Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 04/15/2026 is acknowledged and has been accepted by the examiner. Claims 1 and 3-15 are pending in the application and have been examined. Claim 2 is canceled.
Regarding the rejection of claim 12 under 35 USC 112(b), the amendment made to the claim is sufficient to overcome the rejection made in the previous Office action. The rejection of this claim under 35 USC 112(b) is hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the applicants argument that Iawata does not teach the temperature and thickness measurement at the same point, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim language recites the temperature and thickness measurement units to measure the same point sequentially. The use of the phrase "sequentially measure" implies a relationship of taking a first measurement of a point, then a second measurement of the same point, which Iawata achieves. In Iawata, the thickness measurement unit is being depicted as inside the sensor head (26, Fig. 5; paragraph [0011] discloses the sensor head contains the thickness measurement unit). Next to the sensor head is a temperature measurement unit (44, Fig. 5). Further, Iawata discloses the film being measured is continuously transported below the measurement units (paragraph [0011] and [0012] disclose the sheet is continuously molded and transported past the sensors; Fig. 7 also depicts the path that is measured, which is a continuous line) in a direction that would cause the thickness measurement unit to measure a spot before the temperature measurement unit (Fig. 5 depicts the film S being transported from right to left, and depicts the thickness measurement unit 26 as upstream of the temperature sensor 44). Therefore, the thickness measurement unit would measure a point on the film and that same point would be transported downstream on the transport unit to then be measured by the temperature measurement unit.
Claim Interpretation
For the reasons given in the Office mailed 01/15/2026 the following limitations remain interpreted under 35 USC 112(f):
thickness measurement unit and temperature measurement unit in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 10, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwata (JPH01291107A).
Regarding claim 1, Iwata teaches an apparatus for measuring a temperature (paragraph [0006]) and a thickness of a film being extruded and coating molded (paragraph [0001]), the apparatus comprising:
a transport unit comprising a plurality of rotating rolls configured to transport the film being molded in one direction ('forming roll unit' - 14, Fig. 11);
a thickness measurement unit installed to be spaced apart from an outer periphery surface of at least one of the plurality of rotating rolls and configured to measure the thickness of the film being transported ('thickness meter' - paragraph [0005]; Fig. 11 depicts the thickness meter, 16, spaced apart from the rotating rolls, 14);
a temperature measurement unit disposed to be adjacent to the thickness measurement unit and configured to measure a surface temperature of the film being transported (paragraph [0011] discloses a temperature sensor is provided in the sensor head; 44, Fig. 5); and
a controller ('controller unit' - paragraph [0025]; 46, Fig. 7) configured to determine whether measured values measured through the thickness measurement unit and the temperature measurement unit deviate from reference values, respectively (paragraph [0030] discloses monitoring for thickness and temperature deviations),
wherein the temperature measurement unit and the thickness measurement unit are disposed on a same line as a transportation direction of the film so as to be able to sequentially measure the surface temperature and the thickness of the film at a same point of the film being transported (Fig. 5 depicts the thickness meter [inside the sensor head, 26] next to the temperature sensor, 44, thus on the same line of transport. As the film is being transported, the measurement units would measure the same point sequentially).
Regarding claim 3, Iwata teaches the invention as explained above in claim 1, and further teaches the thickness measurement unit and the temperature measurement unit are disposed in order from an upstream to a downstream of the transportation direction of the film (Fig. 5 depicts the transportation directions as moving to the right. The thickness meter, 26, is upstream of the temperature sensor, 44).
Regarding claim 5, Iwata teaches the invention as explained above in claim 1, and further teaches the thickness measurement unit comprises:
a guide rail disposed to be spaced apart in parallel to a central axis line of the rotating roll (30, Fig. 1);
a moving plate reciprocally coupled to the guide rail along a length direction of the guide rail through reception of a power ('sensor head' - 26, Fig. 1; paragraph [0005] discloses the sensor head moves along the guide rail in a length direction); and
a laser displacement sensor coupled onto the moving plate through a first bracket, and configured to measure the thickness of the film by irradiating a laser toward a surface of the film being transported by the rotating roll (paragraph [0016] discloses the thickness meter utilizes a laser sensor).
