CTNF 18/836,655 CTNF 85318 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA 2. Claim s 40 and 49 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 40 and 49 recite these underlined acronym ‘ O-RAN ’ . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA 3. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 AIA 4. Claim 55 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Independent Claim 55 recites the limitation ‘……..measurement information associated with: the channel quality estimation, the calculation of the at least one beamforming weight, and the port reduction ’. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the underlined limitation(s). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA 5. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA 6. Claim s 39-42, 46-51, 55 and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Publication No.: US 2018/0213598 A1 to Osterling et al. ( Osterling ) as disclosed in the IDS, in view of Publication No.: US 2024/0267111 A1 to Visoz et al. ( Visoz ) . As to Claim 39 , Osterling discloses a method by at least one radio equipment, RE, of a network node comprising: with respect to input data and/or an input signal (Fig. 11, ‘the processing circuitry 210 controls the general operation of the RE e.g. by sending data and control signals to the communications interface 220 and the storage medium 230, by receiving data and reports from the communications interface 220, and by retrieving data and instructions from the storage medium 230’, ¶ 0108), performing: a channel quality estimation (‘a channel state memory is provided in the RE when beamforming weight determination is performed internally in the RE. For the reference symbols of the terminal devices that are scheduled to be measured, the reference symbol based Channel estimates are stored in the RE Channel State Memory. These stored channel estimates can be used for determining beamforming weights’, ¶ 0096; see also ¶s 0095 and 0103), a calculation of at least one beamforming weight (‘the beamforming weights can be calculated in the RE when the beam shaped antenna gain primarily is wanted for extended service coverage’, ¶ 0089; see also ¶ 0096); transmitting, to a radio equipment controller, REC (Fig. 11, ‘the RE may further comprise a communications interface 220 for communications with the REC. As such the communications interface 220 may comprise one or more transmitters and receivers, comprising analogue and digital components’, ¶ 0107). Osterling does not expressly disclose a port reduction; and measurement information associated with the channel quality estimation, the calculation of the at least one beamforming weight, and the port reduction. However, Visoz discloses a port reduction (‘in addition, the 7.2x split includes a functionality, implemented by the O-RU 21, referred to as port reduction 212, that reduces the number of streams to be transmitted to the O-DU. Thus, after processing 211 of the R radio-frequency signals received on the R reception branches, the number of streams to be transmitted to the O-DU is reduced by the port reduction 212’, ¶ 0021); and measurement information associated with the channel quality estimation, the calculation of the at least one beamforming weight, and the port reduction (‘thus, the port reduction must be based on other reference signals, for example the SRSs transmitted in the uplink direction with a relatively high periodicity (in the order of 40 ms). As part of the 7.2x split, the O-DU 22 estimates the channel based on SRS signals and sends it back to the O-RU (“channel information based beamforming” option in the O-RAN standard) or sends the port reduction precoding coefficients directly back to the O-RU (“weights based beamforming” option in the O-RAN standard)’, ¶ 0022). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘a port reduction; and measurement information associated with the channel quality estimation, the calculation of the at least one beamforming weight, and the port reduction’ as disclosed by Visoz into Osterling so as to effectively and improved split of functionalized between Radio Unit (RU) and Distributed Unit (DU) in wireless communication system, Visoz ¶ 0111. As to Claim 40 , Osterling further discloses REC and RE (Fig. 1, ‘Radio Equipment Controller (REC) 300’ and ‘Radio Equipment (RE) 200’ ). Osterling does not expressly disclose wherein the REC comprises an O-RAN distributed unit, O-DU, and the RE comprises an O-RAN radio unit, O-RU. However, Visoz discloses an O-RAN distributed unit, O-DU, and an O-RAN radio unit, O-RU (‘as part of the 7.2x split, the O-DU 22 estimates the channel based on SRS signals and sends it back to the O-RU (“channel information based beamforming” option in the O-RAN standard) or sends the port reduction precoding coefficients directly back to the O-RU (“weights based beamforming” option in the O-RAN standard)’, ¶ 0022). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘an O-RAN distributed unit, O-DU, and an O-RAN radio unit, O-RU’ as disclosed by Visoz into Osterling so as to effectively and improved split of functionalized between Radio Unit (RU) and Distributed Unit (DU) in wireless communication system, Visoz ¶ 0111. As to Claim 41 , Osterling does not expressly disclose performing at least one measurement during the performance of the channel quality estimation, the calculation of at least one beamforming weight, and the port reduction, and wherein the measurement information is based on performing the at least one measurement. However, Visoz discloses performing at least one measurement during the performance of the channel quality estimation, the calculation of at least one beamforming weight, and the port reduction, and wherein the measurement information is based on performing the at least one measurement (‘thus, the port reduction must be based on other reference signals, for example the SRSs transmitted in the uplink direction with a relatively high periodicity (in the order of 40 ms). As part of the 7.2x split, the O-DU 22 estimates the channel based on SRS signals and sends it back to the O-RU (“channel information based beamforming” option in the O-RAN standard) or sends the port reduction precoding coefficients directly back to the O-RU (“weights based beamforming” option in the O-RAN standard)’, ¶ 0022). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘performing at least one measurement during the performance of the channel quality estimation, the calculation of at least one beamforming weight, and the port reduction, and wherein the measurement information is based on performing the at least one measurement’ as disclosed by Visoz into Osterling so as to effectively and improved split of functionalized between Radio Unit (RU) and Distributed Unit (DU) in wireless communication system, Visoz ¶ 0111. As to Claim 42 , Osterling further disclose wherein the at least one measurement comprises at least one Signal-to-Noise/Interference-Ratio, SNIR, measurement, and wherein the measurement information comprises at least one value associated with the at least one SNIR measurement (‘the UL/DL SNR calculation entity is configured to determine the beamforming weights for each terminal device, and to provide the link adaptation function with estimates of the resulting SNR for each of the terminal devices being scheduled, including the mutual effect of co-scheduled terminal devices, so called MU-MIMO scheduling’, ¶ 0048). As to Claims 46 and 56 , Osterling discloses a radio equipment controller, REC (Fig. 1, ‘Radio Equipment Controller 300’), of a network node is adapted to: receive, from at least one radio equipment, RE (‘the REC may further comprise a communications interface 320 for communications with the RE. As such the communications interface 320 may comprise one or more transmitters and receivers, comprising analogue and digital components’, ¶ 0114), measurement information, the measurement information associated with: a channel quality estimation performed by the RE (‘a channel state memory is provided in the RE when beamforming weight determination is performed internally in the RE. For the reference symbols of the terminal devices that are scheduled to be measured, the reference symbol based Channel estimates are stored in the RE Channel State Memory. These stored channel estimates can be used for determining beamforming weights’, ¶ 0096; see also ¶s 0095 and 0103). Osterling does not expressly disclose a calculation of at least one beamforming weight by the RE, and a port reduction by the RE. However, Visoz discloses a calculation of at least one beamforming weight by the RE, and a port reduction by the RE (‘thus, the port reduction must be based on other reference signals, for example the SRSs transmitted in the uplink direction with a relatively high periodicity (in the order of 40 ms). As part of the 7.2x split, the O-DU 22 estimates the channel based on SRS signals and sends it back to the O-RU (“channel information based beamforming” option in the O-RAN standard) or sends the port reduction precoding coefficients directly back to the O-RU (“weights based beamforming” option in the O-RAN standard)’, ¶ 0022). