CTNF 18/836,150 CTNF 80125 DETAILED ACTION Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 1, 2, 4-12, 14-16, and 21-24 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 1, 2, 4-12, 14-16, and 21-24 include figure numbers included in parentheses. These are not part of the claims (due to the parentheses) and should be removed for clarity. In line 5 of claim 21, the phrase “to a first wireless device” should be changed to “to the first wireless device” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1-16 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention . Regarding claim 1 : In line 10, the phrase “with the proviso” is unclear. It is unclear whether the phrase indicates that the following limitation is included in the claim (and similar to “wherein”), or if the phrase indicates that the following limitation may be included in the claim and if so, part of the limitation applies (similar to “in the case that”). The dictionary definition of “proviso” (American Heritage College Dictionary, fourth edition) is “a clause in a document making a qualification, condition, or restriction”. If this is a “restriction”, the claim is restricted to the limitation following the phrase “with the proviso”. (In line 10 of claim 1, this would require the first information to indicate that that first cell lacks support for the first wireless device having the reduced capability.) However, if this proviso is a “qualification” or “condition”, the limitation after the phrase “with the proviso” may be interpreted as optional or qualifying a particular situation related to the claim. (In line 10 of claim 1, this could mean that the phrase is interpreted to be equivalent to “wherein, with the proviso in the case that the first information indicates the first cell ( 121) lacks support for the first wireless device ( 131) having the reduced capability, …”). Since the uncommon phrase “with the proviso” introduces uncertainty to the claim, it must be reworded to clarify the intended claim scope. Many other claims (including claims 2, 8, 11, 12, 21, and 22) include the phrase “with the proviso” and are similarly indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Regarding claim 21 : the claim is directed to “a first wireless device”, but the device is defined only by its performed functions (“obtain” and “send”). The claimed first wireless device does not include any structural elements. As such, it is unclear if the scope of the claim is intended to be a process or an apparatus. If the claim scope is intended to be an apparatus/device, the claim should be amended to include the structural elements of the apparatus/device. Regarding claims 3, 13, and 23 : the claim limitations “any indication is any information element” and “any indication is any report” are unclear. For example, it is not clear what indications are limited by the phrase “any indication”. It does not appear to limit a particular claimed indication, but merely states that any indication (used in any system anywhere) is “any” information element/report. These limitations should be amended to clarify the intended claim scope. Regarding claim 10 : the limitation “initiating (204) performing a handover to the first cell (121) based on the sent first indication or the indication different than the first indication” appears to disclose initiating a handover by a device that has reduced capability to a cell that does not support devices with reduced capability. This does not make sense without additional limitations indicating the steps leading to this action. This appears to contradict the statement in 7:33-34 of Applicant’s specification that “[t]he methods described herein may be understood to aim to not allow a RedCap UE to be handed off to a network node that does not support the RedCap feature ”. Dependent claims 2-10, 12-16, and 22-24 depend from one of the above claims and are thus similarly indefinite for the reasons stated above. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-9, 11-15, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xie et al (US 2024/0284273) . Regarding claim 1 : Xie discloses a method performed by a first wireless device (see the terminal device in [0041]-[0052], for example; see also the first terminal device of Figure 6, for example) , the method being for handling an indication, the first wireless device operating in a wireless communications network, and the method comprising: obtaining first information indicating whether or not a first cell supports service to the first wireless device having a reduced capability with respect to a group of second wireless devices (disclosed throughout; as indicated in [0041]-[0052], the terminal device may be a first type, such as a reduced capability terminal device; further, as indicated in [0045]-[0046], the terminal may determine “that the first cell supports serving the first type of terminal device” or “that the first cell does not support serving the first type of terminal device”; that is, the terminal obtains information indicating whether or not a first cell supports reduced capacity terminals; see also Figure 6 and [0239]-[0250], for example) , and sending a first indication to a first network node (disclosed throughout; see the report (indication) of measurement results sent to a source access network device (a first network node)) , wherein the first wireless device is served by the first network node (the first network node is a source access network device and thus serves the terminal; see also the serving cell in [0247], for example) and the first cell is served by a second network node (disclosed throughout; the first cell may be served by a second network node such as the second access network device of Figure 4; as indicated