CTNF 18/836,063 CTNF 87210 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION 1. This communication is a first office action, non-final rejection on the merits. Claims 37-62, filed as preliminary amendment, are currently pending and have been considered below. Response to Amendment 2. Applicant’s amendment filed Feb 15, 2022 . Claims 1 - 36 cancelled. Claims 37-62 presented for Examination. Applicant’s amendment has been fully considered and entered. Priority 3. As required by M.P.E.P.201.14(c), acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on applications filed on Feb 15, 2022(PCT/SE2022/050165). Information Disclosure Statement 4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/21/25 and 8/6/24 has been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Form PTO-1449 is signed and attached hereto. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 5. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23 AIA 6. The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21 AIA 7. Claim s 37-62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over YAO (US 20240007314 A1) ( hereinafter YAO) in view of CHAI (WO 2021022916 A1) ( hereinafter CHAI) . Regarding claim 37, YAO discloses a method of charging control for a communication network, the method performed by a node operative as an edge charging function (eCHF) (para 02, wireless communications. For example, some embodiments may relate to solutions for converged charging for edge enabling infrastructure resource usage, para 28, generates charging data related to the collected performance data and sends charging data request for the CHF to process the related charging data for CDR generation purpose) and comprising: receiving a charging request from a Charging Trigger Function (CTF) (para 24, The charging for edge enabling infrastructure resources supported with CTF embedded in the MnS producer or with CEF to enable the charging, para 208, cause performance assurance management services (MnS) producer supporting a charging trigger function (CTF) to receive measurement report information from a network), requesting a quota for authorizing consumption by a first user terminal of an edge service provided by the communication network (para 31, Request operational state if the quota of the edge enabling infrastructure resource, para 60, The CHF configured with quota and reporting threshold for 5GS inter-provider charging, para 62, Charging Data Request [Initial, quota Requested]: the SW′ sends request to the CHF), the first user terminal being a member of a defined group of affiliated user terminals (para 93, ANs of the RAN 1004 may each manage one or more cells, cell groups, component carriers, etc. to provide the UE 1002 with an air interface for network access, para 274, Cell group” refers to the subset of serving cells comprising the PSCell and zero or more secondary cells for a UE); sending a corresponding charging request towards a charging node associated with the communication network (para 28, sends charging data request for the CHF to process the related charging data, para 30, Charging Data Response [Event]: The CHF informs the performance assurance on the result of the request, para 144, Send Charging Data response to the entity); receiving a charging response from the charging node (para 41, Charging Data response [Event]: The CHF informs the CEF on the result of the request, para 51, Charging Data response: The CHF informs the S-EES on the result of the request, para 139, receiving a charging data response to the charging data request from the CHF), the charging response indicating a granted group quota usable for authorizing consumption of the edge service by members of the defined group (para 72, Charging Data response [Update, Quota Granted]: The CHF grants quota to SMF for the service, with the reserved number of units, para 49, sends the charging data request to the CHF for request Granting, para 65, Charging Data Response [Initial, Quota Granted]: the CHF Grants the reserved number of units). YAO specifically fails to disclose deciding, as a locally-granted quota, what fraction of the granted group quota to grant to the first user terminal; and sending a charging response to the CTF, indicating the locally-granted quota. In analogous art, CHAI discloses deciding, as a locally-granted quota, what fraction of the granted group quota to grant to the first user terminal (para 04, The quota is the quota granted by system to CTF, indicating whether quota is based on whether the quota is applied to the charging system and charging system grants the quota based on application, para 16, event charging information, based on Quota grants for implementation of event quotas); and sending a charging response to the CTF, indicating the locally-granted quota (para 67, CTF device 101 sending a first charging request to the CHF device 207, para 62, Quota usage reporting refers to: for granted quotas, reporting quota usage information, para 138, The first charging response carries the first event charging determined by CHF device and determined by CHF device is quota grant). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of aggregation of 5GS usage by CHF requires the CHF to be responsible for charging for the whole PLMN disclosed by YAO to use CHF device to determines event charging processing mode according to the event charging information, and processes the charging request according to the event charging processing mode as taught by CHAI to includes CHF device determines the event charging processing method according to the event charging information where CHF device obtains user information according to the user ID, and then CHF device determines the event according to the indication information indicating event charging, the user information and the parameter indicating the service category Billing processing method, where event billing processing method is direct deduction, offline event reporting or event quota application [ CHAI, paragraph 012]. Regarding claim 38, YAO discloses the method according to claim 37, wherein deciding what fraction of the granted group quota to grant to the first user terminal comprises deciding a size of the locally-granted quota, based on the edge service, the size of the locally-granted quota being less than or equal to a size of the granted group quota (para 49, generates charging data related to the Application Context Relocation request and sends the charging data request to the CHF for request granting, para 69, Charging Data Request [Update, Quota Requested]: the SMF sends the request to the CHF, to be granted with more unit). Regarding claim 39, YAO discloses the method according to claim 37, wherein deciding what fraction of the granted group quota to grant to the first user terminal comprises deciding a size of the locally-granted quota, based on whether one or more other ones of the affiliated user terminals are connected to the communication network at a same edge location as the first user terminal, the size of the locally-granted quota being less than or equal to a size of the granted group quota (para 72, Charging Data Response [Update, Quota granted]: The CHF grants quota to SMF for the service, with the reserved number of units, para 65, Charging Data Response [Initial, Quota granted]: the CHF grants the reserved number of units). Regarding claim 40, YAO fails to discloses the method according to claim 37, wherein deciding what fraction of the granted group quota to grant to the first user terminal comprises deciding a size of the locally-granted quota, based on whether one or more temporally-proximate charging requests have been received at the eCHF for any other ones of the affiliated user terminals, for the edge service, the size of the locally-granted quota being less than or equal to a size of the granted group quota. In analogous art, CHAI discloses the method according to claim 37, wherein deciding what fraction of the granted group quota to grant to the first user terminal comprises deciding a size of the locally-granted quota, based on whether one or more temporally-proximate charging requests have been received at the eCHF for any other ones of the affiliated user terminals, for the edge service, the size of the locally-granted quota being less than or equal to a size of the granted group quota (para 67, CTF device 101 sending a first charging request to the CHF device 207, para 138, The first charging response carries the first event charging determined by CHF device and determined by CHF device is quota grant, para 66, charging request carries the sender, receiver, time of the event, and/or event content size, para 54, The 5G architecture include user equipment 201, radio access network (RAN) 202, access and mobility management function (AMF) device 206). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of aggregation of 5GS usage by CHF requires the CHF to be responsible for charging for the whole PLMN disclosed by YAO to use CHF device to determines event charging processing mode according to the event charging information, and processes the charging request according to the event charging processing mode as taught by CHAI to includes CHF device can determine a first event charging processing mode based on a first charging request and process event charging, thereby allowing charging for event charging services to be carried out precisely and efficiently. [ CHAI, Abstract]. Regarding claim 41, YAO discloses the method according to claim 37, wherein the fraction of the granted group quota that is granted as the locally-granted quota leaves a remaining portion of the granted group quota as a remaining group quota, and wherein the method further comprises deciding, as a further locally-granted quota, what fraction of the remaining group quota to grant to another one of the affiliated user terminals in response to the eCHF receiving a charging request for the other one of the affiliated user terminals, requesting a quota for authorizing consumption by the other one of the affiliated user terminals of the edge service (para 65, Charging Data Response [Initial, Quota granted]: the CHF grants the reserved number of units, para 72, Charging Data Response [Update, Quota granted]: The CHF grants quota to SMF for the service, with the reserved number of units, para 35, data to report the usage of edge enabling infrastructure resources. The CHF needs to create measurement job and subscribes to notifications for the performance data file reporting, para 60, edge application in 5GS is obtained by CHF from UE usage reported