DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-10, 12-14, 40, 42, 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al (US 2023/0246781) in view of LIU et al (US 20240063991).
Regarding claim 1, 40, KIM et al (US 2023/0246781) discloses method performed by a User Equipment, UE, (312), the method comprising:
receiving, from a network node, first information that provides a Channel State Information Reference Signal, CSI-RS, configuration with a plurality of CSI-RS samples at different time instances (KIM: ¶119-120, ¶122, configuration information is received from a network node, by a UE, that configures the CSI-RS resources; ¶124, these resources are aperiodic i.e. at different time instances), wherein the plurality of CSI-RS samples are aperiodic (KIM: ¶124, these resources are aperiodic i.e. at different time instances), wherein the plurality of CSI-RS samples are triggered (KIM: ¶184, CSI-RS are triggered);
receiving, from the network node, second information that configures the UE to report Channel State Information, CSI, feedback based on the CSI-RS configuration with the plurality of CSI-RS samples (KIM: ¶124, ¶208, the CSI report configuration parameter is received by the UE which configures the CSI feedback of a terminal);
computing at least one or more aspects of a precoding matrix for each CSI-RS sample of the plurality of CSI-RS samples, in accordance with the second information (KIM: ¶172-173, ¶194-195, ¶218-219, a precoding matrix for each CSI-RS resources on which CSI-RS received representing CSI-RS samples); and
reporting, to the network node, either the at least one or more aspects of the precoding matrix for each CSI-RS sample of the plurality of CSI-RS samples or information derived therefrom, via one or more CSI-RS reports (KIM: ¶218-219, ¶240, ¶384, the precoding matrix aspects are reported to the base station for the one or more CSI-RS samples).
KIM remains silent regarding the plurality of CSI-RS samples triggered by a single trigger.
However, LIU et al (US 20240063991) discloses the plurality of CSI-RS samples triggered by a single trigger (LIU: ¶97, triggering a plurality of aperiodic CSI-RS based on one trigger).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of KIM would have been motivated to use the teachings of LIU et al (US 20240063991) as it provides reduction of overhead signaling (¶97) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of KIM with teachings of LIU et al (US 20240063991) in order to improve resource efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, KIM modified by LIU discloses method of claim 1. KIM modified by LIU remains silent, however, LIU discloses the plurality of CSI-RS samples are at different time instances within a single timeslot (LIU: ¶199, ¶240-247, aperiodic TRS (i.e. CSI-RS) may be repeated i.e. multiple CSI-RSs are in one slot).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of KIM modified by LIU would have been motivated to use the teachings of LIU et al (US 20240063991) as it provides ability to perform time/frequency tracking (¶199). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of KIM modified by LIU with teachings of LIU et al (US 20240063991) in order to enable time/frequency tracking (¶199).
Regarding claim 3, KIM modified by LIU discloses method of claim 1. KIM modified by LIU remains silent, however, LIU discloses wherein the plurality of CSI-RS samples are at different time instances, the different time instances comprise at least one time instance in a first timeslot and at least one time instance in a second timeslot that is different than the first timeslot (LIU: ¶199, aperiodic TRS (i.e. CSI-RS) may be repeated i.e. multiple CSI-RSs in more than one slot (across multiple different slots)).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of KIM modified by LIU would have been motivated to use the teachings of LIU et al (US 20240063991) as it provides ability to perform time/frequency tracking (¶199). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of KIM modified by LIU with teachings of LIU et al (US 20240063991) in order to enable time/frequency tracking (¶199).
Regarding claim 4, KIM modified by LIU discloses method of claim 1. KIM modified by LIU remains silent, however, LIU discloses wherein the different times instances are either: different Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing, OFDM, symbols within a single timeslot, or a same OFDM symbol in different timeslots, or different OFDM symbols in different timeslots (LIU: ¶209, ¶199, k OFDM symbols in a slot).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of KIM modified by LIU would have been motivated to use the teachings of LIU et al (US 20240063991) as it provides ability to perform time/frequency tracking (¶199). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of KIM modified by LIU with teachings of LIU et al (US 20240063991) in order to enable time/frequency tracking (¶199).