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘a calculation of at least one beamforming weight by the RE, and a port reduction by the RE’ as disclosed by Visoz into Osterling so as to effectively and improved split of functionalized between Radio Unit (RU) and Distributed Unit (DU) in wireless communication system, Visoz ¶ 0111. As to Claim 47 , Osterling further discloses using the measurement information to perform demodulation and/or decoding (‘Fig. 3 shows an embodiment of an REC and an RE similar to those in Fig. 2. In Fig. 3 the RE is configured to decode reference symbols such as Sounding Reference symbols (SRS) in the UL, to store information of how the reference symbols are best received (e.g., what beamforming weights maximizes the SNR of the reference symbols) and to use this stored information when performing beamforming in the DL and UL’, ¶ 0036). As to Claim 48 , Osterling further discloses using the measurement information to generate information and/or messages to be sent to the UE via the RE (‘S108: The RE determines for which of the terminal devices to use beamforming weights determined based on the internal information, and for which others of the terminal devices to use beamforming weights determined based on the external information’, ¶ 0072). As to Claim 50 , Osterling further disclose wherein the measurement information is based on at least one measurement performed by the RE (‘a Channel state memory is provided in the RE when beamforming weight determination is performed internally in the RE. For the reference symbols of the terminal devices that are scheduled to be measured, the reference symbol based Channel estimates are stored in the RE Channel State Memory. These stored channel estimates can be used for determining beamforming weights. The content of the Channel state memory can be used when the data channel is active and could be updated for every new measurement of reference symbols’, ¶ 0096). As to Claim 51 , Osterling further disclose wherein the measurement information comprises at least one value associated with at least one Signal-to-Noise/Interference- Ratio, SNIR, measurement performed by the RE (‘the UL/DL SNR calculation entity is configured to determine the beamforming weights for each terminal device, and to provide the link adaptation function with estimates of the resulting SNR for each of the terminal devices being scheduled, including the mutual effect of co-scheduled terminal devices, so called MU-MIMO scheduling’, ¶ 0048). As to Claim 55 , Osterling discloses a radio equipment, RE, of a network node (Fig. 1, ‘Radio Equipment (RE) 200’) is adapted to: with respect to input data and/or an input signal (Fig. 11, ‘the processing circuitry 210 controls the general operation of the RE e.g. by sending data and control signals to the communications interface 220 and the storage medium 230, by receiving data and reports from the communications interface 220, and by retrieving data and instructions from the storage medium 230’, ¶ 0108), perform: a channel quality estimation (‘a channel state memory is provided in the RE when beamforming weight determination is performed internally in the RE. For the reference symbols of the terminal devices that are scheduled to be measured, the reference symbol based Channel estimates are stored in the RE Channel State Memory. These stored channel estimates can be used for determining beamforming weights’, ¶ 0096; see also ¶s 0095 and 0103), a calculation of at least one beamforming weight and a beamforming (‘the beamforming weights can be calculated in the RE when the beam shaped antenna gain primarily is wanted for extended service coverage’, ¶ 0089; see also ¶ 0096); transmit, to a radio equipment controller, REC (Fig. 11, ‘the RE may further comprise a communications interface 220 for communications with the REC. As such the communications interface 220 may comprise one or more transmitters and receivers, comprising analogue and digital components’, ¶ 0107). Osterling does not expressly disclose measurement information associated with the channel quality estimation, the calculation of the at least one beamforming weight, and the port reduction. However, Visoz discloses measurement information associated with the channel quality estimation, the calculation of the at least one beamforming weight, and the port reduction (‘thus, the port reduction must be based on other reference signals, for example the SRSs transmitted in the uplink direction with a relatively high periodicity (in the order of 40 ms). As part of the 7.2x split, the O-DU 22 estimates the channel based on SRS signals and sends it back to the O-RU (“channel information based beamforming” option in the O-RAN standard) or sends the port reduction precoding coefficients directly back to the O-RU (“weights based beamforming” option in the O-RAN standard)’, ¶ 0022). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘measurement information associated with the channel quality estimation, the calculation of the at least one beamforming weight, and the port reduction’ as disclosed by Visoz into Osterling so as to effectively and improved split of functionalized between Radio Unit (RU) and Distributed Unit (DU) in wireless communication system, Visoz ¶ 0111 . 