by SW′. The CHF configured with quota and reporting threshold for 5GS inter-provider charging). Regarding claim 42, YAO discloses the method according to claim 37, further comprising receiving a further charging request at the eCHF from the same or another CTF, the further charging request requesting a quota for authorizing consumption of the edge service by a second user terminal among the group of affiliated user terminals, deciding a further locally-granted quota for the second user terminal from a then-remaining fraction of the granted group quota, and sending a further charging response to the same or other CTF, indicating the further locally-granted quota (para 58, CHF to support charging for 5GS supporting edge computing per edge application, para 141, method of a CHF supported by processors, and is configured to Receive from an entity the Charging Data Request related to charging for edge enabling infrastructure resources, para 260, UE include any type of wireless/wired device or any computing device including a wireless communications interface, para 07, FIG. 3 charging for usage of edge enabling infrastructure resources (with producer supporting a CTF)). Regarding claim 43, YAO discloses the method according to claim 37, further comprising receiving a further charging request at the eCHF from the same or another CTF, the further charging request requesting a quota for authorizing consumption of the edge service by a second user terminal among the group of affiliated user terminals, determining that the granted group quota has been exhausted or a then-remaining amount of the granted group quota is not sufficient for responding to the further charging request, and, correspondingly, communicating with the charging node to obtain a further quota from the charging node, to authorize consumption of the edge service by the second user terminal (para 07, FIG. 3 charging for usage of edge enabling infrastructure resources supporting a CTF, para 24, The charging for edge enabling infrastructure resources supported with CTF to enable the charging), para 21, 5GS usage by CHF requires the CHF to be responsible for charging for the whole PLMN, para 62, Charging Data Request [Initial, Quota Requested]: the SW′ sends the request to the CHF to reserve a number of units, para 65, Charging Data Response [Initial, Quota Granted]: the CHF grants the reserved number of units). Regarding claim 44, YAO discloses the method according to claim 37, wherein sending the corresponding charging request towards the charging node comprises sending an edge charging request that indicates at least one of: an edge location of the eCHF, or that the eCHF is configured to decide locally-granted quotas from corresponding granted group quotas (para 07, FIG. 3 charging for usage of edge enabling infrastructure resources supporting a CTF, para 21, 5GS usage by CHF requires the CHF to be responsible for charging for the whole PLMN, para 65, Charging Data Response [Initial, Quota Granted]: the CHF grants number of units). Regarding claim 45, YAO discloses the method according to claim 37, wherein receiving the charging response from the charging node comprises receiving an edge charging response that indicates the group affiliation of the first user terminal (para 30, Charging Data response [Event]: The CHF informs the performance assurance MnS Producer on the result of the request, para 72, Charging Data response [Update, Quota Granted]: The CHF grants quota, para 139, receiving a charging data response to the charging data request from the CHF). Regarding claim 46, YAO discloses the method according to claim 45, further comprising evaluating group affiliations of other user terminals connected to the communication network at an edge location of the eCHF, to determine the presence of other members of the defined group in which the first user terminal has membership (para 196, determine that a quota associated with edge-enabling infrastructure resource has been met; para 0198, in response to determination that the quota associated with edge-enabling infrastructure resource has been met, send a request to a provisioning management services, para 21, aggregation of 5GS usage by CHF requires the CHF to be responsible for charging for the whole PLMN). Regarding claim 47, YAO discloses the method according to claim 46, wherein deciding how much of the granted group quota to grant to the first user terminal depends on the presence or absence of other members of the defined group in which the first user terminal has membership (para 255, ABLE-US-00001, Dual Connectivity NM Network Manager Network Management System Network Point of presence NMIB, para 49, sends charging data request to CHF for request granting, para 65, Charging Data Response [Initial, Quota granted]: CHF grants the reserved number of units . Regarding claim 48, YAO discloses a node operative as an edge charging function (eCHF) for a communication network (para 02, wireless communications. For example, some embodiments may relate to solutions for converged charging for edge enabling infrastructure resource usage, para 28, generates charging data related to the collected performance data and sends charging data request for the CHF to process the related charging data for CDR generation purpose), the