Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 29-31, 33-35, 37-45 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Qualcomm (Impact of ACK/NACK transmission to NR-U DRX).
Regarding claims 29, 37 and 47. Qualcomm discloses a method of operating a communication device of a communications network, the method comprising: receiving a downlink, DL, hybrid automatic repeat request, HARQ, message for DL semi-persistent scheduling, SPS, from a network node in the communications network (see at least figures 1-4); determining that HARQ feedback has not been transmitted to the network node in response to the DL HARQ message within a period of time (see at least section 1); and responsive to determining that the HARQ feedback has not be transmitted to the network node within the period of time, initiating a timer associated with monitoring for retransmission of the DL HARQ message (see at least section 2).
Regarding claims 30 and 38. Qualcomm discloses a method wherein the DL HARQ message comprises a media access control, MAC, protocol data unit, PDU, wherein initiating the timer comprises initiating the timer at an end to the period of time or at a first occasion after the period of time ends that the communication device can receive the retransmission of the DL HARQ message, and wherein monitoring for retransmission of the DL HARQ message comprises monitoring a physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, for downlink control information, DCI, from the network node (see at least section 2).
Regarding claims 31 and 39. Qualcomm discloses a method wherein determining that the HARQ feedback has not be transmitted to the network node within the period of time comprises determining that the response is scheduled during a DL time slot (see at least section 1).
Regarding claims 33, and 41-42. The method of claim 29, wherein the timer comprises an inactivity timer indicating an amount of time that the communication device will wait before monitoring for retransmission of the DL HARQ message, optionally, wherein the inactivity timer comprises a drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL timer (see at least section 2).
Regarding claims 34 and 43-44. Qualcomm discloses a method wherein the timer comprises a retransmission timer indicating an amount of time that the communication device will monitor for retransmission of the DL HARQ message, optionally, wherein the retransmission timer comprises a drx-RetransmissionTimerDL timer (see at least section 2).
Regarding claim 40, Qualcomm discloses a method determining that HARQ feedback has not be received from the communication device within the period of time comprises determining that the response to the DL HARQ message has not been received within a predetermined maximum delay (see at least section 2).
Regarding claim 35, Qualcomm discloses a method further comprising monitoring for retransmission of the DL HARQ message from the network node based on the timer (see at least figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 45. Qualcomm discloses a method further comprising retransmitting the DL HARQ message to the communication device based on the timer (see at least section 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 36 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qualcomm in view of Khoshnevisan et al (US 2021/0029641). Hereinafter referred to as Khoshnevisan.
Regarding claims 36 and 46, Qualcomm discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception of receiving configuration information from the network node, the configuration information indicating that the communication device is to initiate the timer in response to failing to transmit the HARQ feedback, wherein initiating the timer comprises initiating the timer based on the configuration information. However, Khoshnevisan, from the same field of endeavor, teaches receiving configuration information from the network node, the configuration information indicating that the communication device is to initiate the timer in response to failing to transmit the HARQ feedback, wherein initiating the timer comprises initiating the timer based on the configuration information (see at least figure 6 and paragraphs [0120]-[0122] [0149]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Khoshnevisan, as indicated, into the communication method of Qualcomm for the purpose of managing feedback transmission.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 32 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO_892.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
When responding to this office action, applicants are advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which they think the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Applicants must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37C.F.R 1.111(c). In addition, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with the line numbers and pages numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist examiner in locating the appropriate paragraphs.
/MOUNIR MOUTAOUAKIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476