Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communications filed on 25 December 2025.
Claims 2-4 were previously canceled by the Applicant.
Claims 1 and 5-13 are currently pending.
Response to Remarks
The arguments in response to the claims rejection under 35 U.S.C § 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) have been fully considered and in combination with the amendments are not found persuasive for the following reasons.
The Applicant’s argument the fiber does not provide any measurement of the internal deformations of the blade, and that the measurements are carried out by the sensor is not found persuasive since the argument is not commensurate with the scope of the claim language. The Instant Application does not require the measurements to be carried out by the piezoelectric fibers themselves. Further, the Specification lacks a description of the piezoelectric elements’ structure such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how the piezoelectric elements are both outputting a voltage and a measurement signal.
The Applicant’s argument that Sellinger does not disclose the recited integrated function of the piezoelectric fibers is not found persuasive since the Instant Application does not disclose, and the claim language does not require that, the piezoelectric elements comprise fibers that perform an integrated functionality of measuring deformations and power generation, without the use of a separate sensor. Rather the Instant Application vaguely discloses piezoelectric elements that invoked a 112(f) interpretation that also invoked a 112(a) and 112(b) rejection, since the Specification lacks a description of the piezoelectric elements’ structure such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how the piezoelectric elements are both outputting a voltage and a measurement signal.
The Applicant’s argument that Sellinger does not teach the fibers constitute “means for measuring internal deformations ... designed to measure the deformations along predetermined measurement axes,” is not found persuasive since the arguments are not commensurate with the scope of the claim language, nor what the Instant Application is in possession of. As can be seen from FIG 4B, the piezoelectric elements 105 and 106 of the Sellinger reference are woven into the matrix, the longitudinal axes of the fibers 105 and 106 being disposed perpendicular to one another. As mentioned above, paragraph [0041] teaches the piezoelectric fibers provide power and data correlated to strain gauge measurements, thus deformation is measured.
The Applicant’s argument pertaining to “the piezoelectric fiber itself measuring deformations,” is not found persuasive sine the Instant Application is not in possession of such a limitation and the scope of the claims are not commensurate with the arguments.
The Applicant’s argument pertaining to “a unified system” is not found persuasive since the Instant Application is not in possession of “a unified system” and the scope of the claims are not commensurate with arguments.
It is further noted, paragraph [0049] of Sellinger discloses the energy harvesting fiber provides power to the sensor and the communicator.
The arguments pertaining to the dependent claims are not found persuasive for at least the same reasons mentioned above.
A new rejection is included in this Office Action, necessitated by amendment, commensurate with the original rejection of record.
The arguments in response to the claims rejection under 35 U.S.C § 103 have been fully considered and in combination with the amendments are not found persuasive for the same reasons as mentioned above.
A new rejection is included in this Office Action, necessitated by amendment, commensurate with the original rejection of record.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner note: the following 112(f) invocations have been identified by the Office.
A. “means for measuring internal deformations”; first introduced in claim 1:
the means for measuring the internal deformations of the blade may comprise piezoelectric elements or an equivalent thereof. However the specification lacks any description of the structure of the “piezoelectric elements” or how the piezoelectric elements perform the measuring. While Page 5, lines 25-26 mention there are two piezoelectric elements arranged perpendicularly to one another, and Figures 2 and 4 show polygons which are meant to represent the piezoelectric elements, the piezoelectric elements are not described in such a way as to connote how the piezoelectric elements function and what structure(s) make up the piezoelectric elements. As is well known in the art (Official Notice) a piezoelectric sensor is made up of an energy harvesting material that produces a voltage when a force, pressure, or strain is applied and at least a sensor which converts the voltage output from the energy harvesting material into the measurement of pressure, acceleration, temperature, strain, or force. The Instant Application lacks any description of the piezoelectric elements such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how a voltage output from the piezoelectric effect is measured and/or converted to a measurement signal. Further, while Page 9, lines 0-10 disclose the piezoelectric elements generate a voltage that is supplied to the storage and transmission means, there is no disclosure of what structure(s) perform the function of producing a piezoelectric effect. (See 112a and 112b rejections below.)