node comprising: communication interface circuitry configured to send and receive messages, including charging requests and charging responses (para 28, generates charging data related to the collected performance data and sends the charging data request for the CHF to process, para 29, CHF received information, and creates a CDR related to the event, para 155, receive a Charging Data Response from the CHF.); and processing circuitry operatively associated with the communication interface circuitry (para 124, processing circuitry 1112 may further implement one or more layer operations to transmit/ receive application data to/from a data network, para 139, process 1500 includes, at 1505 , receiving, from an edge client (EEC), an application context relocation request. The process further includes, at 1510 , generating charging data based on the application context relocation request. The process further includes, at 1515 , sending a charging data request that includes the charging data to a charging function (CHF). The process further includes, at 1520 , receiving a charging data response to the charging data request from the CHF) and configured to: receive a charging request from a Charging Trigger Function (CTF) (para 24, The charging for edge enabling infrastructure resources supported with CTF embedded in the MnS producer or with CEF to enable the charging, para 208, cause performance assurance management services (MnS) producer supporting a charging trigger function (CTF) to receive measurement report information from a network), requesting a quota for authorizing consumption by a first user terminal of an edge service provided by the communication network (para 31, Request operational state if the quota of the edge enabling infrastructure resource, para 60, The CHF configured with quota and reporting threshold for 5GS inter-provider charging, para 62, Charging Data Request [Initial, quota Requested]: the SW′ sends request to the CHF), the first user terminal being a member of a defined group of affiliated user terminals (para 93, ANs of the RAN 1004 may each manage one or more cells, cell groups, component carriers, etc. to provide the UE 1002 with an air interface for network access, para 274, Cell group” refers to the subset of serving cells comprising the PSCell and zero or more secondary cells for a UE); send a corresponding charging request towards a charging node associated with the communication network (para 28, sends charging data request for the CHF to process the related charging data, para 30, Charging Data Response [Event]: The CHF informs the performance assurance on the result of the request, para 144, Send Charging Data response to the entity); receive a charging response from the charging node (para 41, Charging Data response [Event]: The CHF informs the CEF on the result of the request, para 51, Charging Data response: The CHF informs the S-EES on the result of the request, para 139, receiving a charging data response to the charging data request from the CHF), the charging response indicating a granted group quota usable for authorizing consumption of the edge service by members of the defined group (para 72, Charging Data response [Update, Quota Granted]: The CHF grants quota to SMF for the service, with the reserved number of units, para 49, sends the charging data request to the CHF for request Granting, para 65, Charging Data Response [Initial, Quota Granted]: the CHF Grants the reserved number of units). YAO specifically fails to disclose decide, as a locally-granted quota, what fraction of the granted group quota to grant to the first user terminal; and send a charging response to the CTF, indicating the locally-granted quota. In analogous art, CHAI discloses decide, as a locally-granted quota, what fraction of the granted group quota to grant to the first user terminal (para 04, The quota is the quota granted by system to CTF, indicating whether quota is based on whether the quota is applied to the charging system and charging system grants the quota based on application, para 16, event charging information, based on Quota grants for implementation of event quotas); and send a charging response to the CTF, indicating the locally-granted quota (para 67, CTF device 101 sending a first charging request to the CHF device 207, para 62, Quota usage reporting refers to: for granted quotas, reporting quota usage information, para 138, The first charging response carries the first event charging determined by CHF device and determined by CHF device is quota grant). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of aggregation of 5GS usage by CHF requires the CHF to be responsible for charging for the whole PLMN disclosed by YAO to use CHF device to determines event charging processing mode according to the event charging information, and processes the charging request according to the event charging processing mode as taught by CHAI to includes CHF device determines the event charging processing method according to the event charging information where CHF device obtains user information according to the user ID, and then CHF device determines the event according to the indication information indicating event charging, the user information and the parameter indicating the service category Billing processing method, where event billing processing method is direct deduction, offline event reporting or event quota application [ CHAI, paragraph 012]. Regarding claim 49, YAO discloses a method of charging control for a communication network, the method performed by a charging node associated with the communication network (para 02, wireless communications. For example, some embodiments may relate to solutions for converged charging for edge enabling infrastructure resource usage, para 28, generates charging data related to the collected performance data and sends charging data request for the CHF to process the related charging data for CDR generation purpose) and comprising: receiving a request originating from an edge Charging Function (eCHF) (para 24, The charging for edge enabling infrastructure resources supported with CTF embedded in the MnS producer or with CEF to enable the charging, para 208, cause performance assurance management services (MnS) producer supporting a charging trigger function (CTF) to receive measurement report information from a network), requesting a quota for authorizing consumption by a first user terminal of an edge service provided by the communication network (para 31, Request operational state if the quota of the edge enabling infrastructure resource, para 60, The CHF configured with quota and reporting threshold for 5GS inter-provider charging, para 62, Charging Data Request [Initial, quota Requested]: the SW′ sends request to the CHF), the first user terminal being a member of a defined group of affiliated user terminals (para 93, ANs of the RAN 1004 may each manage one or more cells, cell groups, component carriers, etc. to provide the UE 1002 with an air interface for network access, para 274, Cell group” refers to the subset of serving cells comprising the PSCell and zero or more secondary cells for a UE); granting a group quota usable for authorizing consumption of the edge service by members of the defined group (para 72, Charging Data response [Update, Quota Granted]: The CHF grants quota to SMF for the service, with the reserved number of units, para 49, sends the charging data request to the CHF for request Granting, para 65, Charging Data Response [Initial, Quota Granted]: the CHF Grants the reserved number of units). YAO specifically fails to disclose sending a response intended for the eCHF, indicating the granted group quota. In analogous art, CHAI discloses sending a response intended for the eCHF, indicating the granted group quota (para 04, The quota is the quota granted by system to CTF, indicating whether quota is based on whether the quota is applied to the charging system and charging system grants the quota based on application, para 67, CTF device 101 sending a first charging request to the CHF device 207, para 62, Quota usage reporting refers to: for granted quotas, reporting quota usage information, para 138, The first charging response carries the first event charging determined by CHF device and determined by CHF device is quota grant). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of aggregation of 5GS usage by CHF requires the CHF to be responsible for charging for the whole PLMN disclosed by YAO to use CHF device to determines event charging processing mode according to the event charging information, and processes the charging request according to the event charging processing mode as taught by CHAI to includes CHF device determines the event charging processing method according to the event charging information where CHF device obtains user information according to the user ID, and then CHF device determines the event according to the indication information indicating event charging, the user information and the parameter indicating the service category Billing processing method, where event billing processing method is direct deduction, offline event reporting or event quota application [ CHAI, paragraph 012]. Regarding claim 50, YAO discloses the method according to claim 49, wherein granting the group quota is performed responsive to the charging node determining that the eCHF is operative to decide locally-granted quotas from respective granted group quotas, for user terminals that are connected to the communication network at an edge location associated with the eCHF and are members of respective defined groups (para 49, generates charging data related to the Application Context Relocation request and sends the charging data request to the CHF for request granting, para 69, Charging Data Request [Update, Quota Requested]: the SMF sends the request to the CHF, to be granted with more unit, para 72, Charging Data response [Update, Quota Granted]: The CHF grants quota to SMF for the service, with the reserved number of units, para 49, sends the charging data request to the CHF for request Granting, para 65, Charging Data Response [Initial, Quota Granted]: the CHF Grants the reserved number of units). Regarding claim 51, YAO discloses the method according to claim 49, wherein granting the group quota is performed responsive to the charging node further determining that the first user terminal belongs to the defined group, based on accessing a data store that indicates group memberships for individual user terminals (para 72, Charging Data Response [Update, Quota