DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LUO et al. (US 2024/0340651 A1; hereafter LUO).
With respect to claim 1, LUO discloses a method (Abstract; Title), comprising:
performing, by a user equipment (UE) (102(1) and 102(2) User devices in FIG. 1), a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure to prepare for a UE sidelink (SL) transceiving (102(1) and 102(2) User devices with Sidelink signals in FIG. 1) in unlicensed frequency bands (302 in FIG. 3; paragraphs [0026], [0027], see the unlicensed carrier in a shared spectrum) in a wireless network (100, wireless network in FIG. 1),
wherein the LBT procedure determines channel selection (paragraphs [0031], [0032], [0033], [0034], and [0035], see the testing and failure for unlicensed carriers) with other coexisting wireless system in the unlicensed frequency bands (302 in FIG. 3; paragraphs [0026], [0027], see the unlicensed carrier in a shared spectrum);
performing an SL resource selection procedure (paragraphs [0031], [0032], [0033], [0034], and [0035], see the testing and failure for unlicensed carriers) to select candidate resources in the unlicensed frequency bands (302 in FIG. 3; paragraphs [0026], [0027], see the unlicensed carrier in a shared spectrum) for the SL transceiving for the UE; and
transceiving SL packets on the selected candidate resources when both the SL resource selection procedure and the LBT procedure succeed (paragraphs [0031], [0032], [0033], [0034], and [0035], see the testing and failure for unlicensed carriers).
With respect to claim 2, LUO further discloses 2. The method of claim 1, wherein the LBT procedure (301, and 302 in FIG. 3) is performed before the SL resource selection procedure (paragraphs [0031], [0032], [0033], [0034], and [0035], see the testing and failure for unlicensed carriers).
With respect to claim 3, LUO further discloses 3. The method of claim 1, wherein an LBT trigger time to start performing the LBT procedure is dynamically configured (paragraphs [0048] and [0054]).
With respect to claim 15, LUO discloses a user equipment (UE) (102(1) and 102(2) User devices in FIG. 1), comprising:
a transceiver (106 in User Device in FIG. 1) that transmits and receives radio frequency (RF) signal in a wireless network (100, wireless network in FIG. 1);
a listen-before-talk (LBT) module that performs a LBT procedure (paragraphs [0031], [0032], [0033], [0034], and [0035], see the testing and failure for unlicensed carriers) to prepare for a UE sidelink (SL) (102(1) and 102(2) User devices with Sidelink signals in FIG. 1) transceiving in unlicensed frequency bands (302 in FIG. 3; paragraphs [0026], [0027], see the unlicensed carrier in a shared spectrum),
wherein the LBT procedure determines channel selection (paragraphs [0031], [0032], [0033], [0034], and [0035], see the testing and failure for unlicensed carriers) with other coexisting wireless system in the unlicensed frequency bands (302 in FIG. 3; paragraphs [0026], [0027], see the unlicensed carrier in a shared spectrum);
a selection module (110 in User Device in FIG. 1) that performs sidelink (SL) resource selection procedure (paragraphs [0031], [0032], [0033], [0034], and [0035], see the testing and failure for unlicensed carriers),
wherein the SL resource selection procedure selects candidate resources in the unlicensed frequency bands (302 in FIG. 3; paragraphs [0026], [0027], see the unlicensed carrier in a shared spectrum) for an SL transceiving for the UE; and
a transceiving controller (110 in User Device in FIG. 1) that transmits and receives SL packets (301, 302 in FIG. 3; paragraph [0030]) on the selected candidate resources when both the SL resource selection procedure and the LBT procedure succeed (paragraphs [0031], [0032], [0033], [0034], and [0035], see the testing and failure for unlicensed carriers).
With respect to claim 16, LUO further discloses 16. The UE of claim 15, wherein the LBT procedure is performed before the SL resource selection procedure (paragraphs [0031], [0032], [0033], [0034], and [0035], see the testing and failure for unlicensed carriers).
With respect to claim 17, LUO further discloses 17. The UE of claim 15, wherein an LBT trigger time to start performing the LBT procedure is (pre-)configured or dynamically indicated (paragraphs [0048] and [0054]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-14 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BRIAN T O CONNOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 September 4, 2026