B. "means for remotely storing and transmitting blade deformation measurement signals" first introduced in claim 1:
the means for remotely storing and transmitting blade deformation measurement signals may comprise an RFID transponder and memory, and a data processing circuit or an equivalent thereof (see Page 7, lines 0-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 5-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 1:
the specification fails to provide corresponding structure for an “piezoelectric element” which has been interpreted under 112(f) as performing the function of variably generating a voltage and a measurement signal. Thus, the “piezoelectric element” is not described in the Specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor or a joint inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claims 5-13:
Claims 5-13 are rejected by virtue of dependence.
Claims 1 and 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1:
The claim limitation “piezoelectric element” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The Examiner note: while Page 9, lines 0-10 refer to the piezoelectric element, the features' structure is not described in such a way as to connote how the piezoelectric element functions to both output a voltage and a measurement signal such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand what structure performs the function of converting the voltage to a measurement signal. Furthermore, the corresponding reference characters (10 and 11) in the drawings are depicted as a polygon similar to a rectangle, which does not connote any particular structure. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sellinger et al (US 20170373612), hereafter referred to as Sellinger.
Regarding Claim 1, Sellinger discloses the following:
A blade (99) for an aircraft turbomachine fan,
the blade (99) being made of a composite material (see [0046]), the blade (99) comprising:
means for measuring (105 or 106; see FIG. 2, 4B; [0041]) internal deformations (105 or 106; see FIG. 2, 4B; [0041]) of the blade (99); and
means for remotely storing and transmitting (116; see FIG. 2; [0041]) blade (99) deformation measurement signals connected to means for measuring (105 or 106; see FIG. 2, 4B; [0041]),
wherein the means for measuring (105 or 106; see FIG. 2, 4B; [0041]) and the means for remotely storing and transmitting (116; see FIG. 2; [0041]) are located in the composite material (see [0046]), and wherein the means for measuring (105 or 106; see FIG. 2, 4B; [0041]) is configured to supply (see for example [0049]) a voltage to the means for remotely storing and transmitting (116; see FIG. 2; [0041]),
wherein the means for measuring (105 or 106; see FIG. 2, 4B; [0041]) is designed to measure the deformations along predetermined measurement axes (axes of 105 and 106 see FIG. 4B; [0043]),
wherein the means for measuring (105 or 106; see FIG. 2, 4B; [0041]) comprises piezoelectric elements (105 and 106; FIG. 4B) extending in respective predetermined directions (see FIG. 4B; [0043]), wherein the piezoelectric elements (105 and 106; FIG. 4B) are configured to measure deformations along the predetermined measuring axes (axes of 105 and 106 see FIG. 4B; [0043]); and
supply the voltage (see [0049]) to the means for remotely storing and transmitting (116; see FIG. 2; [0049]).
Regarding Claim 6, Sellinger discloses the following:
The blade (99) according to Claim 1,
wherein the means for remotely storing and transmitting (116; see FIG. 2; [0041]) comprises means for processing the signals received from the means for measuring (105 or 106; see FIG. 2, 4B; [0041]), and
wherein the means for processing is configured to compare the maximum voltage values of the measurement signals with threshold values (see [0039]) and is configured to determine if the maximum voltage value of the measurement signals is within a range of predetermined voltage levels for a predefined period of time (see [0039, 52]).
Regarding Claim 7, Sellinger discloses the following:
The blade (99) according to Claim 1,
wherein the means for remotely storing and transmitting (116; see FIG. 2; [0041]) can be configured remotely so as to adjust the predetermined voltage levels (synonymous with setting the limit, see [0039]).
Regarding Claim 8, Sellinger discloses the following:
The blade (99) according to Claim 1,
wherein the composite material (see [0046]) comprises woven fibers embedded in a resin (see [0047]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sellinger et al (US 20170373612), hereafter referred to as Sellinger, in view of Non-Patent Literature Amsler (What is RFID and how does it work) March2021, hereafter referred to as Amsler.
Regarding Claim 5, Sellinger discloses the following:
The blade (99) according to Claim 1,
Sellinger does not teach the following:
wherein the wireless communicator includes a transmitter or a transceiver that operates on the electromagnetic spectrum to communicate with a data acquisition unit (see [0049]).
