DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D11 or D22 and further in view of D3.3
With regard to claim 1, D1 teach at least one of generating and selecting, with one or more electronic processors, a hybrid image associated with a first interpretation corresponding to a first value of a media parameter and a second interpretation corresponding to a second value of the media parameter, wherein the hybrid image includes a first visibility ratio between the first interpretation and the second interpretation (see D1 § 2: hybrid image generation with a first and second parameter; see also D2 abstract, § V-A ¶ 2, B ¶ 1); refining, with the one or more electronic processors, the hybrid image to create a refined hybrid image that includes a second visibility ratio different than the first visibility ratio (see D1 § 2: refined hybrid image can be created by modifying the parameters; see D2 abstract, § V-A ¶ 2, B ¶ 1: modifying the parameters changes the hybrid image, see also D2 § V-C: tuning the values); displaying, on a display of a first playback device, the refined hybrid image (see D1 abstract, § 3 ¶ 2: displaying the image; see also D2 § VII-B: image is displayed on phone screen).
D1 fails to explicitly teach receiving, with the one or more electronic processors, a first user input from a first user, the first user input related to a first perception of the refined hybrid image by the first user; determining, with the one or more electronic processors and based at least in part on the first user input, an optimized value of the media parameter; and providing, over a network, first output media to the first playback device in accordance with the optimized value of the media parameter, the first output media configured to be output with the first playback device.
D3 teach a first user input from a first user, the first user input related to a first perception of the see ¶ 19: user enters input related to distance of the user from the display device; see abstract, ¶¶ 16-17: depending on the user input, image parameters are changed or optimized such as contrast or luminance; see ¶¶ 69-71: transmitting over the network to the end user device).
One skilled in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. D1 and/or D2 is related to displaying hybrid images to an end user device wherein the hybrid image perception is dependent on the user distance to the display screen. Separately, D3 teaches user inputting information about the distance in order to modify the display parameters of the image. It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to incorporate known teachings of D3 into the configuration of D1 or D2 yielding predictable results. The motivation would have been to optimize the hybrid image based on the information of the user position relative to the screen to enhance perception of the image.
With regard to claim 14, see discussion of claim 1.
With regard to claim 15, see discussion of claim 1.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 or D2 and in view of D3 and further in view of D4.4
With regard to claim 2, D1, D2 or D3 fail to explicitly teach wherein the optimized value of the media parameter includes an approximate minimum resolution for approximate maximum quality of experience (minmax QoE resolution) that is personalized for the first user based at least in part on the first user input. D4 teaches approximate maximum quality of experience (minmax QoE resolution) that is personalized for the first user based at least in part on the first user input (see abstract, § III: determining maximum quality of experience for personalized parameter selection).
One skilled in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. D1 and/or D2 is related to displaying hybrid images to an end user device wherein the hybrid image perception is dependent on the user distance to the display screen. Separately, D4 teach evaluating quality of experience of the user in order to personalize parameters. It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to incorporate known teachings of evaluating quality of experience of the user as taught by D4 into the configuration of D1 or D2 in order to optimize the parameters of the image, yielding predictable and enhanced viewer experience.
With regard to claim 3, D4 teach wherein the optimized value of the media parameter includes an estimated quality of experience (QoE) transfer function that is personalized for the first user based at least in part on the first user input (see abstract, § III: quality of experience function). The motivation for combining the references it the same as stated above.
Claims 4-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AVINASH YENTRAPATI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672
1 Oliva, Aude, Antonio Torralba, and Philippe G. Schyns. "Hybrid images." ACM Transactions on Graphics (TOG) 25.3 (2006): 527-532.
2 Papadopoulos, Athanasios, et al. "Illusionpin: Shoulder-surfing resistant authentication using hybrid images." IEEE Transactions on Information Forensics and Security 12.12 (2017): 2875-2889.
3 US Publication No. 2012/0299817.
4 Zhao, Jialin, et al. "QoE prediction model with personalized parameters in IPTV domain." 2019 IEEE International Conference on Consumer Electronics-Taiwan (ICCE-TW). IEEE, 2019.