granted]: The CHF grants quota to SMF for the service, with the reserved number of units, para 65, Charging Data Response [Initial, Quota granted]: the CHF grants the reserved number of units, para 93, ANs of the RAN 1004 may each manage one or more cells, cell groups, component carriers, etc. to provide the UE 1002 ). Regarding claim 52, YAO discloses the method according to claim 49, further comprising determining that the eCHF is operative to decide locally-granted quotas based on the request indicating that the eCHF is operative to decide locally-granted quotas (para 65, Charging Data Response [Initial, Quota granted]: the CHF grants the reserved number of units, para 72, Charging Data Response [Update, Quota granted]: The CHF grants quota to SMF for the service, with the reserved number of units, para 35, data to report the usage of edge enabling infrastructure resources. The CHF needs to create measurement job and subscribes to notifications for the performance data file reporting, para 58, CHF to support charging for 5GS supporting edge computing per edge application, para 141, method of a CHF supported by processors, and is configured to Receive from an entity the Charging Data Request related to charging for edge enabling infrastructure resources). Regarding claim 53, YAO discloses the method according to claim 49, wherein the response identifies the defined group and the user terminals that are members in the defined group, for use by the eCHF in locally identifying other members of the defined group that connect, or are connected, to the communication network at an edge location associated with the eCHF (para 07, FIG. 3 charging for usage of edge enabling infrastructure resources supporting a CTF, para 21, 5GS usage by CHF requires the CHF to be responsible for charging for the whole PLMN, para 65, Charging Data Response [Initial, Quota Granted]: the CHF grants number of units). Regarding claim 54, YAO fails to discloses the method according to claim 49, wherein the charging node comprises an Account Balance Management Function (ABMF) that includes or communicates with a Rating Function (RF) that determines the granted group quota. In analogous art, CHAI discloses the method according to claim 49, wherein the charging node comprises an Account Balance Management Function (ABMF) that includes or communicates with a Rating Function (RF) that determines the granted group quota (para 04, The quota is the quota granted by system to CTF, indicating whether quota is based on applied to the charging system, para 138, The first charging response carries the first event charging determined by CHF device and determined by CHF device is quota grant, para 57, The charging system 31 includes account balance management function (ABMF) device and a rating function (RF) device required performing charging. The ABMF device is used to store and manage user's account). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of aggregation of 5GS usage by CHF requires the CHF to be responsible for charging for the whole PLMN disclosed by YAO to use CHF device to determines event charging processing mode according to the event charging information, and processes the charging request according to the event charging processing mode as taught by CHAI to includes CGF device can be integrated in the charging system as a part of the charging system, or integrated in the billing device, as part of the billing device, or as an independent network element. [ CHAI, para 57]. Regarding claim 55, YAO discloses the method according to claim 49, further comprising deciding a size of the granted group quota based on at least one of: the edge service, or a known or estimated number of the affiliated user terminals at an edge location associated with the eCHF (para 72, Charging Data Response [Update, Quota granted]: The CHF grants quota to SMF for the service, with the reserved number of units, para 65, Charging Data Response [Initial, Quota granted]: the CHF grants the reserved number of units). Regarding claim 56, YAO discloses a charging node configured for charging control for a communication network (para 02, wireless communications. For example, some embodiments may relate to solutions for converged charging for edge enabling infrastructure resource usage, para 28, generates charging data related to the collected performance data and sends charging data request for the CHF to process the related charging data for CDR generation purpose), the charging node comprising: communication interface circuitry configured to send and receive messages, including requests and responses related to charging (para 28, generates charging data related to the collected performance data and sends the charging data request for the CHF to process, para 29, CHF received information, and creates a CDR related to the event, para 155, receive a Charging Data Response from the CHF); and processing circuitry operatively associated with the communication interface circuitry (para 124, processing circuitry 1112 may further implement one or more layer operations to transmit/ receive application data to/from a data network, para 139, process 1500 includes, at 1505 , receiving, from an edge client (EEC), an application context relocation request. The process further includes, at 