DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities. Claim 7 recites the limitation “an opening that exposing part of the binding pad” in lines 2-3 of the claim. For the purpose of this office action, the limitation is interpreted to have the following meaning: an opening that exposes part of the binding pad. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 10-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations "the orthographic projection of the first region" in lines 5-6 of the claim, the limitation “the orthographic projection of the light-emitting element” in lines 6-7 of the claim, the limitation “the orthographic projection of the second region” in line 7 of the claim, and the limitation “the outer side of the orthographic projection of the light-emitting element” in line 8 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the distance" in line 1 of the claim, the limitation “the edge of the binding pad” in lines 1-2 of the claim, and the limitation “the size of the light-emitting element” in lines 2-3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the bottom of the trench" in line 2 of the claim, the limitation “the side wall of the trench” in line 2 of the claim, and the limitation “the edge of the second pad” in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the region" in line 3 of the claim, and the limitation “the pins” in line 4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the orthographic projection of the light-shielding layer" in lines 2-3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the orthographic projection of the first region" in lines 9-10 of the claim, the limitation “the orthographic projection of the light-emitting element” in lines 10-11 of the claim, the limitation “the orthographic projection of the second region” in lines 11-12 of the claim, and the limitation “the outer side” in line 12 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the lower surface" in line 4 of the claim, the limitation “the top of the backplane” in line 8 of the claim, and the limitation “the light-emitting elements” in lines 8-9 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sounart et al. (US PGPub 20200303611 A1; hereinafter referred to as "Sounart”).
Re claim 1: Sounart teaches a display substrate, comprising a first substrate and a backplane arranged in a sequentially laminated manner (FIG. 2E: el. 217; para. 5, 21, 29| display substrate includes backplane 217 which includes both a backplane substrate and active pixel circuit layers (para. 29) formed on the backplane substrate; the active pixel circuit layers of the backplane 217 of Sounart align with the description of a backplane of the instant application (para. 58)), and a light-emitting element (FIG. 2E: el. 214a’; para. 32), wherein a binding pad (FIG. 2E: el. 218; para. 29) correspondingly connected to the light-emitting element is arranged on a side of the backplane away from the first substrate (FIG. 2E: el. 218, 214a’, 217; para. 21, 29-32), and a pin (FIG. 2E: el. 216’; para. 32) of the light-emitting element is electrically connected to the binding pad (para. 32), wherein the binding pad comprises a first region and a second region (annotated FIG. 2E: el. 1st region, 2nd region| annotated FIG. 2E provided below), the orthographic projection of the first region on the backplane is covered by the orthographic projection of the light-emitting element on the backplane (annotated FIG. 2E: el. 1st region), and the orthographic projection of the second region on the backplane is arranged on the outer side of the orthographic projection of the light-emitting element on the backplane (annotated FIG. 2E: el. 2nd region).
Re claim 12: Sounart teaches a display device (para. 34), comprising the display substrate according to claim 1 (FIG. 2E; para. 34).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sounart.
Re claim 2: Sounart teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the distance between the edge of the binding pad and the light-emitting element in a first direction is 1/15-1/5 of the size of the light-emitting element in the first direction, and the first direction is parallel to the backplane (FIG. 2E: el. 218, 214a’; para. 29| Sounart specifically discloses a distance between the edge of the binding pad and the light-emitting element in a direction parallel to the upper surface of the backplane is 1/4 to 1/2 the size of the light-emitting element in the same direction (binding pad width is given to vary from 1.5 to 2 times the width of the light-emitting element and light-emitting element is centered in binding pad), and as per MPEP 2144.05(i), "in the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”).
Re claim 3: Sounart teaches the display substrate according to claim 2, wherein the distance between the edge of the binding pad and the light-emitting element in the first direction is 1/8 of the size of the light-emitting element in the first direction (FIG. 2E: el. 218, 214a’; para. 29, 50| Sounart discloses a distance between the edge of the binding pad and the light-emitting element in a direction parallel to the upper surface of the backplane is 1/4 to 1/2 the size of the light-emitting element in the same direction and further teaches the width of the binding pad as a result-effective variable for improving the manufacturing reliability and bond strength of the contact structure). In the absence of an indication that the claimed distance produces unexpected results or has criticality, it would have been obvious at the time of the effective filling date of the claimed invention to adjust the distance between the edge of the binding pad and the light-emitting element in the first direction, to achieve the claimed distance of 1/8 the size of the light-emitting element, as a matter of routine optimization.