However Amsler teaches the following:
it is well known in the art to use RFID as a form of wireless communication (synonymous with, the means for remotely storing and transmitting) has an RFID transponder see first three paragraphs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the generic, "wireless communicator includes a transmitter or a transceiver that operates on the electromagnetic spectrum to communicate with a data acquisition unit," as disclosed by Sellinger, with the specific RFID wireless communicator, as taught by Amsler, with the reasonable expectation of successfully providing the blade with a known and specific form of wireless communication. The Examiner notes, the simple substitution of the generic wireless communicator of Sellinger with the specific RFID wireless communicator of Sellinger, yields the predictable result of providing wireless communication (i.e. substituting one known means to communicate wirelessly for another known means to communicate wirelessly). This rationale further supports a conclusion of obviousness to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (see MPEP 2143, I, B).
Claims 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sellinger et al (US 20170373612), hereafter referred to as Sellinger, in view of Baldwin (US 20020117252).
Regarding Claim 9, Sellinger discloses the following:
A method for manufacturing a composite blade (99) for an aircraft turbomachine fan, the method comprising:
weaving a fiber preform (see [0046]);
injecting a resin into the preform (see [0047]);
curing the resin injected into the preform (Examiner note, CMC components made of fabric preforms injected with resin must be cured, lest they would not result in forming the solid substrate made of the CMC components, albeit Sellinger does not explicitly disclose such); and
inserting, into the composite material (see [0046]), means for measuring internal deformations (105 or 106; see FIG. 2, 4B; [0041]) of the blade (99) and means for remotely storing and transmitting (116; see FIG. 2; [0041]) blade (99) deformation measurement signals connected to the means for measuring (105 or 106; see FIG. 2, 4B; [0041]),
wherein the means for measuring (105 or 106; see FIG. 2, 4B; [0041]) comprises piezoelectric elements (105 and 106; FIG. 4B) extending in respective predetermined directions (see FIG. 4B; [0043]), wherein the piezoelectric elements (105 and 106; FIG. 4B) are configured to measure deformations along the predetermined measuring axes (axes of 105 and 106 see FIG. 4B; [0043]) and configured to supply the voltage (see [0049]) to the means for remotely storing and transmitting (116; see FIG. 2; [0049])
Sellinger does not explicitly disclose the following:
curing the resin injected into the preform; and
However the Baldwin teaches the following:
it is well known in the art that fiber-reinforced composite structures are cured after the fibers are combined with the resin to provide a finished composite piece (see [0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fiber-reinforced composite structure combined with resin, as disclosed by Sellinger, wherein the fiber-reinforced composite structure is cured after the fibers are combined with the resin, as taught by Baldwin, with the reasonable expectation of successfully providing a finished composite piece (see Baldwin [0003]).
Regarding Claim 10, Sellinger as modified by Baldwin discloses the following:
The method according to Claim 9,
Sellinger continues to teach:
wherein the means for measuring (105 or 106; see FIG. 2, 4B; [0041]) and the means for remotely storing and transmitting (116; see FIG. 2; [0041]) are inserted on the outer surface of the preform (as seen in FIG. 4B, at least one layer of each 105 and 106 is on the outer surface of the preform 134) before the step of injecting the resin (see [0047]).
Regarding Claim 11, Sellinger as modified by Baldwin discloses the following:
The method according to Claim 9,
Sellinger continues to teach:
wherein the means for measuring (105 or 106; see FIG. 2, 4B; [0041]) and the means for remotely storing and transmitting (116; see FIG. 2; [0041]) are inserted during a lamination phase (it is noted, while the word "laminate" is not used, the layers of pre-preg and piezoelectric layers 105-106 are bound together with resin, and layers of composites bound together with resin meets the definition of a laminate).
Baldwin continues to teach:
it is well known in the art to cure fiber reinforced composites after a lamination phase (i.e. the lamination step is before the step of curing the resin; see [0039-41]).
Regarding Claim 12, Sellinger as modified by Baldwin discloses the following:
An aircraft turbomachine (FIG. 1, Sellinger) comprising a fan (see [0065], Sellinger) having at least one blade (99, Sellinger) according to Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 13, Sellinger as modified by Baldwin discloses the following:
An aircraft (see [0050, 64] , Sellinger) comprising an aircraft (see [0050, 64] , Sellinger) turbomachine according to Claim 12.
Conclusion
/BRIAN CHRISTOPHER DELRUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745