Regarding claim 5, KIM modified by LIU discloses method of claim 1 wherein the first information comprises information that configures the plurality of CSI-RS samples as different Non-Zero Power, NZP, CSI-RS resources in a NZP CSI-RS resource set (KIM: ¶122, ¶244, ¶342, resource set including the plurality of NZP CSI-RSs).
Regarding claim 9, KIM modified by LIU discloses method of claim 5 wherein the number of CSI-RS samples in the plurality of CSI-RS samples is equal to the number of NZP CSI-RS resources in the NZP CSI-RS resource set (KIM: ¶122, ¶244, ¶342, resource set including the plurality of NZP CSI-RSs).
Regarding claim 10, KIM modified by LIU discloses method claim 5 wherein the first information further comprises information that explicitly or implicitly indicates a number of CSI- RS samples in the plurality of CSI-RS samples (KIM: ¶122, the number of CSI-RS samples received are included in configuration information in an implied form of IDs of the CSI-RS resources).
Regarding claim 12, KIM modified by LIU discloses method of claim 5 wherein time- domain locations configured for at least some of the plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources in the NZP CSI-RS resource set are different (KIM: ¶377, ¶358, the NZP time domain characteristics are different making is aperiodic with different times of occurrences i.e. time domain locations).
Regarding claim 13, KIM modified by LIU discloses method of claim 5 wherein the first information further comprises one or more common parameters that are common to all of the plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources in the NZP CSI-RS resource set (KIM: ¶123, for each NZP CSI-RS resource set, parameters including repetition, trs-Info parameter is configured).
Regarding claim 14, KIM modified by LIU discloses method of claim 5 wherein all of the plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources in the NZP CSI-RS resource set have a same number M of antenna ports (KIM: ¶244, K number of ports for each resource set).
Regarding claim 42, 50, KIM discloses a method performed by a network node, the method comprising:
sending, to a UE, first information that provides a Channel State Information Reference Signal, CSI-RS, configuration with a plurality of CSI-RS samples at different time instances, wherein the plurality of CSI-RS samples are aperiodic, wherein the plurality of CSI-RS samples are triggered (KIM: ¶119-120, ¶122, configuration information is received from a network node, by a UE, that configures the CSI-RS resources; ¶124, these resources are aperiodic or periodic i.e. at different time instances; KIM: ¶124, these resources are aperiodic or periodic i.e. at different time instances; KIM: ¶184, CSI-RS are triggered);
sending, to the UE, second information that configures the UE to report Channel State Information, CSI, feedback based on the CSI-RS configuration with the plurality of CSI-RS samples at different times instances (KIM: ¶124, ¶208, the CSI report configuration parameter is received by the UE which configures the CSI feedback of a terminal); and
receiving, from the UE, either at least one or more aspects of the precoding matrix for each CSI-RS sample of the plurality of CSI-RS samples or information derived therefrom, via one or more CSI-RS reports (KIM: ¶194-195, ¶197, the precoding matrix is constructed based on received the plurality of CSI-RS samples).
KIM remains silent regarding the plurality of CSI-RS samples triggered by a single trigger.