Regarding claim 7, Iwata teaches the invention as explained above in claim 5, and further teaches the first bracket is rotatably coupled at a predetermined angle along a transportation direction of the film with a first hinge shaft of the moving plate as a center of rotation, and is configured to adjust a laser irradiation angle of the laser displacement sensor (paragraphs [0004], [0018] discloses the laser sensor (located in the sensor head) is emitted at a predetermined angle of incidence; paragraph [0011] discloses the angle of the sensor head, and thus the laser sensor, is changed to ensure the light is always parallel to the transport direction of the sheet).
Regarding claim 10, Iwata teaches the invention as explained above in claim 1, and further teaches the temperature measurement unit and the thickness measurement unit are configured to measure a proximity location within 0 to 30 mm along the transportation direction of the film in case that the film is extrusion molded (as depicted in Fig. 5, the thickness (inside 26) and temperature sensors (44) are adjacent to each other. Fig. 5 also depicts the surface of the film moving to the right. Thus, the temperature and thickness sensor would measure the same location (meaning, the proximity location is 0mm along the transportation of the film). Paragraph [0001] discloses the film is extrusion molded).
Regarding claim 12, Iwata teaches a method for measuring a temperature and a thickness of a film (paragraphs [0009], [0010]), the method comprising the steps of:
forming a film through an extrusion or coating process (paragraph [0001]);
transporting the film being molded in one direction through a plurality of rotating rolls ('forming roll unit' - 14, Fig. 11; Fig. 7 depicts the film, S, being transported in one direction);
measuring a temperature of a film at a predetermined point by irradiating an infrared ray toward a surface of the film being transported by the plurality of rotating rolls (paragraph [0021]);
measuring a thickness of the film by irradiating a laser at the same or proximity location of the surface of the film of which the temperature has been measured ('thickness meter' - paragraph [0005]; Fig. 11 depicts the thickness meter, 16, spaced apart from the rotating rolls, 14), wherein the step of measuring the temperature of the film and the step of measuring the thickness of the film are performed on a same line as a transportation direction of the film so as to sequentially measure the surface temperature and the thickness of the film at a same point of the film being transported (Fig. 5 depicts the thickness meter [inside the sensor head, 26] next to the temperature sensor, 44, thus on the same line of transport. As the film is being transported, the measurement units would measure the same point sequentially);
determining whether measured values of the temperature and the thickness of the film deviate from reference values, respectively (paragraph [0030] discloses monitoring for thickness and temperature deviations); and
changing a condition of the film manufacturing process in case that the measured values deviate from the reference values, respectively (paragraph [0017] discloses correcting thickness errors in the film depending on the deviations in temperature and thickness; paragraph [0018] discloses improving the production based on detected deviations).
Regarding claim 14, Iwata teaches the invention as explained above in claim 12, and further teaches the step of measuring the temperature of the film is performed after measuring the thickness of the film (Fig. 5 depicts the transportation directions as moving to the right. The thickness meter, 26, is upstream of the temperature sensor, 44).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwata (JPH01291107A) as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Yagi (JPH05157522A).
Regarding claim 4, Iwata teaches the invention as explained above in claim 1, but fails to teach the temperature measurement unit and the thickness measurement unit are disposed in order from an upstream to a downstream of the transportation direction of the film.
However, in the same field of endeavor of sheet thickness measurement, Yagi discloses a device where the temperature measurement unit (22, Fig. 1) is upstream of the thickness measurement unit (21, Fig. 1; paragraph [0013]).
Iwata discloses that the temperature of the sheet is used to correct errors in the thickness measurement (paragraph [0009]). Yagi also discloses the temperature of the sheet is used to correct the thickness measurement of the film (paragraph [0015]), therefore in order for there to be no delay in correction, the temperature of film must be measured first (paragraph [0020]). Thus, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device of Iwata with the arrangement of the temperature measurement unit before the thickness measurement unit taught in Yagi in order to avoid delays in corrections of the film molding.