1510 , generating charging data based on the application context relocation request. The process further includes, at 1515 , sending a charging data request that includes the charging data to a charging function (CHF). The process further includes, at 1520 , receiving a charging data response to the charging data request from the CHF) and configured to: receive a request originating from an edge Charging Function (eCHF) (para 24, The charging for edge enabling infrastructure resources supported with CTF embedded in the MnS producer or with CEF to enable the charging, para 208, cause performance assurance management services (MnS) producer supporting a charging trigger function (CTF) to receive measurement report information from a network), requesting a quota for authorizing consumption by a first user terminal of an edge service provided by the communication network (para 31, Request operational state if the quota of the edge enabling infrastructure resource, para 60, The CHF configured with quota and reporting threshold for 5GS inter-provider charging, para 62, Charging Data Request [Initial, quota Requested]: the SW′ sends request to the CHF), the first user terminal being a member of a defined group of affiliated user terminals (para 93, ANs of the RAN 1004 may each manage one or more cells, cell groups, component carriers, etc. to provide the UE 1002 with an air interface for network access, para 274, Cell group” refers to the subset of serving cells comprising the PSCell and zero or more secondary cells for a UE); grant a group quota usable for authorizing consumption of the edge service by members of the defined group (para 72, Charging Data response [Update, Quota Granted]: The CHF grants quota to SMF for the service, with the reserved number of units, para 49, sends the charging data request to the CHF for request Granting, para 65, Charging Data Response [Initial, Quota Granted]: the CHF Grants the reserved number of units). YAO specifically fails to disclose send a response intended for the eCHF, indicating the granted group quota. In analogous art, CHAI discloses send a response intended for the eCHF, indicating granted group quota (para 67, CTF device 101 sending a charging request to the CHF device 207, para 62, Quota usage reporting refers to: for granted quotas, reporting quota usage information, para 138, The charging response carries the event charging determined by CHF device and determined by CHF device is quota grant). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of aggregation of 5GS usage by CHF requires the CHF to be responsible for charging for the whole PLMN disclosed by YAO to use CHF device to determines event charging processing mode according to the event charging information, and processes the charging request according to the event charging processing mode as taught by CHAI to includes CHF device determines the event charging processing method according to the event charging information where CHF device obtains user information according to the user ID, and then CHF device determines the event according to the indication information indicating event charging, the user information and the parameter indicating the service category Billing processing method, where event billing processing method is direct deduction, offline event reporting or event quota application [ CHAI, paragraph 012]. Regarding claim 57, YAO discloses the charging node according to claim 56, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to grant the group quota, rather than an individual quota, responsive to determining that the eCHF is operative to decide locally-granted quotas from respective granted group quotas, for user terminals that are connected to the communication network at an edge location associated with the eCHF and are members of respective defined groups (para 58, CHF to support charging for 5GS supporting edge computing per edge application, para 141, method of a CHF supported by processors, and is configured to Receive from an entity the Charging Data Request related to charging for edge enabling infrastructure resources, para 260, UE include any type of wireless/wired device or any computing device including a wireless communications interface, para 07, FIG. 3 charging for usage of edge enabling infrastructure resources (with producer supporting a CTF)). Regarding claim 58, YAO discloses the charging node according to claim 57, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to grant the group quota, rather than an individual quota, responsive to the charging node further determining that the first user terminal belongs to the defined group, based on accessing a data store that indicates group memberships for individual user terminals (para 07, FIG. 3 charging for usage of edge enabling infrastructure resources supporting a CTF, para 24, The charging for edge enabling infrastructure resources supported with CTF to enable the charging), para 21, 5GS usage by CHF requires the CHF to be responsible for charging for the whole PLMN, para 62, Charging Data Request [Initial, Quota Requested]: the SW′ sends the request to the CHF to reserve a number of units, para 65, Charging Data Response [Initial, Quota Granted]: the CHF grants the reserved number of units). Regarding claim 59, YAO discloses the