However, LIU et al (US 20240063991) discloses the plurality of CSI-RS samples triggered by a single trigger (LIU: ¶97, triggering a plurality of aperiodic CSI-RS based on one trigger).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of KIM would have been motivated to use the teachings of LIU et al (US 20240063991) as it provides reduction of overhead signaling (¶97) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of KIM with teachings of LIU et al (US 20240063991) in order to improve resource efficiency.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM modified by LIU as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of JI et al (US 2023/0188280)
Regarding claim 6, KIM modified by LIU discloses method of claim 1 wherein the first information comprises information that configures:
a plurality Non-Zero Power, NZP, CSI-RS resources in a NZP CSI-RS resource set (KIM: ¶122, ¶244, ¶342, resource set including the plurality of NZP CSI-RSs);
KIM modified by LIU remains islent regarding, however, JI et al (US 2023/0188280) discloses a parameter that indicates that the plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources in the NZP CSI-RS resource set are to be interpreted by the UE (312) as the plurality of CSI-RS samples of a same NZP CSI-RS (JI: ¶263, the configuration information includes a parameter CSI-ResourceRep which indicates to the UE to consider plurality of CSI-RS samples received as samples of a same NZP CASI-RS resource).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of KIM modified by LIU would have been motivated to use the teachings of JI et al (US 2023/0188280) as it flexibility of (¶97) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of KIM modified by LIU with teachings of JI et al (US 2023/0188280) in order to improve resource efficiency.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM modified by LIU as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of MATSUMURA et al (US 2022/0210812)
Regarding claim 15, KIM modified by LIU discloses method of claim 14. KIM modified by LIU remains silent, however, MATSUMURA et al (US 2022/0210812) discloses that the mth (m =0,1,..., M - 1) antenna port for all of the plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources in the NZP CSI-RS resource set is the same (MATSUMURA: ¶73, all NZP CSI-RS resources in the resource set have the same antenna ports).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of KIM modified by LIU would have been motivated to use the teachings of MATSUMURA as it provides a way to enable accurate time and frequency tracking and improved doppler and mobility robustness. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of KIM modified by LIU with teachings of MATSUMURA in order to reduce mobility related effects on the communication.
Claim(s) 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM modified by LIU as applied to claim 5 above, further in view of PARK et al (US 2024/0237042)
Regarding claim 26, KIM modified by LIU discloses method claim 5 wherein the plurality of NZP CSI resources in the NZP CSI-RS resource set are aperiodic (KIM: ¶123-124, aperiodic NZP CSI-RS resource set), KIM modified by LIU remains silent regarding, however, PARK et al (US 2024/0237042) discloses a single Transmission Configuration Indication, TCI, state identity, ID, is configured for all of the plurality of NZ -CSI resources in the NZP CSI-RS resource set (PARK: ¶157, TCI state is the same for a resource set (plurality of CSI-RSs))
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of KIM modified by LIU would have been motivated to use the teachings of PARK as it provides a way to use the RRC IE which promotes efficient CSI-RS reuse. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of KIM modified by LIU with teachings of PARK in order to improve resource efficiency.
Regarding claim 27, KIM modified by LIU discloses CSI-RS resource set are aperiodic (KIM: ¶123-124, aperiodic NZP CSI-RS resource set), and
KIM modified by LIU remains silent regarding, however, PARK et al (US 2024/0237042) discloses a single Transmission Configuration Indication, TCI, state identity, ID, is configured for all of the plurality of NZ -CSI resources in the NZP CSI-RS resource set (PARK: ¶157, TCI state is the same for a resource set (plurality of CSI-RSs)) and the TCI being configured via an information element that defines the NZP CSI-RS resource set (PARK: ¶279 the configuration is in an information element that devices aperiodic CSI-RS resource set).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of KIM modified by LIU would have been motivated to use the teachings of PARK as it provides a way to use the RRC IE which promotes efficient CSI-RS reuse. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of KIM modified by LIU with teachings of PARK in order to improve resource efficiency.
Regarding claim 28, KIM modified by LIU discloses method claim 5. KIM modified by LIU remains silent regarding, however, PARK et al (US 2024/0237042) discloses Transmission Configuration Indication, TCI, state currently activated to the UE is applied to all of the plurality of NZP CSI resources in the NZP CSI-RS resource set (PARK: ¶157, TCI state is the same for a resource set (plurality of CSI-RSs)).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of KIM modified by LIU would have been motivated to use the teachings of PARK as it provides a way to use the RRC IE which promotes efficient CSI-RS reuse. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of KIM modified by LIU with teachings of PARK in order to improve resource efficiency.
Claim(s) 33-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM modified by LIU as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of ABEBE et al (US 20230198712)
Regarding claim 33, KIM modified by LIU discloses method claim 1, wherein the feedback is Type I CSI feedback (KIM: ¶259-260, CSI Feedback is Type 1 feedback).