Regarding claim 13, Iwata discloses the invention as explained above in claim 12, but fails to teach the step of measuring the thickness of the film is performed after measuring the temperature of the film.
However, Yagi discloses a method where the temperature of the film is measured prior to the thickness of the film on the same line of transportation (Fig. 1 depicts the temperature sensor, 22, arranged before the thickness sensor, 21).
Iwata discloses that the temperature of the sheet is used to correct errors in the thickness measurement (paragraph [0009]). Yagi also discloses the temperature of the sheet is used to correct the thickness measurement of the film (paragraph [0015]), therefore in order for there to be no delay in correction, the temperature of film must be measured first (paragraph [0020]). Thus, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the method of Iwata with the measurement of temperature prior to thickness taught in Yagi in order to avoid delays in correction due to deviations in the film.
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwata (JPH01291107A) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Borkenhagen (US5028145A).
Regarding claim 6, Iwata discloses the invention as explained above in claim 5, and further teaches the moving plate is reciprocally coupled to the guide rail along a direction that crosses the length direction of the guide rail (Iwata: paragraph [0005] discloses the sensor head moves along the guide rail in a length direction).
Iwata fails to teach the moving plate is configured to adjust a gap distance from the outer periphery surface of the rotating roll.
However, in the same field of endeavor of measurements of a rotating roll, Borkenhagen discloses a moving plate (7, Fig. 1) which is configured to move towards or away from the outer surface of a rotating roll (column 3, lines 41-50).
Borkenhagen discloses that measurement sensors that come in to contact with the rotating roll will leave marks, while typical contactless sensors do not account for variable thickness (column 1, lines 48-61). Therefore, it is advantageous to have a contactless sensor which is capable of adjusting the distance between the sensor and measurement surface (Borkenhagen: column 2, lines 43-48). Thus, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the device of Iwata with the adjustable temperature sensor taught in Borkenhagen to avoid unwanted contact between the film and measurement device.
Regarding claim 8, Iwata discloses the invention as explained above in claim 5, and further teaches an infrared sensor configured to measure a temperature of the surface of the film that is transported by the rotating roll (Iwata: paragraph [0021]).
Iwata does disclose the temperature sensor being on a bracket (see Fig. 5), however it fails to disclose that the temperature measurement unit comprised a second bracket coupled to be able to move forward and backward along a direction that crosses a length direction of the rotating roll; and the infrared temperature sensor installed on that second bracket.
However, Borkenhagen discloses a temperature sensor (11, Fig. 1) installed on a bracket (12, Fig. 1) which moves forward and backwards along a direction that crosses a length of the rotating roll (the examiner is interpreting this to mean away or towards the rotating roll as shown in Figs. 1 and 2; arrows, 21, in Fig. 1 depict this motion).
Borkenhagen discloses that measurement sensors that come in to contact with the rotating roll will leave marks, while typical contactless sensors do not account for variable thickness (column 1, lines 48-61). Therefore, it is advantageous to have a contactless sensor which is capable of adjusting the distance between the sensor and measurement surface (Borkenhagen: column 2, lines 43-48). Thus, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the device of Iwata with the adjustable temperature sensor taught in Borkenhagen to avoid unwanted contact between the film and measurement device.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwata (JPH01291107A) in view of Borkenhagen (US5028145A) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Ruglio (US20090061075A1).
Regarding claim 9, Iwata in view of Borkenhagen disclose the invention as explained above in claim 8, and further teaches the infrared temperature sensor is rotatably coupled at a predetermined angle along a transportation direction of the film and is configured to adjust an infrared irradiation location of the infrared temperature sensor (Iwata: paragraph [0011] discloses a temperature sensor is provided in the sensor head; 44, Fig. 5; paragraphs [0004], [0018] discloses the sensor head is emitted at a predetermined angle of incidence; paragraph [0011] discloses the angle the sensor head is at is changed to ensure the light is always parallel to the transport direction of the sheet).