Claims 1, 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US PGPub 20190251894 A1; hereinafter referred to as "Lee”) in view of Gardner et al. (US PGPub 20170373046 A1; hereinafter referred to as "Gardner”).
Re claim 1: Lee teaches a display substrate, comprising a first substrate (FIG. 25: el. 1; para. 4), and a light-emitting element (annotated FIG. 24, 25: el. 4; para. 4), wherein a binding pad (FIG. 25: el. 3; para. 4) correspondingly connected to the light-emitting element is arranged on a side of the upper layers of the first substrate (FIG. 25), and a pin (FIG. 25: el. 6b; para. 4) of the light-emitting element is electrically connected to the binding pad (FIG. 25: el. 6b, 3), wherein the binding pad comprises a first region and a second region (annotated FIG. 25: el. 1st region, 2nd region| annotated FIG. 25 provided below), the orthographic projection of the first region on the backplane is covered by the orthographic projection of the light-emitting element on the backplane (annotated FIG. 25: el. 1st region), and the orthographic projection of the second region on the backplane is arranged on the outer side of the orthographic projection of the light-emitting element on the backplane (annotated FIG. 25: el. 2nd region). Lee teaches that the micro light-emitting diode module can be used for a backlight module of a display or a micro light-emitting display (para. 20), but fails to explicitly disclose that the substrate is a display substrate, comprising a first substrate and a backplane arranged in a sequentially laminated manner.
In a similar field of endeavor, Gardner teaches a display substrate (para. 2), comprising a first substrate (FIG. 26: el. 400; para. 69) and a backplane (FIG. 26: el. 440; para. 69) arranged in a sequentially laminated manner (FIG. 26: el. 440, 400), and a light-emitting element (FIG. 26: el. 10B; para. 47), wherein a binding pad (FIG. 26: el. 420; para. 73) correspondingly connected to the light-emitting element is arranged on a side of the backplane away from the first substrate (FIG. 26).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee and Gardner, to enable using backplane of Gardner with the substrate of Lee, for the benefit of simplifying manufacturing by using a known process for forming a functional and controllable display containing light-emitting elements bonded to a substrate.
Re claim 4: The combination of Lee and Gardner teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the second region is enclosed around the light-emitting element (Lee – annotated FIG. 25, provided in Re claim 1 section, shows the 2nd region enclosed around an orthographic projection of the light emitting element 4, in the x-direction).
Re claim 5: The combination of Lee and Gardner teaches the display substrate according to claim 4, wherein the binding pad comprises a first pad and a second pad (Lee - annotated FIG. 25, provided below, labels the 1st and 2nd pads), wherein a trench between the first pad and the second pad is arranged on a side of the backplane away from the first substrate (Lee - annotated FIG. 25: el. trench| annotated FIG. 25, provided below, labels the trench formed on the same side as the binding pad and located between the 1st and 2nd pad of the binding pad; trench feature is also apparent between the 1st and 2nd pads of the binding pad 3 in FIG. 24), and the first pad and/or the second pad extend into the trench, so that the first pad and the second pad have spacing in the direction perpendicular to the backplane (Lee - annotated FIG. 25: el. trench, 1st pad, 2nd pad| both the 1st and 2nd pads extend into the trench so that there is a spacing between a portion of the 1st pad and an upper portion of the 2nd pad in the vertical y-direction perpendicular to the substrate plane).
Re claim 6: The combination of Lee and Gardner teaches the display substrate according to claim 5, wherein the first pad extends to the bottom of the trench, the side wall of the trench close to the second pad is arranged perpendicular to the backplane, and the edge of the second pad close to the trench is flush with the side wall of the trench close to the second pad (Lee - annotated FIG. 25, provided below, shows the 1st pad extending to the bottom of the trench, the edge of the 2nd pad flush with the side wall of the trench, and the vertical orientation of the trench sidewall close to the 2nd pad).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardner in view of Sounart.