KIM modified by LIU remains silent regarding, however, ABEBE et al (US 20230198712) discloses for each CSI-RS sample of the plurality of CSI-RS samples, the at least one or more aspects of the precoding matrix reported to the network node comprises a set of cophasing coefficients (W2) (ABEBE: ¶132-134, ¶136, cophasing coefficients are reported which is related to the PMI i.e. the precoding matrix index indicating the precoding matrix).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of KIM modified by LIU would have been motivated to use the teachings of ABEBE as it enables CSI reporting configuration that may be used to report time-correlated CSI in an efficient manner by utilizing various codebook types (¶10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of KIM modified by LIU with teachings of ABEBE in order to improve CSI reporting efficiency.
Regarding claim 34, KIM modified by LIU discloses method discloses claim 1 wherein the CSI feedback is Type I CSI feedback (KIM: ¶259-260, CSI Feedback is Type 1 feedback), and:
KIM modified by LIU remains silent regarding, however, ABEBE et al (US 20230198712) discloses for one CSI-RS sample of the plurality of CSI-RS samples, the at least one or more aspects of the precoding matrix reported to the network node comprises a set of cophasing coefficient (W2) (ABEBE: ¶139, ¶140, for CSI-RS resource at N=3, co-phasing coefficient indicators are reported); and
for each remaining CSI-RS sample of the plurality of CSI-RS samples, the at least one or more aspects of the precoding matrix reported to the network node comprises a phase difference of each coefficient of W2 for the remaining CSI-RS sample and a respective coefficient of W2 for the one CSI-RS sample (ABEBE: ¶140, Fig. 14, for remaining CSI-RS resources at N-1, a correction/difference of cophasing coefficients is derived and reported).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of KIM modified by LIU would have been motivated to use the teachings of ABEBE as it enables CSI reporting configuration that may be used to report time-correlated CSI in an efficient manner by utilizing various codebook types (¶10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of KIM modified by LIU with teachings of ABEBE in order to improve CSI reporting efficiency.
Regarding claim 35, KIM modified by LIU modified by ABEBE discloses method claim 33 wherein, for at least one CSI-RS sample of the plurality of CSI-RS samples, the at least one or more aspects of the precoding matrix reported to the network node comprises a matrix (W1) that contains information of one or more selected Discrete Fourier Transform, DFT, beams (KIM: ¶260, type I CSI feedback; ABEBE: ¶134-136, ¶117, Fig. 6, the matrix contains at least one DFT vector (beam)).
Regarding claim 36, KIM modified by LIU discloses method of claim 1 wherein the CSI feedback is Type II CSI feedback (KIM: ¶192-194, Type II codebook feedback)
KIM modified by LIU remains silent regarding, however, ABEBE et al (US 20230198712) discloses for each CSI-RS sample of the plurality of CSI-RS samples, the at least one or more aspects of the precoding matrix reported to the network node comprises a set of cophasing coefficient (W2) and a selected set of Frequency Domain, FD, basis vectors (ABEBE: ¶148-149, ¶157, the precoding matrix aspect reported includes cophasing coefficients for the CSI-RS samples received by the UE and a selected FD basis information).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of KIM modified by LIU would have been motivated to use the teachings of ABEBE as it enables CSI reporting configuration that may be used to report time-correlated CSI in an efficient manner by utilizing various codebook types (¶10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of KIM modified by LIU with teachings of ABEBE in order to improve CSI reporting efficiency.
