CTNF 18/835,726 CTNF 80447 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujinaka US2021/0356841 . Regarding claim 1 Fujinaka teaches a lens drive unit, comprising: n-phase coils (fig. 3 two phase coils 10a, 10b) (n is an integer of 2 or more) that are fixed to a first moving frame (lens frame 3) that is configured to move back and forth in an optical axis direction and hold a lens (lens L1), and are disposed side by side along the optical axis direction; a first field portion (magnet 9)that has N poles and S poles alternately (N/S see fig. 4) disposed along the optical axis direction, wherein the coils are disposed in two or more sets side by side in the optical axis direction (see fig. 3 and 4), each set including an n-phase coil with respect to one of the first field portions. Regarding claim 2, Fujinaka teaches the lens drive unit according to claim 1, wherein the n-phase coils have a winding axis in a direction substantially perpendicular to the optical axis of the lens (see fig. 3). Regarding claim 3, Fujinaka teaches the lens drive unit according to claim 1, wherein the first field portion (magnet 9) is disposed at a position opposite both sides of the n-phase coils in the radial direction (see fig. 15A magnet 9)so as to sandwich the n-phase coils in the radial direction centered on the optical axis. Regarding claim 4, Fujinaka teaches the lens drive unit according to claim 1, wherein the n-phase coils are two-phase coils (see claim 1). Regarding claim 9, Fujinaka teaches a lens barrel comprising: the lens drive unit according to claim 1; and a first moving frame (lens frame 3) configured to hold the lens, has the n-phase coils fixed thereto (see fig. 3), and is driven back and forth in the optical axis direction by the lens drive unit (see fig. 3) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujinaka US 2021/0356841 in view of Yano US 2015/0062408 . Regarding claim 5-6, Fujinaka teaches the lens drive unit according to claim 1, but does not teach further comprising a second field portion disposed so as to surround the optical axis along with the first field portion. With respect to claim 6, Fujinaka teaches a main shaft (fig. 1 holding frame 2) configured to support the first moving frame in a state of being able to move back and forth in the optical axis direction but does not teach wherein the first field portion and the second field portion are disposed on either side of a plane so as to sandwich the plane passing through the main shaft and a center of gravity of the first moving frame holding the lens. However Yano teaches the first field portion (fig. 4 magnet 42 top) and the second field portion (magnet 42 bottom) are disposed on either side of a plane so as to sandwich the plane passing through the main shaft (formed by fixing frame 39) and a center of gravity of the first moving frame (lens holding member 25) holding the lens (unlabeled see fig. 3-4) to distribute the force evenly and apply more force the frame. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujinara in view of Yano to distribute force evenly to the moving frame and apply a higher force resulting in faster actuation. Regarding claim 7, Fujinaka in view of Yano teach the lens drive unit according to claim 5 but Fujinaka does not explicitly teach further comprising a third field portion that is disposed to surround the optical axis together with the first field portion and the second field portion. However one of ordinary skill in the art could easily apply a third field portion in a similar manner to a second according to Yano to further increase force distribution and the force applied and examiner takes official notice of this. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Fujinara in view of Yano to distribute force move evenly to the moving frame and apply a higher force resulting in faster actuation . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s)8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujinaka US 2021/0356841 in view of Tanaka JP 2010-112976 Regarding claim 8, Funinaka teaches the lens drive unit according to claim 1, but does not teach further comprising a second moving frame that holds a lens, wherein the n-phase coils with respect to one of the first field portions are fixed to the second moving frame, and the first moving frame and the second moving frame are driven separately. However Tanaka teaches a second moving frame (fig. 12 250b) that holds a lens, wherein the n-phase coils (flat coil 221) with respect to one of the first field portions are fixed to the second moving frame, and the first moving frame and the second moving frame are driven separately (see page 9 second paragraph) allowing for individual zoom and focus control (see page 9 second paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Fujinara in view of Tanaka to implement individual zoom and focus control. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PHU VU whose telephone number is (571)272-1562. The examiner can normally be reached 11:00 - 7:00 M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jennifer Carruth can be reached at 571-272-9791. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PHU VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871 Application/Control Number: 18/835,726 Page 2 Art Unit: 2871 Application/Control Number: 18/835,726 Page 3 Art Unit: 2871 Application/Control Number: 18/835,726 Page 4 Art Unit: 2871 Application/Control Number: 18/835,726 Page 5 Art Unit: 2871 Application/Control Number: 18/835,726 Page 6 Art Unit: 2871