Re claim 1 (alternate mapping): Gardner teaches a display substrate, comprising a first substrate (FIG. 26: el. 400; para. 69) and a backplane (FIG. 26: el. 440; para. 69) arranged in a sequentially laminated manner (FIG. 26: el. 440, 400), and a light-emitting element (FIG. 26: el. 10B; para. 47), wherein a binding pad (FIG. 26: el. 420; para. 73) correspondingly connected to the light-emitting element is arranged on a side of the backplane away from the first substrate (FIG. 26), and a pin (FIG. 26: el. 16; para. 142) of the light-emitting element is electrically connected to the binding pad (FIG. 26: el. 16, 420), wherein the binding pad comprises a first region and a second region, the orthographic projection of the first region on the backplane is covered by the orthographic projection of the light-emitting element on the backplane, and the orthographic projection of the second region on the backplane is arranged on the outer side of the orthographic projection of the light-emitting element on the backplane (FIG. 26: el. 10B, 420|the majority of binding pad 420 is covered by an orthographic projection of the light-emitting element 10B on the backplane while a minority section of the binding pad 420 is arranged on the outer side of the orthographic projection of the light-emitting element 10B on the backplane).
If applicant views Gardner as not teaching the first region and the second region of the binding pad, in a similar field of endeavor, Sounart teaches a binding pad (FIG. 4E: el. 418; para. 58) on a backplane (FIG. 4E: el. 417; para. 56) and a light-emitting element (FIG. 4E: el. 414a’; para. 58) connected with the binding pad (FIG. 4E: el. 418, 414a’). Sounart teaches wherein the binding pad comprises a first region and a second region (annotated FIG. 4E: el. 1st region, 2nd region |annotated FIG. 4E provided below), the orthographic projection of the first region on the backplane is covered by the orthographic projection of the light-emitting element on the backplane (annotated FIG. 4E: el. 1st region), and the orthographic projection of the second region on the backplane is arranged on the outer side of the orthographic projection of the light-emitting element on the backplane (annotated FIG. 4E: el. 2nd region). Sounart also teaches that a benefit of centering a solder feature and an LED on a contact binding pad with larger length and width dimensions is improved manufacturability and reliability (para. 29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gardner and Sounart, to enable using the binding pad with 1st and 2nd regions of Sounart in the display substrate of Gardner, for the benefit of improved manufacturability and reliability.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardner in view of Sounart as applied to claim 1 (alternative mapping) above, and further in view of Xue (US PGPub 20200168661 A1; hereinafter referred to as "Xue”).
Re claim 7: The combination of Gardner and Sounart fails to disclose the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the display substrate further comprises a passivation layer covering the backplane and the binding pad, and an opening that exposing part of the binding pad is formed by the passivation layer in the region corresponding to the pins of the light-emitting element.
In a similar field of endeavor, Xue teaches a light-emitting element (FIG. 2: el. 9; para. 43) connected to a binding pad (FIG. 2: el. 7; para. 47-49) on a display substrate (FIG. 2: el. 1; para. 47-49). Xue teaches a display substrate comprising a passivation layer (FIG. 2: el. 6; para. 67) covering the backplane and the binding pad (FIG. 2: el. 6, (2-5), 7), and an opening that exposes part of the binding pad is formed by the passivation layer in the region corresponding to the pins of the light-emitting element (FIG. 2| an opening in passivation layer 6 exposes part of the binding pad 7 to the pins 8 of the light-emitting element 9). Xue further teaches a benefit of the passivation layer is passivation and protection of the binding pads 7 (para. 67). Xue also teaches that a passivation layer can be formed underneath other protection layers, such as protection layers including silicon nitride (para. 67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Gardner and Sounart with the teachings of Xue, to enable using the passivation layer of Xue in the display substrate of the combination of Gardner and Sounart, for the benefit of providing passivation protection by passivating the binding pads.
Re claim 8: The combination of Gardner, Sounart, and Xue teaches the display substrate according to claim 7, wherein a light-shielding layer (Gardner – FIG. 26: el. 422; para. 77) is arranged on a side of the passivation layer away from the backplane (Xue – para. 67|Xue teaches that other protection layers, such as those containing silicon nitride, can be formed over a passivation layer which is formed in contact with the binding pads), and the orthographic projection of the light-shielding layer on the backplane at least completely covers the orthographic projection of the second region on the backplane (Gardner - annotated FIG. 26: el. 422, 420| protection layer 422, labelled in annotated FIG. 26 provided below, covers the entire surface of the backplane (except for areas corresponding to LED contacts) including covering portions of the binding pads 420 which protrude past upper contact features into the second region).