throughout (see [0008], for example), the second access network device serves the first cell) , wherein the first indication indicates one or more measurements performed by the first wireless device on one or more cells, wherein, with the proviso the first information indicates the first cell lacks support for the first wireless device having the reduced capability, the first wireless device refrains from indicating any measurements performed on the first cell to the first network node in the first indication (disclosed throughout; see [0047], for example, which indicates “a measurement result reported to the source access network device does not include a measurement result of the cell that does not support serving the corresponding type of terminal device”; see also [0046], which indicates that when the terminal determines that the first cell does not support reduced capability terminals, the terminal may “skip[ping] reporting a measurement result of the first cell”; see also [0004], which describes measurement result reporting). Regarding claim 11 : Xie discloses a method performed by a first network node (the source access network device of the serving cell; see Figure 4 and [0247], for example) , the method being for handling an indication, first network node operating in a wireless communications network, and the method comprising: sending, to a first wireless device, first information indicating whether or not a first cell supports service to the first wireless device having a reduced capability with respect to a group of second wireless devices (disclosed throughout; as indicated in [0041]-[0052], the terminal device may be a first type, such as a reduced capability terminal device; further, as indicated in [0045]-[0046], the terminal may determine “that the first cell supports serving the first type of terminal device” or “that the first cell does not support serving the first type of terminal device”; that is, the terminal obtains information indicating whether or not a first cell supports reduced capacity terminals; see also Figure 6 and [0239]-[0250], for example; further, as indicated in [0247], “the first terminal device determines, based on neighboring cell information broadcast by a serving cell, a cell that supports or does not support serving the first type of terminal device” – that is whether the first cell supports reduced capability terminals) , wherein the first network node serves the first wireless device (the first network node is a source access network device and thus serves the terminal; see also the serving cell in [0247], for example) and the first cell is served by a second network node (disclosed throughout; the first cell may be served by a second network node such as the second access network device of Figure 4; as indicated throughout (see [0008], for example), the second access network device serves the first cell) , and receiving a first indication from the first wireless device, the first indication indicating one or more measurements performed by the first wireless device on one or more cells, wherein, with the proviso the first information indicates the first cell lacks support for the first wireless device having the reduced capability, the first wireless device refrains from indicating any measurements performed on the first cell to the first network node in the first indication (disclosed throughout; see [0047], for example, which indicates “a measurement result reported to the source access network device does not include a measurement result of the cell that does not support serving the corresponding type of terminal device”; see also [0046], which indicates that when the terminal determines that the first cell does not support reduced capability terminals, the terminal may “skip[ping] reporting a measurement result of the first cell”; see also [0004], which describes measurement result reporting). Regarding claim 21 : Xie discloses a first wireless device (see the terminal device in [0041]-[0052], for example; see also the first terminal device of Figure 6, for example) , for handling an indication, the first wireless device being configured to operate in a wireless communications network, and the first wireless device being further configured to: obtain first information configured to indicate whether or not a first cell is configured to support service to a first wireless device being configured to have a reduced capability with respect to a group of second wireless devices (disclosed throughout; as indicated in [0041]-[0052], the terminal device may be a first type, such as a reduced capability terminal device; further, as indicated in [0045]-[0046], the terminal may determine “that the first cell supports serving the first type of terminal device” or “that the first cell does not support serving the first type of terminal device”; that is, the terminal obtains information indicating whether or not a first cell supports reduced capacity terminals; see also Figure 6 and [0239]-[0250], for example) , and send a first indication to a first network node (disclosed throughout; see the report (indication) of measurement results sent to a source access network device (a first network node); see also [0004], which describes measurement result reporting) , wherein the first wireless device is configured to be served by the first network node (the first network node is a source access network device and thus serves the terminal; see also the serving cell in [0247], for example) and the first cell is configured to be served by a second network node, wherein the first indication is configured to indicate one or more measurements configured to be performed by the first wireless device on one or more cells, wherein, with the proviso the first