbon cable (note that the phrase “so as to impart said curved lateral shape to said flexible ribbon cable” is being interpreted to require that the receiving surface matches the curvature of the ribbon cable, and thus can be considered to maintain and/or impart the curvature to the cable).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-11 and 15 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukumoto in view of Snider et al. (US 2018/0227986, hereinafter Snider).
With regard to claims 5 and 7, Fukumoto fails to disclose a glass pane, or a vehicle equipped with glazing comprising a glass pane, a system configured to allow mobility of said glass pane in translation relative to a bodywork element of said vehicle and at least one flexible electrical connection according to any one of claim 1, wherein said downstream connector is attached to said glass pane. Instead, Fukumoto discloses a sliding door, and that the downstream connector is attached to the sliding door.
Snider teaches a vehicle window having a sliding glass pane (20), where a flexible electrical cable (30) is connected to the glass pane at the downstream end (see elements 28 and 36 in Fig. 2).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified Fukumoto such that the flexible electrical connector was attached to a sliding glass pane, rather than a sliding door, with a reasonable expectation of success given that the teachings of Fukumoto are generally useful for relatively slidable panels in vehicles, and Snider shows that sliding glass panels can utilize similar flexible connectors to that of Fukumoto to achieve predictable results.
With regard to claims 6 and 9, Fukumoto in view of Snider teaches that the glass pane includes a heater or a lightening/darkening system (Snider, whose glass pane has been incorporated into Fukumoto, teaches a “heating or defogging” system, see paragraph 0026).
With regard to claims 8 and 15, Fukumoto in view of Snider is silent as to the flexible ribbon cable having, along its length, a fold having a radius of curvature between 0.2 and 20.0 mm, or between 5.0 and 15.0 mm. However, it is noted that Fig. 1 of Fukumoto appears to show a bend radius that could be within the range of 15 millimeters.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified Fukumoto in view of Snider such that the fold in the cable had a radius of curvature between 5.0 and 15.00 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
With regard to claim 10, Fukumoto in view of Snider teaches that the flexible ribbon cable extends along its length in a direction parallel to an principle component of a direction of translation of said glass pane (Fukumoto’s principle component of translation movement is in the longitudinal direction of the vehicle, corresponding to the opening/closing direction of the door. When modifying Fukumoto to be utilized with a glass window pane, one of ordinary skill would position the cable in the same manner with respect to the window opening direction).
With regard to claim 11, Fukumoto teaches that said inner element is an interior guide for said flexible ribbon cable (see annotated Fig. below), said interior guide having a surface on which said flexible ribbon cable slides and which prevents said flexible ribbon cable from moving further inward (Fig. 1 shows that the cable does not move further inward beyond the interior guide surface in either position of the sliding door).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, and 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT E FULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676