DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21 – 23, 25, 26, 33, 35, and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticiapted by Carcaterra et al. U.S. 2016/0348749 (“Carcaterra”). Carcaterra discloses a suspension system (abstract) for a wheel assembly of a vehicle (paragraph [0004]), the suspension system comprising:
a. a telescopic damper [0065] configured to mediate between respective sprung and unsprung portions of the wheel assembly;
b. a rebound spring (air spring, fig. 17) arranged to moderate wheel travel; and
c. a force-transfer system [00158] operative to apply a force (F(i)) to change one or more parameters of the suspension system (length, spring rate), wherein
i. the application of the force by the force-transfer system is effective in a first operating mode of suspension operation [0169] to change a length of the telescopic damper (height) and in a second operating mode of suspension operation [0011] to regulate a wheel rate of the wheel assembly (spring stiffness), and
ii. the force-transfer system is controllable to modify a wheel-travel value [0045] at which the wheel rate of the wheel assembly changes in the second mode of suspension operation.
In reference to claims 22, 23, 25, 26, 33, Carcaterra further discloses [[claim 22] the force-transfer system is controllable to modify a wheel-travel value [0049] at which the wheel rate of the wheel assembly decreases in the second mode of vehicle operation;
[[claim 23]] wherein the changing of the length of the telescopic damper is effective to kneel the vehicle [0154];
[[claim 25]] wherein the one or more parameters of the suspension system include a wheel-travel value (Table 10) at which the rebound spring is engaged in the second operating mode [0169];
[[claim 26]] further comprising an internal rebound cylinder (fig. 4 and 36) disposed within the telescopic damper, the internal rebound cylinder encompassing a rebound stop of the telescopic damper (fig. 4, and two stops in fig. 36);
[[claim 33]] an electronics array for controlling the operation of the force-transfer (control unit CC), wherein when the force-transfer is not energized, the suspension system is effective to operate, at a design ride height [0182], in a mode that does not include kneeling of the vehicle.
In reference to claim 35, Carcaterra discloses a suspension system [0154] for a wheel assembly of a vehicle (SS), the system comprising:
a. a plurality of telescopic dampers [0065] configured to jointly mediate between respective sprung and unsprung portions of the wheel assembly;
b. a rebound spring ([0052], 11, 12, 211, 212, 252, 253, 304, 354, EL1, EL2, 707, fig. 36, 905, 914) arranged to moderate wheel travel; and
c. a force-transfer system (abstract) fluidly connected to each of the plurality of telescopic dampers and operative to apply a force (abstract, [0004]) to change one or more parameters of each of the plurality of telescopic dampers (length, stiffness), wherein
i. the application of the force by the force-transfer system is effective in a first operating mode of suspension operation [0011] to change a length of each of the plurality of telescopic dampers (height), and in a second operating mode of suspension operation [0011] to regulate a wheel rate of the wheel assembly [0008], and
ii. the force-transfer system is controllable to modify a wheel-travel value (stroke) at which the wheel rate of the wheel assembly changes in the second mode of suspension operation (stiffness).
In reference to claim 37, Carcaterra further discloses wherein each one of the plurality of telescopic dampers comprises: i. a piston rod assembly [0052] including a rebound stop (218, 1, 5, 243, 247, 353, 132, 303, fig. 21, 608, 610, DC1, DC2, 708, 721, two in fig. 36; 906), and ii. an internal rebound cylinder (fig. 4, 36) disposed within the telescopic damper, the internal rebound cylinder encompassing the rebound stop.
Claim(s) 21, 22, 25 – 30, 35, and 37 - 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murakami et al. U.S. 2017/0282996 (“Murakami”). Murakami discloses a suspension system (fig. 2, rear suspension) for a wheel assembly of a vehicle (rear wheel), the suspension system comprising:
a. a telescopic damper (hydraulic damper) configured to mediate between respective sprung and unsprung portions of the wheel assembly;
b. a rebound spring [0004] arranged to moderate wheel travel; and
c. a force-transfer system [0040] operative to apply a force [0043] to change one or more parameters of the suspension system (damping force, length), wherein
i. the application of the force by the force-transfer system is effective in a first operating mode of suspension operation [0042] to change a length of the telescopic damper [0005] and in a second operating mode of suspension operation [0042] to regulate a wheel rate of the wheel assembly (damping vibration), and ii. the force-transfer system is controllable to modify a wheel-travel value at which the wheel rate of the wheel assembly changes in the second mode of suspension operation (fig. 15 – 19).
In reference to claims 22 and 25 – 30, Murakami further discloses [[claim 22]], wherein the force-transfer system is controllable to modify a wheel-travel value (fig. 15 – 19) at which the wheel rate of the wheel assembly decreases in the second mode of vehicle operation (by increased length);
[[claim 25]] wherein the one or more parameters of the suspension system include a wheel-travel value (fig. 15 – 19) at which the rebound spring is engaged in the second operating mode;
[[claim 26]] further comprising an internal rebound cylinder (222, fig. 7) disposed within the telescopic damper, the internal rebound cylinder encompassing a rebound stop of the telescopic damper (226);
[[claim 27]] wherein the rebound spring (21) is disposed within the internal rebound cylinder;
[[claim 28]] wherein the force-transfer system includes a hydraulic system [0004] in fluid communication with the internal rebound cylinder;
[[claim 29]] wherein the hydraulic system includes an external rebound cylinder (221), and the rebound spring is arranged within the hydraulic system to be compressible by pressure in the external rebound cylinder (fig. 7);
[[claim 30]] wherein the telescopic damper comprises a rebound striker (226) and a piston rod assembly (220) including a rebound stop (227b), the hydraulic system is arranged in fluid communication with an active chamber of the internal rebound cylinder (232), and the hydraulic system is controllable to regulate a pressure [0004] in the active chamber to change a position of the internal rebound cylinder relative to the rebound striker so as to kneel the vehicle at the wheel assembly in the first operating mode (fig. 9A), and/or regulate the wheel rate of the wheel assembly in the second operating mode (spring rate).