07-21-aia AIA 7. Claim s 43 and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osterling as disclosed in the IDS, in view of Visoz and further in view of Patent No.: US 7,035,238 B1 to Chen et al. ( Chen ) . As to Claim 43 , Osterling in view of Visoz do not expressly disclose wherein the at least one measurement comprises a plurality of SNIR measurements, and wherein each SNIR measurement is associated with at least one of a frequency resolution and a time resolution. However, Chen discloses wherein the at least one measurement comprises a plurality of SNIR measurements, and wherein each SNIR measurement is associated with at least one of a frequency resolution and a time resolution (‘in general, there are 2 KN G K possible code assignments, where G is defined as the number of possible transmission delays, K is the number of wireless terminals, and N is the length of a code. There are a finite number of possible transmission delays because of the finite resolution in time for the assumed band-limited signals in the system. The minimum SINR can be calculated for each code assignment’, Col. 11, ll 65 – Col. 12, ll 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘wherein the at least one measurement comprises a plurality of SNIR measurements, and wherein each SNIR measurement is associated with at least one of a frequency resolution and a time resolution’ as disclosed by Chen into Osterling in view of Visoz so as to effectively manage interferences in wireless communication system, Chen Col. 2, ll 19-29. As to Claim 52 , Osterling in view of Visoz do not expressly disclose wherein the at least one value comprises a plurality of SNIR values associated with a plurality of SNIR measurements performed by the RE, and wherein each SNIR value and/or each SNIR measurement is associated with a at least one of a frequency resolution and a time resolution. However, Chen discloses wherein the at least one value comprises a plurality of SNIR values associated with a plurality of SNIR measurements performed by the RE, and wherein each SNIR value and/or each SNIR measurement is associated with a at least one of a frequency resolution and a time resolution (‘in general, there are 2 KN G K possible code assignments, where G is defined as the number of possible transmission delays, K is the number of wireless terminals, and N is the length of a code. There are a finite number of possible transmission delays because of the finite resolution in time for the assumed band-limited signals in the system. The minimum SINR can be calculated for each code assignment’, Col. 11, ll 65 – Col. 12, ll 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘wherein the at least one value comprises a plurality of SNIR values associated with a plurality of SNIR measurements performed by the RE, and wherein each SNIR value and/or each SNIR measurement is associated with a at least one of a frequency resolution and a time resolution’ as disclosed by Chen into Osterling in view of Visoz so as to effectively manage interferences in wireless communication system, Chen Col. 2, ll 19-29 . 07-21-aia AIA 8. Claim s 44, 45, 53 and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osterling as disclosed in the IDS, in view of Visoz and further in view of Publication No.: 2022/0046566 A1 to Leng et al. ( Leng ) . As to Claim 44 , Osterling in view of Visoz do not expressly disclose wherein the at least one measurement comprises at least one Timing Advance, TA, measurement, and wherein the measurement information comprises at least one value associated with the at least one TA measurement. However, Leng discloses wherein the at least one measurement comprises at least one Timing Advance, TA, measurement, and wherein the measurement information comprises at least one value associated with the at least one TA measurement (‘as illustrated in Fig. 13, at operation 1302, a BS transmits satellite ephemeris and configuration information that enables the UE to compensate TA and frequency offset for UL transmissions in random access procedure. At operation 1304, the BS estimates the TA, and/or TA variation rate, and/or frequency offset for the connected UE. At operation 1306, the BS transmits the TA, and/or frequency offset value, and/or TA variation rate in TAC, and/or a new MAC CE, and/or DCI, and/or RS’, ¶ 0130). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘wherein the at least one measurement comprises at least one Timing Advance, TA, measurement, and wherein the measurement information comprises at least one value associated with the at least one TA measurement’ as disclosed by Leng into Osterling in view of Visoz so as to effectively uplink timing and frequency synchronization in wireless communication system, Leng ¶ 0004. As to Claim 45 , Osterling in view of Visoz do not expressly disclose wherein the at least one measurement comprises at least one Frequency Offset measurement, and wherein the measurement information comprises at least one value associated with the at least one Frequency Offset measurement. However, Leng discloses wherein the at least one measurement comprises at least one Frequency Offset measurement, and wherein the measurement information comprises at least one value associated with the at least one Frequency Offset measurement. (‘as illustrated in Fig. 13, at operation 1302, a BS transmits satellite ephemeris and configuration information that enables the UE to compensate TA and frequency offset for UL transmissions in random access procedure. At operation 1304, the BS estimates the TA, and/or TA variation rate, and/or frequency offset for the connected UE. At operation 1306, the BS transmits the TA, and/or frequency offset value, and/or TA variation rate in TAC, and/or a new MAC CE, and/or DCI, and/or RS’, ¶ 0130). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘wherein the at least one measurement comprises at least one Frequency Offset measurement, and wherein the measurement information comprises at least one value associated with the at least one Frequency Offset measurement’ as disclosed by Leng into Osterling in view of Visoz so as to effectively uplink timing and frequency synchronization in wireless communication system, Leng ¶ 0004. As to Claim 53 , Osterling in view of Visoz do not expressly disclose wherein the measurement information comprises at least one value associated with at least one Timing Advance, TA, measurement performed by the RE. However, Leng discloses wherein the measurement information comprises at least one value associated with at least one Timing Advance, TA, measurement performed by the RE (‘as illustrated in Fig. 13, at operation 1302, a BS transmits satellite ephemeris and configuration information that enables the UE to compensate TA and frequency offset for UL transmissions in random access procedure. At operation 1304, the BS estimates the TA, and/or TA variation rate, and/or frequency offset for the connected UE. At operation 1306, the BS transmits the TA, and/or frequency offset value, and/or TA variation rate in TAC, and/or a new MAC CE, and/or DCI, and/or RS’, ¶ 0130). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘wherein the measurement information comprises at least one value associated with at least one Timing Advance, TA, measurement performed by the RE’ as disclosed by Leng into Osterling in view of Visoz so as to effectively uplink timing and frequency synchronization in wireless communication system, Leng ¶ 0004. As to Claim 54 , Osterling in view of Visoz do not expressly disclose wherein the measurement information comprises at least one value associated with at least one Frequency Offset measurement performed by the RE. However, Leng discloses wherein the measurement information comprises at least one value associated with at least one Frequency Offset measurement performed by the RE (‘as illustrated in Fig. 13, at operation 1302, a BS transmits satellite ephemeris and configuration information that enables the UE to compensate TA and frequency offset for UL transmissions in random access procedure. At operation 1304, the BS estimates the TA, and/or TA variation rate, and/or frequency offset for the connected UE. At operation 1306, the BS transmits the TA, and/or frequency offset value, and/or TA variation rate in TAC, and/or a new MAC CE, and/or DCI, and/or RS’, ¶ 0130). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘wherein the measurement information comprises at least one value associated with at least one Frequency Offset measurement performed by the RE’ as disclosed by Leng into Osterling in view of Visoz so as to effectively uplink timing and frequency synchronization in wireless communication system, Leng ¶ 0004. Conclusion 9. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to GBEMILEKE J ONAMUTI whose telephone number is (571)270-5619. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, ASAD NAWAZ can be reached at (571)272-3988. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /GBEMILEKE J ONAMUTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/836,655 Page 2 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/836,655 Page 3 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/836,655 Page 4 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/836,655 Page 5 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/836,655 Page 6 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/836,655 Page 7 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/836,655 Page 8 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/836,655 Page 9 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/836,655 Page 10 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/836,655 Page 11 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/836,655 Page 12 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/836,655 Page 13 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/836,655 Page 14 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/836,655 Page 15 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/836,655 Page 16 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/836,655 Page 17 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/836,655 Page 18 Art Unit: 2463