DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Upon further consideration, claims 21-22 have been joined with the invention of Group I.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 15-22, in the reply filed on 15 July 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is not a serious burden to examine the inventions together. This is not found persuasive with respect to claims 23-32 because it is necessary to search for one of the inventions in a manner that is not likely to result in finding art pertinent to the other invention (including employing different search queries)
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 23-32 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 15 July 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noguchi et al. (US 2018/0223447 A1)(Noguchi).
As to claims 15 and 16, Noguchi discloses a foundation (i.e., initial) substrate for forming diamond. See the title. Noguchi exemplifies a substrate of Si (100) having an off angle of 0°, 4° or 8° in the [011] direction. See paragraph [0049]. An off angle of 0° is the same as having no off angle. Moreover, crystalline silicon has a cubic crystal structure. In the cubic system, a Si(100) substrate having an off angle in the [011] direction is the same as a Si(001) substrate having an off angle in the [110] direction as recited in claim 15.
It is noted that the cited portion of Noguchi indicates planes using parentheses, whereas the instant application indicates planes using braces {}. In crystallography, parentheses indicate a specific plane, whereas braces indicate a family of planes. For example, {100} indicates the family of specific planes (100), (010), (001), (
1
¯
00), (0
1
¯
0) and (00
1
¯
). Although there are technical differences between braces and parentheses in crystallography, it is believed they are functionally equivalent in the instant case when dealing with cubic crystal structures.
Similarly, the cited portion of Noguchi employs brackets [] to indicate a crystal direction, whereas the instant invention employs angle brackets <>. Brackets indicate a specific crystallographic direction and angle brackets indicate the family of equivalent directions. For example, <110> indicates the family of specific directions [110], [
1
¯
10], [1
1
¯
0], [
1
¯
1
¯
0], [011], [0
1
¯
1
]
, [01
1
¯
]
, [0
1
¯
1
¯
], [101], [
1
¯
01], [10
1
¯
]
, [
1
¯
0
1
¯
]
. Although there are technical differences between brackets and angle brackets, it is believed they are functionally equivalent in the instant case when dealing with cubic crystal structures. Applicants are invited to correct the examiner if these interpretations are incorrect.
Noguchi further discloses the foundation substrate may be {111} with an off angle of 2° to 15° in the <
1
¯
1
¯
2> direction. See paragraphs [0019]-[0020]. The substrate may be silicon (i.e., Si{111}). See paragraph [0035].
Noguchi discloses single crystal MgO and Ir laminated layers on the foundation substrate. See paragraphs [0049]-[0051].
As to instant claims 17-20, the MgO and Ir laminated layers were grown to possess the same off angle as the underlying substrate. See paragraph [0056]. Thus, the MgO and the Ir will be single crystal (001) with no off angle or an off angle in the [110] direction of 4° or 8°; or single crystal (111) with an off angle of 2 to 15 degrees with respect to the <
1
¯
1
¯
2> direction.
As to claim 21, Noguchi disclose an diamond layer grown on the Si(100)/MgO/Ir or Si(111)/MgO/Ir substrate. See paragraph [0067].
As to claim 22, Noguchi fails to disclose the crystal orientation of the formed diamond layer. The diamond layer of Noguchi is presumed to inherently be {111} or {100} because it is grown by heteroepitaxy and the underlying substrate is {111} or {100} oriented.
Double Patenting
Claims 15-22 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19-26 of copending Application No. 19/107,422 (‘422). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other
Claims 15-22 are completely encompassed by claims 19-26 of the ‘422 application.
Claims 20 and 23 of the ‘422 teach off angle ranges that overlap the ranges recited in instant claims 16 and 19-20, and overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shreck et al. (US 2013/0143022 A1) discloses forming single crystal diamond on a Si(001) or Si(111) having yttria stabilized zirconia and iridium layers on it. The Si(001) or Si(111) are off-angle substrates.
/David Sample/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784