Re claim 9: The combination of Gardner, Sounart, and Xue teaches the display substrate according to claim 8, wherein the light-shielding layer is doped with an ultraviolet absorbent (Gardner - para. 77, 90|protection layer includes a material that either absorbs or scatters light at the laser wavelength of the laser beam which is given as an ultraviolet wavelength at 248 nm or 193 nm; one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of two predictable solutions for providing optical protection; absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to try each of the absorbing material and the scattering material to yield a layer which provides optical protection).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sounart in view of Li et al. (US PGPub 20160111605 A1; hereinafter referred to as "Li”).
Re claim 10: Sounart teaches a light-emitting element transfer assembly, comprising: a first substrate and a backplane arranged in a laminated manner (FIG. 2B, 2C: el. 217; para. 5, 21, 29| display substrate includes backplane 217 which includes both a backplane substrate and active pixel circuit layers (para. 29) formed on the backplane substrate; the active pixel circuit layers of the backplane 217 of Sounart align with the description of a backplane of the instant application (para. 58)); a binding pad (FIG. 2B, 2C: el. 218; para. 29) arranged on a side of the backplane away from the first substrate (para. 5, 21, 29; FIG. 2B, 2C), wherein the binding pad comprises a first region and a second region (annotated FIG. 2C: el. 1st region, 2nd region| annotated FIG. 2C provided below); a second substrate (FIG. 2B, 2C: el. 208; para. 30); and a light-emitting element attached on the second substrate (FIG. 2B, 2C: el. 214a’; para. 31-32), the orthographic projection of the first region on the backplane is covered by the orthographic projection of the light-emitting element on the backplane (annotated FIG. 2C: el. 1st region), and the orthographic projection of the second region on the backplane is arranged on the outer side of the orthographic projection of the light-emitting element on the backplane (annotated FIG. 2C: el. 2nd region). Sounart fails to teach a light-emitting element attached on the second substrate through a dissociable-adhesive; wherein the dissociable-adhesive is configured to dissociate after being irradiated by a target light, so that the light-emitting element detached from the second substrate falls into the binding pad.
In a similar field of endeavor, Li teaches a light-emitting element (FIG. 4: el. 22; para. 19) attached on a second substrate through a dissociable-adhesive (FIG. 4: el. 21; para. 18); wherein the dissociable-adhesive is configured to dissociate after being irradiated by a target light (para. 18), so that the light-emitting element detached from the second substrate falls into a binding pad (para. 24-25). Li further teaches a benefit of attaching light-emitting elements to a temporary substrate by a dissociable-adhesive, so that the light-emitting elements can be detached and fall into binding pads is the ability to transfer light-emitting elements with varying heights (for example LEDs of different emission colors) all at the same time and with more uniform bond strengths (para. 3, 25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sounart and Li, to enable using the dissociable-adhesive of Li to attach the light-emitting elements and the second substrate of Sounart, for the benefit of simplifying manufacturing by enabling uniform bonding of contacts to light-emitting elements transferred all at the same time without strict requirements on the type or height of light-emitting element.
Re claim 11: The combination of Sounart and Li teaches a light-emitting element transfer method, realized by adopting the light- emitting element transfer assembly according to claim 10, wherein the light-emitting element transfer method comprises: attaching the light-emitting element on the lower surface of the second substrate through the dissociable-adhesive (Li – FIG. 3: el. A); forming the backplane on the first substrate (Sounart - para. 5, 21, 29; FIG. 2A: el. 217), and manufacturing the binding pad at a preset position on the backplane (Sounart - FIG. 2A: el. 218; para. 29); moving the second substrate to the top of the backplane for alignment (Sounart - FIG. 2B; para. 30), so that the light- emitting elements on the second substrate are one-to-one aligned with the first region of the binding pad (Sounart - FIG. 2B; para. 30); and providing a target light (Sounart – FIG. 2C: el. 220; para. 33) on a side of the second substrate away from the dissociable-adhesive (Li – FIG. 4; para. 24), wherein the target light passes through the first substrate to illuminate the dissociable-adhesive (Li – FIG. 4; para. 24|target light passes through the substrate 21 to reach and illuminate the adhesive side of the substrate and deteriorates the strength of the adhesive), causing the light-emitting element to detach from the second substrate and fall into the binding pad (Li – FIG. 4; para. 24).
Conclusion
/D.G./ Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898