information is configured to indicate the first cell lacks support for the first wireless device configured to have the reduced capability, the first wireless device is configured to refrain from indicating any measurements configured to be performed on the first cell to the first network node in the first indication (disclosed throughout; see [0047], for example, which indicates “a measurement result reported to the source access network device does not include a measurement result of the cell that does not support serving the corresponding type of terminal device”; see also [0046], which indicates that when the terminal determines that the first cell does not support reduced capability terminals, the terminal may “skip[ping] reporting a measurement result of the first cell”; see also [0004], which describes measurement result reporting). Regarding claims 2, 12, and 22 : Xie discloses the limitations wherein one of : with the proviso the first information indicates the first cell lacks support for the first wireless device having the reduced capability, the first wireless device sends any measurements performed on the first cell to the first network node in a different indication than the first indication, and with the proviso the first information indicates the first cell lacks support for the first wireless device having the reduced capability, the first wireless device refrains from indicating any measurements performed on the first cell to the first network node in any indication (disclosed throughout; see [0047], for example, which indicates “a measurement result reported to the source access network device does not include a measurement result of the cell that does not support serving the corresponding type of terminal device”; see also [0046], which indicates that when the terminal determines that the first cell does not support reduced capability terminals, the terminal may “ skip[ping] reporting a measurement result of the first cell”; see also [0004], which describes measurement result reporting). Regarding claims 3, 13, and 23 : Xie discloses the limitations wherein one of : - a) the first indication is a first information element and the different indication is a different information element, or any indication is any information element, - b) the first indication is a first report (disclosed throughout; for example, [0004] indicates that the terminal device “reports” the measurement result; and [0047] indicates that “a measurement result reported to the source access network device does not include a measurement result of the cell that does not support serving the corresponding type of terminal device”; thus, the first indication (that refrains from indicating any measurements performed on the first cell) is a first report) and the different indication is a different report, or any indication is any report (this limitation modifies the “different indication” that is claimed in the parent claims 2, 12, and 22 in the alternative; thus, this limitation is also optional as the details of this different indication are claimed in the alternative) , and - the first indication is sent/received in a Radio Resource Control, RRC, message . Regarding claims 4, 14, and 24 : Xie discloses the limitation wherein the first information is a configuration from the first network node (disclosed throughout; see [0247], for example, which indicates “the first terminal device determines, based on neighboring cell information broadcast by a serving cell, a cell that supports or does not support serving the first type of terminal device” – that is whether the first cell supports reduced capability terminals; this neighboring cell information is a configuration and is broadcast by the first network node (serving cell/source access network device); step S501 of Figure 6 is an example of this configuration, which as indicated in [0241] instructs the terminal to measure a first cell and at least another cell). Regarding claims 5 and 15 : Xie discloses the limitation wherein the configuration configures the first wireless device to perform measurements on frequencies where cells supporting service to wireless devices with reduced capability operate (disclosed throughout; see [0242], for example, which indicates “the measurement configuration information may include information about a to-be-measured frequency or cell, and may include information about a frequency of the first cell or information about the first cell”; as indicated in [0245], some of these cells may support the first time/reduced capability features of the terminal). Regarding claim 6 : Xie discloses the limitation wherein the first information is obtained in a broadcast from the first cell (disclosed throughout; see [0248], for example, which indicates “In another possible implementation, the first terminal device may determine the capability of the first cell in the following manner : determining the capability of the first cell based on system information of the first cell . For example, the first terminal device may obtain a SIBl of the first cell before measuring the first cell or when measuring the first cell, and determine the capability of the first cell based on whether first information is broadcast in the SIBl.”). Regarding claim 7 : Xie discloses the limitation of determining whether or not the first cell supports service to the first wireless device having the reduced capability with respect to the group of second wireless devices, based on the obtained first information (disclosed throughout; for example, see [0247], which indicates that “the first terminal device determines, based on neighboring cell information broadcast by a serving cell, a cell that supports or does not support serving the first type of terminal