DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 9-15, 18 and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leopold et al. [US 2010/0265553 A1].
Regarding claims 1 and 21, Leopold et al. discloses a device (Fig. 8) / a data processing unit (control unit 37) for producing a holographic optical element (HOE) (paragraph [0010]), wherein the device comprises:
at least one fixing element (32) on which a carrier layer of a master HOE (33) and a carrier layer of the HOE (31) can be arranged during an exposure process (as shown in Fig. 8), with the result that these extend at least locally along one another (paragraph [0056] teaches the drum and the master and replicated HOE),
a radiation source (RGB) configured to emit light (20) onto the master HOE (33) during the exposure process (as shown in Fig. 8), with the result that the HOE is exposed (paragraphs [0034] and [0063] teaches the exposure unit arranged opposite the holographic recording material), and
a positioning module (paragraphs [0049], [0056] and [0063] teaches deflection mirror 52 and 61 and piezoelectric actuator for SLM) configured to move a beam path of the light during the exposure process relatively in relation to the carrier layer of the master HOE (33) and the carrier layer of the HOE (31, as shown in Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 2, Leopold et al. discloses wherein the positioning module comprises at least one of a robotic arm or a multi-axis optical linear adjustment table (paragraph [0049] teaches the piezoelectric actuators for SLM).
Regarding claim 5, Leopold et al. discloses furthermore comprising a controller (37) configured to control the positioning module on the basis of control data (paragraphs [0049] and [0057]).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Leopold et al. discloses wherein the controller (37) is configured to control the positioning module (deflection mirror 52 and 61 and piezoelectric actuator for SLM) in order to move a light point of the light over the carrier layer of the HOE (31) during the exposure process, with the result that the HOE is exposed at different positions of the light point on the carrier layer at different angles of incidence, wherein the controller is configured to control the positioning module in order to move a reference point, which is arranged along the beam path of the light, in relation to the master HOE on a trajectory during the exposure process (as shown in Fig. 8, see also paragraphs [0049], [0056] and [0063]).
Regarding claims 9-11 and 22, Leopold et al. discloses wherein the trajectory has at least one out of a component perpendicular to the carrier layer of the HOE and a component parallel to the carrier layer of the HOE, wherein the controller is configured to control the positioning module in order to change an emergence angle of the beam path at the reference point in relation to the master HOE during the exposure process, wherein the control data specify at least one out of a trajectory for a reference point along the beam path, an emergence angle of the beam path at the reference point in relation to the master HOE and an angle of incidence of the light on the master HOE (as shown in Fig. 8, see also paragraphs [0049], [0056] and [0063]).
Regarding claims 12-15, Leopold et al. discloses furthermore comprising a scanning mirror (deflection mirror 52 and 61) configured to scan the light in relation to the master HOE (33) during the exposure process, wherein the positioning module comprises the scanning mirror, further comprising a controller (37) configured to control the positioning module on the basis of control data, wherein the controller is configured to control the positioning module in order to move a reference point, which is arranged along the beam path of the light, in relation to the master HOE on a trajectory during the exposure process, wherein the scanning mirror is arranged at the reference point, wherein the controller is configured to control the scanning mirror in order, in a manner superimposed with the scanning, to tilt the emergence angle of the beam path at the reference point in relation to the master HOE (as shown in Fig. 8, see also paragraphs [0049], [0056], [0062] and [0063]).
Regarding claim 18, Leopold et al. discloses furthermore comprising at least one optical element which is arranged along a beam path of the light and which has the effect that a light point of the light on the master HOE is expanded along at least one axis (as shown in Fig. 8, see also paragraphs [0049], [0056], [0062] and [0063]).
Regarding claims 23-25, Leopold et al. discloses furthermore wherein the at least one processor, on the basis of the program code, furthermore calculates the control data on the basis of a first surface shape of the carrier material of the master HOE during a further exposure process for exposing the master HOE, and on the basis of a second surface shape of the carrier material of the master HOE during the exposure process, and further on the basis of an angle of incidence of light as a function of the location on the master HOE during the further exposure process, wherein the at least one processor, on the basis of the program code, furthermore calculates the control data on the basis of a geometry of a light source which is used for reconstructing a hologram by illumination of the HOE, wherein the at least one processor, on the basis of the program code, furthermore calculates the control data on the basis of a predefined aberration (paragraphs [0049]-[0059] teaches adjusting the deflection mirror 52 and 61 and piezoelectric actuator for SLM to account for variations in angle of incidents, wavelengths and imaging errors).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leopold et al. in view of Yung [US 2006/0098005 A1].
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Leopold et al. discloses wherein the at least one fixing element comprises a roll (32) for the carrier layer of the HOE (31, see also paragraphs [0035-[0036] and [0056]).
Leopold et al. does not teach wherein the at least one fixing element comprises a second roll for the carrier layer of the master HOE or wherein the at least one fixing element comprises at least one fixing frame for a flatbed replication process.
However, Yung, discloses making of holographic optical elements wherein a roll is provided for the master HOE (as shown in Fig. 3) and wherein the at least one fixing element comprises at least one fixing frame for a flatbed replication process (paragraph [0078] teaches a flatbed type replication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a second roll for the master HOE or a flatbed replication process, as taught by Yung, in the system of Leopold et al. because such a modification accommodate the relatively thick print mediums (paragraph [0078] of Yung) and produce holographic optical elements in a manner of large volume and high speed (paragraph [0018] of Yung).
Conclusion
/DEORAM PERSAUD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882