Iwata and Borkenhagen fail to teach the infrared temperature sensor is rotatably coupled with a second hinge shaft of the second bracket as a center of rotation.
However, in the same field of endeavor of thickness measurement, Ruglio discloses a device with an infrared temperature sensor (52, Fig. 1), which is held on a second hinge bracket (Fig. 4 depicts the temperature sensor, 52, at a different angle than the other sensors (88 for example). The examiner is interpreting this to mean it is on its own hinge bracket).
Ruglio discloses that having all sensors at different angles aids in measuring coating thickness despite rotation of the object being measured (paragraph [0026]). Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would find it obvious to combine the device of Iwata as modified by Borkenhagen with the second hinge taught in Ruglio in order to account for the rotation/movement of the film.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwata (JPH01291107A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Brayden (US6052191A).
Regarding claim 11, Iwata discloses the invention as explained above in claim 1, and further teaches the temperature measurement unit and the thickness measurement unit are configured to measure a proximity location within 0 to 100 mm along the transportation direction of the film (Iwata: as depicted in Fig. 5, the thickness (inside 26) and temperature sensors (44) are adjacent to each other. Fig. 5 also depicts the surface of the film moving to the right. Thus, the temperature and thickness sensor would measure the same location (meaning, the proximity location is 0mm along the transportation of the film)).
Iwata does not disclose the film is coating molded.
However, in the same field of endeavor of film thickness measurement, Brayden discloses a film thickness measurement device which measures the thickness of a coating (abstract).
Coating is a common and widely-known method of film processing (see supplemental material, "Film Processing Methods). Iwata discloses that temperature of freshly molded film affects the measurement of thickness sensors (paragraph [0006]). Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would find it obvious to apply the temperature and thickness measurement device taught in Iwata to the well-known and widely used coating molded film taught in Brayden in order to account for errors due to temperature fluctuations in thickness measurement.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwata (JPH01291107A) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Nagao (US4748331A).
Regarding claim 15, Iwata discloses the invention as explained above in claim 12, and further teaches measuring a distance measurement value from the film by irradiating the laser onto the surface of the film through the laser displacement sensor during film transportation using the rotating rolls (Iwata: paragraph [0029] discloses the laser sensor irradiates the surface of the film to calculate a distance);
and deriving the thickness of the film by subtracting the default value from the distance measurement value from the film (Iwata: paragraph [0029] discloses the thickness is derived by subtracting a default value (back of the film) from the distance measurement value (from the front of the film)).
Iwata fails to teach measuring an outer diameter of the rotating roll by irradiating a laser toward a surface of the rotating roll in a state where the film is not transported through a laser displacement sensor, and setting the measured outer diameter as a default value.
However, in the same field of endeavor of film thickness measurement, Nagao teaches a method where the distance to the surface of the roller is determined in order to determine the film thickness (roller - 1, Fig. 2; distance to roller - A, Fig. 2).
Nagao discloses that by initially measuring to the surface of the roller, any eccentricity of uneven surface of the roller can be accounted for in the thickness measurements (column 2, lines 35-40). Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to combine the thickness measurement method of Iwata with the default value being the distance to the roller taught in Nagao in order to account for the roller having an uneven surface.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Goto (US4871493A) - Fig. 2 depicts a temperature sensor 10 upstream of a thickness sensor 12. Similar to Iawata, the film 6 is being continuously transported, so the two sensors would sequentially measure the same point as it is being transported.
Schmitz (US20190232543A1) - Fig. 1 depicts two temperature sensors, 61 and 60, configured to sequentially measure a film, 1. Paragraph [0022] discloses the sensors measure continuously, meaning the sensors would measure the same point as the film passes them.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDRIA MENDOZA/Examiner, Art Unit 2877 /MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877