charging node according to claim 57, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine that the eCHF is operative to decide locally-granted quotas based on the request indicating that the eCHF is operative to decide locally-granted quotas (para 07, FIG. 3 charging for usage of edge enabling infrastructure resources supporting a CTF, para 21, 5GS usage by CHF requires the CHF to be responsible for charging for the whole PLMN, para 65, Charging Data Response [Initial, Quota Granted]: the CHF grants number of units). Regarding claim 60, YAO discloses the charging node according to claim 56, wherein the response identifies the defined group and the user terminals that are members in the defined group, for use by the eCHF in locally identifying other members of the defined group that connect, or are connected, to the communication network at an edge location associated with the eCHF (para 07, FIG. 3 charging for usage of edge enabling infrastructure resources supporting a CTF, para 21, 5GS usage by CHF requires the CHF to be responsible for charging for the whole PLMN, para 65, Charging Data Response [Initial, Quota Granted]: the CHF grants number of units). Regarding claim 61, YAO fails to discloses the charging node according to claim 56, wherein the charging node comprises an Account Balance Management Function (ABMF) that includes or communicates with a Rating Function (RF) that determines the granted group quota. In analogous art, CHAI discloses the charging node according to claim 56, wherein the charging node comprises an Account Balance Management Function (ABMF) that includes or communicates with a Rating Function (RF) that determines the granted group quota (para 04, The quota is quota granted by system to CTF, indicating whether quota is based on applied to charging system, para 138, The charging response carries event charging determined by CHF device and determined by CHF device is quota grant, para 57, The charging system 31 includes account balance management function (ABMF) device and a rating function (RF) device required performing charging. The ABMF device is used to store and manage user's account). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of aggregation of 5GS usage by CHF requires the CHF to be responsible for charging for the whole PLMN disclosed by YAO to use CHF device to determines event charging processing mode according to the event charging information, and processes the charging request according to the event charging processing mode as taught by CHAI to includes CGF device can be integrated in the charging system as a part of the charging system, or integrated in the billing device, as part of the billing device, or as an independent network element. [ CHAI, para 57]. Regarding claim 62, YAO discloses the charging node according to claim 56, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to decide a size of the granted group quota based on at least one of: the edge service, or a known or estimated number of the affiliated user terminals at an edge location associated with the eCHF (para 72, Charging Data Response [Update, Quota granted]: The CHF grants quota to SMF for the service, with the reserved number of units, para 65, Charging Data Response [Initial, Quota granted]: the CHF grants the reserved number of units). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Mirza Alam whose telephone number is (469) 295-9286. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday 7:30AM-6:00PM (EST). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Steven Lim can be reached on 571-270-1210. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for Published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MIRZA F ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688 Application/Control Number: 18/836,063 Page 2 Art Unit: 2688 Application/Control Number: 18/836,063 Page 3 Art Unit: 2688 Application/Control Number: 18/836,063 Page 4 Art Unit: 2688 Application/Control Number: 18/836,063 Page 5 Art Unit: 2688 Application/Control Number: 18/836,063 Page 6 Art Unit: 2688 Application/Control Number: 18/836,063 Page 7 Art Unit: 2688 Application/Control Number: 18/836,063 Page 8 Art Unit: 2688 Application/Control Number: 18/836,063 Page 9 Art Unit: 2688 Application/Control Number: 18/836,063 Page 10 Art Unit: 2688 Application/Control Number: 18/836,063 Page 11 Art Unit: 2688 Application/Control Number: 18/836,063 Page 12 Art Unit: 2688 Application/Control Number: 18/836,063 Page 13 Art Unit: 2688 Application/Control Number: 18/836,063 Page 14 Art Unit: 2688 Application/Control Number: 18/836,063 Page 15 Art Unit: 2688 Application/Control Number: 18/836,063 Page 16 Art Unit: 2688 Application/Control Number: 18/836,063 Page 17 Art Unit: 2688 Application/Control Number: 18/836,063 Page 18 Art Unit: 2688 Application/Control Number: 18/836,063 Page 19 Art Unit: 2688 Application/Control Number: 18/836,063 Page 20 Art Unit: 2688 Application/Control Number: 18/836,063 Page 21 Art Unit: 2688 Application/Control Number: 18/836,063 Page 22 Art Unit: 2688 Application/Control Number: 18/836,063 Page 23 Art Unit: 2688 Application/Control Number: 18/836,063 Page 24 Art Unit: 2688 Application/Control Number: 18/836,063 Page 25 Art Unit: 2688 Application/Control Number: 18/836,063 Page 26 Art Unit: 2688