device” – that is whether the first cell supports reduced capability terminals). Regarding claim 8 : Xie discloses the limitation wherein the first wireless device performs at least one of the determining and the sending, with the proviso that an instruction is received from the first network node instructing the first wireless device to perform the determination (disclosed throughout; see [0241], for example, which indicates that “The measurement configuration information indicates the first terminal device to measure a first cell”). Regarding claim 9 : Xie discloses the limitation wherein at least one of : - the first information is comprised in Master Information Block, MIB, - the first information is comprised in System Information Block, SIB (disclosed throughout; see [0248], for example, which discloses that the first information may be received in a SIB1 block) , - the first information is comprised in SIB3/4, - wherein the first wireless device determines the first cell lacks support for the service to the first wireless device having the reduced capability based on the first information lacking an indicator explicitly indicating support for the reduced capability is provided (disclosed throughout; see [0248], for example, which indicates that the determination of whether the first cell supports reduced capacity is based on “whether first information is broadcast in SIB1”; thus, when first information is not broadcast in SIB1, the first cell lacks support for reduced capacity; see also [0050], for example) , and - the first wireless device is a RedCap User Equipment, UE (disclosed throughout; see abstract, [0005], and [0035], for example) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al (US 2024/0284273) in view of He ’249 et al (US 2023/0123249) . Regarding claim 10 : Xie discloses the limitations of parent claim 2 as indicated above. Xie does not explicitly disclose the limitation of claim 10 of initiating performing a handover to the first cell based on the sent first indication or the indication different than the first indication . However, He ’249 discloses a similar system involving a terminal/UE that supports reduced capacity and determines whether or not a cell supports reduced capacity. He ’249 further discloses that in a case that the available cells for handover do not support reduced capability, the UE can operate in a second mode that is not associated with reduced capability. In this situation, the UE will operate in the second mode and handover to the cell that does not support reduced capability. For example, see Figure 7 and the associated descriptions in at least [0148]-[0150]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xie to handover to the first cell when no other cells are available using a second mode as suggested by He ’249. The rationale for doing so would have been to enable the UE to continue communications via the network even in the situation that no cells supporting reduced capability are available . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al (US 2024/0284273) in view of He ’059 et al (US 2022/0361059) . Regarding claim 16 : Xie discloses the limitations of parent claim 11 as indicated above. Xie does not explicitly disclose the limitation of claim 16 of obtaining the first information from a second network node serving the first cell, and wherein the sent first information is the obtained first information . However, He ’059 discloses a similar system involving a terminal/UE that supports reduced capacity and determines whether or not a cell supports reduced capacity. He ’059 further discloses (see at least Figure 5) that the UE determines whether a first cell (neighbor BS) supports reduced capability (RedCap) UEs by receiving first information (see 520) from a first network node (the serving BS) that was obtained from a second network node serving the first cell (the neighbor BS). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xie such that the neighboring cell information is sent based on information received from a network node of the first cell as suggested by He ’059. The rationale for doing so would have been to ensure that the configuration information regarding the first cell’s support is accurate by obtaining the information directly from a device serving the first cell as suggested by He ’059 . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jang et al (US 12,477,588) discloses a method for accessing a network by a reduced capability device. Babaei (US 2023/0397064) discloses a method for handover for wireless devices with reduced capabilities. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Robert C Scheibel whose telephone number is (571)272-3169. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hassan A Phillips can be reached at 571-272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. Robert C. Scheibel Primary Examiner Art Unit 2467 /Robert C Scheibel/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 June 15, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/836,150 Page 2 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/836,150 Page 3 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/836,150 Page 4 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/836,150 Page 5 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/836,150 Page 6 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/836,150 Page 7 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/836,150 Page 8 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/836,150 Page 9 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/836,150 Page 10 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/836,150 Page 11 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/836,150 Page 12 Art Unit: 2467