Regarding claim 37, KIM modified by LIU discloses method of claim 1 wherein the CSI feedback is Type II CSI feedback (KIM: ¶192-194, Type II codebook feedback) and:
KIM modified by LIU remains silent regarding, however, ABEBE et al (US 20230198712) discloses for one CSI-RS sample of the plurality of CSI-RS samples, the at least one or more aspects of the precoding matrix reported to the network node comprises a set of cophasing coefficient (W2) and a selected set of Frequency Domain, FD, basis vectors (ABEBE: ¶147, for CSI-RS resource at 1 through N, co-phasing coefficient indicators are reported); and
for each remaining CSI-RS sample of the plurality of CSI-RS samples, the at least one or more aspects of the precoding matrix reported to the network node comprises a phase difference of each coefficient of W2 for the remaining CSI-RS sample and a respective coefficient of W2 for the one CSI-RS sample and a selected set of Frequency Domain, FD, basis vectors (ABEBE: ¶148, Fig. 15, for remaining CSI-RS resources at N-1, a correction/difference of cophasing coefficients is derived and reported).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of KIM modified by LIU would have been motivated to use the teachings of ABEBE as it enables CSI reporting configuration that may be used to report time-correlated CSI in an efficient manner by utilizing various codebook types (¶10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of KIM modified by LIU with teachings of ABEBE in order to improve CSI reporting efficiency.
Regarding claim 38, KIM modified by LIU modified by ABEBE discloses method of claim 36 wherein, for at least one CSI-RS sample of the plurality of CSI-RS samples, the at least one or more aspects of the precoding matrix reported to the network node comprises a matrix (W1) that contains information of one or more selected Discrete Fourier Transform, DFT, beams (KIM: ¶260, type I CSI feedback; ABEBE: ¶134-136, ¶117, Fig. 6, the matrix contains at least one DFT vector (beam)).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of KIM modified by LIU would have been motivated to use the teachings of ABEBE as it enables CSI reporting configuration that may be used to report time-correlated CSI in an efficient manner by utilizing various codebook types (¶10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of KIM modified by LIU with teachings of ABEBE in order to improve CSI reporting efficiency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See attached PTO-892
Document U discloses that beamforming and precoding/combining are techniques aimed at processing multiantenna signals at the transmitter and/or at the receiver of a wireless communication system. While they have been routinely used to improve performance in current and previous generations of mobile communications systems, they are expected to play a more fundamental role in 5th Generation (5G) New Radio (NR) cellular systems, whose functionalities have been defined in the first phase of 3GPP 5G standardization process. Besides operating in traditional cellular sub-6 GHz frequency band, 5G NR has been natively designed also to work in the higher millimeter-wave (MMW) band. At lower frequencies, multiantenna techniques for 5G NR are mainly refinements of those originally designed for 4G Long Term Evolution (LTE). On the contrary, to cope with the peculiarities of MMW scenarios, such as the larger number of antenna elements, the more directional transmission, and the higher path loss values, new dynamic, user-specific, and computationally-efficient multiantenna solutions and procedures have been incorporated in 5G NR specifications. In particular, since multiantenna techniques for 5G NR generally need detailed channel state information (CSI), a complete redesign of the set of reference signals and procedures used for CSI acquisition and reporting was carried out. 5G NR is continuously evolving and new features will be added, while the existing ones will be enhanced in the second phase of 5G standardization, with emphasis on reduction of CSI overhead, robustness against spatial correlation among channels, unconventional transmission methods, and software-based reconfigurable antennas.
Document V discloses the millimeter wave (mmWave) frequencies offer the availability of huge bandwidths to provide unprecedented data rates to next-generation cellular mobile terminals. However, mmWave links are highly susceptible to rapid channel variations and suffer from severe free-space pathloss and atmospheric absorption. To address these challenges, the base stations and the mobile terminals will use highly directional antennas to achieve sufficient link budget in wide area networks. The consequence is the need for precise alignment of the transmitter and the receiver beams, an operation which may increase the latency of establishing a link, and has important implications for control layer procedures, such as initial access, handover and beam tracking. This tutorial provides an overview of recently proposed measurement techniques for beam and mobility management in mmWave cellular networks, and gives insights into the design of accurate, reactive and robust control schemes suitable for a 3GPP NR (NR) cellular network. We will illustrate that the best strategy depends on the specific environment in which the nodes are deployed, and give guidelines to inform the optimal choice as a function of the system parameters.
OMER S. MIAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2461
/OMER S MIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461