DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, and 9 – 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (CN 112255111 A, cited in the IDS, See provided a translational copy).
With respect to independent claim 1, Liu teaches in Fig. 1 a system for scanning one or more parts 28, the system comprising:
a computed tomography scan machine comprising a platen 32 and a scanner comprising a X-ray source 41 and a detector 42 configured to perform at least one 360o computed tomography scan of the one or more parts positioned between the X-ray source and detector over a period of time;
a cooler 31; see paragraph [0023] arranged on the platen, wherein the cooler is configured to contain and maintain the one or more parts 28 at a predetermined target temperature of 0°C or below liquid nitrogen temperature in paragraph [0021] during the period of time, the cooler comprising:
a chamber 31;
a cooling medium liquid nitrogen in paragraph [0021] provided within the chamber that is configured to maintain the one or more parts at the predetermined target temperature during the period of time; and
a holder 27 – 29 provided within the chamber, the holder being configured to hold the one or more parts within a region of the chamber that surrounds the one or more parts and that is configured to provide the scanner a 360-degree view of the one or more parts unobstructed by the cooling medium.
With respect to dependent claim 2, Liu teaches in paragraph [0008] wherein the predetermined target temperature is -80°C or below.
With respect to dependent claim 4, Liu teaches in paragraph [0031] wherein the cooler comprises a wall that is radiolucent and that completely surrounds the holder.
With respect to dependent claim 6, Liu teaches in Fig. 1 wherein the cooling medium is a passive cooling medium.
With respect to dependent claims 9 – 10, the limitations of “wherein the one or more parts comprises one or more components of a syringe-piston or of a vial-stopper system and wherein the one or more parts comprises one or more assemblies of the syringe-piston or the vial-stopper system” are determined to be intended use. Any sample cannot carry any patentability unless invented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 11, 17 – 18, 20, 22, 24, and 26 – 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu.
The teaching of Liu has been discussed above.
With respect to dependent claim 8, Liu is silent with a sensor that is configured to measure the predetermined target temperature within the cooler during the period of time.
However, having a temperature sensor would be within ordinary skilled art in order to measure the temperature of object when performing CT imaging. This is in consistency with the Supreme Court Decision of the KSR. V. International Co.: Obvious to try – choosing form a finite number of predictable results.
With respect to dependent claim 11, Liu is silent with wherein the scanner is configured to perform a second 360o computed tomography scan of the one or more parts positioned between the X-ray source and detector over a period of time at a second predetermined target temperature. However, performing CT at other temperatures would be within the ordinary skilled art in order to see temperature-dependent CT images.
With respect to independent claim 17, Liu is silent with a method of evaluating a tolerance of one or more parts at a predetermined target temperature, the method comprising: cooling the one or more parts to the predetermined target temperature, wherein the predetermined target temperature is -80°C or below; imaging the one or more parts with a computed tomography scan machine while maintaining the one or more parts at the predetermined target temperature; and evaluating the tolerance of the one or more parts at a second predetermined target temperature based on the imaging. However, Liu teaches in Figs. 1 and 4 cooling the one or more parts to the predetermined target temperature, wherein the predetermined target temperature is -80°C or below; imaging the one or more parts with a computed tomography scan machine while maintaining the one or more parts at the predetermined target temperature. And also, Liu discloses his invention is directed to material mechanical property testing in paragraph [0002]. In view of this, it would be obvious at the time of the claimed invention was filed to modify the teaching of Liu in order to test desired properties of samples with CT. This is in consistency with the Supreme Court Decision of the KSR. V. International Co.: Obvious to try – choosing form a finite number of predictable results.
With respect to dependent claim 18, Liu is silent with wherein evaluating the tolerance of the one or more parts at the predetermined target temperature based on the imaging comprises: determining a dimension of the one or more parts at the predetermined target temperature based on the imaging; and comparing the dimension of the one or more parts at the predetermined target temperature to a dimension of the one or more parts at the second predetermined target temperature. However, in paragraph [0004] Liu measures three-dimensional deformation of desired samples. In view of this, it would be obvious at the time of the claimed invention was filed to modify the teaching of Liu in order to evaluate desired properties of desired samples. This is in consistency with the Supreme Court Decision of the KSR. V. International Co.: Obvious to try – choosing form a finite number of predictable results.
With respect to dependent claim 20, as discussed above, the limitation of “wherein evaluating the tolerance of the one or more parts at the predetermined target temperature based on the imaging further comprises determining that the one or more parts at the predetermined target temperature is within the tolerance based on the comparing of the dimension of the one or more parts at the predetermined target temperature to the dimension of the one or more parts at the second predetermined target temperature” would be within the ordinary skilled art in order to evaluate the properties of desired samples. This is in consistency with the Supreme Court Decision of the KSR. V. International Co.: Obvious to try – choosing form a finite number of predictable results.
With respect to dependent claim 22, the limitation of “ wherein evaluating the tolerance of the one or more parts at the predetermined target temperature based on the imaging further comprises determining that the one or more parts at the predetermined target temperature is outside of the tolerance based on the comparing of the dimension of the one or more parts at the predetermined target temperature to the dimension of the one or more parts at the second predetermined target temperature” would be within the ordinary skilled art in order to evaluate the properties of desired samples. This is in consistency with the Supreme Court Decision of the KSR. V. International Co.: Obvious to try – choosing form a finite number of predictable results.
With respect to dependent claim 24, as discussed above, the limitation of “ determining the dimension of the one or more parts at the second predetermined target temperature comprising: imaging the one or more parts with the computed tomography scan machine with the one or more parts at the second predetermined target temperature; and determining the dimension of the one or more parts at the second predetermined target temperature based on the imaging” would be ordinary skilled art.
With respect to dependent claim 26, the limitation of “wherein the one or more parts is associated with a syringe-piston or vial stopper system” is intended use. Any sample cannot carry any patentability unless invented.
With respect to dependent claim 27, Liu teaches wherein the predetermined target temperature is -80°C or below in paragraph [0008].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 – 16 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to independent claim 12, the prior art of record fails to teach or reasonably suggest:
a holder arranged between the first and second cooling medium that is configured to hold the one or more parts in a region of the chamber where the one or more parts is substantially surrounded by the side walls and an entirety of the one or more parts is between and spaced apart from each of the first and second cooling medium.
Conclusion
KIHO KIM, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2884
/Kiho Kim/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884