In reference to claim 35, Murakami discloses a suspension system (fig. 1) for a wheel assembly of a vehicle (21), the system comprising:
a. a plurality of telescopic dampers (two rear suspensions 22, [0032]) configured to jointly mediate between respective sprung and unsprung portions of the wheel assembly;
b. a rebound spring (210, fig. 8B) arranged to moderate wheel travel; and
c. a force-transfer system [0040] fluidly connected to each of the plurality of telescopic dampers and operative to apply a force [0043] to change one or more parameters of each of the plurality of telescopic dampers, wherein
i. the application of the force by the force-transfer system is effective in a first operating mode of suspension operation to change a length of each of the plurality of telescopic dampers (height), and in a second operating mode of suspension operation to regulate a wheel rate of the wheel assembly (spring rate), and
ii. the force-transfer system is controllable to modify a wheel-travel value at which the wheel rate of the wheel assembly changes in the second mode of suspension operation (fig. 15 – 19).
In reference to claims 37 – 40, Murakami further discloses [[claim 37]] wherein each one of the plurality of telescopic dampers comprises: i. a piston rod assembly (226) including a rebound stop (227b), and ii. an internal rebound cylinder (222) disposed within the telescopic damper, the internal rebound cylinder encompassing the rebound stop.
[[claim 38]] wherein the force-transfer system comprises a hydraulic system [0004] including: (i) a rebound cylinder (222) and (ii) a rebound spring (210) arranged to be compressible by pressure in the rebound cylinder, the hydraulic system being arranged in parallel fluid communication with, and controllable to regulate a pressure [0004] in, an active chamber of each respective internal rebound cylinder (232),wherein the suspension system is effective in the first mode of vehicle operation to kneel the vehicle at the wheel assembly [0003] and in the second mode of vehicle operation to regulate a wheel rate of the wheel assembly (spring rate);
[[claim 39]] wherein the hydraulic system includes an external rebound cylinder (221), a rebound-cylinder piston (220), and a rebound spring (210) arranged within the hydraulic system to be compressible by the rebound-cylinder piston;
[[claim 40]] wherein the hydraulic system is controllable to change a wheel-travel value (fig. 15 – 19) at which the wheel rate of the wheel assembly changes in the second mode of vehicle operation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carcaterra in view of A. Genugten, NL 1030146 C2 (“Genugten”). Carcaterra discloses a ride spring characterized by a rest length (static condition) but does not disclose kneeling the vehicle including compressing the ride spring to the fully compressed length. Genugten teaches kneeling the vehicle to its maximum compression (description, 2nd paragraph). One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find modifying Carcaterra such that it comprised the kneeling to be at a maximum compression in view of the teachings of Genugten obvious so as to kneel the vehicle with predictable results of providing the lowest possible position.
Claim(s) 31, 32 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami in view of J. Kopczynski, U.S. 5,797,607 (“Kopczynski”). Murakami discloses the telescopic damper as a first telescopic damper among a plurality of dampers [0033], the rebound spring is arranged within exactly one hydraulic system to be compressible by pressure in the external rebound cylinder, and the exactly one hydraulic system is in fluid communication, in parallel, with the respective internal rebound cylinder (fig. 9); and [[claim 32]] the force-transfer system comprises: a mechanical actuator (243) for changing a distance (fig. 9) between the rebound spring and a rebound striker (244) of the telescopic damper. Murakami does not disclose t among a plurality of telescopic dampers. Kopczynski teaches [[claim 31]] wherein the damper is a first damper of a plurality of dampers (71, 72) configured to jointly mediate between respective sprung and unsprung portions of the wheel assembly, wherein the force-transfer system comprises exactly one hydraulic system including the external rebound cylinder (fig. 5, 6, 17). Kopcynzki further teaches [[claim 36]] wherein the plurality of telescopic dampers comprises a yoked pair of telescopic dampers (abstract, fig. 3 – 6, 12 - 14). One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find modifying Murakami such that it comprised the plurality of dampers with one hydraulic system in view of the teachings of Kopczynski obvious so as to pressurize the fluid to the cylinders in a rapid manner which move and shift the weight of the vehicle when placed among multiple wheels to produce an action and provide improved traction over surfaces such as ice, mud, sand, and snow (column 7, line 6). Further, interconnecting the wheels by yoke pivots each of the links, transmitting to the other links thereby simultaneously raise or lower opposite wheels (column 1, line 15).
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carcaterra in view of Churukian et al. U.S. 11,591,011 (“Churukian”). Carcaterra does not disclose a steering system. Churukian teaches a steering system (abstract), wherein the external force-transfer actuator can be controllable, in a third mode of vehicle operation, to modify a rebound limit of the telescopic damper to regulate a maximum steering angle of the steering system (abstract). One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find modifying Carcaterra such that it comprised the steering system controllable to modify a rebound limit to regulate a maximum steering angle of the steering system in view of the teachings of Churukian obvious so as to limit the range of ride height based on the steering angle and alternatively control operation of the steering angle based on the ride height (abstract).
Conclusion
KAREN BECK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3614
/KAREN BECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3614