DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP’365 (JP 2012003365, cited in IDS, Machine Translation is provided) in view of Hsiao (US 2016/0259160).
Regarding claim 1, JP’365 discloses a display module (152), comprising: a first panel having a plurality of pixels disposed to form an array, each of the pixels including a light emitting part and a light transmitting part; and a second panel (153) disposed on a rear surface of the first panel and having a plurality of shade shutters corresponding to a plurality of the pixels ([0055]), respectively, a transparent electrode (802) positioned in each of the diffusing part and the collecting part; and first (806) and second fluids (804) positioned in the diffusing part and the collecting part so as not be mixed with each other ([0154]-[0168]; claims 7 and 8; Figs. 3 and 11), wherein the first fluid moves between the diffusing part or the collecting part according to a voltage applied to the transparent electrode (802) and wherein one of the first fluid and the second fluid is transparent (806) while the other is opaque (804).
JP’365 does not disclose shade shutter comprising: a diffusing part having a first thickness; a collecting part positioned at one side of the diffusing part and having a second thickness greater than the first thickness.
Hsiao however discloses a diffusing part having a first thickness; a collecting part (219) positioned at one side of the diffusing part and having a second thickness greater than the first thickness ([0031]- [0037]; Fig. 2).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify JP’365 with Hsiao to have a diffusing part having a first thickness; a collecting part positioned at one side of the diffusing part and having a second thickness greater than the first thickness for the purpose of fabrication electro-wetting display panel (Hsiao, Abstract).
Regarding claim 13, JP’365 discloses a display device, comprising: a first panel (152) having a plurality of pixels disposed to form an array, each of the pixels including a light emitting part and a light transmitting part; a second panel (153) disposed on a rear surface of the first panel and having a plurality of shade shutters corresponding to a plurality of the pixels, respectively ([0055]); and a controller (154) controlling the light emitting part of the first panel to output an image and controlling the shade shutters of the second panel to adjust a contrast ratio ([0073[-[0777]);;[0159]) (Figs. 4 and 11),; a transparent electrode (804); (806) positioned in each of the diffusing part and the collecting part; and first and second fluids positioned in the diffusing part and the collecting part so as not be mixed with each other, wherein one of the first fluid and the second fluid is transparent (806) while the other is opaque (804) and wherein the controller applies a power to the transparent electrode to move the first fluid from the collecting part to the diffusing part ([0073[-[0777]); [0159]).
JP’365 does not disclose the shade shutter comprising: a diffusing part having a first thickness; a collecting part positioned at one side of the diffusing part and having a second thickness greater than the first thickness
Hsiao however discloses a diffusing part having a first thickness; a collecting part (219) positioned at one side of the diffusing part and having a second thickness greater than the first thickness ([0031]- [0037]; Fig. 2).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify JP’365 with Hsiao to have a diffusing part having a first thickness; a collecting part positioned at one side of the diffusing part and having a second thickness greater than the first thickness for the purpose of fabrication electro-wetting display panel (Hsiao, Abstract).
Regarding claim 2, JP’365 discloses wherein the first fluid is opaque, wherein the first fluid diffuses to the diffusing part to switch the second panel to be opaque (804) based on applying power to the transparent electrode (802), and wherein the first fluid moves from the diffusing part to the collecting part based on not applying the power to the transparent electrode ([0154]- [0168]; claim 8, Figs. 4 and 11).
Regarding claim 3, JP’365 discloses wherein the first fluid is transparent (806) and wherein based on not applying power to the transparent electrode, the first fluid moves from the diffusing part to the collecting part to switch the second panel to be opaque (804) ([0154]- [0168]; claim 8, Figs. 4 and 11).
Regarding claim 4, Hsiao discloses wherein the first fluid is a polar fluid (217) and wherein the second fluid is a non-polar fluid (218) ([0031]).
Regarding claim 5, Hsiao discloses wherein a range of the first fluid spread to the diffusing part varies according to a magnitude of a voltage applied to the transparent electrode ([0033]).
Regarding claim 6, Hsiao discloses the transparent electrode comprising: a first transparent electrode (213) disposed on the diffusing part; and a second transparent electrode (216) disposed in the collecting part, wherein based on applying power, a potential difference is generated between the first transparent electrode and the second transparent electrode (p0033]; Fig.2).
Regarding claim 7, Hsiao discloses wherein the collecting part (219) is disposed to overlap the light emitting part and smaller than the light emitting part ([0031]; [0032]; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Hsiao discloses wherein the diffusing part and the collecting part include a hydrophobic insulating layer (214) covering the transparent electrode [0031]; Fig.2).
Regarding claim 9, Hsiao discloses wherein the hydrophobic insulating layer (214) formed on the diffusing part includes an uneven portion on a surface thereof ([0031]; Fig.2).
Regarding claim 10, Hsiao discloses wherein the shade shutter (215) comprises a partition positioned around the diffusing part to allow the first fluid positioned in the diffusing part ([0031]; Fig.2).
Regarding claim 11, JP’365 does not disclose wherein the first panel includes a side wiring at an end thereof to transmit a control signal to the light emitting part and wherein the second panel omits the shade shutter at a position corresponding to the side wiring.
JP’365 however discloses that fist display unit (153) and the display control unit (154) (Fig.7).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was fled to have the first panel includes a side wiring at an end thereof to transmit a control signal to the light emitting part and wherein the second panel omits the shade shutter at a position corresponding to the side wiring for the purpose of fabrication a display panel with improved contrast (JP’365, Abstract).
Regarding claim 12, JP’365 discloses [wherein the light emitting part comprises a color filter of red, blue, and green, an organic light emitting diode, and a TFT ([0070]; [0093]).
Conclusion
/JULIA SLUTSKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891